Most likely somebody has moved some files around when playing with the disk, which the tutorial and manual specifically warn not to do for this exact reason. Hopefully they have not trashed them.
How did you copy the disk? The Guided Tour Disk is copy protected, specifically so that they System cannot be used, as it is an unstable beta version. So doing a regular disk copy should not have worked. That is a clue that someone has tampered with the disk as well. Perhaps someone will post a screenshot showing exactly what files should be where, in case you need to recreate folders or rename files. Check the trash. Files may have been moved there as well, but most likely by now they have been deleted.
This post may have the information you need:
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=203&start=0