In-memory file caches won't get written to the disk. In OS X, you'd use the sync command to do it. In Classic Mac OS, I don't know.
This means that if you recently closed some windows, or moved around files, etc. these changes won't be written to disk, so the next time you start up, it will be as if you had never done them.
This means that if you recently closed some windows, or moved around files, etc. these changes won't be written to disk, so the next time you start up, it will be as if you had never done them.