Loading…
Text content (OCR)
MAG
the most intelligent
grammar checker you can buy
CORRECT
GRAMMAR
Limited Use Software License Agreement
Microcomputers or Computer Networks
1. About this Agreement. This is the WordStar International Incorporated (“WordStar”) Limited Use Software License Agreement (the
Agreement”) which governs your use of the WordStar products enclosed with it including the manuals, media, computer program, and related
materials (the “Software”). This Agreement applies to the Software for a single microcomputer or the Software for a computer network (defined as a
file server connected to any combination of two or more work stations that are electronically linked and capable of sharing the use of a single software
program). The enclosed Software will not work on both a microcomputer and a computer network.
2. YOU AGREE TO THE TERMS OF THIS AGREEMENT BY THE ACT OF OPENING THE SEALED PACKAGE WHICH CONTAINS THE MEDIA.
DO NOT OPEN THE SEALED PACKAGE WITHOUT FIRST READING, UNDERSTANDING, AND AGREEING TO THE TERMS AND
CONDITIONS OF THIS AGREEMENT. IF YOU DO NOT AGREE TO THE TERMS OF THIS AGREEMENT, PROMPTLY RETURN THE SOFTWARE
‘TO YOUR DEALER FOR A FULL REFUND.
3. Grant of License. This license governs the use of the Software for either a single microcomputer or for a file server with appropriately licensed
‘work stations on a computer network. MICROCOMPUTER: If the enclosed Software is for use on a microcomputer, WordStar hereby grants you a
limited license to use the Software on a single terminal connected to a single microcomputer or on its temporary or permanent replacement. You may
not transfer or sublicense, either temporarily or permanently, your right to use the Software under this Agreement except as provided for in part 10 of
this Agreement. If you wish to use the Software on more than one (1) microcomputer, you must license additional copies from your dealer or from
WordStar. COMPUTER NETWORK: If the enclosed Software is for use on a computer network, WordStar hereby grants you a limited license to use
the Software on a computer network file server and with the workstation as described in this WordStar product. You may not transfer or sublicense,
either temporarily or permanently, your right to use the Software under this Agreement except as provided for in part 10 of this Agreement. If you
wish to use the Software on additional workstations, you must license additional workstations from your dealer or from WordStar.
4. Term. This Agreement is effective from the day you open the sealed package containing the media and continues until you return the original
media to WordStar, in which case you must also certify in writing that you have destroyed any archival copies you may have recorded on any
memory system or magnetic medium.
5, WordStar's Rights, You acknowledge that the Software is the sole and exclusive property of WordStar. By accepting this Agreement, you do not
become the owner of the Software, but you do have the right to use the Software in accordance with this Agreement. You agree not to disassemble,
decompile, or otherwise reverse engineer the Software.
6. Your Original Media/Archival Copies. The media enclosed contain an original WordStar label. Use the original media to make up to three (3)
“back-up” or archival copies for the purpose of running the Software program. If the enclosed Software is for use on a microcomputer, you should not
use the original media in your microcomputer except to create the archival copies. After recording the archival copies, place the original media in a
safe place. Other than these archival copies, you agree that no other copies of the Software will be made.
7. Customer Registration. WordStar may from time to time revise or update the Software. Revisions can be provided to you only if you have
returned the User Registration Card to WordStar and if your diskettes are the originals. WordStar’s customer services are available only to registered
WordStar users.
8. Limited Warranty. WordStar warrants for a period of ninety (90) days from the date of purchase that, under normal use, the material of the media
and the user manuals will not prove defective; that the Software program will prove to operate substantially in accordance with what is described in
the enclosed documentation; that the Software program is properly recorded on the media; and that the user manuals are substantially complete and
contain all information which WordStar deems necessary for the use of the Software.
WordStar or your dealer will replace flawed diskettes that are returned within ninety (90) days of the date of purchase. If you report, in writing, a
significant defect in the Software program, and WordStar is unable to correct the defect within ninety (90) days, you may return the Software to
WordStar for a full refund of the purchase price.
9. Liability. You agree that WordStar's entire liability, at WordStar’s option, shall be limited to replacement of the Software or a refund of the
purchase price.
WORDSTAR WILL NOT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DIRECT, INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES INCLUDING, FOR EXAMPLE,
LOSS OF PROFITS RESULTING FROM THE USE OR THE INABILITY TO USE THE SOFTWARE OR ARISING OUT OF ANY BREACH OF THE
WARRANTY, EVEN IF WORDSTAR HAS BEEN ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES.
SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW THE LIMITATION OR EXCLUSION OF LIABILITY FOR INCIDENTAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, SO
‘THE ABOVE LIMITATION OR EXCLUSION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU. YOU MAY ALSO HAVE OTHER RIGHTS WHICH VARY FROM STATE
TOSTATE.
10. Sublicensing and Transferability. You may transfer or sublicense your right to use this Software. Should you sublicense or transfer your right to
use the Software under this Agreement, the new user, owner, or transferee (the “Transferee”) will not be covered under the Limited Warranty as
expressed in part 8. WordStar will not be liable for any damages in any amount to a Transferee. The Transferee must agree to all other terms and
conditions of this Agreement before taking possession of the Software.
11. Governing Law. This Agreement is to be governed by, and interpreted in accordance with the laws of the State of California and the United
States. Any terms or conditions of this Agreement found to be unenforceable, illegal, or contrary to public policy in any jurisdiction will be deleted, but
will not affect the remaining terms and conditions of this Agreement.
12. Entire Agreement. This Agreement constitutes the entire agreement between you and WordStar.
13. For Government Users. RESTRICTED RIGHTS LEGEND: Use, duplication, or disclosure by the Government is subject to restrictions as set forth
in subparagraph (c)(1)(ii) of the Rights in Technical Data and Computer Software clause at DFARS 252.227-7013. WordStar International Incorporated,
201 Alameda del Prado, P.O. Box 6113, Novato, CA 94949.
Grammar.
for Macintosh
feats
Notices
Copyright © 1993 Writing Tools Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Writing Tools Group, Inc.
isa subsidiary of WordStar International Incorporated. No part of this publication may be
reproduced, displayed on a computer system, transmitted, transcribed, stored in a retrieval
system, or translated into any language or computer language, in any form or by any means,
electronic, mechanical, magnetic, optical, chemical, manual, or otherwise, without the prior
written consent of Writing Tools Group, Inc.
Inquiries may be forwarded to:
WordStar International Incorporated WordStar International Limited
201 Alameda del Prado Chancery House
P.O. Box 6113 St. Nicholas Way
Novato, CA 94948 Sutton, Surrey
USA. SM1 1JB, England
Correct Grammar is a registered trademark of Writing Tools Group, Inc. CorrecText is a
registered trademark of Houghton Mifflin Company. WordStar is a registered trademark of
WordStar International Incorporated. All other product names in this publication are
trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.
CorrecText Grammar Correction System licensed from Houghton Mifflin Company.
Copyright © 1990 by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved. Underlying
technology developed by Language Systems, Inc. U.S. Pat. Nos. 4,868,750; 4,864,502;
4,864,501; 4,773, 009; 4,771,401; 4,730,269; and 4,580,241. Canadian Pat. No. 1,203,916.
Reproduction or disassembly of embodied programs or databases prohibited.
No investigation has been made of common-law trademark rights in any word. Words that
are known to have current registrations are shown with an initial capital. The inclusion or
exclusion of any word, or its capitalizations, in the CorrecText Grammar Correction System
database is not, however, an expression of the developer's opinion as to whether or not it is
subject to proprietary rights, nor is it to be regarded as affecting the validity of any
trademark.
RESTRICTED RIGHTS LEGEND: The use, duplication, or disclosure by the Government is
subject to restrictions as set forth in subparagraph (c)(1)(ii) of the Rights in Technical Data
and Computer Software Clause at DFARS 252.227-7013. Writing Tools Group, Inc., 201
Alameda del Prado, P.O. Box 6113, Novato, CA 94948.
CGM3-01B
Contents
Preface vii
Chapter 1 Getting Started
Before You Begin
What You Need to Get Started
Enhancing Performance
Installing Correct Grammar.
If You’re Upgrading from a Previous Version
Installing Correct Grammar on a Network
About the Correct Grammar Files
The Read Me First File
Starting Correct Grammar
Starting with a Copy of Launch CG
Starting with an Alias
Starting from the Apple Menu.
COMANNAAWWNNYE HE
Dragging to the Icon
any
=)
Choosing a User Dictionary
Learning About Correct Grammar
Using Learn CG
Using Tour CG
If You Need Help
System 7.0 Balloon Help
If You Have Problems.
Rm
ar
-
any
a
i)
m
a
B
i
Contents
Chapter 3 Choosing Options
Using the Options Menu
Making Backup Copies of Documents
Chapter 2 Using Correct Grammar
Correct Grammar and Word Processors
Checking a Document Directly
Opening a Document
Using the Correction Dialog Box.
When Correct Grammar Makes a Suggestion.
Editing a Document
Scrolling a Document
Closing a Document
Saving Your Changes
Interrupting the Checking Process
Resuming the Checking Process
Checking a Document Using the Clipboard
Moving Text onto the Clipboard.
Using the Correction Dialog Box.
When Correct Grammar Makes a Suggestion
Editing Text on the Clipboard
Scrolling the Clipboard.
Saving Changes
Interrupting the Checking Process
Tips on Working with Correct Grammar.
Requesting Automatic Spelling Suggestions
a)
16
19
19
20
BRRR
26
27
27
29
31
31
32
33
35
36
37
37
38
39
Contents
Using a User Dictionary 39
Deleting or Changing a Word in the User Dictionary 40
Adding a Word to the User Dictionary 41
Adding Abbreviations to the User Dictionary 42
Emphasizing Related Errors 43
Checking Documents for Readability 45
Displaying the Readability Summary. 46
Saving the Readability Summary 46
Printing the Readability Summary 47
Checking for Readability Only 47
Making a Language Choice 48
Chapter 4 Customizing Correct Grammar 51
Deciding on a Predefined Style Guide 52
Displaying the List of Predefined Style Guides 52
Reviewing Rule Settings 54
Choosing a Predefined Style Guide 56
Customizing a Style Guide 57
Grammar Rule Classes 57
Using the Grammar Rules Dialog Box 60
Turning Off a Grammar Rule 62
Turning Off a Grammar Rule Class 63
Turning On a Grammar Rule Class 64
Customizing Readability Rules 64
Appendix A Common Grammar Problems val
Appendix B The Philosophy and Methodology
of Correct Grammar 7
Why Correct Grammar Works the Way It Does 77
Contents
vi
How Correct Grammar Checks Your Document.
Sentence Expert
Dictionary Expert
Parsing Expert
Parse Analyzing Expert
What Is Readability and How Does
Correct Grammar Check for It?
Readability Scores
Appendix C Writing Your Own Rules
How Rules Work
Writing New Rules
Using MAKERULES to Compile the Rule File
The Rule File
RULETYPE Statements
RULE Statements
EMn and ALTn Statements
Comments,
Escape Sequences in Error Messages
More Complex Rules.
Spelling Errors in Matched Text
Operators
Macros and Their Functions
Rule Compiler Error Messages
Miscellaneous Error Messages
Syntax Errors
Index
80
80
81
82
83
86
89
89
91
93
93,
94
95
98
99
100
107
108
109
117
117
117
125
Preface
Overview
Correct Grammar is based on the powerful CorrecText® Grammar
Correction System developed by the Houghton Mifflin Company and
the world’s leading authorities on computational linguistics.
Correct Grammar can function as an online editor and help you pro-
duce clearly written, readable documents by checking your documents
for spelling, word usage, grammar, and readability.
You will find using Correct Grammar as easy as using your spelling
checker—just let it search for possible problems, and you can respond
to the easy prompts and menu choices.
What Correct Grammar Does
Correct Grammar identifies errors in grammar, word usage, punctua-
tion, style, and spelling.
In addition, Correct Grammar can apply standard readability tests to
your documents to locate readability problems, such as overly long
sentences or passive voice. And when Correct Grammar finishes
checking your document, it can display a summary of its readability.
As Correct Grammar checks your document, it suggests corrections
that you can make. You can also request more information about the
suggestions and related problems.
vii
Preface
Correct Grammar can display explanations that tell you what may be
wrong with the text that it has highlighted, how to correct the text, and
how to avoid the mistake in your future writing.
Why Correct Grammar Is Easy to Use
= Correct Grammar is easy to install.
You just run the installation program, and Correct Grammar is
automatically installed onto your desktop.
= You can check all or part of a document.
You can check as much of a document as you want; you don’t have
to waste time doing unnecessary checking.
= Correct Grammar provides online help.
Just use the Help command. If you are using System 7.0 or later,
Help appears in balloons.
= Many of the grammatical suggestions are linked to an online
tutorial.
When Correct Grammar finds a grammatical error in your
document, it describes the error and suggests how to correct it.
Many explanations are linked to the online tutorial, so you can use
the Tutorial command to display a lesson on the writing principle
that applies to the suggestion. The tutorial may include examples
of correct sentences or word usage. When you finish with the
tutorial, Correct Grammar returns you to the same place in your
document.
= You can use existing grammar rules or create your own rules.
Correct Grammar is based on the expertise of the publishers of the
American Heritage Dictionary. It has thousands of grammar rules
and its own 135,000-word spelling dictionary.
viii
Preface
You can either use these rules or write your own rules. The Correct
Grammar MakeRules application allows you to create rules that
Correct Grammar uses to find and correct errors. The rules you
create may, for example, conform to a corporate standard or your
personal writing style.
Correct Grammar can check grammar in many types of word
processing documents. And it works with any application that can
copy text to the Clipboard.
About This Manual
This manual consists of the following chapters and appendices:
Chapter 1, “Getting Started,” describes how to install Correct
Grammar on your Macintosh, how to start Correct Grammar for
the first time, how to learn to use Correct Grammar, and what to
do if you need help or have problems installing or using Correct
Grammar.
Chapter 2, “Using Correct Grammar,” describes how to use Correct
Grammar to check a document.
Chapter 3, “Using Options,” describes the options that you can use
to modify the way Correct Grammar checks your documents.
Chapter 4, “Customizing Correct Grammar,” describes how to
choose, review, and customize predefined style guides.
Appendix A, “Examples of Common Grammar Problems,”
describes common grammar problems and how Correct Grammar
suggests correcting them.
Appendix B, “The Philosophy and Methodology of Correct
Grammar,” provides background information on how Correct
Grammar checks documents and why it works the way it does.
Preface
= Appendix C, “Writing Your Own Rules,” gives detailed
instructions for writing your own grammar rules and compiling
them with the MakeRules application.
Chapter 1
Getting Started
In this chapter you'll learn
a What you need to get started with Correct Grammar
Q How to install the application on your computer
a How to start Correct Grammar for the first time
a How to use the tutorial files to learn about Correct Grammar
Before You Begin
To set up and use Correct Grammar on your Macintosh, you need an
understanding of basic Macintosh concepts. Before you begin instal-
ling Correct Grammar, you should know how to
a Use icons on the desktop
a Use the mouse to point, click, and double-click
a Start and quit applications
a Open, copy, and delete documents
Getting Started
= Pull down menus and choose commands
= Scroll in windows
= Use the Clipboard to store information
If you are not familiar with these tasks, see the manual that came with
your system software disks.
What You Need to Get Started
To use Correct Grammar, you must have a Macintosh computer with a
hard disk.
Also, your Macintosh System and Finder files must be compatible
with Correct Grammar. You must be using System 6.0 or later, with a
comparable Finder version. (Correct Grammar is compatible with
System 7.0 and later.) To check the System and Finder versions on
your computer, choose About the Finder from the Apple (@ ) menu.
If your system software is not compatible with Correct Grammar, you
can get the latest versions from your authorized Apple dealer in a sys-
tem software update.
Note: It’s a good idea to install your word processing programs before
you install Correct Grammar, although you can also install word pro-
cessing programs later.
Enhancing Performance
You may enhance the performance of Correct Grammar (and many
other applications) by turning on RAM Cache. RAM Cache causes
information that is frequently obtained from the hard disk to be saved
in RAM. To find out how to turn on RAM Cache, see your Macintosh
reference manual. Set RAM Cache for 64K or higher.
Installing Correct Grammar
Installing Correct Grammar
The Correct Grammar program and its associated files are contained
on two disks. The disks contain an installation program that automat-
ically installs Correct Grammar on the hard disk.
If you do not have an earlier version of Correct Grammar on your
computer, follow the steps below to install this version of Correct
Grammar.
@ To install Correct Grammar:
1 Insert the Correct Grammar Disk 1 into the disk drive.
Note: Disk 1 may contain a Read Me First file. This file contains
information that was developed too late to be included in the
manual. Be sure to open this file and read it before continuing the
installation. To open the file, just double-click the Read Me First
icon.
2 Double-click the Correct Grammar Installer icon.
3 Follow the instructions on the screen.
If You’re Upgrading from a Previous Version
If you're upgrading from a previous version (except any version of
Correct Grammar 1.0), you can save the files containing your user dic-
tionary, customized style guides, option preferences, and compiled
user rules to use with the new version of Correct Grammar. To deter-
mine whether you want to save these files, consider the following:
User Dictionary The Correct Grammar user dictionary file contains
the words you added with the Add button while using Correct
Grammar, unless you have been sharing the MS Word user dictionary.
If you have been sharing the Word user dictionary, that dictionary con-
tains your added words and you don’t need to save the Correct
Grammar user dictionary file. The Correct Grammar user dictionary
Getting Started
is named “User Dictionary” and is stored in the Correct Grammar
Preferences folder.
Style Guides If you customized any of the style guides, or developed
your own, you may want to save them. Customized style guides are
stored in the Correct Grammar Preferences folder. The names of the
original style guides are listed in Chapter 4, “Customizing Correct
Grammar.”
Preferences This file contains your option choices and current stand-
ard style guide. The Preferences file is stored in the Correct Grammar
Preferences folder.
CompiledRules This file contains the grammar rules you have
written and compiled with the MakeRules application. The
CompiledRules file is stored in the Correct Grammar folder.
To save any or all of the above files from a previous version for use
with this version of Correct Grammar, follow the steps below.
@ To save files and install Correct Grammar:
1 Inthe System folder, open the Correct Grammar Preferences folder.
2. Drag the files you want to save out of the Correct Grammar
Preferences folder and store them on the desktop.
3 Close the Correct Grammar Preferences folder, and then close the
System folder.
4 Ifyou want to save the rules you have written, open the Correct
Grammar folder and drag the CompiledRules file to the desktop.
5 Insert the Correct Grammar Disk 1 into the disk drive.
10
11
12
13
Installing Correct Grammar
Note: Disk 1 may contain a Read Me First file. This file contains
information that was developed too late to be included in the
manual. Be sure to open this file and read it before continuing with
the installation. To open the file, just double-click the Read Me
First icon.
Double-click the Correct Grammar Installer icon.
Follow the instructions on the screen to install Correct Grammar.
Double-click the Correct Grammar application icon to start Correct
Grammar. Correct Grammar asks if you want to share MS Word’s
user dictionary.
If you use MS Word as your word processor, click the Yes button.
If you use another word processing program, click the No button.
Correct Grammar displays the Open dialog box.
Choose Cancel to close the Open dialog box.
Pull down the File menu and choose Quit.
Correct Grammar creates a new Preferences folder in the System
folder.
If you are saving the CompiledRules file, drag it to the Correct
Grammar folder.
Open the System folder and drag the other saved files to the new
Correct Grammar Preferences folder. This completes the
installation and Correct Grammar is now ready to use.
Note: If you are using System 6.0.8 or earlier, the Correct Grammar
Preferences folder is located in the current System folder. If you
are using System 7.0 or later, the Correct Grammar Preferences
folder is located in the Preferences folder in the current System
folder.
Getting Started
Installing Correct Grammar on a Network
Correct Grammar can be installed and used on a network. If you want
to use Correct Grammar on a network, you must obtain a network
license agreement and installation instructions from WordStar®
International Incorporated.
About the Correct Grammar Files
After you install Correct Grammar and open the Correct Grammar
folder, you'll see the icons for the Correct Grammar application and its
associated files.
The Correct Grammar files are described below:
Correct Grammar This is the application file.
Learn CG and TourCG You can use these files to learn how to use
Correct Grammar and to see the kinds of errors Correct Grammar can
help you fix.
Launch CG You use this program to start Correct Grammar from
within other folders or from the desktop.
Read Me First This file contains last-minute information about using
Correct Grammar.
Using CG with MS Word This file contains information about using
Correct Grammar with Microsoft Word.
Using CG with WordPerfect This file contains information about
using Correct Grammar with WordPerfect.
Using CG with Others This file contains information about using
Correct Grammar with other word processors and desktop publishing
programs.
Starting Correct Grammar
MakeRules This is the application you use to compile the grammar
rules you write. For more information, see Appendix C, “Writing
Your Own Rules.”
Correct Grammar Data This folder contains the style guides and
dictionaries Correct Grammar uses to check documents.
UserRules This file contains a template for writing new grammar
rules. When you write your own grammar rules, you must write them
in this file. For more information, see Appendix C, “Writing Your
Own Rules.”
TeachText This is the Macintosh plain text (ASCII) word processing
application. You use this application to read and print plain text docu-
ments like the Read Me First file and the UserRules file. You also use
TeachText (or another ASCII word processor) to write new rules in the
UserRules file.
The Read Me First File
If you see a Read Me First file when you open the Correct Grammar
folder, be sure to open and read it before using this version of Correct
Grammar. Double-click the Read Me First icon or retrieve the file,
which is a plain text document, with your word processor. The file
contains any last-minute information about Correct Grammar that is
not included in this manual.
Starting Correct Grammar
To start Correct Grammar, open the Correct Grammar folder and
double-click the Correct Grammar icon or the Launch CG icon. You
can also make Correct Grammar easier to use by setting up additional
ways to start the program. Additional ways to start Correct Grammar
are described in this section.
Getting Started
Note: When you start Correct Grammar for the first time, you'll be
asked to choose a user dictionary for Correct Grammar to use. The
steps for choosing a user dictionary are described later in this chapter.
Starting with a Copy of Launch CG
In addition to starting Correct Grammar as shown above, you can start
Correct Grammar by using copies of the Launch CG program. You do
this by placing copies of the Launch CG icon on your desktop or in
various folders on your hard disk. For example, you might put copies
of Launch CG in folders containing documents and in the folder con-
taining your word processor. Then Launch CG is always available in
the active window when you quit your word processor, and you
won't need to search through folders to locate and start Correct
Grammar.
@ To make a copy of Launch CG:
1 Open the Correct Grammar folder.
2 Hold down the Option key, and drag the Launch CG icon to the
desktop or to another folder.
3 Release the mouse button. The computer copies the program and a
copy of the Launch CG icon appears.
You can make as many copies of Launch CG as you want, but you
can put only one copy on the desktop and in each folder.
To start Correct Grammar, double-click the Launch CG icon.
Starting with an Alias
If you are using System 7.0 or later, you can create aliases for the
Correct Grammar application and put them wherever you want. Once
you create a Correct Grammar alias, just double-click it to start Correct
Grammar.
Starting Correct Grammar
@ To create a Correct Grammar alias:
1 Open the Correct Grammar folder.
2 Select the Correct Grammar application icon.
3 Atthe File menu, choose Make Alias.
The alias icon appears with its name in italic type (you can edit the
name if you want).
4 Drag the alias icon to the desktop or to a folder.
To start Correct Grammar, double-click the alias icon.
Starting from the Apple Menu
If you are using System 7.0 or later, you can start Correct Grammar
from the Apple menu instead of having to find a Correct Grammar
alias or Launch CG icon.
@ To add Correct Grammar to the Apple menu:
1 Create a Correct Grammar alias as described above in “Starting
with an Alias.”
2 Open the System folder, and drag the alias icon to the folder
named Apple Menu Items.
To start Correct Grammar, pull down the Apple menu and choose the
Correct Grammar alias.
Dragging to the Icon
If you are using System 7.0 or later, you can start Correct Grammar
and begin checking a document in one step. Just drag the icon of the
document you want to check to a Correct Grammar alias or to the
Getting Started
Correct Grammar application icon, and then release the mouse button.
If the document is a word processing document, Correct Grammar
starts, opens the document, and begins checking it.
Choosing a User Dictionary
10
The user dictionary is a special dictionary file that you use with
Correct Grammar to check spelling. This file allows you to add words
that a standard spelling dictionary might not recognize or words that
might be flagged as misspellings (for example, trade names, company
names, or names of individuals).
Correct Grammar is designed to share the Microsoft Word user dic-
tionary. If you use MS Word as your word processor, you can add
words to its user dictionary using Word or Correct Grammar, and the
words will be recognized as correct by both programs. If you do not
use MS Word, Correct Grammar will use its own user dictionary.
When you start Correct Grammar for the first time, you must select a
user dictionary. You can also select a user dictionary using the
Options menu. To start Correct Grammar for the first time and select
a user dictionary, follow the steps in the procedure below.
@ To select a user dictionary:
1 Start Correct Grammar using one of the procedures described
above. Correct Grammar displays a message asking if you want to
share the MS Word user dictionary.
2 If youare using MS Word as your word processor and you want
Correct Grammar to share the Word user dictionary, click the Yes
button.
If you are not using MS Word as your word processor, click the No
button.
Learning About Correct Grammar
Correct Grammar displays the Open dialog box so you can select a
document to check.
If you want to change your user dictionary later, see “Using a User
Dictionary” in Chapter 3, “Choosing Options.”
Learning About Correct Grammar
The Correct Grammar folder contains two files, Learn CG and Tour
GG, that can help you learn about Correct Grammar.
Using Learn CG
The Learn CG document is a tutorial that introduces you to Correct
Grammar. You can use this file to learn, for example, how to correct
mistakes Correct Grammar finds or how to ignore suggestions Correct
Grammar makes.
Learn CG contains a sample document that shows you how to use the
Correct Grammar checking features. The document contains
deliberate errors that Correct Grammar detects. Correct Grammar
stops when it finds one of these errors. The tutorial describes the error
and how Correct Grammar suggests correcting it.
The best way to learn about Correct Grammar is to read what Learn
CG displays on your screen, and follow the instructions.
@ To use Learn CG:
1 Open the Correct Grammar folder and double-click the Learn CG
icon. Correct Grammar starts and begins checking the sample
document.
Note: If Correct Grammar is already started, choose Open from the
File menu, find Learn CG in the list box, and double-click its icon.
Getting Started
2 When Correct Grammar displays a suggestion, read the suggestion
in the upper part of the screen, the explanation below it, and the
Learn CG text in the lower part of screen.
3 Click an Action button or choose a command from the Action
menu to tell Correct Grammar what to do.
When Correct Grammar finishes checking Learn CG, the Save
dialog box appears.
4 Click the Discard button. The Readability Summary appears.
5 Click the OK button, and choose Quit from the File menu. Correct
Grammar returns you to the desktop.
Using Tour CG
The Tour CG file contains a short, poorly written letter. The purpose
of the Tour file is to provide examples of errors Correct Grammar
finds and show how it can help you correct them. For example, Tour
CG shows you how Correct Grammar finds and corrects run-on sen-
tences, verb agreement problems, split infinitives, redundancies, long
noun strings, and spelling errors.
Tour CG allows you to practice using Correct Grammar and to explore
its power and versatility. When you start Tour CG, Correct Grammar
automatically checks the document and stops when it finds a problem.
If you're not sure how to respond to the errors Correct Grammar
finds, use Learn CG first and then come back to the Tour file.
@ To use Tour CG:
1 Open the Correct Grammar folder and double-click the Tour CG
icon. Correct Grammar starts and begins checking the document.
12
If You Need Help
Note: If Correct Grammar is already started, choose Open from the
File menu. Find the Tour CG file in the list box and double-click its
icon. Correct Grammar will start and begin checking the document.
2 When Correct Grammar makes a suggestion, read the suggestion,
the explanation, if any, and the Tour CG text.
3 Click an Action button or choose a command from the Action
menu to tell Correct Grammar what to do.
When Correct Grammar finishes checking Tour CG, the Save
dialog box appears.
4 Click the Discard button. The Readability Summary appears.
5 Click the OK button, and choose Quit from the File menu. Correct
Grammar returns you to the desktop.
If You Need Help
Correct Grammar provides online help for the following:
= Using Action commands
To get help with using Action commands, choose Help from the
Action menu or click the Help button in the Action button bar in
the Correction window.
= Changing style guides
To get help with changing style guides, click the Help button in the
Rule Classes dialog box.
= Changing readability rules
To get help with changing readability rules, click the Help button
in the Readability Rules dialog box.
Getting Started
System 7.0 Balloon Help
If you are using System 7.0 or later, Correct Grammar provides help in
balloons. You can turn on Balloon Help at any time by clicking the
Help button. You can also turn on Balloon Help by choosing Show
Help from the ? menu. As you move the mouse pointer to menu
choices or buttons, windows, or boxes containing help, Correct
Grammar displays the help information in balloons. To turn off
Balloon Help, click the Help Off button or choose Hide Balloons from
the ? menu.
If You Have Problems
14
If you have problems installing or using Correct Grammar, and you
cannot resolve them by reading this manual or the online help, contact
WordStar Technical Support. For more information, see the WordStar
Support Policy card in your Correct Grammar package.
If you are a CompuServe subscriber, you can communicate with us
through the Writing Tools section of the WordStar Forum (Go
WordStar).
Chapter 2
Using Correct Grammar
In this chapter, you'll learn how to
a Use Correct Grammar to check documents directly
a Use Correct Grammar to check documents on the Clipboard
Correct Grammar checks documents in one of two ways depending on
the word processor that created the document you're checking.
Here are the two ways Correct Grammar checks documents:
a Correct Grammar checks documents directly. With this method,
you use Correct Grammar to open your document and check it. If
you make changes you want to save, Correct Grammar saves the
changes directly to your document. With documents produced by
several popular word processors, Correct Grammar preserves the
page layout, formatting, fonts, and highlighting. You can also use
the direct method to check documents produced in plain text
(ASCII) format.
To use Correct Grammar to check a document directly, see
“Checking a Document Directly” later in this chapter.
a Correct Grammar also checks document text on the Clipboard.
With this method, you use your word processor to open the
document and save all or part of it to the Clipboard. Then, you
open the Clipboard with Correct Grammar and check the text. If
Using Correct Grammar
you make changes you want to save, Correct Grammar saves them
to the Clipboard and you use your word processor to paste the
changes into your document. With documents produced by
several word processors, Correct Grammar preserves the page
layout, formatting, fonts, and highlighting.
To use the Clipboard to check a document, see “Checking a
Document Using the Clipboard” later in this chapter.
Correct Grammar and Word Processors
16
Correct Grammar works with word processors and other text-produc-
ing applications in different ways depending on whether Correct
Grammar can read and write the native file format and the Clipboard
file format of the word processor. There are five categories:
Category 1
You can open the document file using the Correct Grammar Open
command, check the document, and save changes to the document in
the original file format, retaining the formatting and style attributes
(page layout, highlighting, fonts) of the original document.
You can also exchange text between the document and the Clipboard
using the Macintosh Copy and Paste functions. With Category 1 pro-
grams, Correct Grammar can check text on the Clipboard and save
changes to the Clipboard, retaining the formatting and style attributes
of the original document.
Category 2
You can open the document file using the Correct Grammar Open
command, check the document, and save changes to the document in
the original file format, retaining the formatting and style attributes
(page layout, highlighting, fonts) of the original document. (This is
the same as Category 1.)
Correct Grammar and Word Processors
You can also exchange text between the document and the Clipboard
using the Macintosh Copy and Paste functions. With Category 2 word
processors, Correct Grammar can check text on the Clipboard and
save changes to the Clipboard, but will not retain the formatting and
style attributes of the original document.
If you want to use the Clipboard to check grammar on Category 2
documents, it is recommended that you check grammar before adding
style and formatting attributes.
Category 3
You cannot open the document file using the Correct Grammar Open
command.
You can exchange text between the document and the Clipboard using
the Macintosh Copy and Paste functions. With Category 3 word pro-
cessors, Correct Grammar can check text on the Clipboard and save
changes to the Clipboard, retaining the formatting and style attributes
of the original document.
Category 4
You cannot open the word processor’s document file using the Correct
Grammar Open command.
You can exchange text between the document and the Clipboard using
the Macintosh Copy and Paste functions. With Category 4 word pro-
cessors, Correct Grammar can check text on the Clipboard and save
changes to the Clipboard, but will not retain the formatting and style
attributes of the original document.
If you want to use the Clipboard to check grammar on Category 4
documents, it is recommended that you check grammar before adding
style and formatting attributes.
Category 5
Correct Grammar can be used with word processors that can produce
document files in plain text (ASCII) format. If you cannot use Correct
cg
Using Correct Grammar
18
Grammar with your word processor using one of the methods
described in categories 1-4, save your document in a plain text file and
then check it with Correct Grammar using the direct checking method.
(For more information, see “Checking a Document Directly” later in
this chapter.) When you finish checking grammar, use your word pro-
cessor to convert the document back to its original file format. You
can open plain text (ASCII) files using the Correct Grammar Open
command, check the document, and save changes to the document in
the plain text file format.
You can also exchange text between plain text files and the Clipboard
using the Macintosh Copy and Paste functions.
In addition to word processors, many other applications produce text
documents that Correct Grammar can check. These applications
include spreadsheets, databases, desktop utilities, and most modem
communication programs. To check text documents produced by
these applications, save the text you want to check in plain text
(ASCII) format and then check it using the direct checking method.
The following table summarizes the word processor categories.
1 Y Y Y
2 Y ¥ N
3 N x Y!
4 N x N
5 a Y N/A
To find out how Correct Grammar works with your word processor,
see the files named “Using CG with MS Word,” “Using CG with
WordPerfect,” or “Using CG with Others” in the Correct Grammar
folder.
Checking a Document Directly
Checking a Document Directly
When you check a document directly, Correct Grammar opens the
document and saves changes directly to the document. The direct
method also allows you to interrupt checking and resume checking,
later, starting in the same place in the document where you stopped
earlier. The direct method allows you to switch between documents
quickly and easily.
Checking a document directly in Correct Grammar involves the fol-
lowing tasks:
= Opening a document using Correct Grammar
a Checking grammar and spelling
= Making changes in the document using Correct Grammar
commands
m Saving changes to the document
Opening a Document
You can open a document in one of the following ways:
= If youare using System 7.0 or later, start Correct Grammar and
open a document by dragging its icon to the Correct Grammar
application icon or an alias icon. Correct Grammar starts, opens
the document, and begins checking.
You can also start Correct Grammar by double- clicking the
application icon or an alias icon or choose Open from the File
menu. Correct Grammar displays the Open dialog box with the
message Open document to check.
Select the document you want to check and click the Open button.
Correct Grammar starts checking the document.
= If you are using System 6.0.8 or earlier, start Correct Grammar by
double-clicking either the application icon or a Launch CG icon, or
18
Using Correct Grammar
by choosing Open from the File menu. Correct Grammar displays
the Open dialog box with the message Open document to check.
Select the document you want to check and click the Open button.
Correct Grammar starts checking the document.
Note: If you are using Correct Grammar with MultiFinder, here is a
point to remember: If you attempt to start Correct Grammar again
while it is already running in the background, you will see the
message Some ‘Correct Grammar’ documents could not be opened or
printed. Please open the documents from within the application.
To bring Correct Grammar to the foreground to check a document,
click the MultiFinder icons in the menu bar until you see the
Correct Grammar icon, or choose Correct Grammar from the
Apple menu.
Using the Correction Dialog Box
20
When Correct Grammar starts, it displays the Correction dialog box.
ek [carn C6 (efault Style Guide) =
Consider using “that” as the restrictive relative pronoun
Some writers prefer to use ‘that’ rather than ‘which’ in restrictive a
(defining) relative clauses. If the relative clause is nonrestrictive, ‘which’
should be preceded by a comma.
Learning Correct Grammer:
Welcome to Correct Grammar (CG) and to our tutorial document [IN has
deliberate errors. CG flags each error by highlighting it. AT EACH ERROR,
read this text. For this first example, replace “which” by clicking the
Correct button.
el
The title bar displays the name of the document and the current style
guide being used to check the document. The Action button bar
divides the dialog box in half. In the lower part of the dialog box,
Checking a Document Directly
Correct Grammar displays the text of the document being checked. In
the upper part of the dialog box, Correct Grammar displays sugges-
tions, choices, directions, and tutorial information.
When Correct Grammar Makes a Suggestion
When Correct Grammar finds an apparent problem in a document, it
stops checking the document and displays the document text in the
lower part of the screen, with the problem highlighted. In the upper
part of the screen, Correct Grammar displays a suggestion for resolv-
ing the problem. Depending on the type of suggestion, Correct
Grammar may also display a list of choices and directions for resolv-
ing the problem.
Learn C6 (Default Style Guid) —=—=—=<=r|
The word "werd" is not in Main or User Dictionary.
Choose @ suggestion, Ignore, or revise text.
If you don’t want to add @ word to your user dictionary, just click Ignore.
CG will recognize that word until the end of your session, when you quit CG.
If you have deliberately misspelled a werd (sic), click on Skip 1X. Then CG
will flag any further occurrences of the as misspellings.
KT
When Correct Grammar makes a suggestion, you can do one of the
following:
= Use an action command to tell Correct Grammar what to do.
= Click the Help button for information about your current choices.
= Click the document text and make changes.
= Double-click a replacement word from the spelling list.
21
Using Correct Grammar
22
Using the Action Commands
The action commands tell Correct Grammar what action to take. The
action commands appear on the Action menu and on buttons in the
Correction dialog box and will vary, depending on the suggestion
Correct Grammar makes. For example, the Look Up command
replaces the Correct command when Correct Grammar makes a spell-
ing suggestion.
Correct
Ignore 1
Next] 38N
Quiet 3D
add en
Tutorial
Help
To choose an action command, click the button or choose the com-
mand from the Action menu. Ifa button is double-outlined, pressing
the Return key causes the same action as clicking the button. You can
also choose a command by using its keyboard equivalent. The key-
board equivalents are displayed next to the commands on the Action
menu.
Use This
Command To Do This
Add Add the highlighted word to your user dictionary.
The Add command appears when Correct Grammar
questions the spelling of a word.
If you are sharing the MS Word user dictionary,
using the Add command adds the word to that
dictionary. For more information, see “Choosing a
User Dictionary” in Chapter 1, “Getting Started.”
Use This
Command
Checking a Document Directly
To Do This
Check
Correct
Help
Ignore
Look Up
Next
Resume checking the document, including the
changes you just made. The Check command
appears when you click in the text and start typing
new text or deleting existing text.
Insert the correction in your text and recheck the
sentence. The Correct command appears when
Correct Grammar displays a suggested correction.
Get help with Correct Grammar.
Tell Correct Grammar not to make the suggested
change. Correct Grammar resumes checking.
Using the Ignore command on a spelling suggestion
causes the word to be accepted for the remainder of
the grammar checking session. Use the Skip 1x
command if you want Correct Grammar to skip the
current instance but make the same spelling
suggestion if the word occurs again.
Note: If you want to turn off the rule that flags this
error, use the Quiet command instead of Ignore.
Ask Correct Grammar to make alternative spelling
suggestions. The Look Up command replaces the
Correct command when Correct Grammar finds an
apparent misspelling. The spelling suggestions
appear in a list above the Help button.
Skip the current paragraph. Correct Grammar goes
to the beginning of the next paragraph. To resume
checking, use the Check command.
23
Using Correct Grammar
24
Use This
Command
To Do This
Quiet
Resume
Skip 1x
Tutorial
Turn off the rule that Correct Grammar used to make
the current suggestion. When you use the Quiet
command, a dialog box appears that allows you to
turn off the rule permanently or just for this
grammar checking session.
Note: If you use the Quiet command when a
readability maximum has been exceeded, Correct
Grammar displays the Readability Rules dialog box
so you can enter a new value. For more information,
see “Customizing Readability Rules” in Chapter 4,
“Customizing Correct Grammar.”
Close the Tutorial window and return to the
checking process. The Resume command replaces
the Tutorial command after Correct Grammar
displays the tutorial text.
Skip the current spelling problem this time only.
Correct Grammar will highlight any future
occurrences of the same problem. The Skip 1x
command replaces the Tutorial command when
Correct Grammar makes a spelling suggestion.
Note: See the Quiet and the Ignore commands for
other ways you can tell Correct Grammar to skip
certain spelling problems.
Display a tutorial lesson on the writing principle that
applies to the current grammar suggestion. If a
lesson is longer than one screen, you can scroll down
or up using the scroll bar. When Correct Grammar
makes a grammar suggestion, the Tutorial command
replaces the Skip 1x command.
When you finish the tutorial, use the Check
command to resume checking your document.
Checking a Document Directly
Editing a Document
Correct Grammar lets you edit a document during grammar checking.
When Correct Grammar stops to make a suggestion, move the mouse
pointer to the place you want to edit, and click. You can type new
text, use the Delete, Backspace, or Clear key to remove characters or
selected text, and perform other editing functions available on the Edit
menu. For major text revisions, however, it is best to use your word
processor.
When Correct Grammar stops with text selected (highlighted) and you
begin typing, your characters replace the selected text. If you want to
undo your changes and restore the original text, choose Undo Typing
from the Edit menu.
To make a paragraph revert to the form it had before editing, choose
Revert from the Edit menu.
Note: Correct Grammar retains smart (curly) quotes where they
appear in your document, even if you change the text. You can also
add smart quotes while editing in Correct Grammar.
Scrolling a Document
Correct Grammar reads a document from beginning to end; however,
it reads only a part of the document at a time, in chunks of text. There-
fore, while Correct Grammar is running, you cannot scroll backward
in the document. If you need to go back to a previous page, close the
document, saving changes if appropriate. Then reopen the document
and use the Next {| button to move forward to the text you want to
check.
Closing a Document
While using Correct Grammar to check documents directly, you can
open and close as many documents as you want. To close the current
document, choose Close from the File menu or click the close box. If
25
Using Correct Grammar
you have made changes that you haven't saved, Correct Grammar
asks if you want to save them.
Saving Your Changes
While working in Correct Grammar, you can save your changes at any
time. When you check a large document, it is a good idea to save revi-
sions from time to time. After saving a document, you can continue
checking the document or you can close the document and open
another one. If you decide to close the document or quit Correct
Grammar, and you haven’t saved the latest changes, Correct Grammar
displays the Save Changes dialog box.
The Save Changes dialog box commands are described below.
Use This
Command To Do This
Save Save changes and close the document, replacing the
original document. If the Make Backup Document
command (Options menu) is on, the original
document is preserved with “(old)” added to the
name. For more information, see “Making Backup
Documents” in Chapter 3, “Choosing Options.”
Discard Abandon changes made with Correct Grammar and.
close the original document.
Cancel Cancel the Save request and return to Correct
Grammar without taking any action.
Save As Display the Save As dialog box. A message asks you
to name the document. The document is saved with
this name. The original document is preserved
under its original name.
26
Checking a Document Directly
Interrupting the Checking Process
You can interrupt Correct Grammar’s checking process if you want,
and then resume checking the document later. Correct Grammar
remembers where you interrupted grammar checking. When you
reopen the document, Correct Grammar gives you the option of
resuming where you stopped. You can interrupt the checking process
in either of two ways:
= If Correct Grammar has stopped analyzing text and is offering a
suggestion, click the close box or choose Close from the File menu.
Correct Grammar interrupts the checking process.
If you have not made any changes to the document during the
grammar checking session, Correct Grammar closes the window
and saves the document. If you have made changes to the
document, Correct Grammar displays the Save dialog box. You
can save the changes, discard the changes, cancel the interruption
process, or save the document under a new name.
= If Correct Grammar has not stopped to offer a suggestion and is
displaying the word “analyzing” in the Suggestion box, you can
press $8 -. (period) to interrupt the grammar checking process.
Then close and save the document.
Resuming the Checking Process
You can resume grammar checking where you left off only in the docu-
ment you most recently saved with Correct Grammar, and only if you
have not made any changes to the document since you last saved it.
@ To resume checking the same document:
1 Choose Open from the File menu and select the document again.
Correct Grammar asks if you want to resume checking from where
you stopped the last time.
27
Using Correct Grammar
2 To resume checking at the point where you interrupted the
process, click the Yes button.
To begin checking at the beginning of the document, click the No
button.
Checking a Document Using the Clipboard
28
Use Correct Grammar with the Clipboard if you want a convenient
way to edit your document or if your word processor is listed in one
of the “Using CG with...” files as one that Correct Grammar works
with only through the Clipboard.
The Clipboard method allows you to check a document quickly and
easily. You can copy any part or all of your document to the Clip-
board, check it with Correct Grammar, and then paste the corrected
text back into your document.
Checking a document using the Clipboard involves performing the fol-
lowing tasks:
= Moving the text to be checked onto the Clipboard
= Checking grammar and spelling with Correct Grammar
= Making changes in the document using Correct Grammar
commands
= Pasting changes from the Clipboard into the document
There are two ways to use the Clipboard with Correct Grammar to
check a document. The one you choose depends on how you're using
your computer.
Checking a Document Using the Clipboard
= Ifyou are using the Macintosh multiple application management
mode available in MultiFinder and System 7.0 or later, with
enough RAM to run Correct Grammar and your word processor
simultaneously, follow the steps in “Moving Text with Multiple
Applications Running” in this chapter.
= Ifyou are using the standard single application mode, follow the
steps in “Moving Text with One Application Running” in this
chapter.
Moving Text onto the Clipboard
There are two ways to start grammar checking using the Clipboard.
The one you choose depends on whether you are running Correct
Grammar and your word processor simultaneously or running one
application at a time.
Moving Text with Multiple Applications Running
Use this procedure if you are using MultiFinder or System 7.0 or later,
and your computer has enough memory to run Correct Grammar and
your word processor simultaneously. If your computer does not have
enough memory for this procedure, follow the steps in “Moving Text
with One Application Running” later in this chapter.
@ To move text onto the Clipboard and begin grammar checking:
7 Open the document with your word processor.
2 Select the text you want Correct Grammar to check. (If you want to
check the entire document, choose Select All from the File menu.)
3 Copy the selected text to the Clipboard.
29
Using Correct Grammar
30
4 If Correct Grammar is already started, switch to it (if necessary)
and choose Open Clipboard from the File menu.
If Correct Grammar is not started, start it by double-clicking a
Launch CG icon or Correct Grammar alias. Correct Grammar
displays the Open dialog box.
5 Click the Clipboard button. Correct Grammar begins checking the
text on the Clipboard.
Moving Text with One Application Running
If you are not using MultiFinder or System 7.0 or later, or if your com-
puter does not have enough memory to run Correct Grammar and
your word processor simultaneously, you can still use the Clipboard
to check documents with Correct Grammar.
@ To move text onto the Clipboard and begin grammar checking:
1 Start your word processor and open the document you want
Correct Grammar to check.
2 Select the text you want to check. (If you want to check the entire
document, choose Select All from the File menu.)
3 Copy the text to the Clipboard.
4 Quit your word processor.
5 Start Correct Grammar. The Open dialog box appears.
6 Click the Clipboard button. Correct Grammar begins checking the
text.
Checking a Document Using the Clipboard
Using the Correction Dialog Box
When Correct Grammar starts the checking process, it displays the
Correction dialog box.
ELI Learn C6 (Default Style Guid) —=======r7)
Consider using “that” as the restrictive relative pronoun.
Some writers prefer to use ‘that’ rather than ‘which’ in restrictive
(defining) relative clauses. If the relative clause is nonrestrictive, ‘which’
should be preceded by a comma.
Oy
Learning Correct Grammar:
Welcome to Correct Grammar (CG) end to our tutorial document MIJiilag has
deliberate errors. CG flegs each error by highlighting it. AT EACH ERROR,
read this text. For this first exemple, replace “which” by clicking the
Correct button.
Heal
The title bar displays the name of the document and the current style
guide being used to check the document. The Action command bar
divides the dialog box in half. In the lower part of the dialog box,
Correct Grammar displays the text of the document being checked. In
the upper part of the dialog box, Correct Grammar displays sugges-
tions, choices, directions, and tutorial information.
When Correct Grammar Makes a Suggestion
When Correct Grammar finds an apparent problem in a document, it
stops analyzing document text, displays the text in the lower part of
the screen, and highlights the problem. In the top part of the screen,
Correct Grammar displays a suggestion for resolving the problem.
Depending on the type of suggestion, Correct Grammar may also
display a list of choices and directions for resolving the problem.
31
Using Correct Grammar
SSS [carn 6 (cfu Sure cd) —=os|
The word “werd” is not in Main or User Dictionary.
Choose @ suggestion, Ignore, or revise text.
If you don’t want to add @ word to your user dictionary, just click Ignore.
CG will recognize thet word until the end of your session, when you quit CG.
If you have deliberately misspelled a werd (sic), click on Skip 1X. Then CG
will flag any further occurrences of the as misspellings
SI
When Correct Grammar makes a suggestion, you can do one of the
following:
= Use an action command to tell Correct Grammar what to do.
(For more information, see “Using the Action Commands” in
“Checking a Document Directly” earlier in this chapter.)
= Click the Help button for information about your current choices.
= Click in the document text window and make changes.
= Double-click a replacement word from the spelling list.
Editing Text on the Clipboard
32
Correct Grammar lets you edit text on the Clipboard during grammar
checking. When Correct Grammar stops to make a suggestion, move
the mouse pointer to the place you want to edit, and click. You can
type new text, use the Delete, Backspace, or Clear key to remove char-
acters or selected text, and perform other editing functions available
on the Edit menu. For major text revisions, however, it is best to use
your word processor.
Checking a Document Using the Clipboard
When Correct Grammar stops with text selected (highlighted), and
you begin typing, your characters replace the selected text. If you
want to undo your changes and restore the original text, choose Undo
Typing from the Edit menu.
Choose Revert from the Edit menu to make the paragraph revert to the
form it had before editing.
Note: Correct Grammar retains smart (curly) quotes where they
appear in the text, even if you change the text. You can also add smart
quotes while editing in Correct Grammar.
Scrolling the Clipboard
You can scroll the Clipboard text forward and backward as usual,
once Correct Grammar has stopped with a suggestion or you have
interrupted the checking process.
Saving Changes
When the checking process is finished, Correct Grammar closes the
Clipboard and displays the Readability Summary (if that command is
on). Click the OK button.
If you did not make any changes in the text, you have finished check-
ing grammar on this text.
If you made changes to the text, those changes are now saved on the
Clipboard. You must paste the changed text back into the document.
There are two ways to paste changes from the Clipboard back to the
document.
= If you are using the Macintosh multiple application management
mode available in MultiFinder and System 7.0 or later, with
enough RAM to run Correct Grammar and your word processor
simultaneously, follow the steps in “Saving Changes with Multiple
Applications Running” in this chapter.
33
Using Correct Grammar
= If youare using the standard single application mode, follow the
steps in “Saving Changes with One Application Running” below.
Saving Changes with Multiple Applications Running
Use this procedure if you are running Correct Grammar and your
word processor simultaneously.
@ To paste changes from the Clipboard to the document:
1 Open your word processor. Your original document and selected
text are displayed.
Make sure the original text you selected is still highlighted. (It
should be selected unless you have deselected it accidentally.)
2 Paste the revised text from the Clipboard into your document; it
replaces the selected text.
Saving Changes with One Application Running
Use this procedure if you are not running Correct Grammar and your
word processor simultaneously.
@ To save changes from the Clipboard to the document:
1 Choose Quit from the File menu to quit Correct Grammar.
2 Inyour word processor, reopen the original document and select
the text to be replaced. (The text you originally selected is no
longer selected because you quit the application.)
3 Paste the text from the Clipboard into the original document. The
revised text replaces the selected text.
Interrupting the Checking Process
You can interrupt the Correct Grammar checking process if you want,
and then close the Clipboard or quit Correct Grammar. You can
34
Checking a Document Using the Clipboard
resume checking the Clipboard later. When you reopen the Clip-
board, Correct Grammar starts checking the text at the beginning. You
can interrupt the checking process in either of two ways.
If Correct Grammar has stopped analyzing text and is offering a
suggestion, click the close box or choose either Close or Quit from
the File menu. Correct Grammar interrupts the checking process,
closes the window, and saves the Clipboard. If the Display
Readability Summary command is on, the summary is displayed.
Click the OK button. If you chose Quit, Correct Grammar quits
and returns you to the desktop.
If Correct Grammar has not stopped to offer a suggestion and is
displaying the word “analyzing” in the Suggestion box, you can
press 36 -.(period) to interrupt the grammar checking process.
Then close the document or quit Correct Grammar as described
above.
The Clipboard saves the text until you copy other text to it (by using
38-C). The Clipboard text is also lost when you turn off your com-
puter. To avoid losing changes you have made with Correct
Grammar, you must do one of the following:
Paste the Clipboard text into the original document, as described in
“Saving Changes” earlier in this chapter.
Open a new document with your word processor. Then paste the
Clipboard text into it to save the changes until you resume
grammar checking.
35
Using Correct Grammar
Tips on Working with Correct Grammar
36
Here are some tips to help you work with Correct Grammar:
= If you think Correct Grammar has missed an error it should have
found, check the Rule Classes dialog box to see if any rule classes
are turned off. For more information, see “Customizing a Style
Guide” in Chapter 4, “Customizing Correct Grammar.”
= If Correct Grammar does not seem to be finding any errors, pull
down the Options menu and verify that the Analyze Readability
Only option is turned off. For more information, see “Checking for
Readability Only” in Chapter 3, “Choosing Options.”
= If your document is typed in all capital letters, Correct Grammar
checks for spelling errors only and makes no grammar suggestions.
= If Correct Grammar opens a document but displays blank
windows, it usually indicates a conflict with a screen-oriented
INIT. Disable any INIT that you suspect of conflicting with Correct
Grammar, restart your computer, and open the same document
again. There are known conflicts with the INITs named “Gun,”
“Oliver's Button,” and “ClickChange.” WordStar International is
currently working to resolve these conflicts.
Chapter 3
Choosing Options
In this chapter, you'll learn how to
a Use the Options menu so that Correct Grammar checks your
documents according to your preferences
a Use the Options menu to control how Correct Grammar checks
your documents for readability
Using the Options Menu
To display the Options menu, start Correct Grammar and click
Options in the menu bar.
v Make Backup Document
Automatic Spelling Suggestions
Share MS Word User Dictionary...
Emphasize Related Errors...
v Display Readability Summary
Write Readability Summary File
Analyze Readability Only
Language...
37
Choosing Options
The commands on the Options menu are either on or off. (Exceptions
are the Emphasize Related Errors and Language commands, which
display dialog boxes when chosen.)
Note: The Language command is available only in the International
version of Correct Grammar.)
A check mark next to a command means the command is on. The
Make Backup Document and Display Readability Summary com-
mands are on when you start Correct Grammar for the first time.
Choosing a command toggles it on and off. To turn a command on or
off, drag the mouse pointer to the command to highlight it, and then
release the mouse button. The check mark disappears to indicate that
the command is off. To turn the command on again, simply choose it
again.
The following sections describe how to use the Options commands to
tell Correct Grammar how to proceed with document checking.
Making Backup Copies of Documents
38
When the Make Backup Document command is on, Correct Grammar
makes a backup copy of your word processing document each time it
checks the document. Having a backup copy of your document
ensures that you can go back to the previous version of the document,
even though you may have saved changes to the current version.
Correct Grammar stores the backup copy of a document in the same
folder as the current document. The backup copy has the same name
as the previous document with (old) appended to it. For example, the
backup copy of a document named MyText would be named
MyText(old).
Requesting Automatic Spelling Suggestions
Requesting Automatic Spelling Suggestions
When Correct Grammar finds a spelling error in your document, it can
either display a Look Up command that you can use to request alterna-
tive spelling suggestions or it can automatically display the spelling
suggestions.
When the Automatic Spelling Suggestions command is on, Correct
Grammar displays spelling suggestions each time it finds a possible
spelling error. When the Automatic Spelling Suggestions command is
off, you have to use the Look Up command to see the spelling sugges-
tions. Turn this command off if you want Correct Grammar to display
alternative spellings only when you request them. You may find this
preferable when the document contains many specialized words that
aren’t in your spelling dictionary.
Using a User Dictionary
When you first started Correct Grammar after installing it, you chose a
user dictionary for Correct Grammar to use to check spelling. You can
change that choice by using the Share MS Word User Dictionary com-
mand on the Options menu.
@ To select a new user dictionary:
1 Pull down the Options menu.
If Correct Grammar is sharing the MS Word user dictionary, a
check mark appears next to the command Share MS Word User
Dictionary. If no check mark appears, it means Correct Grammar
is using its own user dictionary.
2 Choose the Share MS Word Dictionary command from the Options
menu.
39
Choosing Options
If you have been sharing the MS Word user dictionary, the check
mark disappears and Correct Grammar begins using its own user
dictionary.
If you have been using the Correct Grammar user dictionary, the
Open dialog box appears.
Locate the MS Word folder that contains the user dictionary. (The
dictionary may be named “Custom Dictionary.”)
Select the MS Word user dictionary file and click the Open button.
Correct Grammar closes the dialog box and begins sharing the MS
Word user dictionary.
Deleting or Changing a Word in the User Dictionary
If you are using the Correct Grammar user dictionary, you can delete
or change a word that you have added.
40
@ To delete or change a word in the user dictionary:
1
2
Quit Correct Grammar.
Open the Correct Grammar Preferences folder.
If you are using System 6.0.8 or earlier, this folder is located in the
System folder. If you are using System 7.0 or later, this folder is
located in the Preferences folder in the System folder.
Drag the User Dictionary icon to the desktop.
Double-click the User Dictionary icon.
Correct Grammar starts, displays the Correction window, and
opens the dictionary.
10
11
12
Using a User Dictionary
Each word in the user dictionary will be flagged as a possible
misspelling since Correct Grammar no longer has a user dictionary
to use.
Move the insertion point to the word you want to delete or change.
To delete a word, select the word and the entire line it is on, and
press the Delete key.
To change a word, delete or add letters or characters as necessary.
Choose Quit from the File menu. The Save Changes dialog box
appears.
Click the Save As button or press Return to save the dictionary
changes. The Save As dialog box appears.
Click the Save button. Correct Grammar displays the message
Replace existing ‘User Dictionary?’
Click the Yes button. Correct Grammar displays the Readability
summary, if that command is on.
Click the OK button. Correct Grammar returns you to the desktop.
Drag the User Dictionary icon to the Correct Grammar Preferences
folder, and close the folder.
Adding a Word to the User Dictionary
You can add special words and special constructions, such as abbrevia-
tions, to the Correct Grammar user dictionary.
TIP Ifyou have many words to add, you can save time by creating a
special document containing the words you want to add.
a
Choosing Options
@ To add a word to the user dictionary:
1 Start Correct Grammar and open a document containing the
word(s) you want to add.
2 When Correct Grammar suggests that the word may be misspelled,
click the Add button.
3 When you finish adding words, quit Correct Grammar. Correct
Grammar adds the words to the user dictionary.
Adding Abbreviations to the User Dictionary
42
To Correct Grammar, a period indicates the end of a sentence. There-
fore, if you use an abbreviation that ends with a period, (for example,
“Ibs.”) Correct Grammar flags the abbreviation. You can avoid this
by adding the abbreviation to the user dictionary.
@ To add an abbreviation to the dictionary:
1 Replace the period with another character, such as “z”.
2 Add the word to the user dictionary using the steps in “Adding a
Word to the User Dictionary” above. In this example, add the
word “Ibsz”.
3 Replace the “z” with a period using the steps in “Deleting or
Changing a Word in the User Dictionary” above.
Note: If Correct Grammar displays the message Internal user dictionary
full, it means your dictionary is too large for the space allowed in
Correct Grammar. Contact WordStar Technical Support to find out
how to adjust Correct Grammar for a larger user dictionary.
Emphasizing Related Errors
Emphasizing Related Errors
When Correct Grammar makes a grammar suggestion that involves
two words, such as the agreement of a subject and a verb, it displays
the related words with different highlighting. For example, in the
screen below, notice the differences in the highlighting.
Saaz con Oemutsyue ul <—_— 5
Consider “problem” instead of "problems".
is
Sentences like the previous one have a disagreement between the subject
(problems) and the verb (is). Fixing either one will create 6 grammatically
correct sentence, but anly one will result in the sentence you want. In
such cases you may need to click Ignore for the first suggestion, and then
you will see the appropriate suggestion, changing “is” to “are.” Then click
Correct to fix the text.
You can use the Emphasize Related Errors command to choose the
type of highlighting you want Correct Grammar to use on related
words.
@ To make highlighting choices:
1 At the Options menu, choose the Emphasize Related Errors
command. The Related Error Emphasis dialog box appears.
Related Error Emphi
Style
Cora
O Mtatic
(Underline
& Outline
(Shadow
CCondense
OleEntend
43
Choosing Options
2 Click the check boxes for the types of highlighting you want.
3 Click the OK button or press Return to save your choices.
If you are using a color monitor, you can change the colors used in the
highlighting.
@ To change the highlighting color:
1 Inthe Related Error Emphasis dialog box, click the Color box. The
Color Wheel dialog box appears.
Choose an Emphasis Color
tue [21546 |)
saturation [46917 |(3)
Brightness [65535 |)
Red [19905
Green |65535
Blue [18619 |)
(« |
2 Inthe color wheel, click the color (hue) you want used for
highlighting related errors. The color appears in the sample color
box in the upper-left corner of the dialog box.
You can also select the hue by changing values in the Hue box.
Click the Hue box and type the new value. Or you can click the Up
or Down arrows to increase or decrease the values. (The range is
0-65535.)
Checking Documents for Readability
3 Inthe color wheel, click the desired color saturation. (The greatest
saturation is at the outer edge of the color wheel.)
You can also select the saturation by changing the values in the
Saturation box. Click the Saturation box and type the new value.
Or click the Up or Down arrows to increase or decrease the values.
(The range is 0-65535. Zero is white (no color); 65535 is maximum
color saturation.)
4 Select the desired brightness by sliding the scroll bar or changing
the value in the Brightness box.
To change the value, click the box and type the new value. Or click
the Up or Down arrows to increase or decrease the values. (The
range is 0-65535; 65535 is maximum brightness.)
§ Click the OK button or press Return to save the changes.
Checking Documents for Readability
The readability of a document is determined by many factors, includ-
ing the length of paragraphs, sentences, and words, and the use of pas-
sive voice in the document. (For more information about readability
and how Correct Grammar checks for it, see Appendix B, “The Philos-
ophy and Methodology of Correct Grammar.”)
During a grammar check, Correct Grammar identifies the portions
of your document that may cause readability problems. Correct
Grammar can also display a summary of the readability problems in
the document. This readability summary can help you determine if
your document is appropriate for its intended audience.
45
Choosing Options
Correct Grammar Readability Analysis
Paragraphs: 15
Sentences: 63 (4.2 per paragraph)
Words 948 (15.0 per sentence)
Letters: 4482 (4.7 per word)
Syllables per 100 words: 152
Passive sentences: 3 (4 & passive)
Long sentenoes: a (0 & long)
Misspelled words: 0 (100 % correct)
Sentences fixed o (100 % correct)
Sentences hard toread: 0. (100 % correct)
Flesch Reading Ease score: 62.2 (Easy)
Grade level required: 8 (89 % of US. adults)
Flesch-Kincaid grade level: 8.3
Gunning Fog Index: 10.0
Displaying the Readability Summary
You may want to request a summary of a document's readability
before Correct Grammar begins checking the document for grammar
and spelling errors. Then, when Correct Grammar finishes checking
the document, it either displays the summary, or saves it to a file so
you can review or print it later.
To ask Correct Grammar to display a readability summary after check-
ing a document, turn on the Display Readability Summary command
on the Options menu. Then select the document you want to check.
Correct Grammar automatically displays the summary when it
completes the checking process.
Saving the Readability Summary
46
You can ask Correct Grammar to save a readability summary in a file.
When the Write Readability Summary File command on the Options
menu is turned on, Correct Grammar saves the summary as a docu-
ment in the same folder as the checked document. The summary docu-
ment has the same name as the checked document followed by (Stats).
Checking Documents for Readability
For example, a readability summary for a document named MyText
would be saved ina file called MyText(Stats).
Once you save a readability summary for a document, Correct
Grammar saves the next readability summary for that document in the
same Stats file, without erasing the previous summary. Each new
readability summary is added to the end of the previous summary.
This allows you to compare the new summary to previous summaries
so you can review the effects of your editing on the document's
readability.
@ To write a readability summary file:
7 Pull down the Options menu and turn on the Write Readability
Summary File command.
2 Choose Open from the File menu and select the document you
want to check from the list box.
3 Click the Open button and check the document normally. Correct
Grammar automatically writes the summary file when it completes
the checking process.
Printing the Readability Summary
To print a readability summary, first create a Stats document by
saving the summary as described above. Then open the Stats docu-
ment with your word processor and print it.
Checking for Readability Only
You can choose the Analyze Readability Only command to limit
Correct Grammar to checking your document for readability only.
Checking for readability only is quicker than checking for grammar
errors and readability in your document.
When the Analyze Readability Only command is on, Correct
Grammar does not stop to identify spelling or grammatical errors,
47
Choosing Options
but checks for readability only. It also displays a readability summary
when it completes the checking process.
When the Analyze Readability Only command is off, Correct
Grammar checks the document for spelling and grammar, stopping
to make suggestions when it finds an apparent problem.
@ To check readability only:
1 Pull down the Options menu and turn on the Analyze Readability
Only command.
2 Choose Open from the File menu and select the document you
want to check from the list box.
3 Click the Open button. Correct Grammar checks readability only
and displays a summary when it completes the checking process.
Making a Language Choice
48
If you're using the International version of Correct Grammar, the
Options menu contains the Language command.
This command tells Correct Grammar whether to check for American
English or British English spellings. You can also specify whether
“ise” or “-ize” will be used for word endings. If you specify “-ise” for
word endings, Correct Grammar will flag “-ize” endings.
If you choose British English, Correct Grammar will suggest British
spellings instead of American (for example, “colour” instead of
“color,” or “aeroplane” instead of “airplane”). Correct Grammar will
also suggest the British form for compound words, such as
“non-smoking” instead of the American form “nonsmoking.”
Making a Language Choice
@ To choose American or British English spellings:
1 Choose Language from the Options menu. The Language dialog
box appears.
Language-specific options
@ American Dictionary
CO British Dictionary
O Require -ise spellings
O Require -ize spettings
(cancer) = (0K)
2 Select American Dictionary or British Dictionary.
3 Click the OK button to save your settings.
49
Chapter 4
Customizing Correct
Grammar
In this chapter, you'll learn how to
a Customize Correct Grammar by choosing a predefined style guide
a Customize a style guide to fit your writing style
You can customize the way Correct Grammar checks documents by
choosing a predefined style guide designed for specific types of writ-
ing or by modifying a style guide to more closely fit your writing style.
You can choose a style guide that fits your writing style and makes
suggestions that complement that style. For example, if you are writ-
ing an academic paper, you might choose the Academic style guide,
which checks for formal language. Or, if you are writing fiction, you
might choose the Fiction style guide, which allows you more freedom
to express yourself.
The predefined style guides provide you with different levels of gram-
mar and readability checking, but you are not limited to those styles.
You can change styles as often as you like and you can customize style
guides.
51
Customizing Correct Grammar
Deciding on a Predefined Style Guide
Astyle guide consists of a set of grammar rules and a set of readability
rules that Correct Grammar uses to check documents.
Before deciding on a predefined style guide, you should do the
following:
= Display the list of predefined style guides.
= Read the descriptions of the predefined style guides in this section.
= Review the settings for grammar and readability rules for each
style guide.
Displaying the List of Predefined Style Guides
The list of predefined style guides appears on the Rules menu. To dis-
play the list, pull down the Rules menu. (Hold down the mouse but-
ton to keep the Rules menu displayed.)
Open Style Guide...
Save A Copy of Style Guide As...
Review Style Guid #R
v Default
Acade:
Advertising
Basics
Business
Custom
Fiction
Informal
Legal
Readability (ONLY)
Reviewer
Technical
52
Deciding on a Predefined Style Guide
A check mark appears next to the name of the style guide that is cur-
rently active. If you customize style guides, the Rules menu displays
them also. Customized style guides are grouped at the top of the style
guide list, in the same section as the Default style guide.
The predefined styles are described below.
Style Name Description
Default This style guide is selected the first time you start
Correct Grammar. The Default style guide is the
strictest style guide, with all grammar rules turned
on.
Academic Very formal.
Advertising Allows for creative freedom.
Basics Very informal.
Business Allows some informality, including cliches (“the
bottom line is”). Allows the use of some passive
voice.
Custom Strict. You can customize this style guide to
complement your own writing style.
Fiction Allows for creative freedom.
Informal Very relaxed; the least strict style guide.
Legal Allows for characteristics of legal writing, such as
long sentences.
Readability Checks readability only. All spelling rules and most
(only) grammar rules are turned off.
Reviewer Very strict. All grammar rules are turned on.
Readability rules are relaxed.
Technical Allows for complex material and the use of passive
voice.
53
Customizing Correct Grammar
Reviewing Rule Settings
The settings for the grammar and readability rules used in the prede-
fined style guides are displayed in the Grammar Rules dialog box and
the Readability Rules dialog box associated with each style guide.
°
To review the grammar rule settings of a style guide:
1 Pull down the Rules menu, and choose the style guide you want to
review.
2 Press 9-R or pull down the Rules menu and choose Review Style
Guide. The Grammar Rules dialog box appears.
Style Guide: Default
[Rare | Caan
Spelling & Format Usage Core Grammar
@] Speting | vargon * [Noun group consistency
'*| Punctuation @| —wise ize | Verb group consistency Help
#|capitatzation | || ctene «| subject-verd agresment
| Proper nouns | |e] Redundant «| Ungramatiest sayings :
| Variants | Wordy @ | Mass and count misuse Class Ba
| Format «| Pretentious * | Pronouns, prepositions
Mutt words | cotioquiat «| Muttipte negation, eto (Goss 077)
re ©} informal 2 | Miscellaneous Class bit
| Fragments | ver é
Se fal erste Readability Rules. Restore
gietease isle Haas |
© | Misplaced ; @| Confused Permanent __Elass
* | question? | sion /that (eeraseatl
@|Passive-main | | | usnoes
@ |Pasrive-subord, | |e | Beginner This Session ) Cancel
The Grammar Rules dialog box displays the grammar rule settings for
the current style guide. Correct Grammar uses thousands of rules to
check grammar. These rules are grouped into rule classes and dis-
played by type, as follows:
= Spelling and Forma
m Sentence
a Usage
= Core Grammar
54
t
Deciding on a Predefined Style Guide
A bullet in front of a rule class name means that all rules in that class
are active for the current style guide. A hollow diamond in front of a
rule class name means that at least one rule is turned off in that rule
class. If no bullet appears in front of a rule class name, it means that
all rules in that class are turned off for the current style guide. For
more information about the grammar rules settings, see “Customizing
a Style Guide” later in this chapter.
. 2
To review the readability rules settings:
Pull down the Rules menu, and choose the style guide you want to
display.
Press 38-R or choose Review Style Guide from the Rules menu.
The Grammar Rules dialog box appears.
Click the Readability Rules button. The Readability Rules dialog
box appears.
Split Infinitives
‘0 boldly go..." not OK ie)
© "..to not very boldly go..." O
Onn oK
to rather boldly gi
to not at all boldly g
Consecutive Nouns
°
office automation division..." not 0K
office automation database division..."
office automation database development division..."
O all ok
Prepositional Phrases
oO"
O°
ina ship at the bottom of the sea..." not 0K
he hold of a ship at the bottom of the sea..."
in_a jar in the hold of a ship at the bottom of th
Onl 0K
[woras in Sentence: [32 | Grade Level:
Cancel
(Grammar Rutes...] (Help }( Permanent } [This Session
The Readability Rules dialog box displays the settings for the current
style guide’s readability rules. The settings limit the number of words
allowed in a split infinitive, the number of consecutive nouns allowed
ina phrase, and the number of words and consecutive prepositional
phrases allowed in a sentence. Grade Level sets the maximum reading
55
Customizing Correct Grammar
grade level of your target audience. For more information about the
readability rules settings, see “Customizing Readability Rules” later in
this chapter.
Choosing a Predefined Style Guide
56
Choose the style guide that is appropriate for the document that
you want to check. However, if you check multiple documents that
require the same style, you don’t need to choose a style each time;
Correct Grammar remembers which style guide was the last one used
and uses it for the next document.
® To choose a predefined style guide:
1 Pull down the Rules menu.
2 Choose the style guide you want.
The style guide you select becomes the current style. On the Rules
menu, a check mark appears next to the new style guide. Correct
Grammar uses that style to check your documents.
Correct Grammar stores predefined style guides in the Correct
Grammar Data folder and displays them on the Rules menu automat-
ically. If you store a style guide outside the Correct Grammar folder,
you can select that style guide by using the Open Style Guide
command.
@ To choose a style guide stored outside the Correct Grammar Data
folder:
1 Pull down the Rules menu and choose Open Style Guide. The
Open dialog box appears.
2 Select the style guide from the folder where it is stored.
3 Click the Open button. Correct Grammar chooses the style guide
and closes the dialog box.
Customizing a Style Guide
Setting a Standard Style Guide
If you change style guides during a grammar checking session, and
then quit Correct Grammar, Correct Grammar asks if you want to
make the latest style guide your standard style. If you respond “Yes,”
the style remains the same for all subsequent grammar checking ses-
sions (until you choose a different style guide). If you respond “No,”
Correct Grammar returns to the previous standard style guide. If you
rename or discard the standard style guide, Correct Grammar uses the
Business style guide.
Customizing a Style Guide
One of the most useful features of Correct Grammar is that you can
change a style guide to make choices about how Correct Grammar
checks your documents. You can turn off a specific grammar rule or
an entire rule class, and you also can modify readability rules.
Grammar Rule Classes
Since Correct Grammar allows you to turn off rule classes, it is impor-
tant to understand what each rule class does. The rule classes are
described below.
Spelling and Format Rule Classes
These rule classes contain the rules Correct Grammar uses to check
spelling, punctuation, capitalization, and formats.
Rule Class What It Does
Spelling Checks the spelling of words in your documents.
Punctuation Checks punctuation in your documents.
Capitalization Checks for capitalization errors, especially words
that begin a sentence.
57
Customizing Correct Grammar
58
Rule Class What It Does
ProperNouns Checks for capitalization of proper nouns.
Variants Checks for spelling variants. When more than one
spelling is technically correct, Correct Grammar tells
you which is preferred. This rule class also checks
for correct spelling of common foreign phrases, such
as “a capella.”
Format Checks the format of dates, compound numbers,
times, and abbreviation punctuation.
Mult. words Checks for words that are also words when split,
Ea
such as “everyone,” “awhile, and “anymore.”
Sentence Rule Classes
These rule classes contain rules that Correct Grammar uses to check
sentence structure and voice.
Rule Class What It Does
Fragments Checks for incomplete sentences.
Run-on Checks for run-on sentences. A run-on sentence
often contains multiple sentences separated by
commas.
And/Or/But — Checks for sentences that begin with “And,” “Or,”
or “But.”
and...and Checks for sentences that contain two consecutive
clauses beginning with “and.”
Misplaced ; Checks for occurrences of a semicolon where a
comma would be more correct.
Question? Checks for sentences consisting only of a relative
clause beginning with a question word and not
ending with a question mark.
Rule Class
Customizing a Style Guide
What It Does
Passive - main
Passive -
subord.
Checks for passive voice in the main clause. For
example, for the sentence “The car was driven by
John,” Correct Grammar suggests “John drove the
car.
Checks for passive voice in a subordinate clause.
Usage Rule Classes
These rule classes contain rules that Correct Grammar uses to check
word usage.
Rule Class What It Does
Jargon Checks for jargon, such as “bottom line” and
“feedback.”
..Wise,...ize Checks for words that have a nonstandard “-wise” or
“ize” suffix such as “personnelwise.”
Cliche Checks for cliches such as “cutting edge” and “point
blank.”
Redundant Checks for redundant phrases such as “past history”
and “these same.”
Wordy Checks for wordy expressions such as “a half a” and
“point in time.”
Pretentious Checks for pretentious word usage such as
“orientate” and using “author” as a verb.
Colloquial Checks for nonstandard intensifiers such as “real”
and “awful.”
Informal Checks for extremely informal expressions such as
“this here,” “try and,” and “inside of.”
Well- Checks for nonstandard usage of “well-” as a prefix.
59
Customizing Correct Grammar
Rule Class What It Does
Archaic Checks for archaic words such as “whence” and
“henceforth.”
Weak Checks for weak modifiers that detract from
meaning, such as in the phrases “awfully hard,”
“considered opinion,” and “past achievements.”
Misused Checks for misused words, such as in the phrase “is
comprised of.”
Confused Checks for commonly confused words, such as in the
phrase “The bride stood at the alter.”
Which/that Checks for proper word choice to introduce
restrictive (that) and nonrestrictive (which) clauses.
Nuances Checks for words that are similar in meaning but
different in nuance such as “adverse” and “averse.”
Beginner Checks for mistakes beginning writers commonly
make, such as confusing “bazaar” and “bizarre” or
“right” and “rite.” These rules are intended for
writers who are learning English as a second
language.
Core Grammar Rule Classes
The Core Grammar rule classes form the fundamental rules of gram-
mar by which Correct Grammar operates. These rule classes cannot be
turned off, since doing so would undermine the basic usefulness of
Correct Grammar. However, individual rules in these rule classes can
be turned off. For more information, see “Turning Off a Grammar
Rule” later in this chapter.
Using the Grammar Rules Dialog Box
A Rule Class may contain hundreds of different but similar rules.
Turning off one rule will not prevent Correct Grammar from making
60
Customizing a Style Guide
other apparently similar suggestions. For example, turning off the
rule that flags one phrase as “wordy” will not stop Correct Grammar
from flagging other similar wordy phrases. To turn off all such similar
rules, you must turn off the entire rule class.
You can use the Grammar Rules dialog box to turn off grammar rules
and grammar rule classes. The name of the current style guide ap-
pears in the upper-left corner of the dialog box. The current grammar
suggestion (if any) is displayed below the style guide name.
The Command Buttons
The command buttons in the Grammar Rules dialog box are described
below.
Use This
Command To Do This
Rule Off Disable the specific rule that triggered the current
suggestion. If you select this option, the rule class
will be marked with a hollow diamond to indicate
that one or more rules are turned off in that rule class.
Class On Turn ona rule class that has been turned off. All
rules in that class that were turned off with the Rule
Off command or the Quiet command will remain off
when the class is turned on again.
Class Off Turn off all rules in the rule class. (Core Grammar
rule classes cannot be turned off.)
Restore Rules _ Restore (turn on) rules that were turned off using the
in Class Quiet command or the Rule Off command. This
command does not turn on a rule class that has been
turned off. See “Class On” above.
Cancel Cancel any changes you may have made and return
Correct Grammar to your document to continue
checking.
61
Customizing Correct Grammar
Use This
Command To Do This
This Session Tell Correct Grammar to use your style guide
changes for this session of grammar checking only.
The next time you start Correct Grammar, it will use
the style guide settings that were in effect prior to the
current changes.
Permanent Save your style guide changes permanently (or until
you change them again). These changes will be in
effect the next time you start Correct Grammar.
Readability Close the Grammar Rules dialog box and open the
Rules Readability Rules dialog box.
Turning Off a Grammar Rule
Correct Grammar allows you to turn off the rule that was used in
making the current suggestion for revising your sentence. Rules can
be turned off using the Rule Off command in the Grammar Rules
dialog box or the Quiet command in the Correct Grammar Correction
dialog box.
@ To turn off a rule using the Rule Off command:
1 Press 9-R or pull down the Rules menu and choose Review Style
Guide. The Grammar Rules dialog box appears. The rule class
containing the flagged rule is highlighted.
2 Click the Rule Off button. A hollow diamond replaces the bullet
next to the Rule Class name, indicating that at least one rule in the
rule class is turned off.
62
Customizing a Style Guide
3 If you want to turn off the rule permanently, click the Permanent
button.
If you want to turn off the rule for this grammar checking session
only, click the This Session button.
Correct Grammar resumes checking your document.
CAUTION Use caution in turning off rules permanently. Individual
rules cannot be turned back on except by restoring all rules in the rule class.
@ To turn off a rule using the Quiet command:
1 Click the Quiet button in the Correction dialog box or choose Quiet
from the Action menu. The Quiet Rule dialog box appears.
2 If you want to turn off the rule permanently, click the Permanent
button.
If you want to turn off the rule for this grammar checking session
only, click the This Session button.
Correct Grammar resumes checking your document.
Turning Off a Grammar Rule Class
As mentioned earlier in this chapter, Correct Grammar allows you
to turn off any rule class, except a Core Grammar rule class (only
individual rules can be turned off in the Core Grammar Rule Class.)
@ To turn off a rule class:
1 Press 38-R or pull down the Rules menu and choose Review Style
Guide. The Grammar Rules dialog box appears.
63
Customizing Correct Grammar
2 Double-click the rule class you want to turn off, or click the rule
class and then click the Class Off button. The bullet in front of the
rule class name disappears, indicating that the rule class is turned
off.
3 If you want to turn off the rule class permanently, click the
Permanent button.
If you want to turn off the rule class for this grammar checking
session only, click the This Session button.
Correct Grammar resumes checking your document.
Turning On a Grammar Rule Class
@ To turn ona grammar rule class:
1 Press 38-R or pull down the Rules menu and choose Review Style
Guide. The Grammar Rules dialog box appears.
2 Double-click the rule class you want to turn on, or select the rule
class and then click the Class On button. The rule class becomes
active and displays a bullet in front of its name.
Customizing Readability Rules
64
Correct Grammar allows you to customize its review of the readability
of your writing by modifying the readability rules attached to the cur-
rent style guide. You can modify these rules by changing the limits for
the number of words allowed in a split infinitive, the number of con-
secutive nouns allowed in a phrase, and the number of words and con-
secutive prepositional phrases allowed in a sentence. You can also set
the reading grade level of your target audience. Correct Grammar
checks each sentence to determine whether it exceeds the limits you
have set.
For more information on readability, see Appendix B, “The Philoso-
phy and Methodology of Correct Grammar.”
Customizing a Style Guide
The Correct Grammar readability rules are in the Readability Rules
dialog box.
Split Infinitives Onl oK
@"...to boldly go..." not 0K OQ *...to rather boldly go..."
O"..to not very boldly go...". © "...to not at all boldly go..."
Consecutive Nouns © all ok
office automation division..." not 0!
office automation database division..."
office automation database development division..."
ie)
Prepositional Phrases Onl ok
ship at
Showing the first 100000 of 194852 characters.