Text content (OCR)
[iook G4 P. 42 [f% PHOTOSHOP(SP.44 Ne “INDESIGNCSP.46 90
Gyiso test the mighty whitey. go? graphics gurus review its new features. The verdict is in: The best gets better.
YS
j
A BETTER MACHINE. A BETTER MAGAZINE.
We show you every way to
turbocharge your Mac
|AND MORE!
GRAPHICS POWERHOUSE
tt EXPERTS SHOW vie
ADOBE’S CREATIVE SUITE EverQuest,
Scanjet 4670,
Tae ore gg Palm Tungsten T3,
THEIR PROBLEMS Toast 6, Graphires,
_ Apple Wireless
Keyboard and Mouse,
and much more...
Secure Your Mail
Pimp Out Your G5
Print Finder Windows
Troubleshoot with
the Tarminal
The greatest gladiator sport ever created is redefined for 2004. Now, experi-
ence more than dauble the content of our previous model with refinements
for the discriminating thril seeker who likes their action fast, futuristic and
gloriously bloody.
We introduce: the Unreal® Tournament range of vehicles. Just one of the
massive new additions that comes standard with the 2004 edition. Pleasing
to the eye, powerful to the touch, punishing to the enemy.
Pilot over land, sky and space, across 40+ all-new maps — including
‘some for those that consider themselves ‘professional’ combatants.
Revel in new weapon details (like optional dual assault rifles), a
fresh Assault mode, a brand new Onslaught mode and the return of
some nefarious characters.
Blood and Gore
Intense Violence
Mild Language
e's
ard te Ural on ae registered trades fic Games Ie. ALL AGHTS RESERVED, Al ther trademais
taro nares eo th propa ofthe repatv om Taurerrent 2104 was ee by Epic Games Iz. and Digital Exters. Maree ae ert by
NA. Desineeris a tademas, ac MecSo se Wxear of Destine,
The New Unreal Tournament.
SCORPION svewoxtr | Gears -05,04,085, 065,14 3
f AW-X Mol | _GAiogs | AKAGOLATH® Chessis Dimensions 27-210.2x56 ft s
Liandri DH-85 x4 Air Conditioning | $-73"SkyMine’ anti-personnel and G87f anti-alteraft turret
LEVIATHAN Diessi | Aosicre | Thefemilytranspor {sets 6) “Vist the enemy hss.
re B 4.gyroscopic
J-1280G Raptor Attack ‘cup-holders | Automatic quantum-phased disruption bolt launcher
Hovercraft | In-door Med-Kit | 0-40 MPH: 1.6 seconds. Top speed: 115.2 MPH
FIGHTER H. Undisclosed | Trunk Organizer | 18-way power seat fits one humanoid comfortably
FIGHTER SK. Undisclosed | Xenon tights | For the most demanding alien warrior
Colors
REBEL RED SUNRISE BLACK BLACK ‘n’ BLUE
DAY-OLD BRUISE NUCLEAR WINTER
DIRTNAP SORTOFGREEN
Al options are subject to change.
Reload. Rev Up. Ride Out.
Coming simultaneously for Mac.
www.macsoftgames.com
‘$10 discount available for 2003 model owners via mail-in rebate with proof of purchase.
fareirat
|
[eTTREMES
PUSH THE BUTTON.
4
BACK UP YOUR CREATIVE LEAPS & BOUNDS.
o \e ay
how you push it is up to you
~ EXTERNAL It's all in your head.
Maxtor OneTouch jiaas onve Your wild imaginations.
PUSH-BUTTON BACKUP! UP TO And late-night creations.
Z 300 Save them. Store them.
GB Back them up with a
Baar push of the button.
USB 2.0
www.maxtor.com Maxtor’
What drives you”
Available at CompUSA, Fry's
and online at CDW.com, MacC«
inter, BestBuy, J&R Computerworld,
MacMall.com
-FEBRUARY2004
NO.90*VOLUME9*ISSUE2
a better machine. a better magazine.
16 Upgrade
Your Mac
or processor card? Serial ATA or FireWire 800? USB 2.0 or
not? Ifyou’re looking to upgrade your G4, G5, or iMac, we show
you how to do it and tell you where you can get the most bang for
your buck. by Niko Coucouvanis and Rik Myslewski
29 Get Creative with Adobe
Creative Suite —--<<"~
Adobe’s new Creative Suite, which includes updated versions of Photoshop, Illustr:
InDesign, and GoLive, is the most powerful graphics package in the wot
how to exploit that power. by John Cruise with artwork by Frank Wu
how to
64 Ask Us
Why does Safari unexpectedly quit?
Where’s Disk Copy in Panther? How
do | connect an old LaserWriter to my
new iMac? Will you be our Valentine
(just kidding)?
66 Pimp Out Your G5
show off that dope clear airflow guard
and pump up the bling-bling on your
Mac’s chassis. We show you how to
light up your G5 like the Vegas strip.
by Niko Coucouvanis
If you have problems with |
backups, the firewall, or
program hang-ups, here are some
quick solutions using the Terminal.
by Geoff Coffey
68 Troubleshoot
with the Terminal
Yo! If you want to make your G5 all that,
72 Secure Your Mail
We all know that encrypting
email can protect our precious
words and attachments from
prying eyes. Luckily, Panther
makes mail encryption painless.
by Chris Barylick
73 Print Finder
Window Content
We miss Mac OS 9’s Print Finder window
feature. But with a little Terminal
command, you can bring it back in OS X.
by Geoff Coffey
74 Create a MacAddict
Forums Reader
Tired of navigating Web pages to get
to your beloved forums? We give you
a brand-new forums reader app that
provides one-click access—but you have
to build it yourself. by Erick Tejkowski
February 2004 MacAddict 03
0 4 Z| CONTENTS
U~ abetter machine. a better magazine.
every month
08 Editors’ Page
You pays your money and you takes your chance.
10 Get Info
The early adopters of Panther suffered a wild ride. Learn from
their misfortune. What's the difference between all those
memory cards? We tell you. Plus, the 20-inch iMac, a teeny
3-megapixel camera, a WiFi digital picture frame, Unreal
Tournament mods, and more.
41 Reviews
60 Another War role-playing game
59 Bluetooth Wireless Optical Mouse input device
58 Boa Slim DVD-RW/CD-RW optical drive
49 Eudora 6.0.1 email application
52 EverQuest massively multiplayer online role-playing game
56 Graphire3 6 by 8 drawing tablet
51 1860 Photo Printer five-color inkjet printer
42 iBook G4 notebook
4G InDesign CS page-layout software
55 MasterWriter songwriting tool
59 MicroHub USB 2.0 hub
‘57 Nostromo n52 SpeedPad gaming controller
53 OneTouch 25068 FireWire backup drive
59 Ozone USB audio/MIDI device
50 PDR-5300 5-megapixel digital camera
44 Photoshop CS image-editing software
58 Pyro A/V Link DV converter
48 Scanjet 4670 scanner
43 Toast G Titanium CD- and DVD-burning software
54 Tungsten T3 Palm OS-based PDA
‘55 Warrior Kings real-time strategy game
54 Wireless Keyboard and Mouse input devices
60 Zoo Tycoon simulation game
62 The Hot List
Ifthe editors of MacAddict went shopping,
this is what we'd buy.
QUICK TIPS
FROM THIS MONTH'S ISSUE
> MATCH YOUR COLORS
Photoshop CS’s new Match Color
feature lets you apply the color
characteristics of one image to
another—useful for creating
special effects that involve
applying the color scheme.
of one image to another.
See “Get Creative with Adobe
Creative Suite,” p29.
> ADD SAFARI BOOKMARKS FAST
Shift-Click the plus icon next to
Safari’s address bar to quickly add a
bookmark to the Bookmarks menu.
From Ask Us, p64.
04 MacAddiet February 2004
> DON’T TYPE IT, DROP IT
Typing out a directory’s path name—
especially if it’s deeply seated in
the belly of your Mac—takes too
long. Instead, just drag and drop
the directory into the Terminal
window anytime you need to enter
its path. From “Troubleshoot with
the Terminal,” p68.
> PIMP SAFELY
If you’ve got a drill in hand, make sure
you’ve got goad eye-protection on
your face (and no, your stylin’ Gucci
pimp shades won't cut it). Your gooey
eyeballs are like magnets to flying
debris. From “Pimp Out Your G5,” p66.
no
94 Log Out
94 Letters
Macs thrive at the bourgeois BloggerCon
and dramatically survive a house fire.
Plus, get the scoop on moose poop.
‘95 Contest
Win Belkin’s voice recorder plus
photo-storage gadgets for your iPod.
96 Shut Down
Break the chains of love-gone- | |
bad with just a few clicks.
The Belkin Media Reader
performs the difficult
one-handed re
iPod hoist.
Register to Win
The Great
iPod Giveaway!
You could win an iPod and 600 free songs.
Celebrate as we countdown to the NexTune 1.0
digital music experience.
Log on to win:
Smart just got smarter
Neffune
“ abetter machine. a better magazine.
the isc
Because all the kicky arcade games on this
month’s Disc—Active Lancer, Pac the Man,
Frozen Bubble, and more—will seriously
degrade your productivity, we've also
provided apps that’ll increase it. For example,
iPhoto Diet will make iPhoto snappier than
you ever imagined, and Still Life will give you
powers Ken Burns could only dream of.
all programs will wo,
yn ta rk on
oo 2 ya,
Active Lancer iPhoto Diet
more could you want can trim the fat.
from a game?
demo Do you know why
Attack, blast, and iPhoto is running so
conquer alien slowly? It’s choking
intruders—either solo on backups of your
orwith a buddy. What images. iPhoto Diet
Still Life
This cool little app
works much like
iMovie’s Ken Burns
effect but gives you
more control over
the results.
=
OntheDise | skein; Ain
‘Active Lancer 1.0.1 demo
Adventures on Pirate Isle 1.0 GRAPHICS & MULTIMEDIA
‘AUDIO & MUSIC ‘Argonaut 2149 1.4 IconBuilder Pro 4.1
‘Aquallegro 1.0 Billy Frontier 1.0.2 Image Info Toolkit 1.5
Melody Assistant Classic 6.4 ‘Chompl Chompt Safari 1.0 iphote Diet et-3
Melody Assistant X 6.4 Frozen-Bubble (Jaguar) 1.0 Sta Lite 223
microSynth 1.0.1 Frozen-Bubble (Panther) 1.0 NTERF!
Hollow Ground 1.0.1 Lables ae 142
DEVELOPMENT O1DSx 10.03 beeen
Frozen-Bubble Source 1.0 Pac the Man 2 1.0.3 candi
RapidWeaver 2.0 Rayman 3 game trailer iran
REALbasic Classic 5.2.2 demo ‘Spin Crisis 1.0.1 INTERNET & COMMUNICATION
REALbasic OS X 5.2.2 demo Warrior Kings demo ABDialer 1,0
St ff Vid M h N G Eudora (Classic) 6.0.1
‘a ideo: Eudora (OS X) 6.0.1
eet t fe ew uy URL Manager Pro 3.1.1
PRODUCTIVITY
CopyWrite 1.1.7
newart di uTILTES
rn hi DiskTracker (Classic) 2.3
Mac OS X, moving ROMs EMRE
from Quark to nee.
om Qua Panther Cache Cleaner 2.1.2
InDesign, Britne ‘SharePoints 3.2.1
CI n 4 SharePoints 3.3
Christina, and wha
hristina, and what Sosa
makes good design Speed Download 2.1.2
‘Term’s Little Heiper 1.2
UPGRADE
Ifyou don't receive the Disc with your copy of MacAddict, you might want to consider upgrading. Each monthly disc
contains cool demos, useful shareware and freeware, and the Inimitable MacAddict Staff Video. To get 12 I
198 of
MacAddict that include this value-packed disc with your subscription (prorated if necessary) for just $1 more per
Issue, call 888-771-6222—the operator will take care of everything.
06 MacAddict February 2004
MacAddict
PUBLISHER Chris Coelho
EDITOR IN CHIEF ik Myslewski
EDITORIAL
MANAGING EDITOR Jenifer Morgan
EXECUTIVE EDITOR Cathy Lu
SENIOR EDITORS Narasu Rebbapragada (news), Kris Fong
ASSOCIATE EDITOR Niko Coucouvanis (reviews)
EPONYMEDITOR Max
CONTRIBUTING EDITORS David Bledny, Joseph 0. Holmes,
Holmut Kobler, Frank O'Connor, Angus Paldean, lan Sammi,
Deborah Shadovitz, Andrew Tokuda, Buz Zoller
ART
ART DIRECTOR Mark Rosenthal
ASSISTANT ART DIRECTOR Peter Marshutz
CONTRIBUTING DESIGNER Nathan Wilson
PHOTOGRAPHER Mark Madeo
CONTRIBUTING PHOTOGRAPHER Luke Thomas
PRODUCTION COORDINATOR Hans Hunt
ADVERTISING
EASTERN ADVERTISING DIRECTOR
Bernie Lanigan, 212-768-2966 x4001
EASTERN ADVERTISING MANAGER
Sharon Kiernan, 781-416-2018
WESTERN ADVERTISING DIRECTOR
Dave Lynn, 949-360-4443
WESTERN ADVERTISING MANAGER,
Stacey Levy, 925-964-1205
NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER
Nate Hunt, 415-656-8538
‘SENIOR ACCOUNTS MANAGER, DIRECT SALES
‘Ana Epstein, 415-656-8416
AD COORDINATOR Jose Urrutia, 415-656-8313
MARKETING MANAGER Kathleen Rellly
CIRCULATION
GROUP CIRCULATION DIRECTOR Amy Leder
NEWSSTAND MARKETING MANAGER Mimi Hall
BILLING AND RENEWAL MANAGER Mlke Hill
FULFILLMENT MANAGER Peggy Mores
DIRECT MARKETING SPECIALIST Robin Connell
muawemae —_wivWfulurenetworkusa.com
PRESIDENT Jonathan Simpson-Bint
VICE PRESIDENT/CFO Tom Valentine
VICE PRESIDENT/GENERAL COUNSEL Charles Schug
VICE PRESIDENT/CIRCULATION Holly Klingel
VICE PRESIDENT/EDITORIAL DIRECTOR (GAMES) Matt Firme
EDITORIAL DIRECTOR (TECHNOLOGY) Jon Philips
PUBLISHING DIRECTOR (GAMES) Simon Whitcombe
PUBLISHING DIRECTOR (TECHNOLOGY) Chris Coelho
DIRECTOR OF CENTRAL SERVICES Nancy Durlester
PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Richie Lesovoy
Future Network USA Is part of The Future Network PLC.
‘THE FUTURE NETWORK PLC
30 Monmouth St, Bath, Avon, BAI 2BW, ENGLAND.
www.thefuturenetwork,ple.uk
NON-EXECUTIVE CHAIRMAN Roger Parry
CHIEF EXECUTIVE Greg Ingham
REPRINTS: For reprints, contact Reprint Management
Services, Maggle French, 717-399-1900 x178 or
mirench@reprintbuyer.com.
SUBSCRIPTION QUERIES: Please emall
medcustserv@cdsfulfillment.com or call
customer service toll-free at 888-771-6222,
Volume 9, Issue 2
‘MacAddict (ISSN 1088-548) is published monthly by Future Network
USA, 160 North Hil Dr, Brisbane, CA 94005, USA. Perlodical-class
postage paid at Brisbane, CA, and at addtional maling offices.
Newsstand distribution Is handied by Curtis Circulation Co, Basic
subscription rates: one year (12 Issues + 12 CD-ROMs) US. $39.90,
Canada $43.95, U.S. prepaid funds only. Canadian price Includes
postage and GST 128220688. IPM 0962902. Outside the US. and
Canada, price is $53.95, U.S. prepaid funds only. POSTMASTER: Send
laddress changes to MacAddlct, P.O. Box 6126, Harlan, IA 61609-0626,
Future Network USA also publishes Maximum PC, PC Gamer, Oficial
‘Xbox Magazine, and PSM. Entre contents copyright 2002, etwork
USA. All rights reserved. Reproduction In whole or in part Is prohibited
Future Network USA. Is not affliated with the companies or products
‘covered in MacAdaict. Ride-Along enclosure in the following edttion\s)
‘A2, B, Bt, B2, BS, PRODUCED INTHE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
The most evolved
computers now have
multi-functions and
printers to match...
COLOR LASER
From $999
When it comes to imaging solutions that are
LASER WORKGROUP enn . ,
PRINTING — LASER PRINTING every bit as innovative as your Mac®, we're
From $199 From $449 the only name you need to know.
That's because our award-winning line of
Mac-compatible printers and Multi-Function
Center® models are designed to deliver
COLOR both maximum performance and value.
FLATBED MFC — LASER FLATBED MFC
From $179 From $299
From our full line of high-quality
printers (including the HL-5070N, the first
printer to support Rendezvous”), to versatile
all-in-one multi-function units which print, copy,
scan, and more, you'll find our products are
every bit as evolved as our customers.
A VARIETY OF MODELS AVAILABLE AT: MacWarehouse, MacMall,
—— COLOR MFC MacConnection, MacZone, Microcenter, CDW, Office Depot,
proms329, Staples, OfficeMax, Fry's, J&R Computer World,
and Apple Stores (or www.store.apple.com),
LASER MFC
From $249
At your sidé.
© 2002-2008 Brother Intemational Corporation, Bridgewater, NJ. + Brother industries Lic., Nagoya, Japan
FFor more information please visit our Web site at wwwbrothercom * All tredemarks and registered trademarks are the property oftheir respective owners.
EDITORS’ PAGE
" anote from the kernel
Ever Been Ilvx-ed?
On upgrades, price drops, and iPods
If you’ve ever shelled out a load of cash fora product
or service, and then, after a painfully short time,
learned of an upgrade or price drop that would have
saved you a ton-o’-dough, you’ve been //vx-ed—an
indignity that Mac addicts of the day named for one
of Apple’s more regrettable Macs, the woeful Ilvx,
which was quickly replaced by the more-powerful
and less-expensive Centris 610.
Two recent developments have prompted a flood
of email from those of you who are feeling intensely
llvx-ed: the quick replacement of the original 1.8GHz
Power Mac G5 with a dual-processor model for only
a hundred bucks more, and the establishment by Apple of a $99 iPod battery-
replacement service following a year or so of charging over $250 for essentially
the same service. A righteously angry posse of MacAddict readers is feeling
vexed, hexed, and livx-ed.
First, the 1.8GHz conundrum: At the risk of inspiring some of you to grab
your torches and pitchforks, may | assert that upgrades and price-performance
improvements are as inevitable as death and taxes, and that this particular
one—although made more painful by the brief life of the single-processor
1.8GHz Power Mac G5—is no different from the rest? If you paid $2,399 for
a single-processor 1.8GHz G5 in October, only to watch in agony as it was
replaced by a $2,499 Dual 1.8GHz G5 in November, | feel your pain—but | (and
you) have seen a squillion upgrades and price drops over the years, They come
with the territory. At least you can rest assured that your single-processor
1.8GHz is still a damn fine machine—the dual-processor model's existence
doesn’t make it any less so. Enjoy it.
The iPod-battery situation is murkier. For far too long, Apple essentially
treated the iPod as a disposable device. The battery in the original iPod was
rated for a maximum of 500 recharging cycles, so a heavily used iPod could
take a nosedive in 18 months or less. Many did. How would you feel if your
digital camera, PDA, or even your Mac became unusable after a year-and-a-
half? Not good. Apple is finally facing up to this fact and is belatedly offering a
$99 battery-replacement service—a fair price. However, the company’s earned
righteous criticism for taking so long to institute this service and for squeezing
$250-plus out of their most faithful fans—that is, the early adopters whose
iPods went south before the $99 program began.
Planning any refunds to those folks, Steve?
Enjoy, ) dy
comingsoon:march2004
Here’s what our editors are preparing for the next issue of MacAddict.
We're all waiting with bated breath for Apple’s announcements at January’s Expo—and we'll bring
you the scoop. Plus, we'll show you how to throw a rockin’ party with your Mac. We'll explain how to
hide a Mac on a Windows network, add search capabilities to your Web site, and design custom
Appearance themes. We'll also check out the new 20-inch iMac, GoLive CS, and Illustrator CS,
and print out some honkin’ huge images on HP’s wide-format Designjet 120. Finally, we'll share five
tips on better ’Book battery life, report the finalists in the Independent Games Festival, and explain
how Macs are helping orphaned puppies.
08 MacAddict February 2004
Does even bigger mean even better?
Kris Fong PURCHASING PROCRASTINATOR
Have you ever bought something—and then wish you
had waited? Almost. | ordered a Blue-and-White G3
from Apple and two days later they announced the G4.
Doh! Luckily, they ran out of B-and-Ws and offered to
ship me a G4 for the same sale price. Score!
Cathy Lu Lapy in WarTinG
Have you ever bought something—and then
wish you had waited? I'm the opposite. | walt
and wait and wait and never get what | want. tm
very deprived.
Peter Marshutz DISAPPOINTED CONSUMER
Have you ever bought something—and then wish
you had waited? Three weeks after | bought my iPod,
‘Apple came out with a new model: more storage for
less money. Ifelt cheated. Apple should offer price
‘adjustments —like Banana Republic—and refund the difference.
Niko Coucouvanis PROUD POWER MAC PAPA
Have you ever bought something—and then wish
you had waited? | bought a 1.8GHz Power Mac GS, but
| don't regret it. For my money, more RAM is a better
investment than an extra processor,
Jenifer Morgan paRNED PURCHASER
Have you ever bought something—and then wish
you had waited? Unfortunately, | buy things like
non-exchangeable, on-sale, delicately embroidered
crochet sweaters and then realize a week later that I'm
walking doily. In retrospect, | don’t wish I'd wait to bu
items such as this, but rather | wish | didn’t buy them at all,
Narasu Rebbapragada Eprror in PowERBLIss
Have you ever bought something—and then wish
you had waited? | should feel bitter about the 867MHz
12-inch PowerBook that | bought three months before
at "Apple revved the fine, but I'm not ‘cause | would have
missed out on three months of happiness, productivity, and “Gee, |
Jove your computer” comments from strangers,
Mark Rosenthal xavier COOL-A-LOT
Have you ever bought something—and then wish
you had waited? Does getting the wrong thing at the
Tight time count? | decided to upgrade my vintage 1963
Wells-Packer sump pump to a three-amp extended flow
model with the 7/8-inch, pressure-activated release port. That night
‘we had a storm—the 7/8-incher flushed out that water fine, but blew
ut the polymer bushings on my water-sill ow locks!
Max PRESIDENT, GEORGE LAZENBY FAN CLUB
(2 +5 Have you ever bought something—and then wish
you had waited? Right ater | bought my latest tuxedo
Emi at the local thrift store, Timothy Dalton donated al his
old James Bond tuxes after being dumped for Ploroe
Brosnan. | could have saved a bundle had walted—Tim's my size.
PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY OF APPLE
Epson C84 Be |
> Border-free photo printing
> 5760 x 1440 dpi
> DURABrte Inks $99.00 origina rice
-$20.00 rebate’
-$79,00 Rebate?
EPSON’ — FREE sure
Prices
cow st7727
‘
i Apple® PowerMac® G5
[AG > FREE 512MB Memory’
Di >2 x 1.8GHz PowerPC™ G5 processors
aE > Memory: 512MB
Adobe® Creative Suites Premium > 160GB serial ATA hard drive
> The complete design environment for print and > DVD-RICD-RW SuperDrive™
web publishing
> Integrates full new versions of Adobe's award-
winning applications: Adobe Photoshop CS, Adobe
4 Authorized $2495.00
Reseller cow 558892
Mlustrator CS, Adobe InDesign CS, Adobe GoLive CS,
and Adobe Acrobat® 60 Professional, along with the
productivity-enhancing Version Cue™ feature
Aovlecae Sear $249,00
> An outstanding value PowerMac warranty cow 4aa2761
$1229.00
CDW 532135 Full
nN $749.95
Adobe ‘CDW 543045 Upgrade from Photoshop
Mac Warehouse has the revolutionary new Power Mac G5, along with the full line of Apple products. Plus, we have
Mac-compatible printers and software from leading manufacturers like Epson and Adobe. So call our Mac experts
today. They'll get you set up with the computers and accessories you need, and get them shipped out fast.
epw) |mac<Swarehouse
800.ALL.MACS
macwarehouse.com
gees a Cow 4) a 167 mien oven sen, alr eased Oe 2301 we alsa ech HD pa ln even uc ie SC
oy Age Det lb fom Nac Wr toe 103 027003. ce 79 ol. Ae, ee a Mac OS oe Ma Ron ese
ot gp angen ones ae Festa a ates ol eat ures Naw Copter int cee fo, er, ba egsed Tau Sc vee
‘some render ae the lured se be he math CON.Al gs ae tn CON ees eo al ans rng pas nae ens ne ear tt ned, sg mae ents pa
fost unaubsn, mandacte pe ge sc eros aersemens A! oe ad o pod aay, Tere, CY coat gure ttt wl te efter re: Te er arcane tee ed 0 De cores hee een COWS We Ste
oveam Noe al chjcon ord veton ay clonal heen say am dese by ctr hry gen 2008 COW Carprzion NAnAW 208
errs 2200397 nc Shs wih pd
aos
Bumps Encountered by Early
Adopters of Mac OS 10.3
by Narasu Rebbapragada
hose brave souls who install OS upgrades the instant they are released
perform an important public service. The trials and tribulations of these early
adopters remind more cautious folk to wait until the inevitable bugs get ironed
out before updating. This fall’s release of Mac OS 10.3, Panther, proved no
exception to this pattern. Panther pioneers encountered some snafus in the upgrade’s
first days that the next wave of settlers can learn from and avoid.
FAULTY FIREWIRE 80
CONNECTIVITY
The first version of Panther was
incompatible with FireWire 800 drives,
a flaw that caused crashes, damaged
files, and made data irrecoverable. The
problem, according to Apple, was that
Panther didn’t jive with firmware version
1.02 of the Oxford 922 bridge chipset
that powers most external FireWire 800
drives on the market.
“The drives will write zeros to
some critical areas, like boot blocks,”
says John Oldham, the service tech
at Macadam, a San Francisco-based
10 MacAddict February 2004
Apple reseller and support outfit. “It’s
so serious that it’s very difficult if
not impossible to recover the drive,”
Oldham says, adding that some users
have had limited success with Prosoft
Engineering's Data Rescue 10 ($89,
www.prosofteng.com), which in some
cases has recovered data but not
repaired the drive.
In response, Apple quickly released
the Mac OS 10.3.1 update with
improvements for security, FileVault (see
facing page), printing, and WebDay, plus
a few FireWire-800 tweaks. However,
installing Apple’s update alone isn’t
enough to fix your FireWire 800 woes,
according to former vice president
of product development for La
(www.lacie.com), Mike Mihalik.
“There’s nothing in 10.3.1 that
remedies the problem,” says Mihalik,
explaining that Apple’s FireWire fix
consists mainly of a reader warning and
some I/O (input/output) patches. In
addition to upgrading to Mac OS 10.3.1,
owners of FireWire drives must download
firmware updates from their drive
manufacturer's Web site. Mihalik says that
owners of LaCie FireWire 800 drives can
safely download and install the firmware
update from a Mac running Panther.
Other drive makers, such as James Wiebe
of WiebeTech (www.wiebetech.com),
recommend installing firmware updates
ona Mac running Jaguar before plugging
into Panther.
Regardless, make sure not to start,
restart, or shut down your Mac with the
FireWire 800 drive plugged in—be sure
GET INFO
your Mac is running before you plug in
the drive, and eject it before shutting
down. Just how many FireWire 800
drives Panther has mauled is unclear,
but Wiebe also reports that most
problems have been limited to FireWire
800 drives attached to a slower Mac’s
FireWire 400 port via an adapter.
SAY NO TO FILEVAULT
Other early adopters are mourning
dearly departed data after activating
FileVault, which protects a Panther
user’s Home folder from prying eyes
using government-grade AES-128
encryption. Generally FileVault’s
activities are invisible—that is, until
something goes wrong.
FileVault’s data-loss problems stem
from the fact that FileVault creates an
encrypted disk image of your entire
Home directory. Lumping together all
of these files and folders into one disk
image is like putting all of your eggs in
one basket: If a few files get corrupted,
the whole disk image becomes
corrupted. Other problems abound.
First, FileVault asks to reclaim disk space
upon sleep or shut down—when it does,
just say no. If you let FileVault reclaim
disk space, data corruption may result—
in fact, some users have reported
problems even if after declining the
request to reclaim disk space. Second,
if you forget the Login password and
the Master password that FileVault asks
you to create, your Home folder is gone
forever. Third, some users have reported
lost preference settings for various OS
and iApps functions, which the 10.3.1
update is designed to fix. And finally,
force-restarting your Mac while FileVault
is reclaiming space during shut down
can result in irrecoverable data loss.
FileVault also complicates backup.
Dantz’s Retrospect backup software, for
example, performs incremental backups
based on differences in the modification
dates of source files and backed-up
files. If you’re logged in, Retrospect can
analyze the dates on individual files and
folders within your Home directory, and
then back them up. If multiple users
are logged in, all the changed items in
their Home directories get backed up
too. However, Retrospect can only back
up the entire FileVault-encrypted disk
images of users who aren’t logged in,
not the individual changed items within
their Home directories. This can result in
extremely long backup times.
No doubt Apple will remedy many
of these issues in the near future, but
we advise wearing kid gloves when
handling Panther. As Spider-Man’s
Uncle Ben once said, “With great power
comes great responsibility.” The same
holds true for Panther.—NR
TIPS onupcraoinc
TO PANTHER
From Tidbits (www.tidbits.com)
ARCHIVE AND INSTALL
Install Panther under the Archive and
Install option, which creates a new
clean system but maintains a copy of
your old system so you can manually
copy over troublesome Startup Items
(see below).
DISABLE LOGIN ITEMS
Turn off Login Items in Jaguar
(System Preferences » Login items).
They can cause your system to
behave wonky upon startup in
Panther. CE Software’s QuicKeys
X2 is one known culprit. Check
developers Web sites for patches,
and turn Login Items back on in
Panther (System Preferences >
Accounts > Startup Items).
CHECK YOUR VIDEO CARD
Ifyou’re using a third-party video
card, take it out and replace it with
the one your Mac came with while
upgrading. A number of older cards—
even some older ATI and nVidia
cards—aren’t supported in Panther
without a patch. Look for one on your
card manufacturer's Web site.
CHANGES
JAGUAR ITEMS FIND
NEW HOMES IN PANTHER
DISK STUFF
Jaguar’s Disk Copy (Applications >
Utilities) is now part of Panther’s Disk
Utility (Applications > Utilities).
eon Dak Copy S
‘mage Mare: =
mnge Feat: ~
‘Checksum: =
rapa isk mage hereto mount or dag a foder/valume
ere create sk mage rom
In Jaguar
In Panther
KEYBOARD STUFF
Jaguar’s Key Caps (Applications >»
Utilities) is now called Keyboard Viewer.
Go the International System Preference,
click the Input Menu tab, and check the
Keyboard Viewer check box. Now you
can click the flag icon in the menubar to
invoke this floating palette.
ree
ae
In Jaguar
eee
rf
ofa
900.
In Panther
ACCOUNTS STUFF
Apple revamped the Accounts pane,
which now combines the My Accounts
and Accounts panes and adds Fast User
Switching for switching graphically a la
Keynote between Panther users.
In Jaguar
In Panther
February 2004 MacAddict 11
GET INFO
the news of the month in bite-size chunks
DROOLWORTHY
Sexy Stuff We Can't Wait to Get Our Mitts On
Mini Disk
Archos’s ArcDisk ($249.95,
www.archos.com) is smaller—though
not thinner—than a floppy disk and
weighs less than 3 ounces. This 20GB
1.8-inch USB 2.0 drive spins at 4,200
rpm. The folks at Archos say it’s fully
supported on Mac OS X but performs
slightly slower on a Mac than it does on
a Windows machine.—NR
AirPort
Photo Frame
Use AirPort to wirelessly send your
digital photos to Wallflower Systems’
Wallflower Plus digital picture frame
($699 to $799, www.wallflower-
systems.com), which cycles through your
images on its 14.1-inch LCD screen—just
drag your pictures from iPhoto to the
Wallflower folder on your desktop. You
can also email photos to Wallflowers,
and play short movies and MP3s, as it
also has two built-in speakers.—NR
12 MacAddict February 2004
GETINFO |. |
THE 411 ON MEMORY CARDS
CHOOSING THE BEST CARD FOR YOUR GADGETS
PDAs, MP3 players, and digital cameras accept an increasingly wide variety of memory card formats. We spoke to John Omvik,
director of OEM and pro-product marketing for Lexar (www.lexarmedia.com) to get the pros, cons, uses, and future of nine main
types of storage media. Here’s a breakdown.—NR
CompactFlash! CompactFlash Secure Digital SmartMedia xD Memory Stick/ MMC Hitachi
W Memory Stick (formerly IBM)
Pro Microdrive
<a = }
Pros Widely Largest ‘Tiny—the size Very thin Smaller Swappable Thin, small, Fastest, highest
‘supported, capacity of all of a postage and thicker between Sony and fits into capacity
high capacity, flash-based ‘stamp offspring of products SD slots media—on
and fast write media SmartMedia par with
speeds CompactFlash
Cons Bulkier than Thicker form Lower Fragile and on Limited in Proprietary Not widely Less durable
other formats —_ factor limits capacity than —_ its way out ‘scope— Sony format, used ‘than flash
use to pro CompactFlash primarily used —_ and Pro Sticks memory and
cameras in Olympus and don’t fit in fits only in
Fuji products —_ original Stick CompactFlash
slots Type Il slots
Highest Capacity 2GB 4GB 512MB 128MB 512MB. 256MB/1GB_ = 128MB 4GB
Cost per Megabyte Low Low Moderate/High Moderate High Moderate High Low
Write Speed Fast Fast Moderate Slow Moderate Slow/Moderate Slow Fast
Best Used With Cameras, Procameras Consumer Legacy Olympus and Sony products Cell phones Pro cameras
PDAs, laptops, that supportit — point-and- cameras and Fujicameras —_and supported
and MP3 shoot cameras, MP3 players peripherals
players MP3 players,
and PDAs
Future CompactFlash This mediais This format SmartMedia is Although there Memory Stick Nokia chose High-capacity
will stay still best for isgrowingin goingthe way areplansfor © Procards are © MMC forits CompactFlash
dominant in pro digital, popularity. ofthe dinosaur. 8GBxD cards, designedtogo cameraphones will make
procameras digital SLR, CompactFlash up to 32GB. because it's Microdrives
because of and potentially will get there thinner than SD, a thing of
its fast write digital video first. so expectmore the past for
speeds and cameras. support for MMC cameras.
large capacity. in the future.
NEWS OF THE MONTH
NO NEW PAGEMAKEROR Adobe is offering current PageMaker © CNN FORCES MAC VS. PC QUESTION
FRAMEMAKER users a $349 upgrade price for Ata “Rock the Vote”
In what we hope is simply a nod to the switching to InDesign CS PageMaker CNN) debate in Boston, a CNN
popularity of Adobe’s InDesign desktop _Edition, which combines InDesign CS producer strong-armed
layout software, Adobe announced with a PageMaker plug-in pack. The a Brown University student into asking
that it is discontinuing all future plug-ins will give InDesign many ofthe Democratic presidential candidates
development of its mid-level PageMaker _ tools (such as Data Merge), formatting whether they used Macs or PCs. The
layout software and Mac development features (bullets and numbering), student had wanted to ask a more
of its enterprise-level FrameMaker and keyboard shortcuts popular in general question about technology
publishing software. Adobe says it will PageMaker. Current InDesign CS users in government, but the producer
continue to sell and support current can purchase the PageMaker plug-in preferred the lighter tone of the question
versions of these apps. pack separately for $49. the student was requested to ask.
February 2004 MacAddict 13
| GET INFO
the news of the month in bite-size chunks
Sis 1995, the console world has
enjoyed the Rayman series—a
platform-jumper like Mario but with
fighting and shooting. Rayman, sans
legs and arms, helps his friend Globox.
fight the dreaded Hoodlum army,
which is bent on world domination.
Rayman collects weapons such as
guided missiles and door-breaking
knuckle-gloves, and power-up
costumes to overcome obstacles such
as lowering platforms. John Leguizamo
(Ice Age) lends his voice to Globox
and Billy West (of Ren and Stimpy and
Bugs Bunny fame) speaks for Murfy,
the tough-guy fly.—Matt Osborn
THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY
Unreal Tournament 2003 Mods
THE GOOD Red Orchestra
www.unrealwarfarex.com/redorchestra
This multiplayer online mod puts you on the Eastern
Front of WWII, where the Soviet Red Army battles the
Nazis from Kiev to Stalingrad. This mod is very Mac
friendly and the development team has big plans for
UT2004—think vehicles.
THE UGLY 9-11 Survivor
www.kinematic.org
Be warned: This mod crunches through every known
threshold of bad taste—players find themselves
trapped on random floors of the World Trade Center
and have to escape before the towers fall —MO
14 MacAddict February 2004
THE BAD Infection
www.planetunreal.com/infection
By bad, we mean badass. In this single-player
horror mod, you're in a small town that is infested
with mutated zombies and getting pulverized by
meteors. To play, trick UT2003 by selecting Host
Multiplayer to play single-player.
Rayman 3: Hoodlum
Havoc game trailer
Rayman’:
Hoodlum Havoc
Price | $29.99
Available | Now
MacPlay
wyrw.macplay.com
Activision Bundles 80s Arcade
Favorites
Relive the 80s with over 75 Atari arcade
classics, including Pitfall, River Raid,
and Bloody Human Freeway—that’s
30 more games than that the previous
PlayStation 2 version. You can play each
game in Classic mode or in your choice
of 15 enhanced modes. Enhanced
modes include Ricochet, which zings
the game around your screen as you
play, and Cube, which puts the game on
a face of a rotating 3D cube. Exclusively
for Mac, play your games while
enjoying—or enduring—80s pop hits
from Fresh Prince, Flock of Seagulls,
Alan Parsons Project, Billy Ocean, and
others. Zits not included.—MO
iSelect Gameplay Mode
Warning: This interface may remind you of
junior high,
NEW APPLE HARDWARE
Priciest iMac Ever, plus 1.8GHz Dualie
My, what a big head you have! The new top-of the line Apple
iMac ($2,199, www.apple.com) balances a giant 20-inch,
1680-by-1050-pixel flat-panel
— display on the same-size
white dome as the rest of the
iMac line. With a 1.25GHz
processor, three high-
speed USB 2.0 ports, and
two FireWire 400 ports (no
FireWire 800), the 20-inch
and it’s 17-inch sibling are
the fastest iMacs yet—and
the 20-inch is the most
expensive of its ilk to
date,
Is this iMac’s display too big for In other news, Apple
its body? Apple says no. transformed the previously
single-processor 1.8GHz Power Mac G5 into a Dual 1.8GHz
Power Mac G5 ($2,499—only a hundred bucks more than
the original), and dropped the price on the single-processor
1.6GHz Power Mac G5 to $1,799.
POWERSTRIP 2.0
Monster Management for
Snarly Cords
You no longer put up with an ugly beige
Mac, so why not hold your power strip
to the same high standard? Monster
Cable’s Computer Power Center PC 1000
($149.95, www.monsterpower.com)
combines four 500-watt outlets, four
1,500-watt outlets, three sets of coaxial
cable connectors (for cable modem
and cable TV), and an RJ-11 phone jack
(for phone, fax, or DSL)—all within an
attractive color-coded casing. Safety
lights that show proper grounding and
stickers for labeling cords are handy touches.
Agnarly hub for
snarly cables.
SHAREWARE PICK OF THE MONTH
3D ASTEROIDS
DERE www.cantadgames.com Free
rgonaut enhances the classic
gameplay of Atari’s Asteroids
Blast asteroids in with 3D OpenGL graphics. Piloting your
Argonaut 2149. single-thruster 2X-24, you rack up points
by blasting away asteroids while collecting green-glowing
crystals, Watch out for scavengers who steal
crystals, and pirates who try to blow you
away. You can exchange crystals for power-
ups and weapons.—Andrew Tokuda
ON THE
iDISC
Argonaut 214914
PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY OF APPLE
PHOTOGRAPH BY MARK MADEO
NEW STUFF
COLOR LASER PRINTER
What it is: This four-color USB 2.0 laser
printer is quiet, has easy-to-replace
individual ink cartridges (Samsung
hasn’t announced prices of replacement
cartridges), PostScript support, and a
network option.
Why it’s cool: This printer has a cool
shape and is relatively affordable.
DOUBLE THE DISPLAY
What it is: The DS-1500 combines two
15-inch LCD displays on one stand, and
hooks up to your Mac with two 15-pin
VGA connectors. It offers up a less-
than-stellar 250 cd/m2 brightness but
has a respectable 400:1 contrast ratio.
Why it’s cool: You get an inexpensive
dual-display setup without the bulk of
two actual displays.
iPOD BACKPACK
What it is: This ballistic nylon backpack
has a soft control pad in the shoulder
strap for you to control your iPod, which
stows snugly in its own compartment.
Why it’s cool: If you don’t have the
$379.95 forthe Burton Shield iPod
Jacket (formerly the $499 Burton Amp
Jacket), this backpack is cheaper and
suitable forall weather.
SWIVEL-LENS CAMERA
What it is: This 3.2-megapixel swivel-
lens camera, with 3x optical zoom and
fast 3.5-fps (frames per second) burst
speed, comes in silver, blue, orred, and
stores images on SD or MMC cards.
Why it’s Cool: This teeny camera
packs a respectable 3-megapixel CCD
in a casing that weighs 5 ounces and
measures just 0.6 inch.
AVID XPRESS DV UPDATE
What it is: This video-editing software
by Avid—a company justly famous for
its hardware video-editing systems—is
an alternative to Final Cut Pro, The
new version comes with 100 real-time
effects, such as moving titles, picture-
in-picture effects, and automatic color
correction fora sequence of clips.
Why it’s cool: This pro video-editing
app is now $300 cheaper than Final
Cut Pro.
GET INFO I< 15
Samsung CLP-500
$699
Available: 01 2604
‘www.samsurgusa.com
bleSight
DS-1500
$799
Available: Now
www.doublesight.com
Burton Amp
Backpack
$199.95
Available: Now
‘www.burton.com,
Kyocera Finecam
SL30R
$399
‘Avalable: Now
wwwkyocera.com
=
Avid Xpress BV
$695
‘Available: Now
www.avid.com
February 2004 MacAddict 15
16 MacAddict February 2004
There’s more power lurking
inside your Mac than you
thought. Our experts show
you the upgrades that
provide the most bang for
your buck—and the ones
that are a waste of your time
and money.
Your Mac.
our iMovie previews are choppy. Scrolling through a large iPhoto collection takes about a
month or two. Applying a Gaussian Blur in Photoshop requires more patience than standing
in line at the DMV. Just a year or three ago your Mac was perfectly capable of handling any
task, but not anymore. Today’s software demands more
muscle. You feel like Captain Kirk, shouting to Scottie, “I need more
power!” Only Scottie shouts back, “We canna afford it, Cap’n!”
The good news is that you may not need to plunk down a couple thou
to get a noticeable power boost. Maybe your Mac just needs a upgrade.
And we're not simply talking about sticking a faster microprocessor into
an aging Mac. Upgrades also include additional RAM; bigger, faster
hard drives; snappier video cards; and a host of speedier interfaces
such as USB 2.0, FireWire 800, Serial ATA, and more.
MACADDICT’'S
ULTIMATE
UPGRADE
GUIDE
But which upgrades are worth the expense? To find out, we gathered together upgrade cards,
drives, and more, and spent weeks testing them in some of the more-popular Macs from the past few
years. Some upgrades made a big difference. Some didn’t. Read on—our test results might just save
you a load of cash.
By Niko Coucouvanis AnD Rik Mystewsk!
PHOTOGRAPHY BY Mark MapEo
What Are My Options?
If your Mac is doggin’ it, it’s not necessarily time for a replacement—
you've got other options.
ccording to conventional wisdom, the average life span
ofa personal computer—Mac or PC—is 18 months, if
we all heeded that rule, however, we all would have
consigned our Quicksilver Power Mac G4s and 15-inch
flat-panel iMacs to the dumpster by now.
Yeah, right. Here in the real world, most of us make do with
Macs past their prime. So how do you make your existing
machines snappier and more responsive? Well, after optimizing
your hard drives, trashing useless files, and making sure all your
software is up-to-date, it’s time to pull out the MasterCard and
indulge in a little retail therapy.
But wait—before you dive for your plastic, make a realistic
assessment of your current Mac and your personal needs. If your
Macis beige, you’re running Mac OS 8 or 9, and you’re perfectly
happy with the way you’ve been word-processing, emailing,
and spreadsheeting over the years, there’s really no reason to
upgrade. After all, you don’t upgrade yourtoaster if all you want
is the same toast you’ve been enjoying for years.
However, if you just want a bit of a power boost, you can
pump some more power into your beige box—for a couple of
hundred bucks, companies such as DayStar (www.xlr8.com),
PowerLogix (www.powerlogix.com), and Sonnet Technologies
(www.sonnettech.com) offer G3 or G4 PCI-card accelerators for
pre-G3 Power Macs, and G3 or G4 ZIF daughtercards for Power
Mac G3s. But don’t expect modern-Mac performance. There’s
a lot more to your Mac than its processor; Aged system busses,
support chips, hard-drive connections, and other hardware will
stow it down. Also, before you toss a pile of money into your
beige box, remember that a brand-new 1GHz G4-equipped eMac
can be yours for $799—and it ships with Mac OS X. (Speaking of
OS X, we'll assume for the purposes of this article that OS X is
your operating system of choice.)
If you're running OS X and your Mac isn’t beige, your upgrade
depends upon how you use your Mac (see “What Do | Need?,”
p19). Ifyou simply use it for day-to-day productivity tasks,
such as Web surfing and word processing, you may just need
to bump up your RAM. Mac OS Xis a RAM piggy, and although
Apple claims that 128MB of RAM is sufficient for OS X, we beg
to differ. Think of 256MB as minimal, and 512MB or more as
recommended. Also remember that OS X’s Quartz Extreme
feature, which noticeably improves graphics performance and
the perceived responsiveness of the Finder, requires 16MB of
VRAM. Most CRT iMacs, iBooks shipped before May ’02, and the
original TiBooks need not apply—and there’s no way to upgrade
their VRAM.
in order to help you decide how to get the most for your
upgrade money, we tested different upgrade options ona
half-dozen Macs: 800MHz 15-inch and 1GHz 17-inch flat-panel
iMacs; 400MHz AGP (accelerated graphics port) Graphics (more
18 MacA
tt February 2004
commonly known by its code name, Sawtooth), Dual 800MHz
Quicksilver, and Dual 1.42GHz Mirrored Drive Door Power Mac
G4s; and a Dual 2GHz Power Mac G5, all running Mac OS 10.3.
Depending upon the type of Mac you have, there are essentially
five ways to fire it up.
FIVE WAYS TO UPGRADE
MORE RAM The most cost-effective way of improving
your Mac’s performance is to add RAM. Period. RAM
improves performance by letting your Mac do all its work in
speedy memory, without having to repeatedly access the
comparatively leisurely hard drive to read and write files and
data. The difference can be dramatic, especially if you use
processor-intensive software such as Photoshop.
FASTER PROCESSOR For most modern Macs, installing a faster
processor isn’t an option. However, the older your Mac, the
better your chance at finding a processor upgrade—and we
discovered that some can provide a hefty speed boost.
IMPROVED STORAGE Each Power Mac G4 tower has room
inside for multiple hard drives, and Mac OS X’s Disk Utility
(Applications > Utilities » Disk Utility) includes the option to
combine two drives into a performance-enhancing RAID 0
configuration. in addition, Sonnet Technologies offers PC!
cards that provide faster internal drive busses than the ones
in your Power Mac. But is it worth the trouble to upgrade? Our
tests proved that while older Power Macs can benefit greatly
from faster drives, RAID 0 sets, and faster internal busses,
newer Macs benefit little, ifat all.
BETTER VIDEO CARD The selection of video-card upgrade
possibilities open to Mac owners is quite sad. Ifyou own an
iMac, your options are zip, zilch, or bupkis. Your only real option
is to buy a new Mac. But don’t buy an iMac for a high-quality
gaming experience. Even though our tests showed that the
17-inch iMac was as much as 50 percent faster than the 15-inch
model, its framerate scores were still only a third to two-thirds
as fast as the ATI Radeon 9600 Pro card that comes in the Dual
2GHz Power Mac G5.
MODERN INTERFACE OPTIONS If your Power Mac was released
before the Blue-and-White G3, you need to add FireWire 400
ports. If it’s older than a January ’03 Mirrored Drive Door, you
might want to add FireWire 800 ports. If you don’t have a Power
Mac G5 ora late model Book or iMac, you might consider USB
t Do | Need?
Different users have different needs. Before deciding on an upgrade plan, find
V
hg
What ‘bout V
upgrades. You often can’t upgrade their processors,
which are soldered onto their motherboards. You have
to reach all the way back to the late-1990’s PowerBook
G3 Wallstreet, PDQ, and Lombard (also known as Bronze
Keyboard) models to find a PowerBook you can upgrade
yourself. Sonnet Technologies offers 500MHz Crescendo/WS
G3 and G4 processor upgrades ($249.95 and $349.95,
respectively) for the first two. PowerLogix has upgrades for
all three: the 500MHz BlueChip G4 ($379) for the Wallstreet
and PDQ, and the BlueChip G4 LS ($379) for the Lombard.
The FireWire-equipped PowerBook G3 of 2000,
code-named Pismo, can also be upgraded—but not by you.
DayStar offers 550MHz and 500MHz XLR8 MACh Speed G4
Pismo upgrades ($329 and $289, respectively), but you
have to ship the company your PowerBook and let them
perform the installation. PowerLogix also has a mail-in Pismo
upgrade offering: the 900MHz BlueChip Pismo G3 ($349),
but the company doesn’t require that you send in your whole
PowerBook—just the CPU card.
You can upgrade the hard drive in a Book with varying
degrees of ease. If you go through the trouble of replacing
yours with a more-capacious model, also. consider a faster
drive. Most *Books have 4,200-rpm drives, but you can
replace those low-speed spinners with 5,400-rpm drives—
or even 7,200-rpm drives, such as Hitachi's recently released
60GB Travelstar 7K60 ($260, www.hgst.com/hdd/travel
/tr7k60.htm).
Prinrecs and iBooks aren’t great candidates for
Absolute WouldBe —_ Not
Must Nice = Worth It
your primary activity in the list below, then take a look at our recommendations. Ramey
Fast Loads
Processor of RAI
Day-to-Day Productivity @ @
Consumer Video Editing @ e@
Consumer Audio Editing @
Graphic Design and Layout
ional Video Editing
Professional Audio Editing
Hard-Core Game Playing
Large eet
Hard Drive ive
FireWire Fast
00 Video Card
a)
February 2004 MacAddict 19
5 OF APPLE
Flat-panel iMac G4s don’t offer many upgrade options—unless you're willing
to void your warranty, that is.
n the long-standing tradition of Apple’s all-in-one Macs,
your flat-panel iMac is essentially a closed system—that is,
Apple didn’t intend for you to upgrade anything other than
RAM and AirPort. Only one RAM slot is user-accessible, with
the remaining slot hidden deep inside the iMac’s snow-white
dome. You're limited to adding one 512MB SO-DIMM (small-
outline dual in-line memory module) into the user-accessible
slot, so if your iMac came with only 128MB or 256MB of RAM
in the hidden slot, you’re limited to 640MB or 768MB of RAM.
Even so, that’s not shabby. We tested iMac performance
at three different RAM levels (see “What a Difference a Gig
Makes,” p21), and our tests showed a marked increase in
Photoshop performance as we added RAM—for example,
speed essentially doubled with each RAM upgrade when we
ran our 25MB-file tests.
Now, if you didn’t have the insight to upgrade that internal
RAM slot to its maximum capacity when you bought your iMac,
you're not necessarily stuck: As you'll see here, it is possible
to upgrade it to its full 512MB capacity. We'll also give youa
head start on upgrading your iMac’s hard drive, should you feel
brave. Remember, however, that mucking about deep inside
your iMac is a warranty-voiding offense.
20 MacAddict February 2004
To discover how RAM
improves an iMac’s per-
formance, we created
a Photoshop Action
that mimics the type of
activities you might per-
form while working with
a digital photograph.
We applied that Action AOMB File
to 10MB, 25MB, and
50MB Photoshop files, |
‘on both an 8OOMHz
15-inch iMac G4 and
a 1GHz 17-inch iMac
G4. After each round of
tests, we upgraded each iMac’s RAM from 256MB to 512MB
to 1GB (the maximum capacity)—standard SDRAM in the 15-
incher, and DDR (double data rate SDRAM in the 17-incher.
Above are the results of the 10MB- and 25MB-file tests.
>
Install a Sonnet Technologies
HARMONi/G3 with FireWire.
February 2004 MacAddict 21
MACADDICT’S ULTIMATE UPGRADE GUIDE
Power Mac G4 towers are easy to open and easy to upgrade, come RAM,
hard drive, or PCI and video card.
he options are endless when it comes to upgrading a
Power Mac G4 desktop machine. Just flip down the lid,
and the world is your oyster. You can add RAM, another
hard drive, or PCI cards. You can change out the video
card, trick out your machine with FireWire 800 and USB 2.0,
or upgrade to a faster processor. But which of these gives you
the most bang for your buck? In search of the answer to that
question, we ran about a million tests (well, almost) on
a 400MHz Sawtooth G4, Dual 800MHz Quicksilver G4, and
22 MacAddict February 2004
Dual 1.42GHz Mirrored Drive Door G4. Here’s what our
tests revealed.
The easiest and most cost-effective way to squeeze more
performance out of your Power Mac G4 is to add RAM. When we
ran our Photoshop Action tests on three different Power Mac
G4s (along with a Dual 2GHz Power Mac G5), we discovered
tremendous increases in performance. In tests using 10MB,
25MB, and 50MB Photoshop files, performance was routinely
two to three times better when Photoshop had enough RAM to
iN
f]
avoid swapping data back and forth to the hard drive (see
“The Power of RAM,” p25).
HARD DRIVE Upgrading your hard drive, along with the data
path it uses to talk to your Mac, is a great way to speed up your
work. Your upgrade choices are legion: Sonnet Technologies
offers a series of PCI cards that'll add an ATA/133 or SATA-
150 (Serial ATA) internal hard-drive bus. Plus, a number of
companies offer FireWire 800 and USB 2.0 PCI cards in a host
of different configurations (see “PC! Card Tricks,” p26).
To see what kind of data-transfer boost we could achieve
by adding a higher-speed bus to our Power Mac, we used
Maxtor 7,200-rpm DiamondMax Plus 9 drives (ATA/133,
$159.95; SATA-150, $199.99; www.maxtor.com), along with
Mac OS X’s built-in RAID 0 data-striping capabilities, to
perform about 100 file-transfer tests on 16 different drive
and card configurations in three different Power Macs. Our
first discovery: Configurations that used an ATA/133 or
SATA-150 PCI card in a Mirrored Drive Door G4 to create a
two-drive internal RAID 0 set were essentially no faster than
a RAID 0 set created by Mac OS X’s Disk Utility on that G4’s
stock internal ATA/100 bus. What’s more, that RAID 0 set on
the stock internal ATA/100 bus was only marginally faster
than the single drive that ships with the Mirrored Drive Door
G4—about 9 percent faster at just under 40 MBps.
The hard-drive story is different on older Power Macs.
On a Sawtooth G4, for example, the stock internal drive on
average pokes along at just under 15 MBps when reading
and writing files to an external FireWire 400 drive. Add a
FireWire 800 card connected to a fast FireWire 800 drive,
and the average kicks up to about 19 MBps (we used LaCie’s
$79 FireWire 800 PCI Card and $349 250GB d2 hard drive,
www.lacie.com). You.can get even more creative and connect
an internal SATA-150 RAID 0 set (using the Sonnet PCI
card) with two external FireWire 800 drives in a RAID 0 set
created by Disk Utility, and the file-transfer speed on that old
Sawtooth jumps to 36 MBps—nearly two and a half times as
fast as the stock drive.
The moral: If you have an old Mac, invest in a faster storage
configuration. If you have a new Mac, don’t bother.
PROCESSOR UPGRADES Most newer Power Macs don’t need
em, and beige-box Power Macs aren’t usually worth the
expense of upgrading, but one middle-aged Mac that can
benefit from a processor upgrade is the Sawtooth Power Mac
G4. This workhorse has a system bus that purrs along ata
respectable 100MHz—fast enough not to choke a processor
upgrade, We ran our Photoshop Action on three top-of-
the-line 1.4GHz upgrade cards: Other World Computing’s
Mercury Extreme ($559.99, www.macsales.com),
PowerLogix’s PowerForce G4 ($449), and Sonnet
Technologies’ Encore ST/G4 ($549.95), plus a lower-cost,
lower-speed DayStar 550MHz XLR8 550 MAChSpeedG4
Sawtooth ($199).
When the poor old Sawtooth had a mere 256MB of RAM,
the upgrades hardly helped at all—but when we increased
the RAM to 1GB, each 1.4GHz upgrade card performed more
than twice as fast as our stock 400MHz Sawtooth, and the
550MHz MAChSpeedG4 achieved a respectable 20 percent
improvement. The 1.4GHz cards were equally impressive
when ripping a CD to AAC and encoding a 2GB DV file to.
MPEG-2—well over twice as fast as the stock Sawtooth.
Power Mac G4 Guts
SAWTOOTH
Hard Drive
PCI Slots
Graphics Card
Processor and
Heat Sink
RAM
QUICKSILVER
Hard Drive
PCI Slots
Graphics Card
RAM
Processor and
Heat Sink
MIRRORED DRIVE
DOOR
Hard Drive Bays <4
Processor and —__|
Heat Sink
RAM ———_____|
Graphics Card ——
PCI Slots
February 2004 MacAddict 23
Upgrade Your Video Card
uicksilver)
follow your lust, check out “The Power of RAM,” p25, then
give your G4 a hug. Bottom line: A fast dual-processor G4
with a full complement of RAM can hold its own against a
stock G5 with less RAM. But remember, it’s important to get
RAM that’s compatible with your system (don’t worry, there
are plenty of Mac-savvy online vendors who can help you
out). Just don’t buy from Apple because while the quality’s
great, prices aren’t.
| f you've got the hots for a G5 but your wallet won’t let you
Sawtooth Quicksilver Mirrored Drive Door
‘Most G4s have four easy-access RAM slots that you can stuff
with up to 2GB of RAM. The exception is the Quicksilver family,
whose three slots can hold only 1.5GB.
Add a Second Hard Dri
(Mirrored Drive Door)
drive cage is easy to work with. To remove it, simply
remove the securing screw and release the lever on the
left side of the cage, then lift up on the cage to free it from
the rear-mounting bracket. As you pull out the cage, unplug
the drive's data- and power-cable connectors. Since you're
adding a second drive to the ATA bus, don’t forget to set the
second drive's jumpers to the slave configuration—check the
drive's documentation to find out how.
Ts Mirrored Drive Door G4’s vertically mounted hard-
Mac G4—appropriately code-named Yikes!—every
subsequent Power Mac pipes its graphics through an
AGP graphics card. But no Mac has more than one AGP slot,
s0 it’s a good thing that all the current AGP graphics cards
available from ATI and nVidia can drive two monitors.
A“: the first-generation, woefully engineered Power
@ First, remove the
anchoring screw, then
remove the current
video card.
@ Line up the new
card’s pins with the stot
and push straight down
on the card until it snaps
into place.
© Ifthe new graphics
card gets unseated,
your Mac won't boot,
so lock it down with the
anchoring screw.
@ Pull the cage
up and out. When
you can reach the
data- and power-
cable connectors,
unplug them from
the drive,
24 MacAddict February 2004
Q Slide in another drive and
reattach the cage.
@ Attach the
data and power
connectors to
each drive while
reinstalling the cage.
Using 10MB, 25MB, and SOMB Photoshop files, we performed Ifyou're looking for
our Photoshop Actions test on a gaggle of stock Power Macs, the kind of searing ian baw nee
plus a Sawtooth Power Mac G4 equipped with processor- framerate performance ‘GeForce? MX
upgrade cards of 550MHz and 1.4GHz. We first tested each Mac that your game-playing |
at its stock RAM allotment, then stepped up the RAM to 512MB, PC friends brag about, te on i
1GB, 1.5GB, and we’ve got some bad =Ee,
finally 2GB (except for r news for you: Your iMac’s —soomesomean cs BD
in the Dual 800MHz video circuitry isn’t we ee ten
Quicksilver, which . upgradeable, and your
maxes out at 1.5GB). options for adding Ault Oth
The results of our 4 a high-speed video ae Gtaoe2 WX
25MB-file tests are card to your PowerMac —puarsezaie hiro
shownhere.Ineach Soon are limited. aoe
test, performance 3 / ‘ ¥
stabilized as soon ¢ ‘ 7 ‘Dual 1.42GHe Mirrored |
as Photoshop found s a i "is a wi
its RAM comfort §
level. In the 25MB-file © $200, from ua Oe wh
tests, that level te
was 1GB~—we saw dnl tet z ya 264865 with
no improvement at ‘ ATI eon 200 Pr
RAM levels higher
than that.
ee ee Pee
BB vveat tournament
2003
es’ default settings)
February 2004 MacAddict 25
PCI Card Tricks
Your Power Mac’s PCI Slots are just sitting there, waiting for you to take
advantage of them. Fill them up!
{ Power Macs since the first beige G3 have included With the introduction of AirPort Extreme, FireWire 800, and USB
three or four PCI slots—but the majority of Mac owners 2.0, and with the desire to put faster drives inside our Macs, the
never use them. The reason is simple: Most of us have humble PCI slot is making new friends. Here are a few ways you
no need to put anything in them. But that’s changing. can put yours to work.
H hardware RAID controller; the Tempo Trio has dual
siarage Connection Cards eed
Ider Power Macs can benefit from an internal ATA/133 or Tempo HD 40 includes a 40GB hard drive and one
SATA-150 PCI card, to which you can attach fast hard drives. _ ATA/133 port. The Adaptec PowerDomain 39160's
Each ATA/133 port can support up to two drives; each SATA two Ultra160 SCSI channels provide a scorching
port can support one. The Sonnet Tempo RAID133 includes a theoretical throughput of 320 MBps.
1 i USB 2.0 didn’t enter the Power Mac arena until
Penpneral Connection Cards S20 ee
f your Power Mac is older than a Blue-and-White G3, your convenience of those technologies when there
machine doesn’t have FireWire 400. FireWire 800 didn’t show up _are plenty of reasonably priced PCI cards just
until the January 2003 version of the Mirrored Drive Door G4, and waiting to help you out?
Netwo rk Cards limited to the much slower speeds of the original
AirPort (aka 802.11b). if your Power Mac G4 is of
irPort Extreme (aka 802.11g) entered the Power Mac line with — Sawtooth vintage or older, you're not enjoying the
the January ’03 version of the Mirrored Drive DoorG4—ifyou _ benefits of Gigabit Ethernet. Sonnet offers PCI
want to connect an older Power Mac to a wireless network, you're —_ cards to lift both limitations.
February 2004
Power Mac.G5
The Power Mac G5, like Mary Poppins, is “practically perfect in every way.”
But we have some suggestions.
he Power Mac G5 is so new, powerful, and packed with
features that the concept of upgrading it might seem a
wee bit obscene—but we gave it a shot anyway.
Check out “The Power of RAM,” p25, and you'll see that
the Power Mac G5 benefits from an infusion of RAM—but although
the Power Mac G5 holds 8GB of RAM, rarely will any file you
work on require more than 2GB, Then there’s your internal hard
drive. While it’s easy to pair it up with another SATA-150 drive,
our testing showed no performance advantage to combining two
drives into a RAID 0 set using Mac OS X’s Disk Utility—although
the extra storage is useful. Here’s how to pump up your G5.
G5 Guts X oom
PCI Slots
Graphics Card
RAM a |
Processors and
Heat Sinks
Bummer,” p25) showed little or no performance
difference between a G5’s stock Radeon 9600 and the
$300 Radeon 9800 Pro upgrade when running games at their
default settings. So pop for this step-up only if you need the
Radeon 9800 Pro’s ability to maintain high framerates as you
tweak your games’ graphics settings for higher resolution,
richer detail, full-screen antialiasing, and graphics goodies
such as trilinear filtering and dynamic tessellation. If you live
for games, a video-card upgrade Is worth the price.
O ur game framerate testing (see “The Graphics-Card
Once you get an offset
screwdriver to remove the
anchoring screw, and maybe
a flashlight to find the little
locking tab, changing AGP
cards Is basically unplug,
plug, and play.
bss
Add RAM
N otice the two banks of four slots each—the G5.
accesses RAMin parallel; when upgrading, add RAM
two DIMMs at a time to matching slots in each bank.
Add RAM in matched pairs.
Start from the inner slots,
and move out from there.
Add a Second Hard Drive
a he G5’s hard-drive bays are so user-friendly that you
can add or remove disks all day long with nary a tool
or scratched knuckle. OK, you might need a Phillips
screwdriver for the included drive-guide screws, but we
finger-tightened ours. The real functional elegance here is in
the cable management—the petite data and power connectors
are already in perfect position; you just slide in the drive
and plug it in. One other nicety: SATA’s smart cables and
connectors ignore the entire ATA master versus slave hoo-hah.
Muy conveniente,
@ Install the provided
mounting screws on the
case of your second hard
drive, then slide that baby
right into place.
@ The data and power
cables are right where you
need them.
Revlews Editor Niko Coucouvanis and Editor in Chief Rik Myslewski contend that if they could have missed their deadline by an additional week,
they could have tested every combination of processor-card, RAM-level, video-card, and hard-drive upgrade—or gone stark raving mad trying.
February 2004 MacAddict 27
inlock the secrets of Halo to save mankind from the ruthless Covenant swarms.
Take the fight online in customizable head-to-head multiplayer competitions against up
to 15 opponents playing on Macs and PCs. Break open a redesigned arsenal complete
__ with the wicked new fuel rod gun. Then go mobile in the redeveloped
Rocket Warthog and Banshee. This is Halo evolved,
‘amma ak
Microsoft ywmaesotgames.com MacSoft.
gamexstudios
Get Creati
with Adobe
Creative Suit
Graphic designers rejoice! Adobe has revamped Photoshop,
Illustrator, InDesign, and GoLive, and combined them to
create the most powerful creative collection on the planet.
Now MacAddict shows you new ways to use them all.
by John Cruise with artwork by Frank Wu
f new versions of your favorite graphics applications get your creative
juices flowing, the Adobe Creative Suite should leave you positively
drenched. Not only are the new versions of Photoshop, Illustrator,
InDesign, and GoLive impressively updated, but also you can now
buy them in a cash-saving Premium bundle with the previously released
Acrobat 6 Professional and Adobe’s new file-management application,
Version Cue. Alternately, you can forego GoLive and Acrobat, save
$300, and opt for the Standard bundle. You can still purchase individual
applications and updates, but the aggressive pricing of the Adobe
Creative Suite—which essentially gives you five applications plus Version
Cue for the cost of two—is tough to pass up.
Whether you plan to use one or all of the Adobe Creative Suite
applications, there’s no time like the present to start learning about
them. We'll introduce you to the best and brightest features of each
application and show you how to start getting creative with them.
But keep a towel handy: Once you start, you may never be able to get
those creative juices to stop.
ADOBE CREATIVE SUITE
PREMIUM $1,299
Photoshap CS, tilustrator CS, Int
CS, GoLive CS, Acrobat 6 Profes
and Version Cue
ADOBE CREATIVE SUITE
STANDARD $999
Photoshop CS, tlustrator CS
InDesign GS, and Version Cue
Also available as standalone purchases:
Photoshop CS lustrator CS
($499), InDesign CS ($699), and
GoLive CS (
Conta 33
www.adobe.com
Requirements:
(should work in 10,3, although Adot
sting feature compatibility
at press time)
February MacAddict 29
@ Photoshop File Edit image Layer Select filter View Window Help
a moll] Gauto Select Layer ©} Show Bounding Box
ielaead (Lata) | Sista) eet |
Photoshop CS Adobe adds handy new
features—and improves upon old ones—in its update
of the world’s best image editor.
Get a Grip on Your Files
Adobe introduced the File Browser in Photoshop 7, and, likea
cat, it was nice to have around but wasn’t superuseful—it had
limited powers and its interface was clunky. Happily, Adobe has
retooled the File Browser in Photoshop CS, and the result is a
file-management utility that’s both powerful and easy to use.
Peascoruss The toggle file browser icon
(a folder with a magnifying glass) in the Photoshop CS
options bar lets you quickly open and close the File Browser
window—a big time-saver and much better than the File
Browser tab that used to live in the Photoshop 7 options bar.
You can customize the File Browser
by resizing the Folders, Preview, Metadata, and Keywords
panes, and then dragging their tabs to other locations. You
can save File Browser configurations as workspaces (Window
> Workspace > Save Workspace), as well as display small,
medium, large, and custom-size thumbnails (View menu).
You can move files around in the
File Browser window just by clicking and dragging their
thumbnails—you can even drag them to a different folder.
Plus, you can select multiple files and flag them for quick
grouping by clicking the flag icon at the top of the File
Browser window. The Show pop-up lets you display flagged
files, unflagged files, or both, while the Sort and View menus
provide several options for arranging and displaying files.
In the Metadata pane, you can
define and assign data (description, copyright info, and
so on) to single or multiple images, and it displays all
information associated with a selected file. You can also
Perform searches based on metadata.
The Batch command underthe
File Browser’s Automate menu lets you perform actions
on multiple files. The Automate menu’s new Photomerge
command combines multiple images into a single, seamless
panorama, and commands such as Picture Package and
Contact Sheet Il are now accessible from the File Browser.
The Keywords pane lets you create
individual keywords and sets of keywords that you can apply
to one or more files, and includes a Search command under
its flyout menu for performing keyword-based searches. For
example, you could assign a keyword like loser to all images
of your ex and then use that keyword as search criteria to
quickly locate, display, and deface all of those pictures.
30 MacAddict February 2004
&@ TOOLBAR
FILE BROWSER MENUS.
Here you'll find icons for frequently used File Browser
commands: rotate, flag, search, and delete.
These menus include
commands for viewing and
sorting files and let you
easily perform automation
tasks on multiple images.
ee
The Preview pane displays
a high-res preview of the
selected image. Resizing it
makes previews larger.
st
© CONFIGURABLE PANES
You can resize panes
by dragging the grips
at the intersection of
any two panes, and
you can reconfigure the
arrangement of the panes
by dragging their tabs to
different locations.
© METADATA PANE
Here you can view
information about a
selected Image and perform
metadata-based searches.
Filename
Date Created
Date Moditied
‘nage Format
wath
Height
ColerMede
Resolution
File Site
Color Protis
BE Depth
fank
DocimentiO
1 GGRps
= 14/1703 2:36:27 A
221/403 2:36:27 4
+ Photoshop.
+ 1600
Bs
2 ROB
£300.08
237m
+ sROBIECGI966-2.1
18
on
+ adobesdociasphoteshop..
QD * ©) S Mon 3:11 PM
Match and Replace Colors When matching colors, you have the option to match entire
Ever take a series of outdoor photos, leave for 30 minutes images or selections within images. To match colors across two
to grab a hot dog, and come back to find that a change in images, open the target and source images and select the target
the weather has wreaked havoc on your lighting? Well, with image. Tile the two windows (Window > Arrange > Tile) so that
Photoshop CS’s new Match Color feature, you can make that a you can see both images, then choose Image > Adjustments >
two-hour hot dog break. Match Color lets you apply the color Match Color. From the Source menu in the Match Color dialog,
characteristics of one image (the source image) to another choose the source image. Click the Neutralize box to remove
(the target image). This is useful for matching disparate color any color cast in the target image, and click the Preview box to
balance in photos taken under different lighting conditions or update the target image in the document window as you make
for creating special effects by applying the color scheme of one changes. You can also adjust the Luminance, Color Intensity,
image to another. and Fade controls to change the appearance of the target image.
While we’re on the subject of color, the new color replacement
tool—accessible under the healing brush tool (a bandage
icon) in the tool palette—lets you apply the foreground color
Th N E il B: to a selection without affecting texture or shading within the
ie ew € rowser selection. It’s perfect for, say, making brown eyes blue or
a5 changing the color of that hideous green dress from the ’70s to
a] ene i a a more-pleasing hue.
Fueower Stow v rapped and Uaagged Fix Shadows and Highlights
iene ee Some photos (and photographers) are so bad that nothing can
save them. Others just need a little help: If you find yourself
needing to correct underexposed or overexposed images, try
the Shadow/Highlight feature (Image » Adjustments > Shadow/
Highlight). This cool tool can greatly improve contrast in poorly
exposed areas while preserving the overall appearance of the
image. The bonus? Photoshop doesn’t touch correctly exposed
DI UOISE IE: areas—and when you're done, your family won’t be the wiser
that you screwed up the photo in the first place. ee
-o
Create Text on a Path oe
If you want to flow text alonga pathinPhotoshop7, @
too bad—you can’t. In Photoshop CS, however, you ¢
can. It’s essentially a two-step process: First, usethe
DscNo1s7JPC pen tool or one of the shape tools to create the path. Ms
Then select any of the four type tools, clickthe pathyou “ae s
created, and enter your text. You can reposition the text by %e
selecting the direct selection tool under the path selection MM
tool (a solid arrow), moving the pointer over the text (an I-beam t
pointer appears when you do), then clicking and dragging. Me
To flip the text to the other side of the path,
position the pointer over the text, then click
and drag the I-beam pointer across the j We created this path
path. Make a typo? Noworries—you can _ © | with the pen tool
edit any text on a path. =
Unfortunately, Photoshop CS’s u
text-on-a-path capabilities are wimpy "
wimpy wimpy compared to Illustrator CS
and InDesign CS. For example, it neither includes any effects
for type along a path (such as rainbow or skew), nor does it
offer alignment options that let you position the text vertically
relative to the path.
Correct Scanned Images
If you’re like most graphic artists, you’ve probably spent many
painful hours scanning images into your Mac—and many more
TEXT ON PATH
and added the text
with the vertical
type tool.
ve Fet Size
se fat Size
ata Gplay Options...
ao
February 2004 MacAddict 31
é Photoshop File Edit image Layer Select Filter View Window Help
@ REPLACE
painful hours straightening each and every image in Photoshop
because your shaky, overcaffeinated hands couldn’t quite place
them straight on the scanner. The Crop And Straighten Photos
command (File » Automate > Crop And Straighten Photos), as
you might have guessed, automatically crops and straightens
all of the images in a multi-image scan and creates a separate
file for each image. You can also use this feature to correct
individual images.
Create Multiple Versions
Sometimes, less is more—especially when it comes to managing
graphics files. If you need to provide multiple versions of a
layout to a client and don’t want to hassle with multiple
image files, you can use the layer comp feature—this creates
a snapshot of the Layers palette that records the visibility,
position, and appearance of the layers in a file.
To create a layer comp, open the Layer Comp palette
(Window > Layer Comps). Arrange the layers the way you want
them to be saved in the layer comp, and then choose New Layer
Comp from the Layer Comps palette flyout menu. In the New
Layer Comp dialog, choose the options you want to apply to
layers (turn Visibility, Position, and Appearance on or off). Any
settings you make apply to the next layer comp you create.
After you’ve created two or more layer comps, you can switch
between them by clicking the layer comp icon (a layout) next
toa layer comp name in the palette. As you make changes toa
layer comp, you should periodically click the update layer comp
icon (two arrows that form a circle) at the bottom of the palette
to save changes. You can output individual layer comps, and
you can create multipage PDF files and Web sites from a file’s
layer comps.
New Color Tools
[he [Smressestne stots tor | (neleal |
Go Raw
You don’t have to be a sushi lover, but you do need to bea
high-end digital-camera owner to appreciate the ability to work
with raw image data—pure, unprocessed image data straight
from your camera’s CCD. The Camera Raw plug-in bundled with
Photoshop CS (it was a $99 add-on for Photoshop 7) lets you
manipulate raw files. Unfortunately, this feature doesn’t work
with raw files from all cameras; you can find a list of supported
cameras at www.adobe.com:80/products/photoshop
/cameraraw.html.
In the Camera
Raw dialog,
you can adjust
the appearance
ofa rawimage
when you open
the file,
To open a raw file, choose File > Open. Locate and select a
raw image. (You can choose Camera Raw from the Show menu
to display only those files.) When you click Open, the image
appears inside the Camera Raw dialog. The preview window
shows the effect of any changes you make to the various
settings in the Adjust, Details, Lens, and Calibrate panes (these
last two settings appear if you click Advanced). The controls
at the bottom-left of the dialog let you specify color space, bit
depth, pixel size, and resolution. If you want to save custom
settings, choose Save Settings from the flyout menu (to the
right of the Settings menu). The settings you save appear in
the Settings menu. When you click OK, a copy of the raw image
opens, keeping the original file intact.
oe _tayer View Window _Help
Son IT
eosine Covent | las (alla | Geisiak Dolled |
COLORS
5 SHADOWS AND
HIGHLIGHTS
We corrected
the original
underexposed
Use the color
replacement
tool to quickly
giveacaranew
paint job.
photo (top) using
the Shadow/
Highlight dialog.
Notice in the
corrected photo
(bottom) that
tack Cie (607 [whe ip fr]
Photoshop
fixed only the
underexposed
areas.
Bec Laws
32 MacAddict February 2004
Automation Tools
Layer Sees _Pikar View Window Help
is a separate layer comp.
Apply New Filters
isi Bieta
bef eeesnntn oem temovan | any IAL | Siti! Unlialad |
Create a new layer comp using the Layer Comps
palette flyout (below). These three images are all
part of a single Photoshop CS file, and yet each image
‘STADIUM PHOTOGRAPH BY GORDON WU
We created this composite panoramic image from
six source images using the Photomerge command
(under the File Browser’s Automate menu).
PHOTOMERGE
menu, only the Artistic, Brush Strokes, Distort, Sketch, Stylize,
Ifyou’re a Photoshop filter junkie, then you’ll love the new and Texture sets show up in the Filter Gallery. To apply a single
Filter Gallery dialog (Filter » Filter Gallery), which lets you adjust filter from the Filter Gallery, simply select the filter. For each
and apply multiple filters simultaneously, as well as see a new filter you want to apply, click the new effect layer icon
graphical representation of what a filter does via thumbnails. (paper with the corner folded) at the bottom of the palette,
Unfortunately, of the 13 filter sets available under the Filter then choose a filter.
16-BIT EDITING Many features in
previous versions of Photoshop,
including several tools, layer options,
and most filters, worked only with
images that had 8 bits or less
information per color. In Photoshop
CS, all core features work with 16-bit
images, which display more data for
richer color and more-realistic images.
lets you apply
There are also a couple of new filters, including Lens Blur
® FILTER GALLERY (Filter > Blur > Lens Blur), which blurs portions of an image to
The Filter Gallery create the effect of a narrower depth of field. When you apply
the Lens Blur filter, some areas remain in focus while others are
multiple filters blurred. Also, the new Photo Filter (Image > Adjustments > Photo
quickly and Filter) simulates the effect of standard photographic lens filters,
painlessly. including color, warming, and cooling filters; plus, you can pick
a custom filter color using the Adobe color picker.
HISTOGRAM PALETTE The new IMAGES FOR VIDEO Digital video
Histogram palette (Window > editors can now use Photoshop
Histogram) displays tonal and to create images with nonsquare
color information about an image pixels (video formats such as NTSC
ora selected portion of an image, and PAL use rectangular pixels),
and includes several options for You can then import these images
controlling the information that’s into video-editing apps. The New
displayed. Knowing an image’s Document dialog includes presets
tonal characteristics can help you for standard video sizes and a
determine if tonal corrections pop-up menu for specifying the
are appropriate. pixel aspect ratio.
February 2004 MacAddict 33
[GOLDEN GATE PHOTOGRAPH BY AMY WU
@ illustrator file Edit Object
Type Select Filter
Effect View Window Help
—-
| | | u st rato rf CS Adobe brings Illustrator into
the third dimension—among other things.
Create a 3D Object
If your artwork has been looking a little flat lately, the new 3D.
features in Illustrator CS can help. All three 3D effects—Extrude
& Bevel, Revolve, and Rotate—make it easy to change any 2D
object or text into a 3D-looking shape.
The Extrude & Bevel feature lets,
you extend an object backward into space to give ita 3D
appearance—great for creating cubes and cube-like variations.
Start by creating a shape with any of the drawing tools (a text
object also works). With the object selected, choose Effect >
3D> Extrude & Bevel. Click the Preview check box, then adjust
the position, perspective, and depth of your 3D object. If you
want to give the shape a chiseled look, choose a Bevel style
and specify Height. If you click the More Options button, you'll
get additional lighting and shading controls. To adorn your 3D
shape with art, click the Map Art button.
If you want to map an Illustrator CS object or an imported
image to a surface, you must first add it to the Symbols
library. Also, you can’t use a linked image as a symbol; you
must embed the image in the document before you can place
itin the Symbols library. To do that, you must uncheck the
Link check box in the Place dialog when you import the image
into Illustrator CS or choose Embed Image from the Links
palette flyout menu after you import the image.
COI. The Revolve feature creates a
3D shape by spinning an object around an axis—useful for
creating cylinder-based shapes such as cans and bottles.
Begin by creating a shape with one of the drawing tools.
Select the object you want to revolve, then choose Effect >
3D > Revolve. Click the Preview check box, then specify
Position, Revolve, and Surface settings. Click Map Art to
assign a symbol to the surface.
The Rotate feature lets you tilt a
2D object so that it appears 3D—good for, say, Star Wars—
style receding text. To use the Rotate feature, select a text
object, an imported image, or a shape you've created, and
then choose Effect » 3D > Rotate. Use the controls to create
your desired look.
Make Your Text Flow
Adobe has expanded Illustrator CS’s text-on-a-path
capabilities, with a new Type On A Path Options box and several
type special effects. To flow text along a path, create an object—
open or closed—using any of the drawing tools. Next, select the
type on a path tool under the tool palette’s type tool (a Ticon)
and click anywhere along the edge of the object. Enter the text,
highlight it, and then use the Character and Paragraph palettes
(Window > Type > Character/Paragraph) to format it.
34 MacAddict February 2004
To modify the appearance of the type and its position relative
to the path, choose Type > Type On A Path > Type On A Path
Options. Each of the five choices in the Effect menu (such as
Rainbow and Stair Step) produce different visual effects, and
the options in the Align To Path menu let you move the text up
and down relative to the path.
With the selection tool (filled-in arrow icon), you can drag the
control points at the beginning, middle, and end of a type path
to move the beginning, middle, and end points, respectively;
you can also use the type tool while holding down the Command
key to do this. Clicking and dragging a control point across the
path flips the type. Like type objects, a type path has an in
3D Tools
(@§iilustrator File Fait Object “Type Select Fier Effect View Window Help
& 3D EXTRUDE & BEVEL
We started out with a simple square and turned it
into a fine-lookin’ cube. You can use the 3D Extrude &
Bevel Options dialog (bottom right) to control how your
object looks. To put finishing touches on our Cubist
masterpiece, we applied patterns to the surfaces via
the Map Art dialog (top right).
sox |
Doc: 1.26M/1.65M a
QO *# %) S Mon3:11PM
port and an out port—elements that link to other objects or
enable you to thread text into and out of a type path.
Learn to Scribble
Even with our poor, computer-strained eyesight, we can
usually spot a vector EPS illustration from a mile away.
That’s because they’re generally composed of hard-edged,
stiff-looking shapes rather than the loose, flowing shapes
artists can produce with a pencil or paintbrush. Illustrator’s
tuuman being isa part of «whole,
ed by as ‘anlverse «part
3D REVOLVE
It doesn’t take an oven and one of those
froufrou pastry bags to bake a fancy cake—
just use Illustrator’s new Revolve feature.
3D ROTATE
We started with a
boring rectangular
text frame and then
used the Rotate
feature to make it
look tike the text
is receding into
the distance.
mited in
SCRIBBLE
Theme and variation:
Here we created two
different scribbled
versions of the original
artwork (left).
new Scribble effect changes that by letting you add a loose,
hand-drawn, mad-artist appearance to objects. To apply the
Scribble effect, choose Effect > Stylize » Scribble. The Scribble
Options dialog provides several controls that let you modify
the nature and extent of the effect. The best way to geta
handle on the controls in the Scribble Options dialog is to
check the Preview box, go nuts with the settings, and watch
what happens.
TEMPLATES Illustrator CS ships with 200-plus templates,
including marketing brochures and stationery—and they're”
not even cheesy! Each time you open a template (File >» New
From Template; also in the illustrator > Templates folder), a
new, untitled document opens that you can then save. You
can also save Illustrator CS documents as templates.
OPTICAL KERNING, OPTICAL MARGIN ALIGNMENT
Optical kerning examines character shapes and adjusts
the space between them to achieve a snug fit that’s
consistent with surrounding text. To apply it, highlight text,
then choose Optical from the Character palette’s kerning _
pop-up. Optical margin alignment adjusts the position of
punctuation and text characters along the left and right
margins to give margins a straighter vertical appearance.
To apply optical margin alignment to a selected text object,
choose Type > Optical Margin Alignment.
OPENTYPE SUPPORT You can use the Glyphs palette
(Type > Glyphs) to display either OpenType fonts or
non-Opentype fonts, and you can insert glyphs (@
fancy-pants term for characters) by double-clicking them.
Via the Opentype palette (Window> Type» Opentype)
flyout menu, you-can set Illustrator to automatically replace
standard characters with OpenType alternatives.
WYSIWYG FONT MENU Finally, finding the right font for
your piece isn’t like trying to shoot a clay pigeon while
wearing a blindfold. Illustrator CS’s Font menu displays
font names using the actual fonts and icons that indicate
the type of font—TrueType, PostScript, or Openty)
February 2004 MacAddict 35
‘CLOUD ILLUSTRATION BY AMY WU
é InDesign File Edit Layout Type
Object Table View Window Help
Sasa po Bit
— See = Bi rr Sox Bris
iiale B mee
Bierce 1F: 11 Cena use
In Desig N_ CS Get ready to be awed.
InDesign CS has a seriously impressive set of new features.
Apply Headers and Footers to Tables
If you deal with long tables, you’ll appreciate the option to
automatically add headers and/or footers to tables that flow
through multiple frames or pages. When you create a new table
(Table > Insert Table), you can specify the number of rows at the
beginning and end of the table you want for the headers and
footers. To add these elements after you've created a table,
select the rows at the beginning or end of the table that you
want to use for headers or footers, then choose Table > Convert
Rows > To Header (or To Footer). InDesign CS automatically
takes any changes you make to the master header and footer
and applies them to all running headers and footers.
The New Interface
Drop Your Caps and Nest
Your Styles
The option to add drop caps to paragraphs is not new to
InDesign—but what is new is the option to assign a character
style to drop caps and to include nested styles within a
paragraph. Nested styles are a speedy way to apply complex
text formatting by defining character styles and nesting them
within a paragraph style. InDesign automatically applies
nested styles to your text whenever you apply that paragraph
style. Here’s how we created a simple nested style with a
drop cap (see next page).
& WORKSPACES
InDesign CS lets you save a palette
arrangement as a named workspace
a
ge aout 100%
(Window > Workspace > Save
Workspace), which you can then open
via a menu command or an assigned
keyboard shortcut. For example, you
could save a workspace that includes
the palettes you use when editing
text, and another with the palettes
you use when working with graphics.
% TOOLS PALETTE
There are several new members
of the tools palette, including the
button tool (finger over a button) for
creating buttons that perform actions
in exported PDF files; the new Bleed
Mode and Slug Mode display options
at the bottom that let you show or
hide the bleed and slug areas around
a page; and the measure tool (under
the eyedropper tool) for measuring
the distance between two points.
The new context-sensitive control palette is similar
to the Quark measurements palette. If you select a
graphics frame, it displays controls for positioning,
resizing, and scaling, among other options. For text
frames, a pair of icons at the far left let you switch
between text- and paragraph-formatting controls.
The Dock At Top, Dock At
Bottom, and Float commands
in the control palette’s flyout
menu let you choose where
you want your palette
to appear.
Previous versions let you collapse
a palette by double-clicking its tab.
InDesign CS lets you collapse a palette
by dragging its tab to the edge of the
screen. From there, you simply click its
tab to expand and collapse the palette.
~ CONTROL PALETTE 2
PREFERENCES
36 MacAddict February 2004
DOCKED PALETTES
Lj Af No character styie} ~
QD # 4) S Mon 3:11PM
First you need to create character
styles before you can apply them to a drop cap ora nested
style. Using the Character Style Options dialog, we created
two different character styles called Drop Cap Style and
Run-in Style. Note that the Run-in Style uses metric kerning,
which helps ensure consistent spacing between mixed fonts
and sizes—in this case, between the drop cap and the text
that follows.
Next, you need to bring up the
Paragraph Style Options dialog (via the Paragraph Styles
palette flyout menu) and display the Drop Caps and Nested
Styles pane. We created a
paragraph style called
Body Text w/Drop Cap
And Run-in. We chose
Drop Cap Style for
our drop cap. We then
assigned Run-in Style to
anested style that gets applied to the firstthree | so-crssw
words of the paragraph. a
f3.arpisTvie Finally, we applied our Body
Text w/Drop Cap And Run-in paragraph style to this sample
paragraph. Note you can also apply a drop cap or a nested
style without creating a paragraph style by simply choosing
Drop Caps and Nested Styles from the Paragraph palette’s
flyout menu.
HUMAN BEING IS a part of a whole, called by
us “universe,” a part limited in time and
space. He experiences himself, his thoughts
and feelings as something separated from the rest
... a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness.
_This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restrict-
as aa
New Text Tools
ew
TABLES
Even though
our table
spans three
text frames,
InDesign
placed headers
and footers
at the top and
bottom of each
frame,
TEXT EDITOR
The Story
Editor displays
unformatted text
much like a word
processor does.
SE/30 (1989 to 1990)
Edit Text
The new Story Editor is perfect for InDesign users who prefer
working with text in a word-processing environment rather than
a WYSIWYG environment (aka those annoying editors you work
with). Much like the one in PageMaker, InDesign CS’s Story
Editor (Edit > Edit In Story Editor) displays unformatted text in a
separate window. Any changes you make automatically appear
in your layout. Unfortunately, the Story Editor doesn’t reflect
MIXED-INK BLEED AND SLUG SEPARATIONS
SWATCHES AREAS When PREVIEW The
INTERACTIVE PDFS DOCUMENT Mixed-ink swatches you create anew Separations Preview
You can place movies, PRESETS Inthe are colors consisting of document, you have palette (Window >
sounds, and interactive NewDocumentdialog, twoormoreinks.You the option to specify Output Preview >
buttons in yourlayouts. you can save custom can create mixed-ink bleed and slug areas Separations) displays
When you exportto PDF document settings, swatches, as well for each page edge. a list of all colors used
a layout that contains
interactive elements,
including page size,
margins, columns,
as groups of mixed-
ink colors (using the
in a document and
lets you show or hide
Plus, the tool palette
offers options for
youhavetheoptionto andbleed/slugareas. Swatches palette displaying spreads individual colors.
include those elements flyout menu). with or without the
in your PDF. bleed and slug areas.
February 2004 MacAddict 37
Table View Window Help
@ InDesign file Edit Layout Type Object
ici
the same line breaks as the layout, so there’s no way to see how
many lines you need to cut or add unless you check the layout.
The Story Editor Display options (InDesign » Preferences » Story
Editor Display) let you specify how text appears in the Story
Editor window (font type, size, color, and so on).
Create More-Complex Shapes
With Illustrator as a sibling, InDesign will probably always be
the inferior, prom-date—challenged child when it comes to
drawing tools. But the good news is that the new Pathfinder
palette (Window > Pathfinder) closes the gap with QuarkXPress
when it comes to creating complex shapes (though it has
only half of the options available in Illustrator). You can cut
Frome B Asean Bln
Top: We selected the purple-colored background object and the
character-shaped objects (created using the Create Outlines
command in the Type menu).
Bottom: We chose subtract in the Pathfinder palette to delete the
shapes of the foreground objects from the background object.
out foreground objects from a background object (subtract),
combine multiple objects into a single shape (add), create a
single path where multiple objects overlap (intersect), subtract
all objects from the topmost object (minus back), and subtract
areas where multiple objects overlap (exclude overlap).
Create Custom Strokes
Previous versions of InDesign included a handful of built-in
line styles but no way to create custom styles—pretty lame
considering that QuarkXPress has let you create custom line
styles for years. Enter the new Stroke Styles feature.
Both the Stroke palette (Window > Stroke) and control-palette
flyout menus include the Stroke Styles command. In the Stroke
Styles dialog, you can choose the type of stroke you want to
create (Stripe, Dotted, or Dash) and specify stroke attributes.
Once you create a custom stroke, you can apply it to any object
or type, and you can use custom strokes as text underlines
and strikethroughs.
38 MacAddict February 2004
[= Bat Bina ee wD
Glas 8
ra _8 Be) HS) 100% 8
acon Par A
GoLive cs
GoLive CS is the Web-authoring component of the Adobe
Creative Suite. Here are some highlights of GoLive CS.
Ifyou want to create Web
versions of InDesign CS layouts, check out InDesign CS’s
new Package For GoLive feature, which uses XML to export
the content of a document for use in GoLive CS. First
package your layout in InDesign CS by choosing File >
Package For GoLive. Then open that package in GoLive
CS by choosing File > Import > From InDesign. A window
with a preview of the InDesign CS document appears. You
can now drag text and graphics objects from the preview
window onto a GoLive CS Web page.
(00.6, parm
oan
When you open an InDesign package in Golive, miniature
versions of the original InDesign pages appear ina
preview window (left). Drag objects from the preview
window to produce a GoLive Web page (right).
GoLive CS’s smart objects let
you work with native Photoshop, Illustrator, and PDF files
within GoLive CS. When you place one of these files into
a GoLive CS Web page, GoLive CS creates a new version
of the file (a smart object) that’s optimized for the Web,
maintains a link to the source file, and automatically
updates the object whenever you modify the source file. To
create a smart object, open the objects palette (Window
Objects), select the smart object tool (the green-square
icon), then click and drag one of the smart object icons
(smart Photoshop, smart Illustrator, smart PDF, or smart
generic) onto a Web page. To assign an image to a selected
smart object, go to the Inspector palette (Window >
Inspector), click the browse icon (a folder), and select a
graphics file. In the Save For Web dialog that appears,
specify settings such as file format and image size. Note
that any changes you make to a smart object do not affect
the source image.
GoLive CS's brand-new CSS
Editor lets you quickly create and preview CSS (cascading
style sheets) styles without having to deal with coding.
You can apply settings for text, font, box, background,
and border attributes and instantly see the results of
your changes.
Vers i on C ue ik may not be sexy or creative,
but Version Cue is a boon for managing files.
What Is Version Cue?
Unlike the other components of the Adobe Creative Suite,
Version Cue isn’t going to stimulate your creativity. Rather,
it’s a system-level file- management utility designed to help
individual users and small workgroups manage the files they
create with the Creative Suite’s graphics applications. Ina
nutshell, Version Cue lets you save Adobe CS files to a Version
Cue workspace—a specially designated folder on your Mac.
Once Version Cue has saved a file to a workspace, you and
other users in your workgroup can open it, modify it, and save a
new revision to the workspace. Because shared files are stored
on local hard drives within a workgroup, a dedicated server
is not required (and Version Cue takes care of the file-sharing
infrastructure—you don’t need to turn on Apple’s File Sharing),
Afew things you should know about Version Cue:
© You don’t have to use, enable, or even install Version Cue.
* It's designed for individual users and small- to medium-size
workgroups.
How to Use Version Cue
To set up and turn on Version
Cue, go to System Preferences > Adobe Version Cue. In the
Settings pane, tweak options for things like workgroup
size, and then turn on Version Cue by choosing On from the
Version Cue menu. The
Locations pane lets you
specify the folder in which
Version Cue projects are
stored, as well as a backup
folder where project
backups are stored.
To turn on Version Cue
in Photoshop CS, Illustrator CS, and InDesign CS, go
to Preferences > File Handling (in Illustrator CS, it’s File
Handling & Clipboard), and select the check box wnat
enables Version Cue. The
change takes effect the
next time you launch the
application. (Version Cue
is permanently enabledin | [=
GoLive CS.)
Epneeretay |
——
Biren
* The graphics applications in the Adobe Creative Suite are
all mature. Version Cue is just a baby. As with any new
technology, you'll want to learn all you can about Version
Cue before implementing it. And if you decide to use it, start
small and proceed slowly:
Workgroup Administration
What we cover here barely scratches the surface of what
you can do with Version Cue. Setting up Version Cue fora
workgroup involves performing some administrative tasks
using Version Cue’s browser-based administration tool, which
you access by clicking the Advanced Administration button in
the Version Cue system preferences. The Adobe Version Cue
Workspace Administration utility lets you create users and
specify their privileges, remove old versions of files, crea
Showing the first 100000 of 278056 characters.