I am rehashing this thread because I've grown weary with repeated Desktop file rebuilds under OS 8.1.
As many of you know, I have multiple OS's on my SE/30. I can switch among System 6.0.8, System 7 versions 7.1 ~ 7.6.1, and OS 8.1. Under System 6 I have a little INIT called Desktop Manager that prevents the Desktop file from being constantly rebuilt after I switch from System 7 to 6 and back. (You can read more about the INIT in this article.)
Desktop Manager works great to eliminate Desktop file rebuilds when switching from System 6 <-> System 7, but it does not work to prevent the same problem from occurring under OS 8.1.
Would any of you know a means (or have the capability to program a means) of preventing Desktop rebuilds under 8.1 when switching OS's frequently? For right now, it takes 15 horrible minutes each time I wish to rebuild all 3 partitions on my 4.5GB hard drive on the SE/30 (plus the time required to reboot with extensions OFF to do that). But if I cancel the rebuild when it first appears in OS 8.1, not only do I lose all my icons, but clicking on files no longer auto-launches the appropriate application to run that file! It's an enormous headache. Please help!
Thank you!
As many of you know, I have multiple OS's on my SE/30. I can switch among System 6.0.8, System 7 versions 7.1 ~ 7.6.1, and OS 8.1. Under System 6 I have a little INIT called Desktop Manager that prevents the Desktop file from being constantly rebuilt after I switch from System 7 to 6 and back. (You can read more about the INIT in this article.)
Desktop Manager works great to eliminate Desktop file rebuilds when switching from System 6 <-> System 7, but it does not work to prevent the same problem from occurring under OS 8.1.
Would any of you know a means (or have the capability to program a means) of preventing Desktop rebuilds under 8.1 when switching OS's frequently? For right now, it takes 15 horrible minutes each time I wish to rebuild all 3 partitions on my 4.5GB hard drive on the SE/30 (plus the time required to reboot with extensions OFF to do that). But if I cancel the rebuild when it first appears in OS 8.1, not only do I lose all my icons, but clicking on files no longer auto-launches the appropriate application to run that file! It's an enormous headache. Please help!
Thank you!