- dmg does not work in OS9
- self mounting images should be avoided on the net because they execute code
hi 110;
this is partially correct and partially incorrect.
dmg files can be opened by diskcopy 6.5b3 provided they meet a certain specific criteria.
that is pertaining to which file system they are created with.. and the specific properties.
but yes some can be mounted and accessed in os9
the whole point of this post is to highlight that .dmg and .img are not so different and are in fact different flavours of the same design, implemented by apple http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_Disk_Image
i would love it if you could go into further detail on the secnd point ive quoted here
because as you know since the dawn of macosx (and even sligtly before that) apple's
primary way of getting installation based software packages over the internet has been .dmg + .img
and its the entire sole reason that the apple disk image format was conceived and created...
for exactly that purpose and that purpose alone... to transport the filesystems of software installers over the internet
"self mounting images should be avoided on the net because they execute code"
i really fail to understand where u are coming from with this.. of course it executes code it installs the app?
so does anything else u can put in a stuffit once u expand it?
Quote
it can under circumstances be wise to stuff or zip images files, namely when the image is a master, i.e. may not be changed in order to make it work from CD or DVD later. especially when using shrink wrap images it can easily happen that you change its content by accident.
when creating a shrinkwrap package there is a matrix of different settings
file format = [shrinkwrap 3.x, Self-Mounting(.smi), disk copy 6, disk copy 4, diskdup+, ms-dos]
compression = [none, simple, diskcopy, stuffit]
encryption = [none, 40bit]
segment size = [too many options to list]
if u select simple, diskcopy or stuffit for compression settings, the disk image is READ ONLY and its contents can never be changed...
so "it can easily happen that you change its content by accident" not so much... read only is read only.