Loading…
Text content (OCR)
Cg Compose 2
Desk File/Print Edit Type Style Fonts URMELIMy Page Layout Arrangement
| Switch-On Annus
Center
4 y
Witte lel tal ign
. Justify
Switch On-Cq- —
Set Vertical Justification
RECOny Sear vetice nstitcation
7 ae”: Clear Tab Stop
Switch—On Communications] co Normal Tab
Quarterly Sales Set Centered Tab
Thousands 5
—retmnermnnanananmeneneimnnmcnmninwennnen| §6t Right Flush Tab
Set Decimal '." Tab
Set Comma ',' Tab
Set Tab Fi
insert. Word Break
Delete Word Break
Word Breaks
dileolitytoichtifiisl
40
jc
[>|
Make Space Bidck
Compress Text...
al
Personal Composition System
Cg Compose 2
Personal Composition System
© March 1985
Compugraphic Corporation
200 Ballardvale Street
Wilmington, Mass. 01887
Prepared by:
Course Development, Educational Services
Compugraphic Personal Composition System is a trademark of
Compugraphic Corporation.
Apple, Lisa, and ProFile are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc.
This manual describes the configurations and operating procedures of
Cg Compose 2 software and the Personal Composition System. Due to
the many forms of applications, the recommended procedures should
be adhered to.
This document is an instruction aid in the operation of this system.
Compugraphic Corporation shall not be responsible for any claims or
damages resulting from any errors or omissions. Please report any errors
or omissions to Course Development, Educational Services.
Part Number 201035-001
Cg Compose 2
Contents Using the Manuals
7
8 Introducting Compose
8 About This Manual
9 Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
11 Introduction
11 Seeing What's on a Disk
12 To Open the Disk Icon
13 Opening a Document
15 The Compose Document
16 Practice with Cg Compose 2
21 Making a Compartment
22 Duplicating a Compartment
22 Aligning Compartments
23 Locking in Place
23 Moving a Figure to a Page
24 Formatting Text in a Galley
25 Linking Compartments
26 Merging Text into a Compartment
27 Entering Text into a Compartment
27 Changing Typestyle
28 Kerning Text
29 Cutting Text
30 Inserting Rules
31 Changing Composition Defaults
32 Using Vertical Justification
33 Making a Space Block
34 Inserting Word Breaks
35 Making a Header
35 Making a Footer
36 Inserting a Page Number
37 Accept and Design a Page
40 Setting Tabs
43 Output on the ImageWriter
44 Output on Typesetter or EP 308 Printer
46 Putting Your Document Away
47 Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2
Cg Compose 2
50 Introduction
51 The Cg Compose 2 Window
52 Text and Figures
52 About Menus
54 Pointers
54 Selecting
55 Compose Paper
56 The Compose Page
56 Linking Compartments
57 Page Size
57 Group and Lock Objects
57 Entering And Editing Text
58 Format Text
59 Tabs
60 Page layout
60 Design Page
60 Rulers
61 Scrolling
63 Output
Typeset a Memo 64 Making a Stationery Pad
66 Page Size
67 Composition Defaults
68 Default Printer
68 Making a Galley
69 Making Compartments
69 Entering Text
71 Copying a Source Document
72 Pasting a Figure
72 Making a Rule
73 Placing Rules
74 Making a Stationery Pad
74 Creating a Source Document
76 Pasting Text onto a Galley
77 Changing Fonts
78 Output Memo on Typesetter
79 Putting a Document Away
Prepare a News Release 82 Preparing a Source Document
84 Matching a Compartment
85 Establish Compartment Links
85 Merging Text into Compartments
Contents
86 Changing Linespace
87 Changing Fonts
89 Setting Vertical Justification
90 Changing Wordbreaks
90 Inserting Space Blocks
Create a Brochure 93 The Landscape Mode
94 Editing in the Source Tool
97 Page Size
99 Matching Compartments
100 Change Fonts in Galley
101 Making a Space Block
103 Placing Rules
104 Merging Text
105 Moving Compartments Filled with Text
106 Placing Compartments Within Compartments
107 Shading a Compartment
109 Typeset the Brochure
111 Chapter 3: Cg Compose 2 Reference
113 Introduction
113 Desk Menu
114 File/Print Menu
119 Edit Menu
121 Type Style Menu
122 Fonts Menu
125 Format { Menu
127. Page Layout Menu
130 Arrangement Menu
133 Chapter 4: System Setup
135 Introduction
135 System Set Up
136 Install Cg Compose 2 Tool
137 Install Cg Compose Software
138 Install Cg Device Driver Software
139 Device Preferences
Cg Compose 2
141
142
143
145
147
147
148
149
150
152
153
154
156
159
161
162
165
166
167
168
170
171
176
177
177
184
189
190
193
Examples Folder
Repair the Disk
Diskettes
Chapter 5: Font Librarian
Introduction
Environments Window
Font Librarian
Font Librarian Menu Items
Cg Fonts Library
Representative Fonts Library
Diskette Masters
Installing Fonts
Changing the Font Library
Chapter 6: Compugraphic EP 308
Introduction
Hardware Components
Essentials
Installing the System
Overview of Installing Intellifonts and Application Program
Command File
Sample Command File
Installing Intellifonts and the Application Program
Powering Up the EP 308
Copy Counter
Toner Cartridges
Procedure to Print
Troubleshooting
Diagnostics
Chapter 7: Compugraphic 8400
Contents
195 Introduction
195 System Components
197 Software Components
198 8400 Font Setup
199 Assigning UID Numbers
200 Font Librarian Utilities
204 Status Messages
205 Font Dump Utility
206 Loading the 8400 Program For Daily Operation
206 Format for Printer
207 Typesetting a Document on the 8400
208 Troubleshooting
211 Chapter 8: Compugraphic 8600
213 Introduction
213 Hardware Components
214 Essentials
215 Assigning 8600 Font Position Numbers
216 Installing Fonts on the 8600 Hard Disk
217 Messages and Meanings
217 Font Directory
218 Using the 8600 For Daily Operation
218 Format for Printer
219 Typesetting a Document On the 8600
220 Troubleshooting
221 Appendix
223 Cg Compose 2 and Other Tools
225 Apple Key Combinations
226 Personal Composition System Available Type Styles
227 Keyboard Layout
229 Index
Cg Compose 2
Using the Manuals
Cg Compose 2 Manual
Getting Started
Your Personal Composition System will be installed following the procedures in
Chapter 6, Setting Up Your System, in the Lisa Office System Manual. Each of the
Personal Composition System software tools has a manual that teaches how to
use the tool.
This manual will teach you to use of Cg Compose 2 software. It also includes a
separate chapter on each one of the output devices and a quick reference section
describing the set up of output devices. If you are already familiar with the
Personal Composition System you may want to turn to Chapter 3:Cg Compose 2
Reference, to learn about the software enhancements. If you are new to the
Personal Composition System, you should follow the steps listed below.
1 Go through Chapters 1 and 2 in the Lisa Office System Manual for an
introduction to the Lisa. This includes booting the system with LisaGuide and
completing the interactive training.
2 The Lisa Office System Manual also contains other information about how to
use your System. For example, it has a trouble shooting section to help you
solve problems when the System is not working as it should. As you become
more familiar with the System and need more information, check the Table of
Contents or the Index for assistance. This may include installing software,
setting Preferences, using the calculator, tips on caring for the Lisa, and other
desktop management activities.
3 When you are familiar with Personal Composition System basic operating
procedures, turn to each of the foo/ manuals to learn the essentials of using
that tool. To learn Compose you will have to know at least the LisaWrite and
LisaDraw tools.
Go to Chapter 1 of each tool manual to learn about a tool.
Go to Chapter 2 for self-paced instructions on using a tool.
Go to Chapter 3 for specific instructions for performing a task with a tool.
“"VYYVY
When you feel confident that you can create documents in LisaWrite and
LisaDraw you will be ready to learn Cg Compose 2. Go to Chapter 1 of this
manual to begin learning about the Compose tool.
5 Your Personal Composition System may be set up with a number of different
output devices. You can identify the devices and where they are connected by
opening your System Preferences. General instructions for checking and
changing device connections are found in the Lisa Office Systems Manual.
Specific intructions for connecting the typesetter or EP 308 are found in
Chapter 4: System Set Up, of this manual.
Introduction
Introducing Compose
About This Manual
With Cg Compose 2 you can merge text with all kinds of drawings, such as
organization charts, diagrams, flowcharts, and graphics for slide presentations.
You can assemble page layouts for reports, brochures, pamphlets, and small
newspaper productions. The page on your Personal Composition System screen
is displayed as it will appear on the printed page.
Compose (Cg Compose 2) can assist you in communicating information with
professional looking graphics. It is a tool that makes it easy to merge text with
figures. After you copy and paste in information from other document tools, you
Compose them so they can be output on a typesetter or EP 308. You use the
mouse to produce compartments for text, create rules, and move information
around on the screen. Text can be added in your choice of size and style to
complete the page.
This manual contains three approaches for learning to use Compose:
i Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2, gives you practice with the basic skills of
Compose by taking you step by step through a typical example.
@ Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2, contains detailed instructions for
performing specific tasks with Compose. This Chapter is also a step-by-step
guide. It includes three sample jobs that demonstrate how to apply Compose
efficiently and effectively.
@ Chapter 3: Cg Compose 2 Reference, summarizes the functions of Compose
menus and menu items. It covers how each menu item and dialog box works.
Chapters 4 through 8 of this manual contain reference information about specific
procedures to set up and operate your Personal Composition System. Chapter 4:
System Set up, contains preventive maintenance, daily operating procedures, and
trouble shooting information that will be of specific help to all Personal
Composition System users. Chapter 5 covers installing fonts on to the System.
You may only need to use the information in this chapter when you first purchase
your fonts. Some of the chapters may refer to the configuration of equipment that
is not part of your system.
Each Chapter begins with a table of contents so you can look up different topics
easily. If you can’t find what you need in the table of contents, check the index at
the end of this manual. The index lists many topics in several ways to help you
find the information you are looking for—even if your not sure what it’s called.
Cg Compose 2
Chapter 1
Learning Cg Compose 2
Contents 11
u
12
13
15
16
21
22
22
23
23
24
25
26
27
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
40
B
44
46
10
Introduction
Seeing What's on a Disk
To Open the Disk Icon
Opening a Document
The Compose Document
Practice with Cg Compose 2
Making a Compartment
Duplicating a Compartment
Aligning Compartments
Locking in Place
Moving a Figure to a Page
Formatting Text in a Galley
Linking Compartments
Merging Text into a Compartment
Entering Text into a Compartment
Changing Typestyle
Kerning Text
Cutting Text
Inserting Rules
Changing Composition Defaults
Using Vertical Justification
Making a Space Block
Inserting Word Breaks
Making a Header
Making a Footer
Inserting a Page Number
Accept and Design a Page
Setting Tabs
Output on the ImageWriter
Output on Typesetter or EP 308 Printer
Putting Your Document Away
Cg Compose 2
Introduction
Have you gone through
LisaGuide?
What You’ll Need To Get
Started
Seeing What’s
On A Disk
This Chapter gives you actual hands-on experience with Compose. By going step-
by-step through an easy example, you will become familiar with the basic
Compose operations. Use this example to experiment with each menu item. Try
out several ways to change the text with each new function you learn. Use this
time to gain experience and understanding of how Compose works.
It’s OK if your screen is a little different than the pictures in the manual,
especially if you are developing confidence in using the tool. After completing
this chapter you will be able to create, edit, store, and print Compose documents.
The material in this manual assumes that you have gone through LisaGuide,
which teaches you the fundamentals of using the Lisa. The LisaGuide diskette
comes in the Lisa 7/7 package. Instructions for using LisaGuide appear in Chapter
1 of the Lisa Office System manual. Important background information about
the desktop is found in Chapter 2 of that manual. Make sure you understand the
concepts in that section before going on with this manual.
1 A Personal Composition System set up and plugged in.
2 The Disk set up with Lisa Office System and tools, Compugraphic fonts, and
Cg Compose 2 software installed.
3 The system turned on.
4 Abasic understanding of tool operations, especially LisaDraw and LisaWrite.
5 About 45 minutes.
Note: If Your System is not set up, or if you need to install the Cg Compose 2 tool, the Cg
Compose 2 Examples Folder, or the Cg Compose 2 Software, see Chapter 4 System Set Up,
in this manual.
To get the document you'll work with, you first need to have a duplicate of the
Examples Folder copied on your Disk. An explanation of how to duplicate the
folder is in Chapter 4. Open the Disk icon as described in the steps below. The
icon you will open may be called the ProFile, Internal Hard Disk, Disk, or you
may have already named it something else. When you open the Disk you access
information stored on the hard disk.
The way you open the Disk will illustrate the most general principle of your
Personal Composition System:
@ First you select something.
I Then you do something to what you've selected.
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2 ll
To Open the Disk Icon 1. Select (highlight) the Disk icon by placing the tip of the pointer on it and
clicking the mouse button. (Icon not highlighted? Try again.)
2 To open the Disk icon, choose Open “Disk” from the File/Print menu.
> Press and hold down the mouse button with the tip of the pointer on
File/Print in the menu bar.
> Move the pointer down and release when Open “Disk” is highlighted. (Is the
Open menu item dim? You probably clicked somewhere else on the gray part
of the screen and deselected the Disk icon. Go back to step 1 and make sure
the Disk icon is selected.)
"RA EaitHousek
Set Aside Everything
Set Aside
Save & Put Rway
Open "Disk"
Duplicate
Tear OFF Stationery
Make Stationery Pad
Monitor the Printer ...
3 Notice the Disk window zooms open on your Lisa’s desktop. Your Disk is like
avery large file drawer—it’s where you'll perform most of your work.
" Desk File/Print Edit Housekeeping x
= T
o
fa
Lisawrite Paper Lisadaw Paper LisaTerminal Paper Cg Compose 2 Examples LisaProject Paper Tools|
Mi im
LisaCale Paper Lisalist Paper LisaGraph Paper Cg Compose 2 Paper Empty Folders
12 Cg Compose 2
Opening a Document
To Open the Compose
Examples Folder
Inside the Disk window you should see several stationery pads and folders. The
Compose Examples folder contains the example you'll be working on here. In
the steps below, you will:
@ Open the Compose Examples folder.
@ Tear off a sheet from the Getting Started stationery pad.
@ Move the new sheet, or document, to a clear spot in the folder.
@ Give the new document the name Annual Report.
@ Open the document.
1 Select the Compose Examples folder by clicking on it.
2 Choose Open Compose Examples from the File/Print menu.
Notice the window to the Compose Examples folder and its contents zooms
open, as shown. In the folder one of the icons is a stationery pad that has column
patterns to indicate it is a Compose icon. This Stationery pad is entitled Getting
Started. It contains an example document you will use to learn Cg Compose 2.
Y Desk _File/Print Edit Housekeeping
=)
LisaWrite Paper —_LisaDraw Paper
LisaCale Paper Lisatist Paper LisaGraph Paper Cg Compose 2 Paper Empty Folders
Chapter 2
Getting Started
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
13
14
To Tear off Stationery
To Rename the
New Document
1 Select the Getting Started stationery pad icon.
ny
Choose Tear Off Stationery from the File/Print menu and wait a moment
until the new document appears, as shown.
Move the new icon out of the way to a clear spot in the folder:
Place the pointer on the icon.
Press and hold down the mouse button and move the icon as shown.
vVvryr,.e
Release the mouse button.
Make sure the new document icon is still selected (highlighted). If you've
deselected the icon by clicking elsewhere on the screen, select it again by
clicking on it once.
2. Type the name Annual Report. (Typing mistake? Use the [Backspace|key to
correct it.)
"Desk _File/Print Edit Housekeeping
LisaWrite Paper LisaDraw Paper LisaTer
m= iF
Paper Cg Compose 2 Examples LisaProject Paper Tools
i)
Lisacale Paper Lsalist Paper—_LsaGraph Paper Cg Compose 2 Paper Empty Folders
Getting Starteg MPN?
Cg Compose 2
To Open the 1 Make sure the document icon is selected (highlighted).
Annual Report 2 Choose Open “Annual Report” from the File/Print menu.
Notice how the icon zooms open into a window. Wait a minute—the hourglass
means wait—until the Compose tool displays the Annual Report document.
The Compose document is made up of several items that may be new to you.
Study the Annual Report document below before going to work on it.
"Desk _File/Print Edit Type Style_Fonts Format if_Page Layo
rulers —|
compartment with text —7—]
galley with a figure
pasted on it
| | > wgJ ‘The company has made great sts in
galley with text —
Compose Document The Annual Report document is now open on your desktop.
Across the menu bar at the top of the screen are the Compose menu names, Each
menu contains a list of actions you can use ina Compose document.
The Compose tool combines the writing and text editing features of LisaWrite
with the drawing capabilities of LisaDraw. Text, spreadsheets, lists, drawings, and
other graphics can be cut or copied from other Lisa tools and stored on galleys
that are created at the bottom of the Compose window.
Compose is a paste-up tool for assembling text and graphics. The most efficient
way to work is to perform the major editing in the source tools, and assemble the
final page in Compose for the typesetter or printer. A page layout is accomplished
by drawing compartments in the Compose document and then filling the
compartments with text and figures from the galley. Compartments can be varied
in size. They can be individually styled for a page, or you can select to repeat the
same layout for each page of the document. When a graphic is placed into a
compartment, the text will automatically indent to run around the graphic.
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
15
16
Practice with
Compose
Once the page layout is displayed the way that you want it, you may choose to
accept the page from the Edit menu. This prohibits any changes to that page
unless you choose to edit it again from the Edit menu.
When possible you should make stationery pads out of your most commonly
used page layouts and store them on micro diskettes. This will greatly reduce
your production time and minimize the time you will have to spend setting up
your documents.
Without pressing the mouse button, move the pointer around the screen and
notice that it is shaped like an arrow. In Compose this is how it appears when you
move compartments and galleys and select menu items.
You will see other kinds of pointers as you go through Getting Started. To enter
text into a compartment you will create a the text insertion point by placing the
change pointer into the compartment, holding down the [Apple|key, and clicking
the mouse button. The shape of the pointer changes to a drawing symbol when
you draw a rule or choose Make A Compartment from the Page Layout menu.
Imagine you work for a fictional company called Switch-On Communications,
Inc. You will put the finishing touches on last year’s Annual Report for the big
annual meeting.
Text for the Annual Report has been written, edited, and copied as a LisaWrite
document. A galley has been created at the bottom of the Compose document on
your screen, and the text has been pasted on it through the clipboard.
Two graphs and the company logo have been completed in LisaDraw and copied
onto three other galleys at the bottom of the Compose document. You will
assemble these components into the Annual Report.
In the next several pages you will learn to:
@ Make compartments.
Wl Move a figure to a page.
W@ Format text ina galley.
@ Merge text from the galley into a compartment.
@ Enter text into a compartment.
@ Change the typestyle of text.
@ Kern text.
@ Cut unwanted material from the text.
Cg Compose 2
@ Insert a rule into the report.
@ Change the Composition Defaults.
WB Use Vertical Jusification.
Ml Make a Space Block.
WH Insert Word Breaks.
@ Make a Header and Footer
@ Insert a page number.
@ Accept a page.
ll Design a new page.
I Align and Match
I Set Tabs
W@ Output the report on an ImageWriter
Hi Output the report on a Typesetter or EP 308.
@ Change the selected printer
@ Put Your Document Away.
When you are finished, the first page of your report will look like the three pages
tht follow. If you should have trouble with one of the steps as you go through the
example, try comparing the Annual Report document on the screen with the
finished pages.
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
17
18
The Annual Report
Page 1
SWITCH-ON COMMUNICATIONS
Annual Report
To The Shareholders:
During fiscal 1984, operating results at
‘Switch—On Communications were substan-
tially improved and the Company's financial
position was significantly strengthened. The
return to profitability in 1984 was the result
Of the successful completion of four major
and compatibility. A computer that performs
cone kind of information processing very often
will not perform another, and even computers,
of similar design and function often will not
‘communicate with each other. The Company
met this need with new software and hardware
products.
corporate initiatives:
‘* The introduction of aA Comparison of Costs vs Revenues
‘number of options and en-
hhancements for the new
SwitchOn Teleport Pro-
P tr).
duets (' 2} 300
© The improvement of
reduction programs, con-
solidation of operations | 9
and more efficient use of
personnel and facilities.
© The improvement of the
corporate financial posi-
tion through the purchase | 100
‘of two component supply
Profits on the Rise
In Millions of Dollars Revenues} manufacturing. "When
Software
1984 was the year
the Software Products
Division began full
scale marketing and
Jit was formed in 1981,
‘we projected that it
Costs | would develop, license
Band sell telephone and
communication
products for systems.
‘This year, our plans
reached fruition when
the division began to
manufacture and deliv-
er the new Memory
Re~Dial Option for
houses that were respon- STEP Systems.
sible for 75% of our
finished product costs. a Hardware
. ‘The company has
Ihe, improvement of 1982 1984 developed important
office communications us- hardware compatibili-
ing a Personal Composi Fiscal Year ty enhancements as
tion System. well. This year, for
New Options exncupls; the. “STEP
Throughout 1984, we continued to expand
the number of system configurations for the
new product, and also to develop and intro-
duce add-on options and enhancements de-
signed to broaden the applications and che
rice range of this product family.
Within the business environment, equipment
can be of limited utility if it lacks versatility
‘System's ability to "listen to." or accept, in-
formation from other computers was upgr
ed to.atwo—way, "listen and talk,” to receive
information from word and data processing
systems and convert it into typesetting keys-
trokes. It can also transmit information back
to the orginal workstation for additional edi
ing. This is called "telecommunications,’
because it can occur over ordinary telephone
Page 1
Cg Compose 2
The Annual Report
Page 2
SWITCH-—ON COMMUNICATIONS
Annual Report
lines or by direct cable.
it makes STEP capable
S. >) lof complete interaction
with the multifunction
networks and systems
jin modern businesses.
All of the Company's
telecommunications
devices are supported by the Communications
Assistance Center, which expanded its staff
and resources this year. ‘The center offers na-
tionwide set—up and diagnostic assistance to
customers with telecommunications.
Cost Control And Productivity
During the first half of 1984, our manufac-
turing organization met a steadily accelerat-
ing STEP production schedule while syste-
matically phasing out our obsolete products.
With the purchase of AI Radio Supply and
Eastern Data Bits, we now have direct control
cover the price of the microchips that are used
in the STEP System.
Cost Reduction
The overall proouctivity of our employees
has improved as a result of the hiring freeze
and reduction of the work force. It has be-
‘come apparent that our new company motto
""Get Serious Or Get Out” has indeed been
taken seriously. With this new program, each
employee's salary will correspond directly to
the meeting of department objectives.
Inter—Office Communication
‘The communication requirements to meet
department objectives have been satisfied by
‘The reduction of
‘yping, fling and copying activities bas
increased the amount of time available for
project goals and customer problems. The
economy of typeset communications has
Employee Productivity
We're Getting Serious
Hundreds
1983
Fiscal Year
1984
Page 2
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
19
20
The Annual Report
Page 3
SWITCH—ON COMMUNICATIONS
Annual Report
= proven itself. Our cus- grades and system expansion when we deve-
tomers have responded lop new capabilities or when the customer's
F. a) positively to the profes- needs change. This versatile system is the
‘sional approach of our foundation to our continued growth.
fiscal 1984 "Are You
Really Satisfied” cam-
oe paign. The concep: ‘Total Number of Units
]was bold and unortho-
'dox; but backed up
with the excellent brochure and return ques-
tionnaire, response was an incredible 54% re- 1983 1984
tum by customers. The graph on the preced-
See Hardware. 240,.....-. 320
Market reception to the STEP System and Software. ...150....... 850
its growing number of options and upgrades
‘has been quite favorable. The underlying po- Support..... a 980
pularity and programmability features of this
line of systems give our customers the latest
‘communication capabilities. Yet STEP Sys-
tems are sufficiently flexible to allow up-
Page 3
Cg Compose 2
Making A Compartment
The Annual Report requires finishing touches. To layout your page you must
make compartments. Compartments control the position of the text on the page.
You make a compartment by drawing a rectangle, just like in LisaDraw.
1 Choose Make a Compartment from the Page Layout menu. Notice how the
pointer changes to a drawing pointer when the menu item is chosen.
2 Use the pointer to draw the compartment beginning 1% inches from the top
of the page, and 1 inch from the left side of the page. Draw the compartment
to the 4 inch mark on the top margin ruler and down to the 9% inch mark
on the side, page ruler.
» Place the pointer where the upper-left corner of the compartment will be
located (see the figure).
> Press and hold down the mouse button as you move the pointer down to the
9% inch mark and to the right to the 4 inch mark. A box will appear.
> Release the mouse button when you reach the correct size.
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
21
Duplicating
a Compartment
Aligning Compartments
22
The text for the report will be set in dual columns so the compartment that you
just made must be duplicated and the new compartment must be placed correctly
on the page. Follow the steps below to duplicate the compartment and position it
on the right side of the page.
1 With the compartment selected, choose Duplicate from the Edit menu. (Pull
down the menu, point to the menu item, and release the mouse button.)
2. Place the duplicate compartment 4% inches from the left margin. Align the
top edges of both compartments. (Box not in the right spot? Place the pointer
into the box and move it into position.)
If you have trouble aligning the top edges of the compartments, you may choose
a menu item to help you. Notice what happens when you select a compartment.
Handles appear on the edge of the drawing, showing that it’s selected. You can
change the shape of the compartment by selecting and moving the handles. You
may choose more than one compartment at a time by holding down the [Shift]
key as you select another compartment.
1 Press down and hold the Shift|key and select both compartments.
> Place the pointer on a compartment.
> Click the mouse button as you continue holding down the [Shift|key.
> Select the other compartment.
2 Choose Align Objects... from the Arrangement menu.
3 Choose Align... Tops from the dialog box that appears.
"Desk _File/Print Edit Type St pe Layo ang x
Cg Compose 2
Locking In Place
Moving a Figure
to the Page
You will find that it is easier to work with compartments if they are locked to the
page. Then you will not accidentally move them around when you are trying to
perform other functions.
1 With both compartments still selected choose Lock in Place from the
Arrangement menu. You will notice that this places a check mark in front of
the item on the menu. If you were to select the menu item again, the check
mark would be removed and you could again move the compartments.
T Desk_File/Print_ Edit _ Type St
Bring To Front
Send To Back
Pa Wire oh Pe er er
fSWITCH-ON COMMU
The galley is the mechanism for entering documents into Compose. A figure can
be copied from LisaDraw, LisaProject, or LisaGraph and pasted onto a galley. It
will remain on the galley until you merge it into the Compose document. You
will take the graphic from the galley and move it into the Annual Report. It can be
placed anywhere on the page. The most dramatic position will be to place it in
the middle of the page so it slightly overlaps both columns of text.
1 You may change the rulers to help you with your layout.
© Choose Customize Rulers... from the Page Layout menu.
> Choose Adjustable Zero-Point: On from the dialog box that appears.
> Choose OK.
> Click the mouse button on the 4% inch mark on the ruler. Notice that the
ruler now displays a 0 (zero). This will help in centering the graph figure.
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
23
Formatting Text in a Galley
24
2 Move the graph figure from the galley to the page.
> Place the pointer in the upper left corner of the galley with the graph. Press
and hold down the mouse button to select it.
> Move the pointer to drag the galley onto the page. Release the mouse button
when the figure is centered between the compartments. The upper left
corner will be positioned automatically where the mouse button was
released. You may move it around by selecting it.
Note: The figure should be correctly sized before it is brought into Compose. You can not
change the size or content of a figure after it has been pasted on a Compose galley.
Desk _File/Print Edit Type St
mob
Text that is created in LisaWrite, LisaCalc, and LisaList can be copied and pasted
into a Compose document by placing it first ina galley. While it is being stored in
the galley you may change the typestyle, point size, and compress the text by
adding character compensation or kerning. By applying these format attributes
to text when it is in the galley you can determine how it will appear before it is
placed into a compartment. You can always select blocks of text on the page and
change them after you have merged it into Compartments.
1. Select the galley that contains two lines of text by placing the pointer on it
and clicking the mouse button.
Cg Compose 2
Linking Compartments
2 Choose Change Fonts in Galley from the Fonts menu. Select the following
items to format the text:
> Change from Apple Classic
> 12 point
> Change to Cg Times
& With a point size of: 12
> Kerning: Text
> Character Compensation: Book
3 Click OK. The text on the galley will now change.
T Desk File/Print Edit Type Style Fonts Format {f_ Page Layout _ Arrangement BY
Change Fonts in Galley... (amar)
‘Change From: (C1 Apple MODERN «= Apple CLASSIC
218 pt,20 pitch [] 10 pt,12 pitch fll 12 point (1) 16 point
(118 pb,25 pitch [1] 12 pt,20 pitch [] 14 point [24 point
Onnge To
Oem Cl mewe 0 aL ee)
Crowe 0 rr ) miunaere CO raumveere sr O) rmtue 9
muvee oo co res Cleormes nme Cex res ow
Coors ei — Covaen
With point size of: [12]
Kerning: [off i text designer k
Character Compensation: ([] none fl book set (C] ad set 1 tight set
The text that has been pasted into the galley area can be moved into the
compartments after you establish the way you want the compartments to be
linked. By linking compartments, text will fill the one compartment and then
begin filling the next in the order that you link them together. The line length of
the text will become the same width as the compartment. If the size of the
compartment is changed at any time, the text will recompose through all of the
compartments that are linked together.
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2 25
26
Merging Text into
Compartments
1
>
>
2
>
Desk _File/Print_ Edit le_Fonts_Format
Create a galley at the bottom of the Compose document.
Place the pointer in an open space in the lower part of the document.
Draw a rectangle at least 1 inch by 1 inch.
Drag the galley into the compartment at the top left side of the page.
Place the pointer on the empty compartment. Press down and hold the
mouse button.
Move the pointer to the compartment on the left side of the page and release
the mouse button.
Select the galley again. This time move it to the right compartment and
release the mouse button. These two compartments are now linked so that
text will flow from left to right. Changes in the size or content in one of the
compartments will ripple through both of them to keep them full.
Fu Wee uN UNE ERR OWE BS GOS OBE OEE
Ti
Select the galley that shows text on the top two lines by placing the pointer on
it. Press and hold down the mouse button. Drag the galley up to the first
compartment that you made and release the mouse button.
As you watch the compartment, text will flow from the galley into it. Once
the compartment is full text will begin to fill the second compartment on the
right, because it is linked with the left one.
Cg Compose 2
Entering Text Into A
Compartment
Changing Typestyle
3 Choose Save and Continue from the File/Print menu. Then if you want to
come back to this arrangement of your document, you can choose Revert to
Previous Version.
To work on any text that is in a compartment you must use the key before
you perform an operation. Otherwise, you will only select the compartment that
holds the text. In the next few pages you will make use of this principle. First,
you will add to the title of your document.
1 Toselect an insertion point.
> Press down and hold the [Apple|key.
© Place the pointer at the end of the title after the “‘S” in COMMUNICATIONS.
® Press down, then release the mouse button, and the key
> The pointer will become a blinking insertion mark.
2 Type the text you want to enter.
>
> Annual Report
Desk _File/Print Edit
juipment can be Of limied wali 7
rerstility and compatibility. A
performs one kind of informati
pessing very often will not perform
fand even computers of similar
To change the typestyle of the text, you will work as you do in any of the other
Lisa tools, except you will use the [Apple|key. Change the typestyle of the first
sentence to make it a subtitle by following the instructions on the next page.
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
27
28
Kerning Text
1 First select the text.
> Press down and hold the [Applelkey.
> Place the pointer in front of the “T”” in To the Shareholders.
> Press down and hold the mouse button.
> Drag the pointer through the colon “:” at the end of the sentence.
2 Choose Cg Times Bd It (Bold Italic) from the Fonts menu.
Note: This text assumes that you have the true fonts Cg Times Bold and Cg Times Bold Italic.
You should use the true fonts when they are available. You may use the pseudo Bold and Italic
from the Typstyle menu if you do not have the true fonts.
3 Choose Other Cg Pt. Size... from the Typestyle menu.
4 Type: 14 point in the dialog box that appears. Click OK.
Y ‘Desk File/Print_Edit_ Type Style Fonts Format if Pag
BY munic ‘because it can occur over
D\mqg7 my tlephone lines or by direct cable. it Ji
f)
‘To kern the report title (remove extra white space from certain letter pairs), you
will select all of the title and apply designer kerning. (If you do not have Designer
Kerning, choose Text)
1. Select all of the text in the title.
> Press and hold down the [Apple|key.
> Place the pointer in front of the “S” in SWITCH—ON COMMUNICATIONS
Annual Report.
Cg Compose 2
Cutting Text
> Press and hold down the mouse button.
> Drag the pointer through the text.
> Release the mouse button.
2 Choose Compress Text from the Format § menu.
3 Choose Designer from the dialog box that appears. Click OK.
Desk _File/Print_Edit_T le_Fonts Pe Arr
Left cr
«|
Faris rn rd bl
4 Ht JustiFy e 4
ial aN _
Set Vertical Justification
Clear Vertical KstiFication
7 Piuipment cH Clear Tab Stop «
made great strides in fis fens 104- set Normal Tab «
cal 1984, opamting re... phat performs] co Cte, a Pe
Communications war} passing vary
and the Company’ find even con] Set Right Flush Tab}
was significantly “---+ function cfted Set Decimal ‘Tab at:
freura to prftabiliy iq ach other. TY Set Comma ',' Tob fj
et a Set Tab Fill.
‘nA Comparison bf Cogs ws La]
i Insert Word Break “uy
a Delete Word Break #0 B
munications," because it can occur {Show Word Breaks
nary telephone lines or by direct }——————————————-—
Make Space Bfock
}
in fiscal 1984, you must also use the
1 Press and hold down the[Apple|key.
2 Toselect the entire first sentence of the Annual Report, press the mouse
button before the ““T” in The and release after the ‘‘ . ” at the end of the
sentence. It will highlight when selected.
If you have trouble selecting the sentence, remember to hold the [Apple|key
before each attempt. If you did not Jock the compartment to the page, you may
accidently move the entire compartment. If so choose Undo “Move
Fig./Comp.” (the last change) from the Edit Menu and try again.
4 Choose Cut from the Edit menu when the entire sentence and the space up to
the next sentence is highlighted.
Cutting something will place it on the clipboard. If you don’t want to save the
text, it is faster to select the text and press the [Backspacelkey on the keyboard.
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2 29
30
Inserting Rules
Desk _File/Print_Edit_Type Style _Fonts_Format_f
Finnial Report
std NWRRRAR AT;
Papen oon bea her aa
Wersatiliyy and compatibility. Al
jhat performs one kind of infor
bess cften will net
Sad Os npeen of tar |
portion wes sign¥iceth Function ten will not comm:
The return to profitability i
‘was the resul of th ~
BY saunications," because it can occur over ordi-
PS meg 7 my talephone lines or by direct cable. kk JJ
q
Next you need to place rules (lines) on the page to set off the title from the rest of
the text. A rule is placed in a document the same way that a line is made in
LisaDraw.
1 Activate the rule size you will draw by selecting 2.0 pt. Rule from the Page
Layout menu.
2 Move the pointer on to the page below the compartment that contains the
title SWITCH-ON COMMUNICATIONS. Place the pointer at the far left side of
the page and begin the rule at the left edge of the text compartment.
3. Press the mouse button and move the pointer horizontally across the page.
4 Release the mouse when the rule is at the edge of the right compartment.
Note: Notice bow handles appear on ends of the line. The length can be changed by moving one
of the handles. The position can be changed by placing the pointer on the line between the
handles, pressing down the mouse button and dragging the rule.
Style_Fonts Format {Pag
Finnuist Report
” Desk _File/Print Edit Typ
dos.
tilits
Fiat peas cit Kind & Tare B]
Deny eal OA pening rons essing very often will not perform
=== Seem bio te design end, |
‘ally improved «-" " “-—namz!s fine ion cften wil! uw
Cg Compose 2
Changing Composition
Defaults
Text is positioned on the page by information that is entered in the Composition
Defaults dialog box in the Edit menu. Word, letter and line spacing,
hyphenation, and several other features are controlled by checking or pointing to
items in the box. The defaults that you set will apply to an entire page of the
document. After you become familiar with positioning text on the whole page
with Composition Defaults, you will learn how to manipulate the location of
individual lines and paragraphs of text.
1 Choose Save and Continue from the File/Print menu.
2 Choose Composition Defaults from the Edit Menu.
3 Inthe Line Spacing item choose 1. This will make the line spacing tighter.
4
In the Word Spacing item move both the Pref pointer and the pointer on the
right of the matrix to the left. This will close the space between words as text
is justified on a line.
5 Inthe Point Sizes item, replace the 36 with the number 14. The 14 will now
show in the last position on the Typestyle menu. Choose OK to bring your
document back to the screen and see the changes.
Note: Try other settings and see bow the text is displayed on the page. When you select the box
Set Compugraphic Defaults at the lower left of the dialog box the settings will revert to the
automatic defaults.
T ‘Desk File/Print Edit Type Sty ang y
Compugraphic Composition Preference
Hyphenetion = Letter spacing
oF on vont
linespxing ST @M@OOOO0O000
2 oy 6
Tigto 4 5 6 7 & Loose
Word specing
fot hy
Poresis tf} 2 [io] sie) [ul
Fule Weights a /1.0 / 2/15 | 3/20 | 4/40 | 5.6.0 | 6/80 |
Cin points) 7 : zi .
Set Compugraphic defaults
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2 31
Using Vertical Justification
32
If you want to change the line spacing of selected amounts of text on the page,
you can manipulate the vertical justification. This can be done over a few lines
or over an entire compartment of text.
1 First you must select the text. Select the section of text on the left side of the
gtaph. Select all of the paragraphs that begin with (¢) bullets.
> Place the pointer in front of the first bullet.
> Press and hold down the ey.
> Press and hold down the mouse button as you drag the pointer through the
text. The amount of text can be two or more lines. In this case select the text
through the end of the word System.
2 Choose Set Vertical Justification from the Format Text menu. Small arrows
will appear on the page ruler pointing to the top and bottom of the selected
text.
3 Select the bottom arrow and pull it upward about % inch on the ruler. Gray
dotted lines will connect the arrows with the selected text. The text will
compress and you will see less space between each line.
Y Desk File/Print Edit Type Format {1
Annual Re;
Center
tt Lita} Right
S00 justify
Clear Tats sy
$et Normal Tab
Set Centered Tab
Set Fight Flush Taty
Set Becirnal Tab
Set Canma ‘Tab
Set Tab Fil
wal Et Word Break
Delete Word Break
“| pontinned to expand the! IvShow Word Breaks
wm configurations for the nev ai
Make Space Block
Compress Text
All of the Cone telecom
Cla] asa ns
Cg Compose 2
Making a Space Block
Final Editing
You can add extra line space between paragraphs by making a space block at the
end of a paragraph.
1 Tomakea space block you must place an insertion point at the end of
sentence on a paragraph return.
> Place the pointer after the : colon at the end of the first paragraph.
> Press and hold down the key.
> Click the the mouse button.
2 Choose Make Space Block from the Format Text menu. A double line will
appear in the text between the paragraphs.
3 Scroll through the document and put a space block between each paragraph
and subheading. The space block can be made larger by holding down the
[Apple] key, selecting the bottom line of the space block, and pulling it
downward. If you accidently move the compartment while you are selecting
an insertion point, you can always choose to Undo“Move Fig./Comp.” from
the Edit menu.
As you go through the text adding space blocks, you can put the finishing touches
on this page before you make the next page. You should change each subheading
and improve the hyphenation if line endings are unsatisfactory.
> Choose Cg Times Bold and 14 point type for each of the subheadings: New
Options, Software, Hardware
> To learn more about changing the line endings, look at the next section on
word breaks before you go through and edit the page.
” Desk _File/Print_ Edit
(16 The Ski
on fiscal 1984, operKing results af
Cece en neon
fially Fly improve aad the ‘Company's financial
(ora ona Kind & Tlormaoa
Ee very chan wil ac perform sober
fad even computers of similar design and, |
function cften will not communicate with” Fe
puch cher. The Company mati need wit |
hew scftware and hardware products. :
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2 33
34
Inserting Word Breaks
In some cases you may want to change the hyphenation that occurs
automatically. You can insert a word break manually to change the automatic
hyphenation of a particular line. You can turn off the automatic hyphenation for
the whole page in the Composition Defaults dialog box.
1 As you scroll through the Annual Report look at each line and choose a
hyphenated word, or a sentence that has a large gap and could be improved if
a hyphen were placed differently. Because there are so many factors that
determine line endings, it will be difficult to say where the unstisfactory word
breaks may be in your Annual Report. Place an insertion point at another
place in the word where it might be better to make the hyphen.
> Press down and hold the [Apple|key.
> Click the mouse button.
2 Choose Insert Word Break from the Format Text menu. The word will now
hyphenate where you have chosen. There are certain limits to how much you
can change the hyphenation. The control you have over these limits is in the
word and letter space settings that you make in the Composition Defaults. If
you choose to allow more word and letter space, you have a wider range of
control. If you do not want a word to hyphenate, you may place a word break
before or after a word. If the entire word will fit on the line, the word will not be
hyphenated.
3 To remove the word breaks you've inserted, choose Delete Word Break
from the Edit menu.
T Desk _File/Print__Edit_ Type Style Fonts BRIUESTE Pag
"Set Vertical Justification
Clear Vertical Jkstification
Clear Tab Stop
Set Normal Tab
Set Centered Tab
Set Right Flush Tab
Set Decimal '" Tab
Set Comma ',' Tab
‘Set Tab Fill...
mutt Wud Bleak
Delete Word Break
Show Word Breaks
IE)
Cg Compose 2
Making A Header
Making A Footer
Thus far we have been working with a one page document. In the next few pages
you will learn how to carry the page design through a longer document. A header
will carry the title and the rule to all other pages of the document.
1 Select the compartment that contains the title by placing the pointer on it and
clicking the mouse button.
2 Press and hold the Shift key.
3 Select the rule so that both the compartment and the rule are highlighted at
the same time.
4 Choose Repeat on all Pages from the Arrangement menu.
The objects will now appear on each page of the document.
"Desk File/Print Edit Type Style Fonts Format if _Page Layout
B Mo Te
mitt \ \
4 : Anmnal Report
Send To Back
rap Objects
[Yo The Sharakol flat “parte
turn to prefitebility in 1984 vis the result
the succesful completion of four majot
{During fiscal 1984, operating results af nd even computers
Switch—On Communications were substan” function ten will
Fially improved and the Company's financial ‘pach other. The Comj”
positon ‘wes significantly strengthened. Tha... ew scftware and her
Align Objects.
Shade Objects...
‘Show Grids
Jporporste initiatives:
4 The introduction of
|. faumber options andl
pahancements forthe new
a] Bwitch-On Tal
SG Profuse (STEP in)
© The improvement |
Comparison i bt Costs vs Revenues
Prodks an ie Rise
ia]
In Miltioy's of Dollars Revenues}
0
Ruto Grid
Align to toad
ecle marketing on
fmanufecturing. “Wher
fit was formed in 1981,
lwe projected thet i
petaim: Ie
|
Miog
At the bottom of the page you can place a footer that will appear on all pages of
your document. Next to the footer compartment you can insert a page number
that will increase by one on each page.
1 Scroll to the bottom of the page and draw a compartment in the middle of the
page about ¥ inch wide and ¥ inch deep.
> Choose Make a Compartment from the Page Layout menu.
> Draw the rectangle as shown in the figure on the next page.
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
35
Inserting Page Number
36
2 Insert the word Page into the compartment by placing the pointer in the
compartment, pressing down the key, and clicking the mouse button.
A blinking insertion point will appear. Type the word Page.
3 To format the footer
> choose Right from the Format Text menu.
> Choose Cg Times Bold from the Fonts menu.
© Choose 18 point from the Typestyle menu.
4 Select the Page compartment and choose Repeat on all Pages from the
Arrangement menu.
A page number can be inserted anywhere on the page except in a compartment.
Once a page number is inserted on a page, it will repeat on all pages and appear in
the same place on subsequent pages.
1 Click to place an insertion mark to the right of the Page compartment you
just made.
2 Choose Insert Page Number from the Page Layout menu.
3 While the unique page number compartment is still highlighted, choose Cg
Times Bold from the Fonts menu.
> Choose 18 point from the Typestyle menu.
Y Desk File/Print Edit Typ a 3 ’
fal Fs PTT Ce Er Pot lr ro i Fe eof er BW Bre
‘i "listen to," or accept, int
‘Throughout 1984, we continued to expand... byem s sbility to
number of system configurations forth {grmuion rom chr company a ete
ew product, and also to develop and intro} cone" rm Hea end alk (0 eee
fince tdcel cpicay and enuscoen a bie tid conver it ino typerezing es,
prise ise frokes. It can also transmit information back
ioe mange ofthis product amy sent ownrnfO the orginal workstation for additional edit]
quipment can be of limited wility fit lack ing. This is called ‘telecommunications,'
FREES ted Seettlig. AX compacs pets on oon oer orsnarytelepond
Cg Compose 2
Accept and
Design a Page
Page 2 Layout
Once you have finished working on a page you must accept it to be able to work
on the next page.
1 Choose Accept page 1 from the Edit menu. The grid lines will disappear.
2 Choose Design Page from the Page Layout menu. When the dialog box
appears, choose Style next page - like last page. Click OK. This will draw
compartments in the same position as the first page. You will automatically
scroll to the next page.
T Desk File/Print__Edit Type Style Fonts Format f Page Layout Arrangement 2
DESIGN PAGE... (wear)
Style next page
- like last page = as on clipboard 1)
~ like page before last ~ Free-style 1
Style and Fill next page
= lke fast page = as on clipboard
~ he page before last
Style and Fill all pages
= Uke tast page =) = as on clipboard []
= alternating
3 The compartments and text of the repeating header and footer, including the
page number 2 will appear on the page. Click on the page to activate it.
You will perform work on page 2 as you did on the first page. You will arrange
the compartments and figures. Then you will pour text from the galley into the
compartments. Finally you will scroll through and edit the page placing space
blocks, making the subheadings bold, and inserting other editing touches to
finish up the page.
1 Agraph will be placed at the bottom of the page that will occupy
approximately one third of the page.
> Press the view control at the very bottom right of the Compose document.
There you will find another figure that has been pasted onto a galley. It is the
graph that will be placed on the page 2.
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
37
38
> Scroll down so that you can see the 6 inch mark on the side page ruler.
> Select the galley by placing the pointer in the upper left corner.
> Press and hold down the mouse button.
> Drag the galley to the far left side of the page just outside the left text column
about 5% inches down from the top of the page and release the mouse
button. Center the figure on the page. The lower line in the figure should be
even with bottom of the compartments.
"Desk _File/Print_Edit_ Type Style Fonts _Format if_Page Layo pemes a)
Jesh linia bulad adelaide
A A
2 Inthe galley area you will see the company logo. It is a small figure with an
S/O on it. You will place the logo in the upper left corner of this page, and
format it to repeat on the remaining pages.
> Place the pointer in the upper left corner of the figure. Press and hold down
the mouse button. Drag the figure to the upper left corner of the
compartment on the page. When the pointer is on the corner, release the
mouse button.
> Choose Repeat on all Pages from the Arrangement menu. You will see the
figure when you design the next page.
Cg Compose 2
vyvevvry~
“oy
>
>
>
Y Desk _File/Print. Fgt_Twe x Fonts _Formet f_Page Leyout__ Arrangement
Take the text galley and place it in the left compartment.
Place the pointer on the galley.
Press and hold the mouse button.
Drag the galley into the compartment and release the mouse button.
Scroll through the text and edit it like the first page.
Place Space Blocks at the end of each paragraph.
Choose Cg Times Bold and choose 14 point type for each of the
subheadings: Cost Control and Productivity, Cost Reduction Programs.
Check the hyphenation and insert word breaks where needed.
After going through this page, you should accept it and begin to design the
final page.
Choose Accept Page from the Edit menu.
Choose Design Page from the Page Layout menu.
Choose Style and Fill next Page—like last page from the dialog box that
appears. By selecting this menu item, you will see page 3 with text already
placed in the compartment on the left side of the page.
‘
{
|
Ss ct een |
OJ {fiesta So naa at
fed" campaign |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
er
incredi.
casi, reponse ons et
Sowttelorettd pel “
yam and
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2 39
40
Page 3 Layout
Setting Tabs
The third page will have two short columns with a table placed at the end of the
text. You will go to the bottom of the third page and make the compartments
smaller by dragging them up the page.
1 Scroll to the bottom of the page.
2. Select both compartments using the [Shift|key.
3 Choose Lock in Place from the Arrangement menu. This will remove the
check mark and unlock the compartments.
4 Place the pointer on the center handle at the base of one of the compartments.
> Press down and hold the mouse button
© Drag the bottom of the compartments up to the 5% inch mark on the page.
One method for organizing a list of numbers is to place them ina table using tab
stops. In Compose, tabs are inserted into text the same way that they are used in
LisaWrite. If tabs are already in your LisaWrite source document they will appear
in Compose.
Insert the table in the lower part of the right column at the end of the text in the
compartment.
> Place the pointer into the compartment.
> Press down and hold the [Apple|key.
> Click the mouse button. You will see a blinking insertion point where you can
begin to enter text.
2. Press the (Return) key twice.
3 You will enter text in Cg Times Bold 18 point.
> Choose Cg 18 point from the Typestyle menu.
> Choose Cg Times Bold from the Fonts menu.
> Type: Total Number of Units.
> Press Returnl[Return|[Return}
4 Choose Show Rulers from the Page Layout menu.
Cg Compose 2
5 Toset up the first tab stop.
» Place the pointer on the ruler at the 2 inch mark. Click the mouse button.
> Choose Set Centered Tab from the Format { menu.
Choose Set Tab Fill from the Format § menu.
» Placea . (period) in the dialog box. Check OK.
6 Toset the second tab stop.
> Place the pointer on the ruler at the 1 inch mark. Click the mouse button.
> Choose Set Centered Tab from the Format { menu.
© Choose Set Tab Fill from the Format § menu.
> Place a . (period) in the dialog box. Check OK.
5 Choose 14 point from the Typestyle menu.
> Press |Tab| Type: 1983
> Press ‘Type: 1984
> Press [Return|[Return]
6 Choose Cg Times (This text will be 14 point not bold)
> Press [Return|[Return|
7 Type: Software
> Type: 150 850
> Press [Return|[Return|
8 Type: Support
> Press the[Te
> ‘ype: 57 [Tab] 980
9 Toemphasize the information in the table, place a 1.0 point rule above and
below it on the page.
> Choose 1 pt. Rule from the Page Layout menu
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
41
42
Final Editing
> Place the pointer on the left side of the left compartment above the dates and
draw the rule to the right side of the compartment.
> Release the mouse button
» Click the mouse on a blank place on the page.
> Follow the same proceedure to place a rule below the table.
pot ti tiit
fees hang. This venale apg ish
“"""tiotal Number of Unita |
its. i iber of optic
fhtsbeen que fevoratla "The ee. nd
gy and programmabliyferures th
ofits fit
At this time you have worked through the Annual Report and it is almost ready to
print. You should scroll to the bottom of the text compartments and adjust them
so that the last lines in both compartments are the same depth on the page. If
necessary change the depth of the compartments or use vertical justification to
make them even.
You have now composed an Annual Report and used the major functions of the
tool Cg Compose 2. After printing your document you may want to tear off
another sheet of paper from the Getting Started stationery pad for more practice,
or you can go on to the next section, Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2, for more
information about working with documents in Compose.
Cg Compose 2
Output On the
ImageWriter Printer
For proofing purposes it is a good idea to first print your document on a Dot
Matrix printer before you send it to the typesetter. Follow the steps below to
output your document on the ImageWriter printer. If you don’t have a Dot Matrix
printer, skip ahead to a section covering an output device that you do have
connected to your Personal Composition System.
1 Tobe certain that the information displayed on the screen is stored on your
disk for future retrieval, pull down the File/Print menu and select Save and
Continue.
2. Toselect the device on which you will output your report, you must have that
device physically connected to your Personal Composition System and have
the device indicated in the Format for Printer menu.
3 Choose Format for Printer from the File/Print menu. A dialog box will
appear to allow format choices. The information in this dialog box must agree
with choices that you’ve already made in the Page Size dialog box. You will
learn more about these choices in Chapter 2, Using Compose.
4 The title at the top of the page should be Format for ImageWriter Printer —
serial port B. If the title is something else, check New Printer... and from the
dialog box that appears check ImageWriter.
Desk BGIRTGAIM eait_ Type style Fonts Format 11 Page Layout__ Arrangement
Format for imageWriter Printer - serial port B
Paper Size
MiLetter (8.5 x11")
Cegal (8.5 x 14")
(Computer (14 x 11")
a4 (210 x 237mm)
(210mm x 12"
310mm xe"
Paper Printing Orientation
Lee
Printing Quality
High Resolution Ml Low Resolution
Ceew printer.) (Co)
r et
> The Printing orientation should be portrait. This means the person icon is
straight up and not on it’s side. (Landscape printing rotates the image
90° sideways.)
> Choose High Resolution for the Printing Quality.
> Click OK
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
4B
Output on Typesetter
44
or EP 308
5 Select Print from the File/Print menu. The Print dialog box will let you
specify some final details concerning the output of your Annual Report.
> Check Finished Quality, Fanfold, 1, and All Pages.
> Check OK.
"Desk MIGRINS Edit Type Style Fonts Format tf Page Layout Arrangement ‘
Print on ImageWriter Printer ~ serial port B
MiFinished Quality C] Quick Draft (text only)
Paper Feed
MiFanfold Li Single Sheets
Number _oF Copies
BHRVSOROHe)
Pages to Print
MIAN Pages Donly pages:| Through, Ca)
If you have trouble printing your document, turn to the ImageWriter printer
section of the Office System manual for more information.
Check over the proof copy of your document. Make any needed corrections. You
may go to a specific page in your document by choosing Go to Page... from the
Edit menu and type the page number into the dialog box. Remember, to edit a
new page, you must accept the current page on which you are working. Once
everything is OK you may output your document on the typesetter or EP 308.
After making the appropriate corrections to your draft, you will output it on the
typesetter or EP 308 by following the steps listed below.
1. If you make corrections, save the corrections by choosing Save and
Continue from the File/Print menu.
2 You must have the Cg Printer connected at Serial A to output on that device.
You must also have Device Driver software installed through your
Preferences. Instructions for installing this software are found in Chapter 4 of
this manual. You must also have the output device listed at the top of the
Format for Printer dialog box.
3 Choose Format for Printer from the File/Print menu. A dialog box will
appear to allow for additional format choices. The information in this dialog
box must agree with choices that you've already made in the Page Size dialog
box. You will learn more about these choices in Chapter 2: Using Compose.
Cg Compose 2
4 The title at the top of the dialog box should be your finished quality output
device. Let’s assume that device is the EP 308. Then the dialog box should
tead: Format for EP 308 — serial port A. If the title is something else, check
New Printer... and check EP 308 from the dialog box that appears.
Note: If EP 308 is not on the list, you must install the Device Driver software
Desk Edit_ Type Style Fonts Format ‘f Page Layout _ Arrangement ,
Format For Compugraphic EP308 - serial port A Cancer)
Poper Size
Mi Letter (8.5" x 11")
CLegal (8.5" x 14")
a4 (210 x 297mm)
210mm x 12"
Printing Orientation
:
Coew printer.) (Coe)
> The Printing orientation should be portrait. This means the person icon is
straight up and not on it’s side. (Landscape printing rotates the image
90° sideways)
> The Printing Quality High Resolution is automatically selected for the EP
308. Click OK
5 Select Print from the File/Print menu. The Print dialog box will let you
specify some final details concerning the output of your Annual Report.
> For the EP 308 check All Pages, 1 Copy, Pages Collated, Automatic Feed
Desk MISTER Ecit Type style Fonts Format if Page Layout__Arrangement %
Print on Compugraphic EP308 ~ serial port A
Pages to Print cnn a
Wisi Pages Donly pages: Through:
Number _of Copies
BECMOOEEOH Cote!
Collation
LPages Collated Mf Pages Not Collated
Media Input:
[PB automatic Feed [“]Manual Feed
Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2
45
46
Format and Print for
Typesetter
Putting Your
Document Away
Trouble With Printing?
For the 8400 or 8600 Typesetter check Printing Orientation Portrait (click on
the upright person)
> Check Print Quality High Resolution.
> Check OK.
best MNIEHEWT ait- type Style Format if Page Layout Search Spelling y
Format For Compugraphic 8400 Typesetter ~ serial port A
Size
Lotter (8.5 x 11")
Legal (8.5 x 14")
(iaa'(2 10 x 297mm)
210mm x 12"
OiSpecial Paper Size
Printing Orientation
Pri
inking Quality
WHigh Resolution C)Low Resolution
* G4
> To print check All Pages
> Check OK.
Desk MNIEININI Edit type style Fonts Format 1f Page Layout __ Arrangement
Print on Compugraphic 8400 Typesetter - serial port A
to Print
All Pages ClOnly pages: ]through:| i
Ce
Click twice on the document icon in the upper left corner of your page. Your
document will take a minute as it is being saved and then it will zoom back into
the icon form that you saw before you opened it. It will return to the same spot
where you opened it.
> Ifyou have trouble printing and receive an alert message, try to determine
what is causing the error. Make sure that your device is connected in the
Preferences, and that the device driver software is also installed. Check all of
the cable connections and make sure each component of the System is
powered up and in good operating order.
This manual has several chapters that can help you with problems. There are also
specific chapters in the Lisa Office System Manual that can help with various
aspects of your System’s performance. Look in the table of contents or the index
for the Chapter which seems to best describe your problem.
> Ifyou see any other alert message, follow the instructions on the Personal
Composition System screen.
> To learn more about printing, refer to the chapter on your output device.
Cg Compose 2
Chapter 2
Using Cg Compose 2
Contents
Typeset a Memo
Prepare a News Release
48
50
51
52
52
54
55
56
56
57
57
57
58
59
60
60
60
61
63
64
66
67
68
68
69
71
72
72
73
74
14
76
77
78
79
82
83
Introduction
The Cg Compose 2 Window
Text and Figures
About Menus
Pointers
Selecting
Compose Paper
The Compose Page
Linking Compartments
Page Size
Group and Lock Objects
Entering And Editing Text
Format Text
Tabs
Page layout
Design Page
Rulers
Scrolling
Output
Making a Stationery Pad
Format a Blank Piece of Stationery
Page Size
Composition Defaults
Default Printer
Making a Galley
Making Compartments
Entering Text
Copying a Source Document
Pasting a Figure
Making a Rule
Placing Rules
Making a Stationery Pad
Creating a Source Document
Pasting Text onto a Galley
Changing Fonts
Output Memo on Typesetter
Putting a Document Away
Preparing a Source Document
Making a Compartment
Cg Compose 2
Create a Brochure
84 Matching a Compartment
85 Establish Compartment Links
85 Merging Text into Compartments
86 Changing Linespace
87 Cut and Paste Text
87 Changing Fonts
89 Setting Vertical Justification
90 Changing Wordbreaks
90 Inserting Space Blocks
91 Output Your Document
93 The Landscape Mode
94 Editing in the Source Tool
97 Page Size
97 Making Compartments
99 Matching Compartments
100 Change Fonts in Galley
101 Meerging Text
101 Making a Space Block
103 Placing Rules
104 Merging Text
105 Moving Compartments Filled with Text
106 Placing Compartments Within Compartments
107 Shading a Compartment
109 Typeset the Brochure
Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2
49
50
Introduction
Before you Begin
This Chapter explains Cg Compose 2 concepts, describes the screen, menus,
pointers and general working environment. It also guides you, step-by-step,
through several real-life examples. To get the maximum value from the chapter,
you should try out the examples on your Personal Composition System as you go
through it. Major Compose features are covered in the examples.
A complete description of each Compose operation can be found in Chapter 3:
Compose 2 Reference in this manual.
Before you begin this chapter, be sure you have completed the interactive
LisaGuide, and Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2 in this manual. Chapter 1
introduces you to Compose Operations.
To complete this tutorial, you will need:
@ The Cg Compose 2 Stationery paper that is on the Disk.
@ The sample documents in the Examples Folder.
You should have duplicated the Cg Compose 2 Examples Folder onto the Disk.
Instructions for this procedure are found in Chapter 4: System Set Up. When you
have finished learning Compose, you will probably want to throw the Examples
Folder into the Wastebasket to make room on your Disk. If you need it again, you
can duplicate the original folder that is on the micro diskette.
You should understand the following procedures before beginning this chapter:
How to move the pointer around the screen using the mouse.
Hi How to open menus and choose menu items.
W@ How to select text or objects on the screen.
@ How to open and save documents.
@ How to change the size of a window and move it around on the desktop.
@ How to prepare text in LisaWrite.
Wi How to make LisaDraw figures.
lf How to copy and paste documents.
@ How to scroll the window to see different parts of the document. -
The arrow symbol appears before each activity in the chapter and indicates “Do
something.” For example,
> Turn the page to learn more about Cg Compose 2.
Cg Compose 2
The Cg Compose 2
Window
Cg Compose 2 Terms
This Chapter is divided into two parts. The first part briefly explains basic
Compose concepts. The second part contains three examples of work you might
perform on your Personal Composition System. Each example gives directions
for accomplishing specific tasks. These tasks illustrate important points. You may
use Chapter 2 as a reference guide when you want a reminder on how to doa
specific task or when you want more information about a particular subject. You
can look for specific topics and procedures in the index.
To use Cg Compose 2 you must understand the basic concepts and terminology
associated with the Compose document. The basic operations that you perform
in Compose, such as selecting, scrolling, entering text, changing text and
formatting text, are similar to those you have learned in LisaWrite and LisaDraw.
With Compose you will take these operations several steps farther. You will learn
to have even more control over the final product—your document.
When you create and edit Cg Compose 2 documents, the desktop looks
something like the figure below.
"Desk _File/Print Edit
Type Style _Fonts SEMMMENETM Page Layout Arrangement ]
iV Left ci
fig Compose 2 Pape
Center «|
Right «Al
Justify “
Set Vertical Justification
Clear Vertical Justification
Gear Tab Stop «
Set Norah Tab «/
Set Centered Tab «il
Set Flight Flush Tab}
Set Decienal Tab
Set Cova! Taba
Set Tab Fil
Insert Word Break
Delete Wore Break 0)
‘Show Word Breaks
Make Space Block
Compress Text...
Icon A graphic symbol representing something on
the Desktop.
Window Displays the contents of an open document.
Menu bar Shows the names of the available menus in Compose.
Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2
52
Text and Figures
About Menus
Title bar Shows the name of the document.
Menu item An operation, command, or instruction that is applied
to the current selected item.
Pointer Used to select, move, create, stretch, shrink, or
reshape objects on the desktop.
Compartment Rectangle used to position text on a page.
Design Page... Used to set the format of the next page after you have
accepted the current one.
Rule A horizontal or vertical line.
Galley A temporary storage area for moving figures and text
into Compose.
Rulers Used to help layout the page.
Scroll bar Controls that allow you to move the document within
the window to see different parts of it.
Compose lets you merge graphic figures with text. Compose documents may
contain figures such as drawings, company logos, graphs or flowcharts. Figure
objects include graphs and anything you draw—lines, circles, graphs, boxes, etc.
Text consists of material pasted in from LisaWrite, LisaList, LisaCalc and the fonts
displayed on the screen, including letters, numbers, symbols, and punctuation.
With Compose you can layout your text with multiple columns, perform cut
runarounds, indents, and other page layout functions that cannot be performed
ona standard typewriter or word processor.
Many of the operations performed in Compose are accomplished by choosing an
item from a menu. The Compose menus are listed on the menu bar shown in the
previous figure. A description of all Compose menu items is found in Chapter 3:
Compose 2 Reference
To choose a menu item, move the pointer to the menu bar and position it over the
name of the menu, press the mouse button and hold it down. Notice that the
menu is displayed. Move the pointer to the menu item you want to select. When
the item is highlightled, release the mouse button.
Some menu items have an Apple symbol and a letter beside them. As a shortcut
you can hold down the [Apple] key and press the letter to select a function rather
than choosing the item from the menu with the mouse. Refer to Appendix 2,
Apple Keys, in this manual, for a list of menu items that you can choose using the
Apple key.
Cg Compose 2
Some menu items are followed by an ellipsis (. . .). When you choose one of
these menu items, you must respond to a dialog box before the item takes effect.
(Dialog boxes are explained below.)
When a menu item is shown in gray instead of black, it cannot be chosen at that
time. This is usually because it does not apply to the current selection.
Some menu items are grouped together and represent the available choices for a
particular menu setting. The current setting has a check mark next to it. If you
choose another setting, the current one automatically turns off. Choosing one of
these menu items excludes the ability to perform other similar operations. For
instance, the same text cannot be both Bold and Plain at the same time.
Other menu items have check marks when they are on, but they can also work
with other menu items. For example, you can use Bold and Underline at the same
time. When you do, both items will be checked on the Typestyle menu. In this
case, choosing Plain Text turns off both Bold and Underline.
A few menu items such as Group Objects or Lock in Place, show check marks
when they have been selected and are on. The reselection of the same item will
turn them off.
Style _Fonts_Format 1f_Page Layout
Bring To Front
Send To Back
‘Group Objects
Repeat on all Pages
Align Objects...
Shade Objects...
a Ca
o] 4) CL
Preterences wastenastet Clippeara oi
Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2 53
54
Pointers
vd
Ki
Xt
Selecting
As you move the mouse, the pointer moves around the screen. Depending on
what you are doing, the pointer can have any of the following shapes:
The check pointer is used to make choices within a dialog box.
The hourglass appears when you must wait while the Lisa finishes a task.
The arrow pointer appears when you can make changes to the screen display. It is
used for view controls, menu items, selecting icons, and moving figures around
on the desktop.
The drawing pointer appears when you draw a rule or make a compartment.
The text pointer appears when you have pressed the [Apple|key and clicked the
mouse button in a compartment. When the text symbol is activated, there is an
insertion point marking where the text will appear in the compartment.
To work on a passage of text or a graphic object, you must indicate what you
want to change or alter by selecting it on the screen. To select something place
the pointer on it and click the mouse button. This is an important concept: you
must always select the text or figure before you can edit or format it.
When you press the key and click the mouse button to select a point of
insertion, a vertical bar blinks to show where the next typed character will
appear. This vertical bar is called the insertion point. The text pointer
temporarily disappears (it reappears as a text pointer when you move the mouse).
Any previously selected text is deselected.
If you try to select a point at the bottom of a document or in a blank area and
can’t, there is no text to be selected. You can place the insertion point after the
last text and press to move the insertion point down, or you can press
the spacebar to move the insertion point to the right across the page.
After selecting text, you can type new text to replace the selection or you can
choose a menu item to edit or format the selection. For example, to replace a
misspelled word, select the word and type it correctly.
The table on the next page explains how to select a point of insertion, one or
more characters, or a text passage of any length. Selected text is highlighted on
the screen; however, highlighting doesn’t print.
Cg Compose 2
Compose Paper
To Select Text
Insertion point
One or more characters
Select everything
Deselect
Extend the selection
To Select Objects
Figures, lines, etc.
Multiple objects
Do the Following
Move the pointer to the desired location and press the
key as you click the mouse button.
Move the pointer to the left of the first character.
Press the key. Press and hold the mouse
button. Pull through to the last character and release
the mouse button.
Choose Select All of Document from the Edit
menu. This selects the text and objects.
Click the mouse button when the pointer is in a blank
area of the document.
Move the pointer to the end of the text you want
included in the selection. Press and hold the
key and click the mouse button.
Do The following
Move the pointer so that it touches the object. If the
object is filled, you can move the pointer anywhere
inside the object. Click the mouse button. Be sure you
don't move the mouse while clicking. Handles appear
to show that the object is selected.
Press the key and hold it down. Move the
pointer to each object you want to select and click the
mouse button. Handles appear as the objects are
selected. Release the [Shift}key.
In Compose, you can choose three kinds of paper from the Page Layout menu.
@ Plain paper is completely blank with no grid lines.
@ Grid paper has grid lines that are useful as a visual drawing aid. Use grid paper
to position objects and text manually.
@ Auto-grid paper also has grid lines. Everything you draw will snap to these
grid lines automatically, as if the lines are magnetic. The auto-grid is useful
when you are drawing charts or anything that has to be aligned perfectly.
Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2
55
The Compose Page
Linking Compartments
56
With a Compose document you may edit only one page at a time. You must
accept the contents of the page you are on before you can change the contents of
another page. This is done by choosing Accept Page from the Edit menu. You
then go to the new page and click the mouse button on it.
Text can only be entered onto the Compose page by placing it into a
compartment. A compartment is made the same way as drawing a rectangle in
LisaDraw. You must choose Make a Compartment from the Page Layout menu.
Each block of text or figure that you copy and bring into Compose from another
tool must be placed on a galley. You draw a galley in the lower part of the
Compose document. You must draw seperate gallies for holding text and figures,
then assemble the text and figures on the page.
You merge text from a galley into a compartment by selecting the galley and
dragging it up to the compartment. Release the mouse button when the pointer is
in the compartment you are filling with text.
You can link a galley with several compartments on a page, so that text will
merge into one compartment from the galley and then automatically begin filling
the next compartment. First create a blank galley at the bottom of the page. Place
the pointer onto the galley. Press and hold down the mouse button. Drag the
galley into the first compartment and release the mouse button when the arrow is
on the compartment. The galley will change shape and become the same length
as the compartment. When you bring the text galley into the first compartment,
text will fill that and all other compartments that are linked with it.
This procedure allows text to be composed as it moves from the galley into the
compartment, and back to the galley again if the compartment size is changed.
You may break the association link between compartments on the same page by
choosing Break Compartment Links from the Page Layout menu.
When you choose Accept Page from the Edit menu, the link between the galley
and the compartment is broken. Because the association is no longer active, if the
compartment is made smaller, the text will automatically flow onto an overflow
galley, which appears in the galley area. The contents of a galley can be merged
into the next compartment that is associated with that galley.
Cg Compose 2
Page Size
Group Objects
Lock Objects
Changing Shapes
Entering and Editing Text
When you tear off a piece of stationery for the first time, you see a Page Size
dialog box that you must complete. The decisions you make will be carried with
the document and with duplicates of the document. The Compose document
Page Size designates the intended output size of the paper (letter or legal), the
graphic resolution (high or low), and the mode, of output (landscape or portrait).
In the Format for Print dialog box you must match the attributes of the page
size to output the document. You can paste material from one size page to
another size page to change the output resolution, mode or length of paper.
Note: The EP 308 can only output bigh resolution pages
You can select several objects and treat them as one single object by grouping
them. This technique is used when you want to move or change all the objects as
a single unit. Later, if you want to edit parts of the group, you can ungroup the
objects. They will be separate again.
You can also choose Align Objects... from the Arrangement menu to straighten
selected objects. The dialog box that appears gives you the added choice of
matching existing characteristics of some of the items selected.
You can lock selected parts of a document into place. Once locked, these
selections cannot be changed, deleted, or moved until you unlock them.
In Compose, you can stretch or shrink any compartment, space or rule. You can
make it wider or thinner, taller or shorter, or change both dimensions at the same
time. The way an object changes when you stretch or shrink it depends on which
of the handles you move when the figure is selected.
When you enter text, you type it for the first time. When you edit text, you add
to, rearrange, replace, or remove existing text. Compose allows you to enter new
text and edit text that is already in the document.
You can type in Compose without worrying about the length of the line. As you
type, any word that exceeds the right compartment edge automatically moves
down to start a new line at the left margin. This feature is called word wrap. You
press the[Return|key only when you want to start a new paragraph.
Text wrapped together in one paragraph is treated as a unit for many Compose
operations. For example, when you add or remove text from a wrapped
paragraph, all gaps between the text and the compartment edge are readjusted
automatically. If you change the size of the compartment, the text realigns
between the new borders.
Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2
57
58
Format Text
When you create, edit, and format a Compose document, its contents can be
viewed as groupings of text, paragraphs, and pages.
W@ Zext is a group of one or more characters, including letters, numbers, symbols,
punctuation, and nonprinting, characters such as spaces, tabs, and paragraph
returns. Some Compose operations, such as cutting, copying, and replacing
text, work with any amount of text that you select in a document, whether it
is part of a word in the middle of a line, a sentence in the middle of a
paragraph, two paragraphs, or the entire document.
@@ A paragraph is a group of text that ends with a paragraph return character. A
paragraph return character by itself is also a paragraph. (A paragraph return
character is the result of pressing the [Return]key.) Some of the formatting
styles available in Compose work on a paragraph-by-paragraph basis such as
the selection of alignment.
@ A page is text and figures that will print on one piece of paper. Compose has
special formatting features for pages. Page length, page numbers, repeating
page layout formats, and single page editing create style attributes associated
with pages.
Formatting text determines the appearance of your document by specifying the
fonts, paragraph alignment, and page design. You can set the document format
you want before entering text, or you can change it after you've entered text.
Format attributes result from selecting the operations from the Edit, Typestyle,
Fonts, and Format § menus. From the Composition Defaults... dialog box on
the Edit menu you choose letter, word, and line spacing, as well as automatic and
manual hyphenation. This dialog box displays the settings in effect for the
current page you are editing.
The Format § menu allows you to choose paragraph alignment, set tabs and
vertical justification and control the word breaks. The menu item Compress Text
allows you to apply book set, ad set, or tight set Character Compensation and
text or designer Kerning to make the text tighter on the page.
The type used in a document is chosen from the Typestyle and Fonts menu and
applied to text that has been selected. The size of the characters is chosen from
the Typestyle menu, and the typeface is chosen from those available on the Fonts
menu. This is applied when text is first entered into Compose by choosing
Change Fonts in Galley from the Fonts menu, or it can be added later when the
text is edited.
Cg Compose 2
Tabs
The top of the Typestyle menu is displayed in the same arrangement as the
LisaWrite Typestyle menu with the variations of Plain Text, Underline, Boldface,
Italic, Subscript and Superscript. The bottom section of the menu shows the
available type sizes including the ability to indicate sizes other than those shown
on the menu.
The Fonts menu contains the typefaces Apple Classic and Apple Modern and the
typefaces purchased from Compugraphic. You can display 14 typefaces on the
menu at one time. You may have up to 100 typefaces on the Disk. Fonts can be
accessed from the disk by the menu item, Replace Menu Fonts.
After you have finished a page, and accepted it in the Edit menu you can choose
the method of designing and filling the next page from the Page Layout menu.
The Design Page... item allows you to maintain the same format parameters as
you continue, or to change them as you style a new page.
When you change a page format, the new attributes will be applied to all of your
work until you change them again. The Design Page... dialog box allows your
work to be uniform, but gives the flexibility to change the layout if you choose.
@ Setting Format Styles Before Entering Text:
Before you start typing, you can choose the formatting styles you want from the
various menus. The settings you choose become active at the current insertion
point. When you type, your text automatically conforms to them. To increase
your production speed, you may want to make many of your format decisions
when you are working on your source documents with the other tools.
‘Typestyle, size, and paragraph alignment can be applied to your document when
you are working in LisaWrite. These attributes will carry over into Compose.
Wi Changing Format Style of Text In Compose:
To change the format of text displayed in the middle of a document, highlight the
text you want to change, and choose the format item you want. The format
attributes set in the Composition Defaults... dialog box apply to the entire page.
@ Standard Format Settings:
The blank stationery pad that comes with Compose has some standard format or
default settings. To change settings or set specific Compose formats, including
the design of your own stationery pads, see Typesetting A Memo in this Chapter.
In Cg Compose 2 you can set tabs to line up information. If you have a source
document that already has tabs, the material will remain in tabs when it is moved
into a compartment.
Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2
59
Page Layout
Design Page
The Horizontal
Paragraph Ruler
The Vertical Page Ruler
60
You set tabs in a Compose document the same way you set them in LisaWrite. You
bring the ruler to the screen. Place the pointer on the line of text where you will
set the tab stop. Press the key and the mouse button. With the insertion
point blinking in the text, you mark the type of tab stop at the location you wish
on the ruler. When you press the [tab]key on that line, text moves to align with
the tab stop. You can set Left (normal), right, center, decimal and comma tab
stops. You can use fill patterns to place repeating characters on the page between
text that is in tabs.
Layout is the assembling of graphic elements on the page. It is the positioning of
text, rules, headers, footers, and figures on the page. The Compose document
layout is performed by drawing compartments and placing figures on the page.
Text is then merged into the compartments from galleys. The page layout is
changed by using the mouse to move the position of the compartments. Text
placed on the screen is viewed the way it will appear on the printed page. What-
you-see-is-what-you-get.
To expedite the production of your documents it is best to have a specific plan in
mind when you begin to layout a page. The Personal Composition System allows
for considerable experimentation and ease in changing document display.
However, your ability to plan ahead in assembling components will greatly
simplify your work.
The manipulation of compartments and figures is the most fundamental page
layout operation. You also can insert Rules on your page and use Space Blocks
to leave room for adding artwork that can not be pasted onto a galley.
Compartments can be shaded, and brought to the front, or sent to the back as you
do in LisaDraw to hide or crop figures.
When you choose Design Page... from the Page Layout menu, you can designate
the compartment layout on the new page to: 1) repeat from the current page, 2)
repeat from the preceding page, or 3) copy a page layout that has been placed on
the clipboard. If you want the fext in a compartment to repeat on all pages, such
as for a header or footer, you can designate that the compartment and contents
Repeat on All Pages from the Arrangement menu.
The Horizontal Paragraph Ruler is used to set tabs and help position
compartments and margins on the page. It appears when you choose Show
Rulers from the Page Layout menu. By checking items on the Customize
Rulers... dialog box, you can change and redefine the measuring increments that
display on the rulers.
The vertical page ruler is used to set vertical justification and measure the
placement of compartments, figures, margins, headers, and footers. You bring it
to the screen by choosing Show Rulers from the Page Layout menu.
Cg Compose 2
When you use the vertical page ruler, the basic Compose screen changes to look
similar to the figure below. This figure shows only the top half of the page ruler.
When you choose Customize Rulers... from the Page Layout menu, you can
change the incremental scale shown on the rulers.
"Desk _File/Print_Edit_T, Fonts _Format_if frre e]
aaa Fens Wee We Wu PU Wa WU WO TWN PONS HOES BU ES EVES SES ESET /,7
T Desk _File/Print Edit _ Type Style Fonts Format 1f_Page Layout _ Arrangement
CUSTOMIZE RULERS...
‘RULER,
(CO HORIZONTAL [1] VERTICAL i BOTH
Ruler Format
WH inches) Centimeters Co)
Major Division Spacing
Oos mir Oss O27 o3
Number of Minor Divisions
0102 O03 0405 O86 8 Ow Or ow
‘Numbering Increment
M.0203 0405 06 O08 Ow or ow.
Adjustable Zero-Point: ] On Il Off
Scrolling Your document can be longer and wider than the display
window on your Lisa. Most of the time you'll want to keep the
window wide enough to see both ends of a line. The window
has view controls that you use to bring hidden portions of the
document into view and to see more than one area of the fa
document at a time. The figure below shows these controls.
Some of them are duplicated because the window has been
split into two sections, one for the document and one to hold
the galleys.
a
a]
[OE
SWITCH-ON \
COMMUNICATION J
Cg Compose 2 61
62
The following brief descriptions explain the items you see in the figure.
Scroll bars
Scroll arrows
Elevators
View buttons
Panel elevator
To Scroll in Compose
Line by line
Column by column
Continuous lines or
horizonal increments
View-sized increments
Continuous view-sized
increments
Large jumps
To the top
To the bottom
Cg Compose 2
Allow you change the view of the document.
Allow you to view hidden portions of a document,
either vertically line-by-line, or horizontally column-
by-column.
Indicate the current window's view in relation to the
test of the document. They enable you to move
quickly to the top or bottom of the document.
Allow you to scroll the document one full screen view
at a time.
lets you resize the page and galley panels.
Do the Following
Move the pointer over one of the vertical scroll arrows
and click the mouse button.
Move the pointer over one of the horizontal scroll
arrows and click the mouse button.
With the pointer on the scroll arrow, press and hold
the mouse button. Release it when the document is
positioned where you want it.
Move the pointer to the view button and click the
mouse button.
With the pointer on the view button, press and hold
the mouse button. Release it when the document is
positioned where you want it.
With the pointer on the elevator, press and hold the
mouse button, moving the elevator up or down in the
scroll bar.
With the pointer on the elevator, press and hold the
mouse button, move the elevator to the top of the
scroll bar, then release the mouse button.
With the pointer on the elevator, press and hold the
mouse button, move the elevator to the bottom of the
scroll bar, then release the mouse button.
Output
Dialog Boxes
‘You have several options for outputting your document on the Personal
Composition System. This includes electronic communication with another
system, printing on a dot matrix printer, or EP 308 printer, or typesetting ona
Compugraphic 8400, or 8600.
The output device is initially connected through the Connect Devices dialog
box of the Preferences icon. The appropriate device must be indicated in the
Format for Printer dialog box before each printing cycle output. You may
select a device as the Default in the preferences. This will allow the device to
remain selected in the Format for Printer Dialog Box.
Directions for making the correct device connections are given in Chapter 4:
System Set Up. For an example of the sequence of steps you must follow to
change the output device connections, see Chapter 1: Learning Cg Compose 2.
A dialog box is a screen that appears in response to choosing certain menu items.
It allows you to accept or change various options that apply to the command. A
dialog box for Compose is shown below.
For each option you wish to change, move the check pointer to the box and click
the mouse button. Placing a check in the box will fill the box with shading.
When the dialog box reflects the options you want, click OK.
ree FilePrint [a ‘Type Style Fonts Format {1 Page Layout Arrangement
Format For Compugraphic EP308 ~ serial port A (Career
Paper Size )
Mi Letter
b
Das x
O210mm x
Printing Orientation
Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2
63
Typeset a Memo
Making a Stationery Pad
64
Starting a New Document
This part of the chapter will lead you through the normal cycle of creating and
working on a Cg Compose 2 document. You will gain experience with basic
operations of the Personal Composition System by completing each of the
objectives listed below:
@ Format a blank piece of stationery.
@ Paste a figure from another document into your document.
M@ Make a galley.
@ Make compartments.
Mi Make the document into a stationery pad.
@ Tear off a piece of stationery.
@ Paste a text from another document into Compose.
@ Output your document.
When you are finished with this chapter, your document will look like the one
shown on the next page.
To make your memo writing more efficient you can format several stationery
pads and store them for future use. By doing this you will not have to set up
document formats each time you want to write a memo—you will tear off a piece
of stationery and begin typing.
Cg Compose 2
Typeset a Memo
~s\
Memorandum
To: All Personnel
From: F.Dahlberg, Senior Vice President
Date: July 1, 1984
Subject: Interoffice Communication
Reference: Finance FD-1
To Improve and expedite all internal paperwork,
supervisors and managers are requested to limit all
messages and memorandums to a single page. The most
effective way to meet this requirement is to compose all
documents on the Personal Composition System and use
a typsetting output device.
Typeset copy consumes less space, has superior
readability and will be rembered longer.
F. Dahlbeg, Senior Vice President
Chapter 2: Using Cg Compose 2
65
Format a Blank To begin your task of formatting, you must tear off a blank piece of stationery
Piece of Stationery from the Compose Paper icon. If the stationery pad is on the desktop, you can
use the Desk menu to select and open a new document.
"TSM riterPrint_Eait
Fea Compose 2 Paper
© Clipboard
SBDisk
Bisawrite Paper
Spreferences
> Open the Disk icon on your screen.
> Select the Compose Paper icon.
> Move this icon from the Disk onto the window.
Choose Cg Compose 2 paper from the Desk menu.
This menu item will tear off a piece of stationery, name the tool, place the date on
the top, and open the document. You can rename the document by clicking on
the shadow where the document will return when it is closed. However, it is
more efficient to change the name when you close the document for the first
time. We will call this document Memo Pad
Page Size After a short while, you will see a dialog box like the one displayed below.
Everytime you open a new piece of Cg Compose 2 stationery you will be asked to
specify the size of paper you will use for this document. The decision you make
concerning the page size is critical if you intend to print your final document in
the landscape mode. You must specify at this time if you intend the landscape
document to be LoRes (Low Resolution) or HiRes (High Resolution). For more
information about this choice turn to the Create a Brochure section in this
chapter. In this case, we will use letter size paper and print portrait style.
> Check the OK box.
4
T Desk _File/Print Edit Type Style Fonts Format 1f_ Page Layout _ Arrangement
PAGE SIZE
You may now choose the size you wish your Cg Compose 2 pages to be.
This will be the ONLY chance you will have to make this decision
for this document. Note: Be sure that the printing Preferences
agree with the page size chosen here.
ee
SIZE...
Letter q
esxil" i tie oO Cx)
a
210 x 237mm 1] 210mm x 12" 2) /
q
:
S™E..
Portrait a Landscape Oo ry a
|
i]
/
|
Cg Compose 2
Composition Defaults
A blank piece of Compose stationery paper will appear open on the screen. Now
you can choose default spacing variables for all of the documents that are
produced on this stationery.
© Choose Composition Defaults... from the Edit menu
In this dialog box you can set the parameters for the document, such as word and
line spacing, hyphenation, etc. The basic items necessary for typesetting have
already been preset and are called Compugraphic Defaults. For our Memo
Stationary Pad, we will make a few changes. For more information about each of
the items, turn to Chapter 3: Compose
Showing the first 100000 of 324467 characters.