Text content (OCR)
iL *| VANHELSING: MADEON YOURMAC P.38 94
NIAL and show you what's inside. [Yi§ 4 How digital artists used everyday Macs to create the blockbuster film.
MacAddict
A BETTER MACHINE. A BETTER ere
oy Ah |
. le wdc ee
s, (IPS = Potentialo
~Every App in
INSIDER SECRETS
g . Your _
of the
REVIEWED! -
> Mercury Extreme 1.5GHz G4 upgrade m
>8-megapixel Nikon Coolpix 8700 f
Sims Makin’ Magic,
HOW TO:
2 fd Build a Supercomputer
be > Create GarageBand Loops
» Automate eBay Transactions
nnn
Explore your buttoned-up alter ego.
While you may not look forward to expenses, presentations, and memos, the other you eats ‘em, for breakfast.
Microsoft® Office 2004 for Mac has clever new time-: ‘saving features that let you — strike that, the other
Micresoft
Your potential. Our passion.”
BP rover AB enourae UB wor
Office:
2004
hite/www.guifstrearn.com/ sb emai
ter Soe
: er eee
Se ea E
Bees
ha agen aera
Soto: ee wear ose oss
Revere: f eee eee eae eae gaee
oo os ge Bee esata :
: : Ge Se amen
Se ree ae
rant Horne care
rs meas
segs tote eas entra
ei greg one been :
eae ee ae
eines ii Sc SDN ere alee mak
each sare Wade ew anc comer aoeem hg
repeat comer ‘ Fag eka manent: necice B
pase conch pie Ae ge ACEO Ape io ec voce
Nanas spn gavin ne tae te eECC Ta: teal Me)
mateo comin Gaara ea een uefa rage
ate rae elisa Soe tae at
Sy er ACCC ee te a ere
Rees ragpis ee oe Beene oe / wares
Sigg See east maou
a
Pat PS hese
Soe
ni
rea a
cen ttt
eh dona nats
ae
oan
eS CEM ANY Sh
i NS ee
Kea aa: cscs od Sours
SEAN protest foals sv noe
ras, 4 5 eer comets
saan ur ana aa cymanas re
Seer .
om as
sat
We ee anes
Geese s noone
ee 2 deaoe
eae doris hee! Daa
yet:
Menger set;
eee panne,
sera regal
rte Sant esse cin
aa ne eee eaateines
ae ‘seas sry ere ees
Sy Ges baie
fort Gv wm ine hs sa He owes a
Elena ee Omens oreacs
es ‘On aaa weno ae 401 oar oe ea Cee
Soc see oe nape meme gp
ee ee a fi
a ee es
Psat oe eee
eo 3
Sees er
fea nian oe eccrine
Bed, gt wae ae paeany
feted Stine Senne ree ae
eee epi ee eee aa eae ee aes =
fereate are iwenra real ae ee eee ices
roe inch} Sointg red =a shy il eae ae Oren nae he ene Meteors
Ser poal tea lanay Savery pie wea ee a Syeda Coats
Se Do nea prenocanea Gree ert he eer Sate oer
Bese o eassrsae ea Mae ea Ecos te ieee a are ees
istic See COU sc tescenstropen case env nae ee eS Deca es teers ee
Reteence to ary spre commer rede procetes or oi th us ky ed fm srcapaaton rane jortheHomationandcmerionoe fo pu ac oes not conta endorsers
recommendation, or avoring by Gusteam Aerospace Cc ‘Genera Dynarics.
Copiright© 2004 Macromedia, nc anditsicensors. reserved, Macrorneda, he Macromedalogo. and Dreemweaver ae tedemarks or regstred traders of Macromeca, nc. nthe U.S. end other counties,
‘Other marks are the properties of thet respective owners.
ae aa
eecae
: es : Se
emenion. ead
pce “he po ie
os Soe ¢ Se ce
Pisce a Mics oleae a et as are
freee meena Pe tan an au hal cat gare al re
ent he at Are ae pat See
ee ee ete aie Sie mca
cen ceen
aes
ee See oc
he pe ea ah pl ee Uh
Ea, ete
Vek? ern a ene ¥ ie Ee
pee, ees rs
limestone gree thes
aero)
So ge 33 er 0 Cee toa ia a
ea wo fear Cees Parana is 3
vie ae etre ca ta aie SR Migr
vee a
oe
ee ee me See
Poe ey Pear ke enn OBE iy mah tare Lee ae Bae Lie teers re
Ae Eee icoereag a nar ee Rae Soe eaten
ia ie eae oe ssaave nn irntias c Speirs sie aoe ae areceun ae
memento sent or
shorn teat
oe ee ere aay
perth ret eg
poe ee
aes
= Cea ag ee narea ens
e es Ea a
Sa cenme es cee pan oe
Bena te
Rea age
ve Sate ter ers
Feak ete bageaibe essa be eae ene Se hepato
ee Ss nee Pe peels mig con etenire Semele ee
ie fen su carga ease CR Sc oe ae peace
Py 2 *f reir
ra
eae
aoe ——— a
4
| IN STORES NOW
Order at www.aspyr.com
jf
LIVE THE MOVIE. BE THE
IVE THE EPIC ADVENTURE Play as 9 ‘characters including Gandalf, Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli, Sam, and Frodo.
FORM YOUR FELLOWSHIP Destroy the Ring of Power and restore peace to Middle-earth™,
www.aspyr.com : mt
NEW LINE CINEMA ASPYR
‘ANADL Tine Warner Company Authorized Electronic Arts™ Distributor
© MNIV New Line Productions, inc. Alt Rights Reserved. “The Lord ofthe Rings; The Return ofthe King” and the names ofthe characters, items, events and places therein ae trademarks of The Saul Zaontz Company d/b/a
Tolkien Enterprises under license to New Line Productio
ns, Inc. Game Code and certain audio visus! clements © 2004 Electronic Arts Inc Al rights reserved, EA GAMES™ is an Electronic Arts™ brand. The ratings icon is
‘registered trademark of the Entertainment Software Association, The Aspyr logo is a trad
lomark of Aspyr Media, Inc. Nac and the Mac logo are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc. registered inthe U.S. and other countries.
‘Ni other trademarks are the property oftheir respective owners. Made in the U.S.A.
JUNE2004
NO.94*VOLUME9*ISSUE6
a better machine. a better magazine.
18 79 Power Tips
Become the Mac superstar you’re destined to be—equip yourself with
our tips on everything from Mac QS X to upgrades, iLife to Google.
by Todd Stauffer
32 iPod mini Autopsy
Step inside the MacAddict operating room and discover
the gory details of what lies beneath the mini’s anodized
aluminum exterior. by Niko Coucouvanis
38 van Helsing:
Monsters, Magic,
and Macs
ILM’s digital wizards are at it again, this time
using mainstream Mac software to create
monster effects in this summer's blockbuster,
Van Helsing. by Kris Fong
how to
64 Ask Us 68 Make Your Own Apple Loops
Use your iMac’s speakers with your G5. It’s hard to create a unique sound when you're
Hook up your guitar to GarageBand. using the same loops as thousands of other
Stabilize iPhoto sharing, duplicate a GarageBanders. Wanna be one of a kind?
DVD, and learn the exact color of your Make your own loops! by Kris Fong
desktop pattern.
70 Automate eBay Transactions
MacAddi
66 Build Your Own with AppleScript
Supercomputer Clusier Ifyou are an eBay seil-aholic or find yourself
You don’t need to be a IT guru at Virginia constantly buried in email exchanges with
Tech to build a supercomputer. Anyone customers, it’s time to put an end to the days
can create a mega-computing monster of typing and sending routine messages.
from two or more Macs running Jaguar We show you how. by Johnathon Williams.
or Panther. by Niko Coucouvanis
June 2004 MacAddict 05
CONTENTS
a better machine. a better magazine.
every month
10 Editors’ Page
Prepare to display your musical chops and win a boatload
of killer gear.
12 Get Info
Apple is embroiled in the darndest \awsuits. We reveal a
little more of Office 2004. Check out the coolest 32-inch
LCD from Denmark, a stylish music-streaming device, and
fashionable laptop bags.
45 Reviews
§0 AutoScrubher security utility
54 Carrara 3D Basics entry-level 3D software
52 Coolpix 8700 &-megapixel camera
51 Gmini 220 photo-storing MP3 player
60 HomePod wireless MP3 music sireamer
46 iGuitar2.13 iDI-capable guitar
50 [-Trigue 13450 powered speakers and subwoofer
58 Learn to Play Keyboard Bundle MIDI keyboard with instructional CD
55 Mercury Extreme processor upgrade G4/1.467-1.5GHz
60 Mini SportSuit Safari iPod mini case
50 MX5021 powered speakers and subwoofer
53 NoteBook 1.2 digital dlary
53 NoteTaker 1.8 digital diary
47 Perfection 4870 Photo transparency and opaque-media
canoe
54 pxl SmartScale 1.02 image-scaling plug-in
56 Reaktor 4 audio synthesizer
50 SoundSticks I! powered speakers and subweofer
‘51 The Sims Makin’ Magic expansion pack
58 TransPod FM iPod auto kit
48 Unreal Tournament 2064 first-person shooter
59 You Synchronize 2.01 file-syncing utility
62 The Hot List
We'd spend our own hard-earned money on these
products.
QUICK TIPS
FROM THIS MONTH’S ISSUE
> FIGURE OUT RAM USAGE > EAT
Panther’s Activity Monitor utility shows WHEATIES
you a Page Ins/Outs virtual-memory Unreal
Tournament
2004 is bigger
and better—and about a dozen times
more addictive—than before. This
is just a friendly reminder to get
some sleep and eat occasionally.
From Reviews, p18.
statistic that provides a good gauge
of whether you need more RAM.
From “79 Power Tips,” p18.
> GET OUT THE HAIR DRYER
The first step to breaking open the
iPod mini is to aim a stream of hot air
from a hair dryer at the top and bottom
ofthe > ENCODING DVD REGIONS
case. You need Apple’s 1
From DVD Studio Pro,
“iPod not iDVD, to create
oe mini a DVD for play in o.
Autopsy,” a specific region. t
p32. From Ask Us, p65.
06 MacAddict June 2004
94 Log Out
94 Letters
Those candy dots
are alive
and well.
Itustrator q
and FreeHand » \
continue to duke %
it out, iPods may
not be ideal for the Dj
booth, but they work just fine near
the North Pole.
95 Contest
Win WiebeTech’s 120GB Fire800 Drive.
96 Shut Down
It's official: Mac addiction is a registered
mental disorder.
Connect to 3D
It’s Time to add Strata*3D CX to your Adobe’ Workflow
iHustrator® CS fmport Polyspline SDS Modeling Photoshop® CS import & Linking
ler Spline Modeling
Wings 3D SDS Support
Extrude 2D Graphics
SS
z 5
e Based Lighting Image Based Modeling a: i
z
Strata 3D Vector FREE
HDR ki
New, Powerful, Easy to Use Strata3D CX CONNECT = EXTEND
Strata 3D CX fits into your workflow with new, easy to use features like polyspline modeling, STRATA 3D cx
live linking to Adobe files, high dynamic range lighting and more. Push your 2D files into a
virtual environment, set up lighting, apply textures and take a perfect, photo-reai picture. wr, ne
Illustration, design —and even animation — will never be the same. VW STR ATA
Call 800-Strata-3D or visit Strata.com. We can show you how to get connected. The Creative Dimension
is a trademark of Corasiar inc, Other trademarks are the property of their holders, Copyright 2004 Corastar inc.
CONTENTS
a beiter machine. a better magazine.
athe Oisc
Unreal Tournament 2004 and Adobe After
Effects 6 add up to 400MB of gladiatorial
mayhem and pro-quality video effects.
Sure, you could spend all afternoon
downloading them from MacSoft and
Adobe, but we think you'd rather start
shooting and creating right now.
So pop in the Disc, and go to it.
<>
on a 9
rat all PIOSTAMS will wor,
70
shooter. Ever.
Unreal Adobe After
Tournament Effects 6
demo tryout
Sorry, Halo fans, but New to video? Try the
Unreal Tournament effects processor ail
2004 is the best the pros swear by.
200+ MEGABYTES OF GLADIA
EXGLUSIVI
HOW MACS
CREATED
VAN HELSING
NEVER-BEFORE-
SEEN FILM
FOOTAGE!
Reaktor X 4
demo
After you read our
teview on page 56,
give this awesome
synth a spin.
oniheDisc || pemunwy
NoteBook 1.2 demo
AUDIO & MUSIC NoteTaker 2003 1.6 demo
Reaktor X 4 demo ¢——_—_
UTILITIES:
FUN & GAMES: DiskTracker (Classic) 2.3
EarthBrowser 2.0.1 DiskTracker (OS X) 2.3
Nanosaur 2 demo.
‘—-@ Unreal Tournament 2004 demo
GRAPHICS &
MULTIMEDIA
After Effects 6.0 tryout @——~
iView MediaPro 2.0.3 trial
Knoll Light Factory 2. demo
pxl SmartScale 1.0.2 trial
REFlex AE 2.32 demo - “
eccilgatae Find out how
Tapen aa Secor everyday Macs
ae d everyday
‘Application Enh: ne oftware created
FruitMenu 3.2.1 the monster:
ao and magic in
Te the blockbuster
fantasy film, Van
INTERNET & COMMUNICATION 77s
iCal FTP 1.4 Lives
Interarchy 7.0.4
UPGRADE
Doublet Scan 10.1.4
iPhoto Diet 2.1.6
MacJanitor 1.2.1
NoteTaker Viewer 1.8.4
Pacifist 1.6.3
‘Snapz Pro X 2
Xnet 1.4.8
Ifyou don't receive the Dise with your copy of MacAddict, you might want to consider upgrading. Each monthly
dise contalns coo! demos, useful shareware and freeware, and the inimitable MacAddict Staff Video. To get 12
Issues of MacAddict that include this value-packed disc with your subscription (prorated if necessary) for just $1
more per Issue, call 888-771-6222—the operator will take care of everything.
08 NacAddict June 2004
MacAddict
PUBLISHER Chris Coelho
EDITORIN CHIEF Rllk Myslewski
EDITORIAL
MANAGING EDITOR Jenifer Morgan
EXECUTIVE EDITOR Cathy Lu
SENIOR EDITORS Narasu Rebbaprageda (news), Kris Fong
ASSOCIATE EDITOR Nike Coucouvanis (reviews)
INTERN Noah Tsutsui
EPONYMEDTOR Max
CONTRIBUTING EDITORS David Bledny, Joseph O. Holmes,
Holmut Kobler, ian Sammis, Deborah Shadovitz, Andrew
Tokuda, Buz Zoller
ART
ART DIRECTOR Mark Rosenthal
ASSISTANT ART DIRECTOR Peter Marshutz
PHOTOGRAPHER Mark Madeo
CONTRIBUTING PHOTOGRAPHER Samantha Berg
PRODUCTION
PRODUCTION DIPECTOR Richard Lesovoy
PRODUCTION COCRDINATOR Larry Briseno
ADVERTISING.
EASTERN ADVERTISING DIRECTOR
Bemie Lanigan, 212-768-2966 x4001
EASTERN ADVERTISING MANAGER
‘Anthony Danzi, 646-723-5453
WESTERN ADVERTISING DIRECTOR
Dave Lynn, 949-260-4443
WESTERN ADVERTISING MANAGER,
Stacey Levy, 925-964-1205
NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER
Nate Hunt, 415-656-8536
SENIOR ACCOUNTS MANAGER, DIRECT SALES
Ana Epstein, 415-656-8416
AD COORDINATOR Jose Urrutia, 415-656-8313
MARKETING MANAGER Kathleen Rellly
CIRCULATION
GROUP CIRCULATION DIRECTOR Amy Leder
NEWSSTAND MARKETING MANAGER Mimi Hall
BILLING AND RENEWAL MANAGER Mike Hill
FULFILLMENT MANAGER Peggy Mores:
DIRECT MARKETING SPECIALIST Robin Connell
FUTURE NETWORK USA
180 North Hill Drive, Brisbane, CA 94005
ewes wWtulurenetworkusa.com
PRESIDENT Jonathan Simpson-Bint
VICE PRESIDENT/CFO Tom Valentino
VICE PRESIDENT/GENERAL COUNSEL Charles Schug
VICE PRESIDENT/CIRCULATION Holly KiInge!
PUBLISHING DIRECTOR (GAMES) Simon Whitcombe
PUBLISHING DIRECTOR (TECHNOLOGY) Chris Coolho
EDITORIAL DIRECTOR (TECHNOLOGY) Jon Philips
EDITORIAL DIRECTOR (MUSIC) Brad Tollnsk
DIRECTOR OF CENTRAL SERVICES Nancy Durlester
PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Richie Lesovoy
Future Network USA is part of The Future Network PLC.
‘THE FUTURE NETWORK PLC
‘30 Monmouth St, Bath, Avon, BAI 2BW, ENGLAND.
\wiew.thefuturenetwork.plc.uk
NON-EXECUTIVE CHARMAN Roger Parry
CHIEF EXECUTIVE Greg Ingham
GROUP FINANCE DIRECTOR John Bowman
REPRINTS: For reprints, contact Reprint Management
Sorvices, Maggie French, 717-399-1900 x176 or
imirench@reprintbuyer.com.
SUBSCRIPTION QUERIES: Please email
modcustserv@cdstuffllment.com or call
customer service tol-tree at 888-771-6222,
Volume 9, Issue 6
‘MacAddiet (ISSN 1088-548X) is published manthly by Future Network
USA, 150 North Hil Dr, Brisbane, CA 94005, USA. Periodical-sass
postage paid at Brisbane, CA, andatadestional maling ofices. Newsstand
‘istrbution is hardled by Curtis Crulation Co. Basic subscription rates
‘one year (12 Issues + 12 CD-ROMS) U.S, $39.90, Canada 43.95, US.
prepaid funds only, Canactan price includes postage and GST 126220688,
IPM 0962992. Outside the U.S. and Canada, price is $53.98, US. prepaid
funds only. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Macéddct, P.O.
Box 5126, Harlan, IA 51523-0626, Future Notwork USA also publishes
Maximum®C, PC Gamer, Oficial Xbox Magazine, anc! PSM. Eniracontents|
‘copyright 2002, Future Network USA, Al rights reserved. Reproduation
whole oF in part ie prohibited. Future Network USA Is not affiliated with
the companias or products covered in MacAdklct. Ride-Along enoloeure
in the folowing ediion(s): A2, B, Bt, 82, B3, BS. Standard enclosure in
the following eaition(s): 84, PRODUCED IN THE UNTED STATES. OF
ANERICA, Publications Mal Agreement #40043631, Retums: 4960-2
‘Waker Read, Windsor ON NQA 613,
ail
Customer testands that CDWis not the menufactser ofthe products purchased by customer hereunder and the only waranties offered ore those ofthe manufacturer not CDN: Al pricing is subject to change. COW reserves the right to make adustments to
prin, oducts and serve oftsings for reason nding, but not ited to, changing marke conditions, product continuation, product unavlbity, manufacturer price changes and emo n advertsements Al orders subject to product avai Therefore,
OW aot pasha wl be abl oat corer res The tesa cots ose a ted o hosted een ad on COWS Se at COWcon Nor cecton to and eeton of ay atonal ret ems nay om
deleted by cstome is aeby given. © 2004 COW Corporation MAM
EDITORS’ PAGE
anote from the kernel
Stardom, Anyone?
When presented to creative people, good ideas
have a habit of becoming better ones. Case in
point: Last month, Narasu and | came up with
the idea of turning the monthly contesi that she
conducts (see page 95) into a competition to
see which of you could come up with the best
GarageBand tune. When we floated that idea at a
staff meeting, some editors objected to limiting
the contest to GarageBand, since so many of you
are creating music in so many other ways—using
Digidesign’s Pro Tools, Native Instruments’ Absynth, Steinberg’s Cubase,
or one of the many other musical tools available for the Mac, as well as.
using your Macs as recording and mixing tools for your keyboard, guitar,
and vocal performances.
That seemed fair—but since we wanted all of you to have a chance at
exhibiting your creative greatness, we decided to split the contest into
two leveis: GarageBand compositions and music created using any other
means—hey, if you want to write a MIDI string quartet in Sibelius 3, who
are we to stand in your way?
But who would judge the entries? First, we thought about doing it
ourselves—after all, MacAddict is stocked with musical talent: Kris is an
award-winning pro guitarist and keyboardist, | used to pay my rent with
my trusty vintage Fender P-Bass, and
Showcase your contributing editors Andrew Tokuda and
talent and win a David Biedny have displayed their talents
boatload of gear. and expertise many times in these pages
and on our monthly Disc. However, since
our original idea was quickly growing into Something Big, we contacted our
fellow editors at Guitar World magazine (recently acquired by our parent
company, Future Network USA), and asked their opinions.
And that’s when the idea really took off. Guitar World decided to
cosponsor the contest; its editor in chief, Brad Tolinski, got guitar god
Joe Satriani to be the judge; and our marketing folks jumped on board,
started beefing up the prize list and looking into throwing a big ol’ party to
showcase the winners. Our little idea had grown into a national event.
But it also caused us to miss our deadline—we had planned to
announce the contest, outline the rules, and detail the aforementioned
fabulous prizes this month, but we won’t be ready until next. So start
honing your GarageBand skills and perfecting your musical chops, ’cause
next month we'll give you a chance to showcase your talent—and to win a
boatload of killer gear.
Enjoy,
Q. What c
Kris Fong wiss UNDERSTOOD
What contest would you have a chance of winning?
'awin the title for Worst Desk Posture if the Carpal
Tunrel Institute of America ever gave out an award.
{slouch so badly thatour IT guys have thought |
was sleeping.
Narasu Rebbapragada
ALEXEY PAJITNOV WANNABE
What contest would you have a chance of winning?
Ano-holds-barred, steel-cage-deathmatch Tetris
"showdown. Any takers?
Mark Rosenthal on. sus-Rosa-THAL
What contest would you have a chance of winning?
A fruit-eating contest. | can really eat a lot ot fruit.
Say, upward of 25 oranges or 80. The ni
a fruit-eating contest is that i's disgu:
too disgusting. But those people who eat 12 pounds of pork?
They're disgusting.
7x4 Jenifer Morgan acto MASTER
‘What contest would you have a chance of winning?
I would win a Greatest Number of Consecutive Sneezes
‘contest during allergy season, hands down.
Peter Marshutz ty apvict
What contest would you have a chance of winning?
'm a contender for the U.S, Channel Surfing with
Satellite Remote Olympic Team. | currently surf at 45
channels per minute (cpm), but my personal goat is to
reach 88 cpm and smash the world record,
Noah Tsutsui Acapenic BUTTERFLY
What contest would you have a chance of winning?
Having attended the most colleges as an undergrad:
University of San Francisco, California College of the
Arts, City Collage of San Francisco, San Joaquin Delta
College, and San Francisco State University. Next on
the list: Yale! (Uh, yeah, rliight...)
Niko Coucouvanis AMATEUR OTOLARYNGOLOGIST
What contest would you have a chance of winning?
'm pretty sure | could stuff more M&Ms up my nose than
any of these patsies | work with. Do people still have.
contests for that?
Cathy Lu spaces TRADER
What contest would you have a chance of winning?
I could definitely win a marathon-watching competition
for home decorating shows. I'm sure | could last for at
least a montn—if only Rik would give me the time off.
Max sOBRIQUETOLOGIST
‘What contest would you have a chance of winning?
I've got a lock on the who-can-remember-the-most-
~k ay Mac-code-names contest. Remember Mr. T? Green
Jade? Slice? Stingray? Blackbird? TNT? Gold Fusion?
‘Spartacus? Trinity? Laguna? Hammerhead? Well, Ido.
comingsoon:july2004
Here's what our editors are preparing for the next issue of MacAddict.
We're corralling a passel of top-quality equipment to assemble the most droolworthy Dream Machines you could ever
imagine. We'll also demonstrate how you can take advantage of all the new tricks in Microsoft Office 2004. {n our how-to
section, we'll show you how to edit like the pros in Apple's Final Cut Express, add DVD footage to iMovie projects, and
turn your Mac into a karaoke machine. Finally, our intrepid product reviewers are getting relational with FileMaker Pro 7,
fighting Mordor ores in The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, and lounging in the most elaborate ergonomic
contraption we've ever seen.
10 MacAddict June 2004
You listen to your iPod every day,
Now your iPod can listen to you.
The creators of iTrip now introduce Play back your voice memos or music
the Griffin iTalk iPod Voice Recorder. _ through iTalk's built-in speaker. You
Plug iTalk into your iPod and record
thoughts, ideas or meetings with its
can even connect a separate mic or
your headphones into iTalk. So talk
high quality built-in microphone.
all you want, iPod will listen.
iTalk ‘39%
Voice Recorder for iPod
Turns iPod into a full function voice recorder
Internal microphone and laptop quality speaker
Connect external microphone or headphones
Automatic Level Control for perfect recordings
t
FM Transmitter for iPod
+ Play your iPod's music wirelessly in your
car or through your stereo at home
+ Uses any empty FM station from 87,7 to
107.9 - switchable from the iPod itself
+ iPod powered & earth friendly - no
batteries needed or wasted ever
+ Fits beautifully to top of iPod - no
messy cables to get in the way
oe
5S
$ 99
iCurve Gis
PowerBook & iBook Stand
+ Raises notebook screen to eye level -
no more sore neck from looking down
+ Creates room on the desktop for your
favorite USB keyboard and mouse -
wireless versions work great
+ Keeps your notebook running cool
(and loud fans off) with 360° airflow 9
$3999
USB External Sound Card
+ Adds superior quality audio recording &
playback to any Mac via USB
+ Includes everything needed to record
albums and tapes to make MP3s & CDs
ee great with GarageBand & iMovie
Another great idea from (GRIFFIN )
learn more at www.griffintechnology.com
I2
oly litigation,
Batman! Apple’s
most recent quarterly
SEC filing (called a 10-Q)
revealed that everyone’s
favorite company is involved
in 16 legal battles ranging
from the obscure to the 4
downright juicy. Check Who's Suing i
out the highlights. (Apple
declined to comment.)—NR
E CAN’T 1K IT OUT
Apple Corps v. Apple Computer
n this longstanding
the Beatles’ music company,
Apple Corps, charges Apple Computer
with breaking a 1991 agreement. The
agreement, which reportedly cost Apple
some $24 million, states that Apple
Corps would use the Apple brand solely
for music and that Apple Computer
would use the brand solely
for computing.
Enter the digital music revolution and
the iTunes Music Store. Apple Corps
now says Apple Computer is crossing
onto its turf, using the Apple brand to
sell online music.
4E STATUS: The British High Court
rejected a request from Apple to move
the trial from London to California,
where Apple is headquartered. (What a
shock.) To further complicate the issue,
the judge presiding in London admits
to being an iPod fan. Apple Computer
had better hope the judge’s iPod battery
doesn’t conk out during the trial.
“Try to see it my way...”
12 MacAddict June 2004
eet hh i dalla ai
HOW "BOUT THEM APPLES?
Apple v. Apples
THE CHARGE: Apple is the grieved
party in this trademark dispute with
China’s Guangdong Apples Industrial
(www.apples.com.cn), which produces
leather accessories and apparel bearing
a logo similar but not identical to Apple
Computer's. According to the Christian
Science Monitor, China’s trademark
appraisal committee denied Apple
Computer the right to use its own logo
on Apple Computer-branded clothing
because of the similarity (see below).
THE STATUS: Apple restated its case
in front of a Beijing court in March—no.
word as to whether its lawyer had a cute
little Apples clutch purse.
g
Apple can't use its logo (left) on apparel
in China because it’s too close to the logo
used by a Chinese manufacturer (right).
WHY UPGRADE WHEN YOU
CAN SUE?
Bancroft v. Apple Computer
THE CHARGE: This class-action suit,
filed in January 2002, claims that Mac
OS X doesn’t work adequately on certain
Power Mac G3s—particularly where
Quartz Extreme, QuickTime, and DVD
movie playback are concerned—and
charges that this violates California’s
Consumer Legal Remedies Act.
THE STATUS: Apple settled the case
earlier this year for an undisclosed
amount—a truckload of brand-
spankin’-new G5s?—and is currently
administering the settlement.
STILL GOING...
Craft v., Chin v., Hughes v., Westley v.,
Keegan v. Apple Computer
THE CHARGE: There are currently
five separate lawsuits surrounding the
iPod’s battery life. According to Apple's
10-Q report, the charges include “false
advertising, fraudulent concealment
and breach of warranty.”
THE STATUS: Apple says it’s
“beginning its investigation of these
claims.” (Beginning? Last year, Apple
began offering $59 extended warranties
and $99 replacement fees on iPod
batteries.)
Is 8 MILE HIGH?
Eminem v. Apple Computer
THE CHARGE: How cute was that
iPod TV ad in which a ten-year-old bay
sang Eminem’s “Lose Yourself” while
rocking out on his iPod? Not very cute,
it turns out. Apparently Marshall Bruce
Mathers (aka Eminem) never signed
off on it. CNN reports that Eminem’s
music publisher 8 Mile Style filed a
copyright infringement suit in February
stating that Eminem has never endorsed
any commercial products and would
probably need upward of $10 million
to do so.
THE STATUS: The suit says that Steve
Jobs himself called up 8 Mile Style and
asked the company to reconsider, but
Eminem wouldn’t talk.
RETAILER VERSUS
RESELLER
MacTech v., Macadam v., Computer
international v., Elite Computers
and Software v., The Neighborhood
Computer Store v. Apple Computer
THE CHARGE: Five current and former
authorized Apple resellers filed suits
claiming “breach of contract, fraud,
negligent and intentional interference
with economic relationship, negligent
misrepresentation, trade libel, unfair
competition and false advertising” by
Apple retail stores—and no, they didn’t
include “lousy advice at the Genius bar.”
Third-party Apple-authorized resellers
are supposed to be offered Apple
hardware at the same wholesale price as
Apple retail stores, thus keeping profit
margins fair and competitive. According
to Think Secret (www.thinksecret.com),
however, hijacked invoices show that
Apple retail stares are getting deep
discounts, which also contribute to
inflated reported profits.
THE STATUS: Third-party Apple
resellers have been feeling some
resentment ever since Apple debuted
its first official retail store two years
ago, so it will be interesting to see
how this suit—still in the discovery
phase—plays out.
NEW STUFF Pi
> DIGITAL VOICE
RECORDER
Olympus DM-20 st
$289.99, www gs
olympusamerica.com
Available: Now
The DM-20 claims to
pack over 45 hours
ofvoice ortwohours.
of music (MP3 or Record a week’s
WMA) onto 128MB of worth of voice
internal memory. The on Olympus’s
DM-20 charges via a DM-20.
USB dock connected to
your Mac and offers up to 12 hours
of recording time on rechargeable
NiMH batteries.
‘PHOTOGRAPH GOURTESY OLYMPUS
> iPOD FM TRANSMITTER
Sonnet PodFreq
$99.95, www.sonnettech.com
Available: May 2004
Your dock-connected iPod snaps
tight into this FM transmitter, which
finds an FM frequency
for transmitting audio.
The PodFreq transmits
audio through the iPod’s
line-out port (within the
Dock connector) rather
than the headphone
port; Sonnet says
this improves sound
quality. The FireWire
and mini USB ports *
onthe PodFreqletyou Connect
charge the iPod without your iPod to
Temovingitfromthe Sonnet’s FM
PodFreq. transmitter.
‘PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY SONNET
> ALL-IN-ONE RELATIONAL
DATABASE
FileMaker 7 Pro
$299, www.filemaker.com
Available: Now
This upgraded database-creation
software lets you import any
document type into Container fields,
and then open multiple windows
within one database. A FileMaker
database can now hold up to 81TB
(terabytes) of data with up to 26B
in a text field; plus, new relational
database-style architecture lets you
store multiple database tables in
one file.
June 2004 MacAddict 13
4 | GET INFO
the f the month in bite-si
DROOLWORTHY
Sexy Stuff We Can’t Wait to Get Our Mitts On
Dansk
LCD TV>
Straight outta Denmark, the
Eyegonomic W32 (€4,166 or
about $5,150 at press time, www
.eyegonomic.com) is a 32-inch LCD
display with a built-in TV tuner that
mounts on your wall or stands on
your desk. The stark, stylish W32 has
dream specs for an LCD geek: 450
cd/m2 brightness, 500:1 contrast
ratio, and a 170-degree viewing angle,
as well as DVI, VGA, S-Video, and
composite-video ports. Right now the
TV tuner supports only European PAL
formats, but it should support NTSC
(North American) TV as well when
released in the U.S. later this
year.—NR
PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY OF EYEGONOMIC
€ Li'l Video Player
Handheld Entertainment’s ZVue Media Player
($149, www.zvue.com) lets you view JPEG stills,
MP3 audio, and a few video formats on its
2.5-inch LCD display. Transfer files onto an
inserted SD card via USB 1.1, and navigate
content using the onboard buttons, The ZVue
supports only FAT-formatted SD cards, and not
the more-recent FAT-16 and FAT-32 formats,
and although it’ll play MPEG-encoded AVI and
DivX video, it won’t play QuickTime-encoded
formats—yet. Handheld Entertainment is
hammering out a'final Mac-friendly player
that should be available by the time you read
this.—NR
‘PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY OF HANOMELD ENTERTAINMENT
14 MacAddict June 2004
PHOTOGRAPHY BY MARK MADEO
BAGIT! MO’
Stylish, Sturdy Bags for Your Laptop MICROSOFT
The perfect tote for your iBook or PowerBook should OFFICE 2004
. . le showcased Microsoft Office
look good, withstand everyday stress, and survive the 2004 ($349 street, www
occasional typhoon. Here are a few laptop bags that ~ -microsoft.com/mac) in our story,
Ato _NR “Office Goes to 11,” (Mar/04, p22),
caug! ur eye. but Microsoft has since revealed some
additional features.—WR
> MARWARE'S MILANO BRIEF
($139.95, 149.95, or 159.95; www.marware.com) is
designed in 12-inch, 15-inch, and 17-inch sizes for
PowerBooks, and also accommodates {Books in its
padded, plush laptop compartment.
WORD Don’t you get sick of having
to run to that Edit > Paste Special
command? in Office 2004, a Smart
Button pops up when you paste,
asking you how to format the pasted
text. Choose your preferred format
without running to the Edit menu.
Words
> AXIO'S URBAN HARDPACK Mies orenaeesett Wend oa rte oe
($149.95, www.axio-usa.com) has a molded jie ie - fren
polyethylene protective shell and fits up to a 17-inch Earels ‘ee Sure Formating |
fe
PowerBook with room to spare. Petite people might soriane Oates Bi eee eas |
find the frame too big for comfort.
cycle your chart throug no
EXCEL Formatting charts is easy in
Office 2004, thanks to Excel’s new
chart formatting features. Color
Schemes let you quickly cycle your
chart through various pleasing color
combinations, and you can also
choose colors from the full-range of
RGB and CMYK color
models. Graphic
designers will enjoy
> BRENTHAVEN’S PROFILE the ability to save
($99 or $119, www.brenthaven.com) is a three- charts as GIF, JPEG,
compartment way to carry your 12- to 15-inch Books, and PNG files.
> CRUMPLER’S CRIPPY DUCK
($80, www.crumplerbags.com) holds 12- or 15-inch
*Baoks in a superpadded pocket, and has extra pockets
for files, cables, and media. The Velcro is a great barrier
against spills, but getting inside can be a struggle.
plus cables and folders. Made of ballistic nylon, this bag
is adequate for a day’s worth of long meetings. POWERPOINT Office 2004’s
PowerPoint includes new animated
transitions, and the Presenter Tools
view shows presenters their notes
> CHROME’S BLACKBOX plus thumbnail views of the entire
($90, www.chromebags.com) fits Books up to 15 slideshow, while the audience sees
inches and looks like a bomb-detection kit. It comes only a chosen slide.
with a removable padded laptop sleeve and an extra =
pocket to carry cables, media, and a few folders. oe “Bree
ENTOURAGE You can now view
a mailbox’s Preview Pane on the
right side of a window, so it doesn’t
disappear at the bottom of your
display. Plus, an improved Junk Email
filter helps keep spammers at bay.
> TIMBUK2’S COMMUTE BAG
($100, www.timbuk2.com) fits 15-inch or smaller
*Books and looks like a grown-up bike-messenger
bag. It has a padded laptop compartment and an
immeasurable number of pockets.
o> oO1 — G& BP —
June 2004 MacAddict 15
GET INFO
the news of the month in bite-size chunks.
FIVE TIPS
SCAN OLD PHOTOS FLAWLESSLY
hen you’re scanning old pictures into your digital photo library, color fidelity is key to keeping the integrity of the original
image. After all, you don’t want Old Blue Eyes to go green, do you? We asked scanning master Randy Zaucha, creator of
the ZBetterscan Method ($39.95, www.zbetterscan.com) color calibrator for Photoshop, for a few tips on tweaking the settings
within your scanner’s software interface.—NR
Turn off Automatic Settings in your scanner’s software interface,
locate its automatic mode, and turn it to manual mode if possible. If Crop to just
your scanner has no manual settings, be sure to crop your scan inside inside the
the image you are scanning. Cropping outside the image scans the image fora
scanner’s lamp as it shines through the scanner-bed glass, confusing better auto
the auto mode. scan.
Calibrate with Black and White To calibrate your scanner, first scan
a black-and-white print and adjust your software interface controls—
such as highlight controls (for light tones), shadow controls (for dark
tones), contrast, and gamma controls—so the scan that appears on
your display looks as close to the original as possible without using
retouching tools in apps like iPhoto or Photoshop.
Calibrate your
scanner using
a black-and-
white image.
Control Your RGB Values Never let the brightest portion of your
scanned image have red, blue, or green values greater than 250 or
less than 210, and never let the darkest tones of your image have
These red, blue,
and green values
ted, blue, or green values greater than 60 or less than 5. Tweakthe suggest this
highlight or shadow controls in the scanner interface to get values scanned image
between these levels. is too bright.
Try the Gamma Ifyou use the ‘Tweak the Scan High Always scan at
guidelines in step 3, and your gamma if the highest bit-depth setting
overall image still appears too adjusting allowed by your scanner. Many
light or dark, use the gamma highlights scanners scan at 16 bits of data
control (which adjusts mid-tones) | and shadows per channel (48 bits overall) for
to lighten or darken the image. fails. maximum image detail.
SHAREWARE PICK OF THE MONTH
ERI wwwtunarsott.com $29.95
ind out just how dynamic the world’s climates really are with
EarthBrowser. This spinning 3D rendition of the Earth gives
you locations of earthquakes, volcanoes, and tectonic plates, plus
animated cloud detail, seven-day forecasts, and weather info for over
17,000 locations, and snapshots from hundreds of Webcams around
the globe. You can zoom in on a detailed map as
Le , Disc close as 2 kilometers (about 1.2 miles) per pixel,
dl DI including color-coded ocean-depth variations. ie
—Andrew Tokuda It’s partly cloudy this evening in Angra Dos Reis, Brazil.
EarthBrowser 2.0.1
16 MacAddict June 2004
THE WILD
WORLD OF
SPACE COLONY
op into the gravity boots of the sassy
Venus and her dysfunctional chums as
they colonize the final frontier: space. Appease
colonists (building hot tubs works well),
placate ruthless alien neighbors, manage
resources, farm space chickens, and keep your
crewmembers from getting depressed. This
single-player campaign is a Series of skirmish
missions that lets you draw upon economic
power and military muscle. Mix Space Quest
with StarCraft and The Sims, add some Space
Balls—style humor, and you’ve got Space
Colony.—Matt Osborn
a
Space Colony
Price | $29.99
Available | May 2004
Aspyr
www.asnyr.com
Crusader Kings
Price $29.99
Available | Fall 2004
Virtual Programming
www.vpltd.com
ALL HAIL THE
CRUSADER KINGS |
ased on the engine of its predecessor,
Europa Universalis, Crusader Kings blends
role-playing and adventure into this historical
strategy game set in feudal—and feuding—
medieval Europe. Your goal, first and foremost,
is to cultivate prestige and piety to boister your
family’s dynasty. Next up, expand your fiefdom
using strategy, warfare, and diplomacy. Play the
campaigns of the Hundred Years War, the five
Crusades, and the Mongol Wars. Then go online
orona LAN and battle it out with up to eight
players —MO
CHOOSE YOUR OWN iPOD ADVENTURE
dragon has eaten your iPod. To fight back, choose one of the options
it the bottom of your iPod’s screen in XO Play’s text-based adventure,
Rise of the Lost. Play Sir Jacob Zavior who is fighting the Grand Wizard to
save the Kingdom of Valance. fyou'd rather be The wise of the Lest
sleazy than noble, try Herbert’s Big Adventure, in Herbert's Big Adventure
which you play a lady killer looking to get lucky. Price | $9.99, $14.99
Install the games in your iPod’s Notes folder and qe nis
access them in the Extras » Notes menu. These SaEGyea
games play only on third-generation iPods——MO | w#wxoplay.com/herhert
ee gc SNARE pnoomrnresoecre oe
RUN OR RIDE OUT OF FUEL
H ave you ever wished you could switch vehicles halfway through
a racing game? Welcome to Fuel, where you Fuel
start out racing on foot and charge through all Price | $29.99 (est.)
Sorts of natural and man-made terrain, aiternating | Available TBA
between mad-dash running and hopping into Virtual Programming
vehicles such asa helicopter or speedboat.—mo “™wapl.com
TIPS: STAR WARS JEDI KNIGHT: JEDI ACADEMY
“The Force is my greatest ally, and a powerful ally it is."—Master Yoda
$49.99, www.aspyr.com
Use Force Speed If you're trying to move faster by jumping
repeatedly (pounding the spacebar), use Force Speed (F3) instead—
it’s a more effective way to increase your speed.
Roll Quickly Rolling is overrated. A quick roll, while effective for
dodging sabers, slows you down. Be sure to regain speed quickly by
using your Force Speed (F3) power at the beginning of the roll.
Side Flip Side-flipping off walls is underrated. It’s a good way to
dodge opponents and, if done correctly, land on top of them to
knock them down,
Exploit the Force Learn to use all the powers of the Force: Lightning,
Push, Mind Tricks, Jump, Heal, Speed, and Choke.
June 2004 MacAddict 17
18 Mac, dune 2004
=
Tips
Shortcuts, secrets, and sanity-savers that we
guarantee will improve your Mac life.
No two ways about it. Today’s Mac is a complex beast. Your Mac, its
operating system, and its apps are more powerful than ever, which
means there are tons of hidden tips and tricks that you might not
discover for years. Plus, there are usually two, three, or four ways to
do just about anything when working with your beloved computing
appliance—and those alternatives may be faster, simpler, and more
convenient than the way you currently do things.
From copy and paste to swapping windows, switching apps to
troubleshooting your Mac, we show you how to work both faster and
smarter on your Mac. Here are 79 different ways to get started doing
exactly that.
June 2004 Mac 19
Today’s Finder makes it possible for different people to work in
different ways. For example, some may shun the Dock, but others may
use it exclusively for launching and managing applications. Here are
some hints to help you squeeze the most out of the Finder.
GB Drop Orag-and-Drop
What do you do when you get sick of good ol’ drag-and-drop
every time you want to move files? Fall back on good ol’
copy-and-paste! To move a file without dragging it, select a
file icon (or icons) and use the familiar Edit > Copy command
(or Command-C) to move those files into the clipboard, then
switch to another folder and select Edit > Paste (Command-V)
to place those files there.
3 Move instead of Copy
When you drag a file from one volume to another, your Mac
copies that file to the new volume. However, if you press the
Command key while dragging the file to another volume, your
Mac moves the file rather than copies it.
3 Change Windows Fast
Say you're working in Word, and you've got three windows open.
To switch to one of the other open windows without lifting your
hands from the keyboard, press Command-accent grave (>).
Repeat until you sigh with satisfaction. Command-Shift—accent
grave goes the other direction—if you can twist your fingers into
that key combination.
20 MacAddict June 2004
8 Get Dizzy with the Dock
As you probably know, Command-Tab cycles you through all
open applications in the Dock. But try this: Press Command-Tab
once—this takes you to the last active application (the one you
were using before you switched to the current active app). Pause
a moment, then press Command-Tab again—this takes you back
to the original app you were using.
For example: You’re using Word and you want to look
something up in Safari. Press
Command-Tab till you reach
Safari in the Dock, Look up what
you need to. Now, Command-Tab
once—back to Word. Need to look
up something else? Command-
Tab—zammo!—back to Safari.
Panther's app switcher helps
you toggle between apps.
3 Let Your Fingers Do the Talking
Serious speed demons use keyboard commands. To join the
speedy elite, you need to learn their tricks—including using just
your keyboard in dialogs. in a native Mac OS X application’s
Open or Save dialog, press Tab until you select the navigation
pane, then use the up and down arrows to select items in the
first row or column (or type the first few characters of the file
or folder you want). Highlight a folder and press the right arrow
to open that folder; press the left arrow to move back a folder.
Press Command-Shift-N to create a new folder. The Esc key
closes the dialog. The Return key opens or saves the Item.
3 Switch Views Fast
Ifyou want to switch between Finder views without having to
use your mouse, press Command-1 to change to Icon view,
Command-2 for List view, and Command-3 for Column view.
De-metallize Finder Windows
Do you prefer the days when life—and Finder windows—were
simpler? Even though you’ve moved on to Panther, you can still
recapture times past. Double-click your hard disk icon
on the desktop and click the widget in the top-right
corner of the Finder window. Panther will lose the
whole shiny brushed-metal thang, and you'll get
something more like the old Aqua-looking Finder
windows. Doing this also gets rid of the Panther
Sidebar and other toolbar icons.
The toolbar widget changes Panther's superhuman
Finder windows into regular Clark Kent windows.
3 Create Toolbar Aliases
In older versions of Mac OS X, creating Finder window toolbar
aliases was easy—just drag folders, applications, or files to
the toolbar, In Panther, the Sidebar is your most likely target
for folder aliases—but if you still want to put an app or folder
icon on your toolbar, simply drag it from a Finder window to the
toolbar and wait a second. You'll see either a blank box scoot
out of the way ora plus sign ina green circle appear on your
cursor—when you do, release the mouse to add the item.
If that blank space is getting in your way, choose View >
Customize Toolbar and remove the space—which will appear
as an outlined box—by dragging it out of the toolbar, in fact,
to remove any item from the toolbar, you need to go to View >
Customize Toolbar, then drag the item out of the toolbar.
LQ os
Items can enter the toolbar, but they can't get out—unless
you access View > Customize Toolbar.
-
Expose Ex pose Learn even more cool Exposé tricks. |
GE) Move Files Easily
Click and drag a file from the Finder or a selection from an open
app window, press the Exposé All Windows key (F9), then hover
over the window of an app into which you want to place the file or
selection. In a few seconds, that window will blink, then expand
to normal size—drop your file or selection where you want it.
Pay Homage to OS 94mm
Bring back your favorite parts of the Classic OS.
Mac users customize Mac OS X for two reasons: to make it more like
Mac OS 9 orto impress a date. Admitit, though, guys—customizing
Mac OS X will almost never impress a date. Even so, check out the
following shareware from Unsanity (www.unsanity.com).
G5) Windowshade X
Bring back the ability to double-click the title bar of any
window and collapse that window down to just that bar.
Windowshade X also lets you minimize in place—instead
of turning a window into an icon in the Dock, it turns that
window into an icon on the desktop. ($10)
GO ShapeShifter
This enables you to switch
themes to change the look and
feel of your Mac, No way, you
say. Way, we say. From icons to
windows, menus to buttons,
ShapeShifter can give your
Mac an extreme makeover.
ShapeShifter includes some
slick themes, and you can also
download third-party ones.
Goto www.unsanity.com
/haxies/shapeshifter for a
list of download sites. ($20)
Check out this bit of cubtle
interface elegance. Yowzal
FruitMenu
Now you can add hierarchical menus to your Apple menu so that
you can quickly access things like your Applications folder. ($10)
2 See Ya, Sidebar
Hate the Panther Sidebar? Then double-
click the right border of the Sidebar, and it
disappears like cash on a Three Card Monty
milk crate. (Double-click the left edge of the
Finder window to restore the Sidebar.)
Double-click the border to hide the Sidebar.
Spell Exposé
Sure, you know how to use Exposé—but do you know how to
type it correctly? To type the é character, first type Option-E,
then type the letter E. Option-E also works for other letters that
need an acute accent mark. To see other special characters, go
to Edit > Special Characters in most native Mac OS X apps.
Su
June 2004 MacAddict 21
Mac OS X is ripe with features, shortcuts, and apps
that many users never take a second look at. But don’t discount
them yet—they’re worth another look.
View File Extensions
Ifyou ever have to trade files with Windows or Unix/Linux users,
you need to tell their computer what kind of document you're
sending. Soto make sure you never forget, in Panther, Choose
Finder > Preferences, click the Advanced button, and turn on
the option Show All File Extensions. In Jaguar, go to Finder >
Preferences and choose Always Show File Extensions.
RIGA
Turn on Show All File Extensions and got used to
them—they're a way of life.
GS Tinker with TextEdit
TextEdit may look simple on the surface, butit has hidden
powers. For example, you can view HTML documents in two
ways, When you first open most HTML documents in TextEdit,
you see them rendered as HTML by default. To change that, open
TextEdit > Preferences and under the Rich Text Processing pane,
turn on the Ignore Rich Text Commands In HTML Files option.
Now you can use TextEdit to edit raw HTML documents.
22 MacAddict June 2004
Don't Ask Me No Questions
Are you getting sick of your Mac confirming that you want itto
restart, log out, or empty the Trash? Hold down the Option key
while selecting those commands (and others that provide a
warning) to skip the confirmation process. if only you could do
that when they check your credit report at the Porsche dealership.
Use Services
The under-utilized Services menu that you find under the
application menu of native Mac OS X apps sometimes gets a
bad rap. But with each new Mac OS version, the Services feature
improves a bit.
One of our favorite Services is Summarize. If you’ve got a long
block of text in a document and you want just the high points,
select that text and choose Services > Summarize fromthe
current program’s application menu. That brings up a window
that gives you the main points in that document. It’s hit-or-miss
sometimes, but often it hits well.
(Note that some Mac OSX
apps—notably Word, Excel,
Hide Textédit
xH
and Photoshop—don’t Hide Others OHH | far "AS
support Services.) eral Make New Sticky Note
‘Open URL
The Services menu offers Search Wt
some interesting shortcuts.
2) Long Live Activity Monitor
To true power users, Panther’s Activity Monitor (Applications >
Utilities > Activity Monitor) is too cool for words. It’s similar to
the Process Viewer from older Mac OS X versiens—launch it to
see what applications and background processes are running,
how much CPU and memory they’re using, and so on. Even
cooler are the tabs at the bottom of the window that let you
monitor disk usage, system memory, and network activity. if
you are experiencing a slowdown, check these to see where the
problem is.
remyslewaki 0.00
inpvilewaki” 0.00
rmyslewski 0.00
rrayslewshi 0,00
rmyslewski 0.00
yale
14.26 M8
seme
7.59M8
693 Ma
ae2me
——
| Se
| seeretint: sacs aaataats ee
| actin 3609 SR Teaseasat oe eae
If some Windoze geek tries to impress i with his hard-disk
pie chart, show him Activity Monitor's Disk Usage tab.
2) Dig Into Disk Utility
The modern-day super-dooper-fix-it-all equivalent to the old
Rebuild Desktop command is Repair Disk Permissions. Just go to
Disk Utility (Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility), choose a drive,
and click the First Aid tab. Run it once a month; more if you
notice odd slowdowns when you're trying to launch applications
or after you've installed a new app or update.
is only a few ae
old and it already
needs repairs.
Key Combo! What It Does
Control-F1 Turns on Full Keyboard Access
Control-F2 “Moves you to the menubar so you can
_| Shoose items with the keyboard
Moves you tothe Dock .
between al open wi \dows:
Moves you bar in the current window
Moves you to any open palette-style window
Control-F3
Control-F4
Control-F5
Control-F6
€) Hop over Permissions Issues
One major Mac OS X irritation is the issue of permissions—files
you can’t delete because you don’t have permission to, even
though they’re in public folders you can access. The trick is
to launch Terminal and go after such files via the command
line using the sudo (see “Get to Know sudo,” p24) and rm
(remove) commands. For example, you cauld type the following
command to delete the file document.txt in the Shared folder:
sudo rm /Users/Shared/document.txt.
Press Return, and a prompt to enter a password appears; as
long as you’re an administrator, you can delete the file.
€) Run Maintenance Scripts Manually
Do you shut down your Mac at night? If so, it may not be running
some scheduled Unix-level scripts that are necessary for
occasional file system maintenance. You can run those scripts
manually, though, using one of two methods. The easy way is to
use MacJanitor (free, http://personalpages.tds.net/~brian_hill
/macjanitor-html), but the tinkerer’s way is to use the command
line and type sudo /etc/Daily. Press Return and a prompt for
your Admin password appears; enter it and press Return again.
That sets the script in motion. You would type, predictably,
sudo /etc/Weekly and sudo /etc/Monthly forthe
otherscripts.
&3 Back Up, Jack
The command line has a special ditto command that’s handy
for backing up files as well as copying Mac OS X applications
correctly. (The standard Unix copy commana, cp, doesn’t
correctly copy Mac resource forks and files, which means it can
sometimes screw stuff up.)
To quickly back up items in your Documents folder, type
ditto -rsrc ~/Documents ~/Desktop/DocBackup.
This command creates a folder on your desktop called
DocBackup and places within it any files and folders that are
in your Documents folder, including ones with Mac-specific
resource information.
June 2004 MacAddict 23
5) Say Bye-Bye Finder!
The defaults write command is a powerful, dangerous
tool. tt enables you to change preferences by writing
directly to preference files, including important system-level
stuff. Forexample, would you like to start up your Mac in
Terminal, instead of the Finder? It can be done by typing in
defaults write com.apple.loginwindow Finder
(Space) /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app.
You can even sub in a Finder replacement app such
as Path Finder ($34, www.cocoatech.com). Too extreme
for you? You can restore the original Finder by typing
defaults write com.apple.loginwindow Finder (space)
/System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app.
Tecminal Fle Fait scrolback Form Window Fp
000 urinal — cah yp)
We ditched the Finder in favor of the Terminal at startup.
5) Launch Apps
For some reason, Unix-heads get a kick out of opening
applications from a Terminal window; the same is possible using
Mac OS X’s Terminal, although the command is slightly different,
To launch iPhoto, type open ~a iPhoto.app.
For applications with a space in their name, use double
quotes around the name. For example, you would type
apen -a “System Preferences.app”.
This command also works on remote Macs that you've logged
into using ssh, which can be handy if you need to run an app on
a remote computer and you can’t get to its keyboard.
Get to Know sudo
The sudo command stands for substitute user do and it’s a way
to perform administrator-level (root) tasks from the command
line, Use sudo to begin a variety of commands—everything from
deleting stubborn files to rewriting system-level files.
One thing to know about sudo, though, is that it has a time
limit. Say you run all three scripts in the *Run Maintenance
Scripts Manually” tip (p23). As long as you type them one
right after another, you probably only need to enter the sudo
command the first time since the shell—Unix’s interactive
command interpreter—remembers that you're in sudo mode for
five minutes after each successful command.
5 Print Folder Contents
The Classic Mac OS has the ability to print folder contents from
the Finder; Mac OS X does not—but there is a workaround. When
typing a command in the Terminal, you can use the greater-than
sign @) to force the output from that command to be stored ina
text file instead of displayed onscreen. It’s kinda cool when you
think about it. Well, itis if you're a nerd.
The command for a detailed listing of a folder is Is -l. To
create a text document that lists the contents of your Documents
folder (which you can then print!), type the following:
24 MacAddict June 2004
|
staff 482 Jun 19 2883 Sookmarks
staff 844614 Sep 2 2083 Cothy's Grassy
staff 434571 Sep 2 2683 Cathy's Zoo Tycoon
unknown 272 un 17 2083 Cathy.protcont
unknown 6442682 Apr 4 2082 Clone of sung ke
ls not elegant, but this is a list of our Documents folder
content.
Is -| ~/Documents > ~/Desktap/filelist.txt.
This creates a document called filelist.txt on your desktop,
and that file lists everything in your Documents folder. If you
want to list the contents of any subfolders—and the subfolder’s
subfolders—type Is -IR ~/Documents > ~/Desktop/
(no space) filelist.txt.
Use Apple Keywords
The Apple Support KnowledgeBase offers special
keywords (also called kwords) that can help you get to
important information faster.
Keyword |__ What It Means
Mac OS 9
kitunes, ki
kfaq
Frequently asked questions,
EE) Get Help from Mac Sites
Where do you go when the Apple KnowledgeBase fails you?
Here are some good places to get help online.
APPLE DISCUSSIONS http://discussions.info.apple.com Users
discuss Apple products, as well as problems Apple has yet to
address (or hasn’t yet owned up to) in its KnowledgeBase.
MACFIXIT FORUMS www.macfixitforums.com Experts provide
troubleshooting advice on all sorts of Mac hardware and software.
MACINTOUCH www.macintouch.com Some of the best and the
brightest in the Mac community frequent this site—ask for help,
and ye shall receive,
MACNN FORUMS http:/orums.macnn.com In addition to news,
you'll find troubleshooting help for hardware and software, plus
discussions and Info archives,
ACCELERATE YOUR MAC www.xir8yourmac.com Looking for
information, advice, and databases full of info about upgrade
products, procedures, and troubleshooting? Here 'tis.
We love hardware, as do any self-respecting Mac addicts. But how do
you know when you need more RAM? What’s the best way to speed up —
your Mac? And how do you preserve your iPod’s battery ,
El Calculate RAM Usage
Don’t believe you need more RAM? Here’s a way to check. After
your Mac has been running for a day or two, launch the Activity
Monitor utility (sorry, Panther only), Click the System Memory
tab at the bottom of the window. Check the Free Space and Page
Ins/Outs statistic, which tells you how often the OS needs to
move items from RAM to your hard drive. If those numbers are
excessive (say, if they each reach six digits in a day or two), take
that as a sign that you'd benefit from a RAM upgrade.
‘Disk Activity |: DisicUsage | Network
Ce ae cl
aie: 32260 [El] : @
ee Sate
Used: 405.53 aa 512.008
Looking at Page Ins/Outs might give you a clue as to
whether you need RAM.
Power Your iPod
You may have heard about the complaints and repair-program
brouhaha over iPods plagued with dead batteries. Well, before
your ’Pod ever gets to that stage, there are a few things you can
do to keep its battery in good shape. For one, it’s a good idea to
keep the iPod in a warm place at all times. Ideally you shouldn’t
turn it on when it’s been sitting in the cold—
like if it’s been in the car overnight during a
freeze. Remember: There's a cold-averse hard
drive with moving parts inside the iPod.
Also, keep it plugged into FireWire on your
Mac whenever possible. The less often the
battery fully discharges, the longer it will last.
For more advice, see www. ipodbatteryfaq
~com,
Keep your baby phased info FireWire
whenever possible,
EE) Span Your Screen
As far back as the PowerBook G3 (Bronze keyboard), Apple’s
PowerBooks have supported the ability to span your desktop
from the built-in display to a second externai display. But did
you know there’s a hack to make that work on certain iBooks and
iMacs that don’t have this capability? Whether this hack works
depends on your Mac’s internal video circuitry. For example, it
should work on the iBook G3/700 and faster (and some 600MHz
models), the iBook G4 models, the 17- and 20-inch iMac G4s
{and very recent 15-inchers), and the eMac models with the ATi
Radeon 7500 graphics card. See www.rutemoeller.com/mp
/ibook/ibook_e.html for the compatibility list, the disclaimer,
and the software you need to make this work.
€Q) Save Battery Power
To maximize PowerBook and iBook
battery running time, the mantra
is to do as little as possible.
Eject CDs, since they tend to
spin up occasionally; use as few
applications as possible to keep
Mac OS X from swapping to disk;
and disconnect anything that
you don’t need, such as USB
and FireWire devices that may
draw power. Also, turn off AirPort
cards (in the Network System Preferences) and Bluetooth (in the
Bluetooth System Preferences). Finally, open the Energy Saver
system preferences and set the Optimize Energy Settings menu
to Longest Battery Life.
To optimize your Book's
battery, change your
Optimize Energy Settings.
EE) Speed Up Your Mac
Aside from RAM and processor speed, three major issues
can make your Mac Seem sluggish: video performance, hard
disk performance, and permissions problems. For desktop
Mages, install a new video card if your Mac’s game or graphics
June 2004 MacAddict 25
performance is lacking. For disk performance, use a disk doctor
utility such as Norton Utilities ($99.95, www.symantec.com) or
TechTool Pro 4 ($97.97, www.micromat.com) to regularly look
for problems and optimize your hard drive, For permissions
problems, launch Mac OS X’s Disk Utility and use First Aid to
fix permissions.
5 Wipe the Slate Clean
What's the best way to optimize your drive? Back up your
documents, format your hard drive using Disk Utility, and
reinstall the Mac OS and your apps. It may not be practical to do
this more than every year or two, but take advantage when an
opportunity arises—for example, when you plan to install a new
Mac OS X version.
Still cringing at the thought of doing the
above? Then create a second volume or buy
another drive, and use it to store video,
photos, and music. That keeps your
multimedia files from fragmenting
your startup disk and slowing down
your system.
Shop Cheap “
Find deals on the Web.
Go Used or Refurb
If you’re looking to get a good, solid Mac at a reasonable
price and it’s not mandatory that you be on the bleeding
edge, then consider a refurbished Mac—a returned item
that Apple has taken into the shop, checked out, and fixed
ifnecessary. Apple lists refurbished equipment on its
own store page (www.apple.com/store)—just look forthe
red-tag Special Deals button. Another great place to check
is Small Dog Electronics’ “Famous” Price List (www
-smalldog-com/Sma\lDogPriceList.txt), which lists new,
demo, refurbed, and used-system prices.
Snail DOG veer,
used, refurbished,
J ) Flectronics | and more.
5) Look at Upgrades
Another way to save money is to upgrade your current
system. A great place to check out upgrade choices for
your machine is Other World Computing, which carries
accelerator cards from a number of vendors. Go to www.
.macsales.com and choose Accelerators. Choose your Mac
from the scrolling list, then click Show Models. The results
show various processor accelerator options. You can also
look up other types of upgrades, such as RAM and video.
26 MacAddict June 2004
Wate
imunes
Tour Om
On its face, iTunes may seem like a simple
digital jukebox. Even so, it has some
interesting nooks and crannies where you
can still find nifty features.
2) Mini-fy Tunes
If the iTunes interface is hogging too much room on your screen,
click the green maximize button to turn it into a tiny player. Or
you can Option-click the green button to set iTunes to the exact
right width to display song information.
Make a Mini-Me version of iTunes.
®) Quickly Control iTunes
Don't feel like opening up the iTunes
window to skip to the next song? Luckily,
you don’t have to, Just Control-click or click
and hold the iTunes icon in the Dock to
display playback options including Shuffle,
Next/Previous Song, and Repeat All.
Enlist the Dock to control iTunes.
Choose Your Own Organization
Ifyou want to organize your iTunes Music folder rather than
having iTunes automatically arrange itinto album and artist
folders, then open iTunes > Preferences and click Advanced. Turn
off the Keep iTunes Music Folder Organized option. Now, you’re
free to make any changes—those changes won't affect your
Library and Playlists, only the way the songs are arranged and
filed away on your hard disk.
=) Find Your Tune
By default, iTunes buries your music several levels deep on
your hard drive. But there’s a quick way to locate that song file
when you’re in iTunes. Simply select your song and go to File>
Show Song File, or press Command-R. iTunes will take you to
the selected song on your hard drive faster than Dorothy gets
back to Kansas—after clicking the heels of her ruby-red slippers,
of course.
€=) Adjust Individual Volumes and EQ
Got a song that blasts you off your chair every time it comes
on in ‘Tunes? Well, if you don’t like that feeling, select itin the
Library, choose File > Get Info, and click the Options tab. Now
you can set the Volume Adjustment slider. In that same pane
you'll also find the Equalizer Preset option, which allows you to
seta different EQ preference for
7 ama pea each song in your Library.
Set a song to its
own EQ setting
for customized
thumpability.
‘Volume Adjustment:
shod * "vane * soe
caatee rece (EB
GZ} Mind the Gap
When iTunes imports tracks from a CD, it inserts a short gap
between tracks. With some albums—especially classical ones,
where music often continues from track to track—that gap
interferes with playback. To avoid that gap, you can join tracks
ona CD before importing it. Choose the two (or more) tracks in
question and then choose Advanced > Join CD Tracks. iTunes will
even indicate that the operation was a success via a connecting
line between the two tracks.
CE) Rip Off Some Scripts
iTunes is nicely scriptable, and for those of us who have avoided
learning AppleScript, power user Doug Adams comes to the
rescue by providing tons of prefab scripts (check them out
at www.maicolmadams.com/itunes/index.php). The scripts
available on that site enable you to perform such voodoo as
renaming batches of songs, finding artwork on the Internet (such
as from Amazon.com or iTunes Music Store), and displaying your
current song as your status message in iChat—just in case you
want to let your buddies know what you’re listening to at any
given moment.
5) Change Up the Visualizer
The iTunes visualizer can get a bit redundant at times.
But using some keyboard commands, you can learn to
controi and customize it.
Command | What It Does
Sommanelet | turns onithe visualizer
Command-F isualizer full-screen
ie background pattern
Changes colors of effects
i \de (for example, random
de-show mode ‘versus user-configured
a
Manipulate iPhoto =
Make iPhoto do things it ordinarily can’t.
Change Your Camera's Buddy
By default, iPhoto should launch when you connect your digital
camera to your Mac. You can change that behavior, but talk
about your nonintuitive solutions! Launch Image Capture
(in your Applications folder) and open Image Capture >
Preferences. Under
the Camera tab,
choose the application
you want to launch
when you connect
yourcamera(orNo Use Image Capture to set what
Application). happens when you connect a camera.
GE) Run iPhoto at 800 by 600
According to the iLife 04 system requirements, you needa
display with at least a 1,024-by-768 resolution, thus leaving
older Macs such as 800-by-600 iBooks in the dust. Fortunately,
some hard-working souls have discovered that this restriction
is about iMovie, not iPhoto, and have provided a workaround.
Simply use Pacifist ($20, www.charlessoft.com) to extract
the iPhoto installer package from the iLife dise, and install it
separately. You can check out the instructions in the tutorial at
Blogintosh (http://blogintosh.com/pages/tutorialmain.html).
GS) Slim Down iPhoto {Dieting Options
iPhoto retains extra copies of O Remove Ali Originals
your pics whenever you rotate @ Remove Selectively
an image, make corrections, @ Redundant Duplicates
launch another app for image QUnrotated Originals
editing—possibly even when you orphans
‘sneeze—and these duplicates
end up wasting precious hard- t
drive space. The solution is t Ee
not Atkins, but instead, iPhoto auto Start
Diet (free, http://pages.cpsc
sucalgary.ca/~fuhrer/personal Remove unwanted duplicate
/freestuff). Use this app to images from your iPhoto Library.
slim down your library—you get
several dieting choices, such as the option to remove all
originals, unrotated originals, or redundant duplicates.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
J
Gistrip teon Thumbnails
=) Move Your Library
By default, your iPhoto Library is stored on your startup disk in
your home folder. Want to move it somewhere more convenient,
such as your desktop? First, quit iPhoto. Now, move your Library
to a new location. Once it’s there, launch iPhoto. A dialog will
appear telling you that iPhoto can’t find your library. Simply click
Find Library and use the resulting dialog to locate the Library in
its new location.
June 2004 MacAddict 27
iMovie’s been around the block a few
times, and so there’s no shortage of choice
tips and tricks available to help you get the
most out of your iMovie experience.
Ea Transfer a Clip
Those clips that iMovie stores in the Media folder—particularly
the ones named Clip 62 or similar—are actually raw DV files that
you can play in QuickTime or move to other iMovie projects.
In the Finder, just drag and drop them into another project’s
Media folder—and if you need the clip in both projects, hold
down Option while dragging to create a duplicate. In the Finder's
Column view, you can even preview clips.
You can view raw
iMovie footage clips
in the Finder.
2 Crop Photos
If you're working with still images in iMovie, you don’t have to
go back to your image editor to crop your pictures to the correct
dimensions. Click the Photos button, turn on Ken Burns Effect,
and choose an image. Now, click the Start button and use the
pan and zoom commands to position the image the way you
want it to appear. When you're done, press Option while clicking
Finish. Set atime for the clip, click Apply, and you’ve gota
perfectly framed photo.
ES) Explore .Mac
If you're trying to find the perfect piece of music to accompany
your movie—and you’re a proud member of .Mac—check out
your iDisk, which contains royalty-free music. Go to your iDisk,
and navigate to Software/Members Only/Freeplay Music. There
you'll find tons of clips in AAC format that you can use in your
iMovies (GarageBand, too).
EZ) Fix Jerky Playback
If iMovie 4 playback looks choppy, launch iMovie Preferences
and in the Advanced section choose Standard Quality (Smoother
Motion) in the Playback Quality group.
28 MacAddict June 2004
&5) Get into the Groove
iMovie 4 offers the ability to view the waveforms of a song
that you’ve placed on an audio track in the timeline (in iMovie
Preferences, select Show Audio Track Waveforms). Waveforms
can give you a visual guide to help you pace your video to
music—great for working with montages and music videos.
ES) Think Before Emptying
It can be handy to empty the Trash often in iMovie in order to
recover disk space for more editing. However, emptying the
Trash makes it impossible to undo any recent changes. You also
won't be able to use the Restore Clip feature (under Advanced)
on clips that you’ve cropped if you've emptied iMovie’s Trash.
Get QuickTime Pro
QuickTime Pro is great for any editing project, but it’s
particularly useful for translating video files from one format to
another. It can handle all sorts of files—even PC-based movies—
and export them to DV Stream format for use in iMovie.
EE) Rename Keyboard Buttons
In the Loop Browser (Command-L) you can change the
keyword buttons to display different sets of loops.
Control-click a button, then choose a different genre,
instrument, or descriptor (such as cheerful) from the
contextual menu. The name on the button will change—click
that button to see the loops that go with your new keyword.
ES) Fade Out
Need your song to end, but don’t have an ending to give it? No
worries—there’s always the ol’ fade out. Turn on the Master
Track (Command-B, or Track > Show Master Track) and click
the Master Volume check box. Near the end of your song,
click the volume line once. Click again at the end of your song
and drag that second dot to the bottom of the track.
GE) Use a Mute
If you’re recording using a microphone with GarageBand,
you should either wear headphones or mute the track you're
recording. Unmuted, your instrument (or voice) will play
through the speakers as it’s recorded. Mute it so you don’t
record the playback or generate feedback. Choose the
instrument's track, and click the speaker icon (that’s the
mute button). If it’s highlighted, it’s muted.
Ans
Mute the track you're recording to keep an instrument
tm playing through your speakers.
*
lose Wora’s
Know Your Keyboard Shortcuts
If you're like us, you press Command-X and Command-V (aka
cut and paste) about a bazillion times a day. But there are
some lesser-known shortcuts that are also useful. Command-
Option—Page Down and Page Up take you to the bottom and
top of the window respectively. You can easily cycle through
caps, lower case, and initial caps via Shift-F3. {f you want to
quickly jump to the very beginning or end of your document,
press Command-Home or Command-End, respectively. (Note
that these commands may or may not work on your keyboard.)
© Transfer Your Styles
Ifyou create styles or custom toolbars in one Word doc, that
doesn’t mean that they'll appear in the next Word doc you open,
Aquick way to transfer elements from one doc to another is to
use the Style Organizer. Go to Format > Style and in the dialog
that appears, click the Organizer button. In the Organizer dialog
you can move styles, toolbars, AutoText elements, and macros
from one document to another—and if you move them to Word’s
Normal file, they'll be available in every new document (File >
New Blank Document).
t
| =
Use Word's Organizer to give a silo makeover to
another doc,
Copy Formatting Quickly
Aquick way to copy and apply custom formatting is to use the
format painter tool. Highlight a word that has formatting you
want to copy, click the paintbrush icon in the Standard toolbar,
and select a word to apply the same style to them. Ifyou
double-click the paintbrush, you can paint the style for
noncontiguous words (those that aren’t in a continuous line) by
selecting them. Click the paintbrush again to stop this behavior.
2 Split the Window
Ever find yourself madly scrolling back and forth through 46.
pages of Word just so you can compare text in two parts? Well,
go ahead and break Word—in two.
Choose Window > Split, and your document will divide into
two window panes that display the same document (you can
also split a window by pulling down the little aqua widget at the.
top-right of your scroll bar). After you split a window, you can
scroll through each pane independently, thus allowing you to do
all sorts of useful things, such as cut pieces from the end of a
document and place them somewhere in the middle,
eure
Fut vesrivat
‘SPONSORSHIP LEVELS,
‘Yoraumein gh el waker
Premier Spears 11,00
+190 ia itn Fou Pers
Fos) Pa Fl sia 3.
| Your eyes do not
This
= Turn Off Auto-Correct Idiocy
Ifyou don’t like the way Word likes to fill in words or change
Internet addresses to clickable links, choose Tools >
AutoCorrect, Under the AutoCorrect tab, you can tell Word to
stop capitalizing the first letter of every word or correcting two
initial capitals, or you can specify exceptions to those rules.
Under the Auto Format As You Type tab, you can turn off options
such as automatic hyperlinks, bulleted lists, and smart quotes.
GS Save Multiple Clipboard Items
Command-C and Commancd-x retain the last item you copied
orcut in your Mac’s Clipboard. But did you know that Word can
hold multiple Clipbeard items? Go to View > Office Clipboard and
you’ll get a window that stores everything that you copy and cut
for easy retrieval! later on.
Strengthen iCal
iCal may not be the marquee iApp, but it has its strengths.
Publish iCal Calendars on Your Site
.Mac may be the easiest way to publish your iCal calendars, but what
if you don’t want to spend $99.95 a year on a .Mac membership?
Ifyou have a WebDAV-based Web server, you can still publish your
iCal calendars. In iCal’s Publish dialog, choose On A WebDAV Server
from the Publish Calendar menu. If you don’t have WebDAV-based
server space, then you can use iCal FTP (free, www.drewfindley
.com/findleydesigns/products.html) to send those puppies to any
old Web server space.
GS Use iCal to Automate Tasks
New in iCal 1.5 and later is the ability to launch an application or
AppleScript when an alarm goes off. In iCal, set an event, and then
edit that event’s alarm setting in the details tray. From the Alarm pop-
up menu, choose Open File, then from the iCal pop-up menu, choose
Other. Now, locate the file, application, or AppleScript that you want
to launch. This is great for setting reminders, automated backups,
and other tasks.
dune 2004 MacAddict 29
We love Safari, and we can’t live without it.
There, we said it. Now that we’ve admitted
our dependence, it’s time to talk about some
of the features you may not know about—and
how best to use them.
G5) Use Page SnapBack
{fyou haven't yet discovered the wonders of the Page SnapBack
feature in Safari, learn to use it—and the keyboard commands
that empower it.
Page SnapBack enables you to set a page that you can snap
back to—like eBay results or an index page for game cheats.
To mark a page for SnapBack, press Command-Option-K while
viewing the page. To snap back to that page, press Command-
Option-P, or press the orange arrow button in the address field,
(Click the orange button in the Google search field or press.
Command-Option-S to snap back to recent search results.)
avis |
/chronicie/archiye/2¢@ The orange arrow
iam §| button puts you
som back to a page
you've marked.
Open Links Anew
You may already know that you can Command-click a link in
Safari to open it in a new window. We can do you one better.
Command-Shift-click opens the link in a new window and places
it behind the current window.
If, however, you have Safari’s Tabbed Browsing feature
enabled, Command-click opens the link in a new tab and
Command-Shift-click opens the link in a new tab while still
displaying the contents of the first tab.
Now what if you have Tabbed Browsing enabled, and you want
to open links in new windows rather than tabs? Well, Command-
Option-click takes care of that, while Command-Option-Shift-
click opens a linkin a new window and places itin back.
&@ Get a New Search Results Window
Every Safari user has likely used the Google search box as often
as they’ve used cut and paste in Word—a bazillion times. But
there’s a little trick that allows you to view search results in a
30 MacAddict June 2004
new window or tab (if Tabbed Browsing is enabled). Enter your
keyword and then hold down the Command key as you press
Return. Presto: results in a new window or tab. Hold down
Command-Shift when you press Return to keep your original
page in front.
Drag That URL Everywhere
Click and drag the small URL icon (also known as a favicon) in
Safari’s—or most any browser’s—address field, and you’ve got
a draggable URL. You know that part. But how about dragging
that URL icon to a Bookmarks Bar folder for a lickety-quick way
to create a bookmark? Or to the desktop to save that page?
Or to an iChat message to send that URL to one of your buddies?
Presaltg URL icon into an iChat message sends
that URL—without all the http:// junk.
Master Mail
Yep, even email has its share of tricks.
Redirect Mail
Mail, along with some other email programs—Entourage, for
one—has a handy little function called Redirect, which you can
use to send someone else an email message you've received.
The difference between redirecting and forwarding is that the
message will still have the original sender’s address in the From
section of the message.
To redirect in Mail, select a message and choose Message >
Redirect. in the message window that appears, enter an email
address. You can even edit the message before you redirect
it. But don’t get any sneaky ideas—Mail snitches on you if you
modify the message.
Quick Mail Commands
Click and hold the Mail icon in the Dockto see its quick menu,
which lets you access the often-used Compose New Message
and Check For Mail commands.
Send Mail from Other Apps
Remember the Services menu (see “Use Services,” p22)?
Highlight some text in many native Mac OS X applications
(remember, Word doesn’t support Services), go to the
application menu, and choose Services > Mail » Send Selection.
Doing that pops open a new mail window with the selection
text and/or images already embedded.
aie”, Add Google Search ta Your Site
Google offers you the option of including a Google entry box on
your own Web site. This lets users search your Web site using
Google technology (or the user can opt to search the whole
Web). See www.google.com/searchcode.html, or check out our
how-to, “Add Search to Your Site” (Mar/04, p70) for details.
Google is both powerful and right there Add or Exclude Keywords
on the frickin’ Safari toolbar—and with In order to refine Google searches, make use of the plus (+) and
minus (-) signs in keyword searches. A plus sign is helpful when
the tight tips, you can make it do you want to include a word that’s commonly excluded, as in
some amazing stuff. Temple +of Doom. A minus sign excludes results that include the
keyword, as in Apple Founder Steve -Jobs (which, it so happens,
produces pages of links to Woz-mania.)
Search a Site
Ifyou want to limit a keyword search to one site (especially one
without its own search engine), you can use your old friend
Google. just type the search word or phrase followed by
site: and the Web site address in the Google search field. For
example, if you want to search MacAddict’s site forthe word iMac,
type /Mac site:www.macaddict.com. Google will list everything it
finds, but limits the results to just the MacAddict.com site.
Use the minus sign to exclude certain results from a Google
search ttyl. Our exclusive search yielded tons of hits on
Ste fozniak, that is (bottom).
Who needs a search function on your site when you've
got Google?
Learn Google Shortcuts
Google has many hidden features that work right within the Google search box.
Check these out (and see www.google.com/help/features.html for the whole list).
fair S(t z _| Click Google Search to Get...
5 (any math, actually) The result
define: word Links to definitions
File Type | Search term filetype: extension (such as 1099 filetype:pdf) | Results for your search term that match the specified file type
Phone Book | first name, last name, zip code, or last name, zip code Possible phone-book matches
Special Numbers | package tracking numbers, area codes, vehicle ID numbers | Relevant results (it just knows)
‘Stock Quotes
|
stocks: ticker symbol Recent Yahoo quote
Maps | street address, city, state, or zip t Links to maps
Who Links to link: site URL Sites that link to the specified URL
Todd Staufferis a freelance writer and the author of three dozen books including How To Do Everything With Your iMac, Fourth Edition (Osborne/
McGraw-Hill). For contributing or inspiring some of these tips, Todd would like to thank his frequent co-author Kirk McEthearn and numerous
‘MacAddict Forum dwellers, including bloomsday, JubilleeOR, Lucky}, Phydeaux, Og, pottymouth, and anyone alse he may have missed.
June 2004 MacAddict 31
As always, do-as we say, not as we do.
This procedure is presented purely for
infotainment purposes. Do not try this
f at home. Dismantling your iPod will
= definitely kill the warranty and might
turn your $249 investment into a
paperweight—albeit a colorful
anodized-aluminum one.
32 MacAddict June 2004
PHOTOGRAPH BY MARK MADEO
Step inside
the MacAddict
operating room
to find out what
makes Apple’s
new infant tick.
By Niko Coucouvanis
"NP" he iPod mini is sleek and sexy in anodized
aluminum—and it’s sealed up tight as a
Bs drum. Which is why we were more anxious
than ever to get our hands on—or rather, into—
one.
This month, we set out to learn what Apple has
stuffed inside a mini besides a 4GB hard drive.
After anesthetizing and scalpeling the sucker, we
discovered a medical miracle. Inside, there’s an
eight-hour battery; a luscious little LCD screen; skip-
stopping buffer RAM; FireWire and USB conduits;
and not one but two tiny processors—and it’s all
wrapped up in a tiny 0.5-by-3.6-by-2.0-inch package.
June 2004 MacAddict 33
——iPodAutopsy
tool for the job.
FIRST INCISION:
Take Off the Bottom End Cap
After warming up the iPod for a few minutes with
a hair dryer, you can sneaka small screwdriver
under the edge of the white end cap and gingerly
work that piece off. Under the cap is a metal plate
securing the guts in place. The plate is wedged
in tight, but some careful prying with a small
screwdriver sets it free.
Be gentle on the
| headphone jack
“and Hold switch
| while removing the
ipenl on.
SCREWECTOMY:
Remove the Screws
Once you finish removing the top end cap, all
you have to do is remove the two microscrews to
free the mini’s innards. Make sure to stow these
screws safely—the sticky side of electrical tape
works well—or you may never see them again.
34 MacAddict June 2004
x, NS the bottom end cap in place.
SCRUBBING IN:
Prep for Surgery
Prep the patient with liberal
applications of hot air: 1,500
watts delivered at low velocity via
a Conair Ultra SexYouUp. Aimed
at the bottom of the mini, a little
heat softens the glue that holds
reful prying pops
tis plate—watch
SECOND INCISION:
Take Off the Top End Cap
Repeat step 1 on the top end cap, taking extra precautions to
protect the Hold switch and headphone jack. When prying, do your
best to keep the white piece level with the mini’s top; if you wiggle,
angle, or bend ittoo much, you'll stress the connections between
these key components and the mini’s motherboard. The top part of
the Hold switch will separate and come off with the end cap,
but the headphone jack will stayput—unless you wiggled
the cap wrong.
PHOTOGRAPHY BY SAMANTHA BERG
Don't Miss. . ~~
The mini's
Vital Organs
INDUCED HERNIA:
Unplug the Click Wheel’s Data Cable
Since the Click Wheel is mounted in the aluminum
exoskeleton and also connected to the internal organs,
disconnecting the wheel’s plug from the motherboard is
vital to a successful disemboweling.
Remember: Pull on the plug, not on the cable.
INSIDE-OUTITIS:
Push Out the Innards
As they say in obstetrics, after the hard labor, it slides
right out. Same goes for the mini. A little push on
the posterioris all it takes to remove the mini’s inner
child—the board, battery, and hard disk—and their
connecting subsystem, aka the PCB (printed circuit
board) motherboard.
now...it’s a boy!
WHEELECTOMY:
Remove the Click Wheel
There’s really no reason to remove the Click Wheel
unless you plan on completely Frankensteining your mini
into, say, an old-fashioned music box. But if you must
do so, know that it’s tightly wedged into the aluminum
frame, and removing it will most likely scratch the
wheel’s surface and could break it. Always true to our
Hippocratic oath, we opted out of the wheelectomy.
Clik 1, good luck.
June 2004 MacAddict 35
The Bobi
At 138 pixels wide by 110 pixels tall,
the mini’s smaller-than-its-big-sibling’s
backlit face is clear, crisp, and protected
by a transparent plastic window in the
aluminum casing.
Samsung K4S561633C-RL75
The RAM allows the subject to store
32MB of music in this instant-access
buffer. Besides being quick, RAM is also
shockproof, so bump-induced hard-
drive burps don’t cause brain farts and
consequent stuttering playback.
RVOUS SYSTEM:
Portal Player PP5020
Playing Solitaire and shuffling songs takes
coordination. The mini keeps its stride with
Portal Player’s PP5020 Superintegration
System-On-Chip, packing dual SOMHz
ARM 7TDMI processors (the other iPods
use only one 133MHz chip). Some see this
little dualie rig as a harbinger of things
(video things) to come in future pocket-size
Apple devices.
All-in-One I/O
. The specimen’s most unique trait is its
bidirectional digestive tract, which moves.
data through the Dock Connector. On the
inside, a Philips PCF50605HN PMU (power
management unit) transfers juice to the
battery, while neighboring circuitry bridges
FireWire and USB connections to the hard
drive for data transfer. There’s also a
line-out audio signal that goes through the
Dock Connector—that’s what allows you to
connect speakers to your Dock.
Me es
C26. Ca7)
E240964
L
CAUTION: Li-Ion Battery
AXo0 Not Pur “ure
or Incinera Q
Assembled in China —
SANYO GS Soft Enery Co.,Ltd.
e
rete : ae
MER A Oe eC EL MEIN eH eu BH Ee ©
e
HEART:
Sanyo Li-lon ECO03
It’s the battery! Don’t you wish you could survive for
eight hours on sustenance this small?
® VOCAL COR
Wolfson Microelectronics WM8731
This wee audio processor turns computer-language audio
files—MP3, AAC, and the like—into music for your ears.
CEREBRAL CORTEX:
Hitachi HMS360404D5CFOO
The subject’s long-term memory lives on a 4GB
Hitachi Microdrive so coveted that at press time the
¢ © manufacturer (www.hitachigst.com) doesn’t even sell
the device on its Web site. Hitachi’s site provides the
AGB specs, but lists 512MB and 1GB models in stock.
You can, however, find these drives sold elsewhere
online—but not for less than $400. Granted, that’s
cheaper than a 4GB CompactFlash card, which runs
about $1,500 from Lexar (www.lexar.com).
Microdrive When All
If all goes wrong and your iPod mini flatlines, at least you have
}
| a workable 4GB Microdrive. We slapped ours into a SanDisk
Ultra FireWire ImageMate reader ($49.99, www.sandisk.com)
and a USB SmartDisk Flash Media Reader for CompactFlash
4GB DANAP 655-1160A =1XO5000 2PRAA+ G19.99, www.smartdisk.com), and it mounted on the desktop
as if it were still part of the ’Pod. But try as we might—even
using Carbon Copy Cloner (donationware, www.bombich.com)
to make a copy of another CF card—we couldn’t get our Nikon,
Olympus, and Canon digital cameras to recognize the drive.
rl
ise Fa
Reviews Editor Niko Coucouvanis would never sacrifice a mini just to hawk its Microdrive on
eBay—but he’s taking preliminary bids just in case something goes horribly wrong on reassembly.
June 2004 Ma¢/ 37
Mainstream Mac s pftware—some of
mre you mig ht even have sitting on
Jae Industrial Light + Magic.
38 MacAddict June 2004
By Kris Fone
ho says you need a fleet of SG! machines and
mega-high-end software to create award-winning
visual effects in Hollywood? Certainly not Todd Vaziri,
innovative digital artist at Industrial Light + Magic
(ILM). For the past two and a half years, Vaziri—who’s a
longtime Mac advocate and proud MacAddict subscriber
(and has a stack of issues to prove it)—has crafted
spectacular visual effects for the big screen, including
for Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl,
Hulk, and Star Wars: Episode |i—Attack of the Clones. And
he did it on a Mac with off-the-shelf software.
We visited Vaziri as he worked his magic on the
upcoming action-horror flick Van Helsing. As an evil
Pygmy Bat (a fierce-looking creature from Van Helsing)
eyed our every move, Vaziri showed
us how he created part of the opening
sequence in Van Helsing using nothing
more than a Mac, Adobe After Effects,
and Adobe Photoshop. If you’ve got
these tools, you too have the power
to make a world of make-believe
believable.
Twister 3.2 demo
June 2004 MacAddict 39
fter winding our way through ILM’s maze of office
suites, we found Vaziri sitting in the dark (he
leaves the lights off to get accurate color on his
monitors), listening to iTunes on an iBook at
his side. There’s also a Power Mac G4 at his feet
and an old, idle Indigo iMac behind him (it’s
his mom’s).
Vaziri has been a Mac guy since
being initiated into the platform
by his parents—his first machine
was a Mac Plus, which he held
onto until college. As a kid, he
became interested in visual
effects after seeing movies such
as Poltergeist, Back to the Future,
and, of course, Star Wars.
“| really wanted to know how
these things were made and
the magic behind them,” he
explains. In the beginning, he put
MacPaint through its paces before
Photoshop expanded what he
could do on his Mac. His forays
into visual effects began when
he started experimenting with matte paintings and Photoshop,
and then with After Effects to animate his projects.
For Vaziri, After Effects has become an invaluable tool. “It’s
surprisingly powerful,” he says. “There’s alot of depth to the
program, and the cool thing is that it’s relatively easy to learn
if you know Photoshop.” For the uninitiated, After Effects has
been the industry standard for creating motion graphics for
many years. For example, After Effects is the tool behind many
of those complex graphical animation sequences you see at the
opening of NFL games, television shows, and news broadcasts.
introduces the various monsters and establishes how
they relate to each other (ILM later converted this
sequence to black-and-white to give it a classic monster-movie
feel). In this scene, a mob of angry, torch-carrying villagers
chase Frankenstein's
monster into a giant
windmill. The villagers are
hell bent on destroying
the monster and begin
throwing torches at the
Structure to burn it down.
As Frankenstein's monstet
climbs up a few flights of
steps, the scene that we're
going to dissect begins.
Frankenstein’s monster,
who's carrying Dr.
Frankenstein, emerges
Vv an Helsing opens with a flashback sequence that
Helsing hits theaters May 7.
40 MacAddict June 2004
Tools of the Trade
Todd Vaziri mugs with a Pygmy Bat.
In Theaters
Universal Pictures’s Van Helsing stars Hugh Jackman as
Van Helsing, the legendary vampire hunter summoned to
Transylvania to take down Count Dracula, who’s on a mission
to destroy human civilization and rule the world. The film
also features Kate Beckinsale as Anna Valerious, who joins
forces with Van Helsing to defeat Dracula in the hopes of
freeing her family from a generations-old curse. Things really
turn chaotic when some other infamous monsters, including
Frankenstein’s monster and the Wolf Man, get in the way.
Written and directed by Stephen Sommers (The Mummy), Van
But beyond typical 2D compositing and animated text and
graphics handling, After Effects also features 3D compositing
and visual effects tools. On top of that, the Pro version of After
Effects handles a particle system, motion tracking, rendering
tools, warping tools, and more.
While Linux boxes power much of ILM to generate CG
(computer graphics) and do much of the heavy-duty composite
work, Macs play an integral
role in creating art and pre-
visualization composites and
sequences. Vaziri, however, has
taken Mac compositing beyond
just pre-vis—his seamless 3D
approach has catapulted his work
into the final cut. Vaziri says his
process involves “putting together
pieces of visual-effects shots, be
they blue-screen elements, live-
action elements, [or] miniature
elements shot on a stage.” He
adds, “It’s pretty much the last
step before the shot goes out
to film and people see it in
the theaters.”
But compositing involves more than just layering pieces
together to create a scene. Vaziri works hard to ensure that
each real element (film footage or photographic plate) blends
with every computer-generated one to make the audience truly
believe that every element exists together in one scene. He
Tefers to this part of his job as “sweetening.” It’s the last thing
that he does to “give it that last bit of reality.” Well, as real as
you can possibly get when you've got Frankenstein's monster,
Dracula, and the Wolf Man battling Wolverine...er, Hugh
Jackman...onscreen.
The Art of Making Monsters
‘on the windmill’s platform, which is flanked by flames. The
camera swoops in on a close-up of the monster before it pans
180 degrees and tilts down to show the angry village mob,
swarming the windmill three stories below—end of scene,
in reality, the main windmill footage was shot on location
in Prague and lacked any
background ambiance or angry
villagers—all you see is the
film crew and a partial blue
screen as the camera pans.
The windmill also wasn’t built
to scale and Is in reality much
smaller than it looks in the film.
For the mob scene, the director
shot multiple sequences of a
group of torch-equipped extras
standing in clumps in various
areas of the sound stage. This
is where Vaziri took over.
THERAW
"INGREDIENTS __ THE TASKS
© Main film footage of Combine all of the villager-group film Remove the camera lighting from
Frankenstein’s monster on clips into one large mob scene at the the shot
the windmill base of the windmill Remove the crew and equipment from
© Multiple film clips that @ Adda sky backdrop to give the setting a the shot
show small, angry groups of dark and gloomy feel Crop the lens fixture from the shot
villagers clumped together @ Add fire, smoke, and explosions around Create the illusion that the windmill
at various locations on the windmill to play up the intensity of platform is taller than it actually is
the set the scene Create the illusion of looking into the
monster’s electrified brain
June 2004 MacAddict 41
and then gave the tracked footage to Vaziri. Matchmoving is
a computerized process that lets visual-effects artists track
camera movements and key objects within a film sequence.
{t places a series of points in key areas of the frame, thus
allowing artists to bring that exact motion and framing into a
virtual environment for reference when compositing a scene.
Matchmoving is crucial for achieving realism when integrating
live elements and fabricated ones.
The main shot of the windmill is supposed to take place
outdoors, but the actual footage lacked a backdrop. Vaziri
took a cloudy sky photograph from ILM’s Digital Matte library
and manipulated it in Photoshop to give it a dark, gloomy
appearance. He then brought the photo into After Effects
and wrapped the 2D element behind and to the side of the
matchmoved windmill to serve as the environment’s backdrop.
Where There's Smoke, Add Fire
To create the effect that Frankenstein’s monster was being
embattled by a raging fire, Vaziri added more pyrotechnics. He
combed through ILM’s massive stock library of digitized movie
files to find various smoke, fire, and explosion elements—we're
talking real pyrotechnics footage shot at !LM on a black stage
and stored ina library for use in any ILM project.
Afterfinding the right pieces, he used the matchmoved
camera-tracking motion to help direct the timing of each
element within the scene. In After Effects, he placed two
continuous flame elements behind the windmill on each side at
different distances (for depth) to add intensity to the flameless
film frames. To add realism, he placed a large explosion and a
smoke element on the same piane behind the windmill, which
Vaziri placed real fiery pyrotechnics footage behind the windmilt
in his 3D After Effects composite.
F
Here’s how the flames appeared when combined with the fireless
film footage.
42 MacAddict June 2004
enhanced the burning effect. He also sprinkled in a few brief
flame flashes to add further frenzy to the environment.
Add Footage, Lose the Crew
To create the illusion that the windmill was taller than the actual
filmed structure, Vaziri placed the matchmoved elements (the
windmill platform and camera) high above the ground plane,
which is where he placed the villagers composites. This extra
distance created the illusion that the villagers were standing far
below the windmill platform.
Once all the visual effects elements were in place, Vaziti
brought in the main film footage in place of the matchmoved
elements and removed all the unwanted junk from the
shot—the crew and gear that appeared when the camera
panned, a fixture visible at the top of the camera frame, camera
lighting, and the backdrop of the windmill scene—to reveal the
composited elements beneath the layer.
To remove the crew and existing background from the shot,
Vaziri created a ton of roto-masks (@ process of selecting
areas with After Effects’ rotospline tool and then masking the
selections to make them transparent) to isolate the foreground
elements from the unwanted background stuff, and also pulled
blue screens (a method of calculating and extracting the blue-
screen elements from the foreground). He got rid of the lens
fixture by cropp
Showing the first 100000 of 262056 characters.