Loading…
Text content (OCR)
anv
[Jurassic PARK
This easy-to-use publishing program, with its word processor and
graphics based on the popular movie Jurassic Park™, allows you
and your children to combine art with text to create posters, For
young users, Kid's Menus are included to make using the program
less confusing, with fewer menus and a shorter list of options to
choose from. The program includes bold graphic backgrounds
designed to be "written upon". It allows you to take advantage of
clip art that is easy to move and change. For a "crash course" on
how to use the program, go to the Quick Start section. For an it»
depth explanation of the program's many exciting features, refer (0
hag Menus section or the Kid's Menu section of the Reference
ide.
Special features include:
* Goof-proof designing--reposition text and clip art any time
Type in a variety of styles and colors
* Flip, rotate, and resize text and clip art
© Group clip art
* Resize background graphics
* Choose from Kid's Menus or Full Menus
¢ Basic drawing tools
¢ Import PICT, TIFF, EPS files
+ Prints in a variety of sizes up to 37 feet tall!
* Color printing on a variety of printers, including the
ImageWriter
* System 7 compatible
«2 MB free memory needed
i ee
Installing Jurassic Park™ on a Hard Disk
If you're using a Macintosh with a hard drive, you'll want to install the
program onto your hard drive. This will make the program more
convenient to use. Because of the amount of art included with this
program, the information on the distribution diskette has been
compressed. To use the program, you will need to decompress the
disk onto your hard drive.
J. Create a new folder on your hard drive and name it Jurassic
Park.
2. Insert the program disk into your drive and double-click on the
disk. When the disk icon opens up, you will see an icon in
the disk window.
3. Double-click on the Jurassic Park.sea icon and the Select
Destination Folder dialog box appears.
4. Click on the Drive (or Desktop) Button until the name of the
hard drive appears next to "Volume:."
5. Scroll down and double click on the Jurassic Park folder
name you previously created in step 1. The name "Jurassic
Park" should appear next to "Folder:".
6. Click on the Extract Button to extract the program from the
disk to your hard drive. When you decompress the files, they
automatically create art folders for themselves.
7. After the files are extracted, you are returned to your desktop.
8. Store the master disk in a safe place.
TN EIT ESC AAEN POSTE RIT
0 GED eae ee ee .
Changing the Amount of Memory es
the Program Uses BD sewrerenn
ind: appicatin pregram
Size : 350K wn disk (357,769 bytes este)
If you're running System 7 or Multifinder
and you get an “out of memory" message
while using the program, you Can increase | creates: sri, tay 20, 1960, 10.13 04
| wiediieg: Thu, 211954, 2:109e4
the program's memory size from the Get | "Yersien.112,orc¢ 1950
Info Window in the File Menu. Comments:
‘Wher: Presran
1. Quit the program and then click the [TROaT Porerencsts—
| Suggested ste: 1260
Jurassic Park icon to select it. | rtimam sce: [1260] x |
2. Choose Get Info from the File Ete Beer Sv ESels |
Menu.
3. Drag across the number in the box labeled "Application
Memory Size" to select it.
4. Type the number of kilobytes (K) of memory you want the
program to set aside for itself. (Add 500K to the Application
Memory Size, or more if necessary.
5. Close the Get Info Window.
16 Color Mode
We recommend that you use only the 16 color mode. Using the 256
color mode slows down processing and uses up memory.
1. To specify the number of colors to be displayed on the
monitor, first choose Control Panel from the Apple Menu.
The General Control Panel appears.
2. Scroll if necessary to locate the Monitors icon, then click it
to display the Monitors section. The Monitors Control
Panel appears. The pointer becomes a crosshair when you
place it in the monitor-position or monitor-characteristics
area.
3. Click on the Colors circle and the number 16 inside the
Characteristics box. The number of colors you
Specified remains in effect until you change it.
EE IED 1A SSIC ARK POSTER al
———— Quick Start ————
If you're already familiar with the Macintosh, this section will let you
get right into the program and have a printout within minutes! Quick
Start provides step-by-step instructions to create a document without
the need to learn all of the options available in the program. Once you
have an understanding of how to create a design with backgrounds,
clip art, and text, we suggest that you read the Reference Guide. There
you'll learn how to take advantage of all the special features available
to you.
Here are some terms that you should know before starting:
* Click on- Use the Mouse to move the Arrow Cursor onto
the clickable area desired and press the Mouse Button.
* Select- Use the Mouse to move the Arrow Cursor to the area
you wish to select and hold down the Mouse Button. Scroll
up or down until the selection you want is highlighted and
then release the button.
* Dragging- Use the Mouse to move the Arrow Cursor to the
object you would like to move and hold down the Mouse
Button while moving the Mouse so that the object moves or
stretches.
TEED ILE ASS!C ARN POSTER RIT
a
Creating a Design " ¢
Edit Tool Pattern Color Transforn
Naw “=== untitled
Open... ©
Clip Art...
Boot up the program
by double-clicking on
the Jurassic Park Frame
Icon. Click on the wane eennnnnnenmennd PATTEM,
Opening screen picture Close #U) Picture
and a new file Save 4
automatically opens
up under the name of
Untitled. You'll begin
creating your design, using the Kids's Menus, with a background
picture. Select Kid's Menus from the Edit Menu.
Save 4s...
Background Pictures
Select Picture from the File Menu. The first time you select art, a
dialogue box appears with the art folder listed.
Tose fas Be a Se Tae foe beer tee
ee or
fer} CED
f=) exis
= =
Double-click on the Art Folder and a list of background pictures appears.
Highlight a background and click on Open.
Another dialog box appears displaying a miniature representation of
the background. You're given the choice of loading a different
background or the one you selected. Click on Done to place the picture
on your document. The upper portion of the background that you
selected appears on the screen. Use the scroll bars to view the entire
background.
U8 1 PARK POSTER KIT
G Foder tie orive options Grow
Adding Clip Art
Choosing a Category
Now you're ready to add clip art.
Select Clip Art from the File
Menu. A list of clip art
categories appears. Click on a clip art category. The first piece of
clip art from that category appears in the Preview Box. Use the scroll
bar to preview the clip art. When you decide on a category, click on
Open.
jsaeoco0ag
Ingectst Hi Prevwe On
Designing with Clip Art
The first piece of clip art (from the category that you selected) appears
on your design. Press the Space Bar to view the different pieces of
clip art in the category. Move a piece of clip art by dragging it
anywhere on the background. If you want another piece of clip art
from the same category, hold down the Option Key and "drag off" a
copy. Now, simply press the Space Bar to view the other clip art in
the category. Repeat these steps to continue using clip art from this
one category. If you want to choose a different clip art category,
select Clip Art from the File Menu.
When you are finished placing clip art on the background, it's a good
idea to save your design at this point. Select Save from the File Menu.
Type in a name for your design and click on Save. The name of your
design appears on the top of your document.
Adding Text
All you need to do now is add text to your design.
Select the Text Tool (T) from the Tool Menu. Your
cursor turns into a cross. Place the cursor where you
would like to begin typing and "drag" the Mouse to
create a text box. (Don't be concerned about the size,
as this can be altered later.
OIC GIO
FD IO|/
S1O|>|0
JURASSIC PARK POSTER KIT
© ae
Begin typing. Notice that the text box grows in size as you type.) You
can move the text box anywhere on the screen. Select the Arrow from
the Tool Menu and click on the text box. Notice the four grey handles
in each corner of the text box. This indicates that the area is "live" and
ready to be repositioned or altered. Save your design.
Printout size:
Printing Your Design |
If using a LaserWriter, select Page © smait
Setup from the File Menu. Click on bil est
Ong
Options and make sure Precision Bit
Map and Larger Print Area are se-
lected. Click on OK. If using an
ImageWriter, choose Page Setup |
and make sure No Gaps Between
Pages is selected; then click on OK.
Olerge
O Huge
Special Note: The program will only print
in Best and Faster. Select Faster and click on Print.
Click on OK in the Page Setup Menu. Now select Print from the
File Menu. The Print Dialog Box appears. The default setting is
Standard (a single page size) and is adequate for now. Click on OK to
print your design.
If using a LaserWriter, a second Print Dialog Box appears giving
you all sorts of options. Ignore them. Just click on Print. That's it,
you're done!
There are many more exciting features available to you. Please read
the Reference Guide for further information.
Note: The exact content of the dialog box depends on the printer being used.
Refer to your Macintosh owner's guide or printer manual. If your design doesn't
print, you may not be properly linked to your printer See the Print section of
the Reference Guide for help.
SD IASC PARK POSTER KOT
—— Se ie eee A eer ne oe he ae ae
EEA SERS Ces GON RG PRO ET
Reference Guide ———_
Full Menus
The Full Menus offer you all of the options that Jurassic Park’ Poster
Kit has to offer. If Full Menu appears under the Edit Menu, select it.
Otherwise, you are already in the Full Menus setup.
The @ Menu
If you select the @ Menu, there will be two items belonging to the
program: About Jurassic Park... and Help with....
Choosing About Jurassic Park... displays an opening screen. Click
on the picture to close the category.
Choosing Help with... pops-up a dialog box that lists the topics for
which help is available. Click on Done when finished.
nti Hap tara
File Edit Tool
About
Help With...
Importing Art on the Scrapbook
Any image that can be saved into the Scrapbook can be imported and
used in your Jurassic Park designs.
A a TOES SE USF
Edit Tool Pattern ‘The File Menu
New’
pen...
Clip Art. xa| New- Select New to open a blank page
Place Background | (Shortcut, 98 N). If there isa file open already,
ann] New will be grayed out. Only one file can be
Boe x] open at one time. You'll have to close the
Save as... opened file by selecting Close from the File
een 1 MEL,
Print Preview
Page Setup...
Open- The Open command allows you to
open different files, using a standard
Macintosh-style list box. Select Open from
the File Menu. Highlight the file name that you want and click on
Open. Your document appears. If you're already in the program and
want to open another file, save and close the file you're in first
(Shortcut, $8.0).
Z Felder Tile Drive Oollens Group
Clip Art
Stet vstce
Select Clip Art to access Cer
the clip art categories.
(If this is the first time
you are accessing art tarreview on Ceane) |
files since booting the
program, a menu will appear displaying the Art folder. Click on Open.)
Highlight a clip art category and the first piece of art in that category is
displayed in the Preview Box. Use the scroll bar to preview the clip
art. If you want the clip art category, click on Open and you're retuned
to your design. The first piece of clip art in the category is on the
screen. Press the Space Bar or the Right Arrow Key to view all the
clip art within the category. (To view the clip art in reverse order,
press the Shift Key before pressing the Space Bar or press the Left
Arrow Key.) If you want to add an additional piece of clip art from
the same category, select Duplicate from the Edit Menu, 3D, or hold
down the Option Key. If you want to add another piece of clip art
from a different category, select Clip Art from the File Menu.
ST LS MIE 112455) PARK POSTER KIT
ae a ED
Deleting Clip Art- Click on a piece of clip art and press the Delete
Key.
Place Backgroud:
Frame- Select Frame from the Place Background Submenu. (If this
is the first time you are accesing art files since booting the program, a
menu will appear displaying the Art Folder. Click on Open). Highlight
Frame and click on Open and a list of frames appears in the Preview
Box, Click on Select to add the frame to your document. The frame
borders the entire page.
Pattern- Background patterns are
designed with individual pieces of
clip art. Select Pattern from the
Place Background Submenu. (If
this is the first time you are accessing
art files since booting the program, a
menu will appear displaying the Art
folder. Click on Open). A list of clip art categories appears. Highlight
aclip art category and the first piece of clip art appears in the Preview
Box. Click on Open. The Background Pattern Design dialog box
appears. Each piece of clip art is named and displayed in a list.
Highlight the name of the piece of clip art you want to create a pattern
with. Click on the various Radio Buttons to view the different patterns.
Select a Pattern Style: Corners pattern, Staggered pattern, Tiled
pattern, Border pattern, and Custom pattern. Click on Done and
the pattern covers the background. (The default pattern is the corner
pattern as represented on the right.) Select Custom Pattern to design
your own pattern. Within the window displaying your pattern,
consecutive clicks removes or replaces each piece of clip art in the
pattern. When you finish, click on Done. The pattern appears on your
background. The individual pieces of clip art that make up a
background pattern can be edited. Select Background Layer from
the Edit Menu and click on the piece of clip art that you want to edit.
ELD EA SSC PARK POSTER AIT
Picture- Select Picture from the Place Background Submenu to place
a background picture on your document. (If this is the first time you
are accessing art files since booting the program, a menu will appear
displaying the Art folder. Click on Open). Highlight a background
and click on Open and the Position and Size dialog box appears. The
background picture you choose can be scaled, resized, or moved. You
can either type in the scaling percentages, or you can do it freehand by
clicking on Resize Graphic and dragging the comers of the picture in
the Preview Box. Clicking on the Move Graphic ''Hand" repositions
your background on the page. Clicking on Load Graphic allows you
to choose a different picture without going back to the Menu Bar.
Clicking on Done places the background picture on your document.
Close- The Close command closes the document on your work screen
without exiting from the program. If you have made changes since
you last saved, the program gives you an opportunity to save again
before closing.
(Shortcut, $8W)
Save- The Save command saves your design to disk. If you haven’t
named it yet, then you have to enter a name at the prompt. Save it
either on your hard drive or on a floppy disk. (Shortcut, 38S)
Use the Save command early and often. Develop the habit of saving your work
while thinking about what to do next.
Save as...- The Save As... command lets
you save your document under a new name.
without replacing your original. S
Click on Options in the Save As dialog aan
box if you plan on exporting your file. This a 08)
allows you to select a File Format, Es
Scanning, and Filter options.
JURASSIC PARK POSTER KIT
File Formats- There are aaa, a
three file formats: BBM, Pict2, | [em once owe a
and Tiff. Selecting BBM Se
allows you to edit your file with
Street Fighter only. Pict2
allows you to edit your file with
different paint and page layout programs. Tiff (Tag Image File Format)
allows you to edit your files using most scanner manufacturers and
page layout programs.
Judi, & Ninke
Scanning- The Serpentine Option causes the dither routines to scan
in a zig-zag motion as opposed to the right to left motion. This affects
the appearance of dithering.
Filters- If you want to save a color design to a B & W Pict file, you
have to dither it so the color transforms into B & W patterns. Use the
filter options to introduce the desired dithering effects to your design.
Click on the "Dither Output"' check box in the Print Menu. Select
a filter from the "Filters" pop-up menu. The filters are diffusion
methods, named after the mathematicians who invented them, that
diffuse color into B & W patterns. Floyd-Steinberg, the default filter,
produces the best overall quality.
If the dithered output is too light or too dark, you can adjust the
brightness of the filter to improve the quality. There is also a "Coloring
Book" filter (only works on color art) which removes all color from
the document except black. This produces art that can be colored by
hand. When done, click on OK.
Helpful Hint: When printing a dithered picture to a laser printer, turn off the
"Graphics Smoothing" option in the Page Setup Dialog Box. This prevents the
printer from distorting the dithered patterns in the output. "Larger Print Area” and
"Precision Bitmap Alignment” found in the Options section of the Page Setup
Dialog Box should be turned on to allow the full page to be printed.
Print Preview- Select Print Preview to see a miniature representation
of your entire document on the screen at one time. Clicking anywhere
returns you to your document.
ES ESE 12155 PARK POSTER KIT
Page Setup...- When you choose Page Setup, the Page Setup Dialog
Box (belonging to the printer you currently selected) appears.
Print- Select Print to bring up the Print
Size Dialog Box (Shortcut, $€P). wiamntacber: Ba”
The program can print your design at
100% on one sheet of paper, or it can
scale the document up or down from 1%
all the way up to 4500% (2025 sheets of
paper).
Note: It is advantageous to print any document that will be lager than one sheet of
Paper on an ImageWriter as opposed to the Laser Writer. The Laser Writer prints
individual pages and leaves a bowler around your design, so that when you piece
together the pages you will have to trim them.
Printing One Strip at a Time
When printing something larger than the Standard size, you may want
to print only part of it at one time. In the Print Menu, select "from" in
the Pages section and type in which pages you want printed.
at 100% at 800%
Width inches: 8.0" Width inches: 64"
Height inches 10.0° Height inches: 80"
Width pages 1 Width pages: 8
Height Pages: 1 Height Pages: 8
Total pages: 1 Total pages: 64
For example, at 100% takes up a.8x 10’ piece of paper Ityou ean print at 800%. then it wil be 64" wide and
'80" high. Your print dialog box wil show that al €00%
your printout will be 8 pages high, with a
ages of paper used
Consequently, you have 8 vertical sections, and you can print out each
of these vertical sections separately. In the dialog box, type in from 1
to 8 for the first section. Then type in from pages 9-16. Subsequent
sections would be 17-24 for the third section, 25-32 for the fourth
section, and so on.
If you're using Postscript fonts and a Postscript printer you can type in point sizes
SEE ESESD JURASSIC PARK POSTER KIT
25 Se
other than those listed and still print out smooth-edged letters (though they will look
jagged on the screen). If you're using TrueType with a compatible printer, both the
print on your screen and your printed output should look smooth. The same will be
the case if you're using a display rasterizer like Adobe Type Manager.
Using a LaserWriter™ Printer
To print with a LaserWriter, first go to Page Setup and select all of the
Printer Effects.
—
Toserthriter Page setup uC)
Paper: @us Letter Ofatetter
Ousteget Qos tetter OL Tenet’ —¥] (Cancel)
Reduc Iz Printer Erfects: (Gotten)
thir {arent sation?
Orientation Tent smoothing?
Bie
Then click on the Options Button and select Precision Bitmap
Alignment and Larger Print Area.
=e u—Ce)
Flip Horizontal
Oris vertice:
Oinvert image
Precision
Dlarger Print free (Fewer Dowslondeble Fonts)
(Olunumited Downtoesadie Fonts in ® Document
Help
Alignment (4% reduction}
Click OK when you've selected all of the options that you want. Click
OK again in the Page Setup Dialog Box. Then select Print from
your File Menu. Your Print Size Dialog Box appears.
Click OK after you've selected a size and the Print Dialog Box appears.
On the bottom of the dialog box, six filters are featured.
Scanning is for the method of printing, and itis for you to decide what
works best. The Serpentine Option causes the dither routines to scan
in a back and forth motion. Select other choices you need and click on
Print.
AY AI ITED 9A SS/C PARK POSTER KIT
Destination: @ Printer OPortscripte Fite
you are working on a black and white monitor or
‘color maniter set to black and whste, your print
dialog box will look like this
‘color monitor that is set to 16 or more
colors, your print Dialog box vill look like this.
B & W LaserWriter users: Select Color\Grayscale for best results.
Using an ImageWriter™
Printer
Gatieter
Giinteraatanel Fant
sa Secrets raters
Gee
When printing on an ImageWriter, |
select Page Setup from the File
Menu. Choose the US Letter paper size if you are using standard
fanfold computer paper. Always select No Gaps Between Pages from
Special Effects. Then click on OK and select Print from the File
Menu.
If you are working on a B & W monitor or a color monitor set in the
B & W mode, your Print Dialog box will look like this.
Imageutriter z
Guahty:
| Pevetonge: @
Copies:
|| rover reea:
‘Automatic © Hand Feed
If your monitor is set at 16 colors, your Print Dialog Box will look like
this.
= Cay
Oper Grester___Orart
= ge Ome Tel]
: GAutamatic Crand Fees
Filters:
| Mfloya-sieinnerg © sierta
Ostuces
Onurres
imegemiter with color ribbon
Sr 2455/6 PARK POSTER KIT
To print in color, be sure you have a multi-colored ribbon set in your
printer. Choose the print quality you want (Draft is the fastest). Then
choose ImageWriter with color ribbon. Choose Page Range when
you are printing a large creation and you only want to print a section of
it. When all settings are correct, click on Print.
Note: The exact content of the dialog box depends on the printer being used. Refer
to your Macintosh owner's guide or printer manual for other printer options.
Warning To Network Users: When using the Jurassic Park network version ona
network, you won't be able to print in color on an Appletalk Imagewriter Instead,
You must print on an Imagewriter that's directly connected to your computer
Quit- Select Quit to close your current document and exit from the
program. If you have made changes since the last time you saved, the
program will ask "Save changes before quitting?" (Shortcut, $8.Q).
The Edit Menu
Undo- Undo can often be used to
cancel your last action. If the choice
is dimmed, then Undo is not
available for that particular
operation (Shortcut, $62).
‘kground Pattern
-kground Picture
shapes
Cut- Select Cut to cut out a selected
(active) area of text or clip art to put
onto the Macintosh Clipboard.
The object can then be pasted into another document or the Macintosh
Scrapbook (Shortcut, 3X).
Copy- Select Copy to place a copy of the selected text or clip art onto
the Macintosh Clipboard without disturbing the selected object
(Shortcut, $C).
Paste- Select Paste to place a copy of whatever is on the Macintosh
Clipboardinto your document. The object stays on the clipboard and
can be pasted as many times as desired (Shortcut, SV).
Graphics and text can be imported into Street Fighter™ via the Macintosh Clipboard
or Scrapbook. Simply paste it into your document. When the graphic is pasted in, it
can be scaled, squeezed, squashed, or stamped!
Clear- Unlike Cut, the Clear command removes the selected object
or text without placing it on the clipboard. Anything that's “cleared” is
gone forever. It's a menu version of the Delete Key.
Duplicate- The Duplicate command is one of the most
useful tools for creating designs. Duplicate creates a
i copy of the selected object and offsets it slightly to make
it easier to separate from the original. Anything that
# can be selected can be duplicated. The latest copy of
the object is automatically the one selected. Pressing
the Option Key while dragging the object has the same effect.
(Shortcut, 98D)
Background Layer- When you choose Background Layer, objects
not on that layer are cleared away so you can manipulate the background
pattern. Objects placed on the background layer (clip art and text)
can't be altered while you're working in the foreground. To return to
the foreground, select Foreground Layer (Shortcut, 9€B) from the
Edit Menu.
Remove- Objects that can't be selected would be difficult to remove,
if no special allowance were made. Select Remove to delete patterns,
shapes, and background pictures--items that are otherwise difficult
or impossible to get rid of.
Background Pattern- Select this to remove only the pattern from your
document.
a LS ETE JRA C PARK POSTER KET
Background Picture- Select this to remove only your background
picture from your document.
All Shapes- This command removes all graphics and text from your
document, but leaves background pictures, frames, and patterns intact.
Choosing All Shapes is a convenient way of clearing your document.
The All Shapes command can be set (in the Preferences Dialog Box)
to clear both background and foreground layers, or to clear only the
layer currently being worked on.
Show Clipboard- Select Show Clipboard to check the contents of
the Clipboard before taking any further action.
Preferences...- Certain features Of the: [icrrretrence sees:
program can be customized to suit
your needs. Experiment freely with
various choices, because you can
always reset your preferences.
Note: Preferences take effect immediately.
There is no need to exit the program or to
reboot your Macintosh.
After drawing: This box determines whether the tool you're working
with (line, star, oval, etc.) remains selected or becomes the arrow pointer
when you release the Mouse Button. If you need to manipulate each
object after pasting or creating it, you might find it convenient to have
the Arrow Tool selected for you automatically. If you're creating a
number of objects or making objects out of separate pieces, you'll
probably find it more convenient to have the tool remain selected.
Remove all shapes will delete: This box lets you choose whether you
want the Remove All Shapes command to wipe out everything or
only the shapes on the current layer.
ND JURASS/C PARK POSTER KIT
Clip art prefs: If you alter the dimensions of a piece of clip art, you
can keep the alteration (squeeze, stretch, etc.) while paging through
the rest of the clip art category.
Draw new shapes: This box lets you choose the default setting for the
object’s opacity property. You can choose to have the new object
transparent or you can choose the reverse.
Drag a shape: Multiple shapes drag quicker as an outline, because
dragging an outline uses up less computing power. However, the outline
is a box surrounding the objects and not the actual shape. If you need
to judge the effect of your dragging, then you have to pause a moment
with the object clicked on to allow time for the objects to materialize.
Kid's Menus- Select this to switch to the limited, easy-to-use menus.
The Tool Menu ra a Fa» Gl
Clicking on any of the boxes within the Tool (~|DOOJO] (~/Oo/O
Menu selects the tool pictured there. Double- |O| C/O] [oO] clo
clicking on some tools produces additional |AJO|O] [AJOld
action. TRIO} [TH
The Tool Menu is actually a “tear-off’ palette. Highlight the Tool
Menu and then drag down past the end of the menu. It tears off the
Menu Bar and becomes a palette that you can move over the surface
of your document. When you tear-off the palette, you can double-
click on the tools for more options!
The Tool Palette can be moved around by
“grabbing” the Title Bar (clicking and Titk Bar
dragging). This is useful for moving the hear
palette when it gets in the way of your work. i *
Close box
[0 (eal Fan
When you're ready to put away the Tool
Palette, click on the close box. The palette
disappears.
ES UG SC PA POSTER KIT
ee ae ne
The “Zapper” removes objects similar to the Delete Key Zapping is the
B quickest way to get rid of an object, but once the object is zapped, its
gone. (If you change your mind about a zapping befor making any other
moves, select Undo from the Edit Menu.)
Note: Double clicking on the Zapper erases your document. You'll be warned
before this happens.
rh The Arrow is used to point to objects for a variety of reasons:
Selecting- Use the Arrow Tool to point to an object (text, clip art, or
shapes). Clicking selects that object for whatever action you take
next. The Arrow also can select a group of objects. Point to a place
above and to the left of the objects you wish to select. Then drag
downward and diagonally so the dotted rectangle surrounds the
objects. When you release the Mouse Button, gray handles appear
around each object indicating that all of the objects in the group have
been selected. A ''group select" lets you perform an action on many
different objects at the same time. This feature is ideal for saving
created combinations of clip art and text as a single piece of clip art
in your scrapbook, moving as a group, or performing edit functions
and transform functions as a group. Click away from the group and
the items respond individually.
Beto: .
whe iattnaboe: en
Note: If you want to create a group select, but other objects ae mixed in with the
items you want to group, you can select just the objects that you want to group.
Hold down the Shift Key and select each object. All of the selected objects can then
be grouped. In the sample to the right, only the stars have been selected and will
act as a group. The other shapes have not been selected and therefore will not be
affected.
STR 100.255) PARK POSTER AIT
. = Resizing- The Arrow is also used to resize objects by
pointing and dragging. When an object is selected, four
gray handles appear. Pointing to one of these handles and
t dragging causes the object to grow in the direction you're
a dragging. The same method is used to reshape text boxes.
Note that when you drag a text box, the type in the box doesn’t change
size; the box simply changes its shape.
Note: "Grouped" objects can't be dragged to resize; however, you can use features
offered under the Transform menu.
Moving- To move a selected object, point to it and drag.
Wait until the handles appear befor attempting to drag any object.
. hk On complex documents, and particularly when you're working with
Tomave color, there is a lag in selecting and in dragging.
The Grabber moves your work
wy) screen around on the page,
similar to the scroll bars. The
screen you're looking at is actually a
window ona larger page. The little grabber
hand "slides" the page back and forth
under the window so you can work on different parts of the page. (The
window itself doesn’t move.) Double-clicking on the Grabber has no
effect.
The Line Tool draws a straight line starting at the point where
a you press down on the Mouse Button and ending where you
release it. This action is similar to stretching a rubber band
between two points.
Hint: To draw a perfect line (no jags), move the Mouse slowly while holding the
Mouse Button down until you reach a point where the line appears straight.
rr RE URASSIC PARK POSTER 61
Line Description Dialog Box
Select the Line wiath
end ret you (pues
Double-clicking on the Line Tool brings up a ie
dialog box that lets you choose line thickness, | !!'""""
Click on the thickness and the pattern you ap
would like to use. The look of the lines you
draw is determined by the pattern selected.
Solid Triangle with vA
Pattern swm«z,9, border pattern sul
The Pattern Palette in the Line Dialog Box also affects the borders
(or lines) that make up the other shapes you may draw, as you can see
from the triangle above. By using the Line Pattern Palette in combi-
nation with the regular Pattern Palette, you can create a variety of
effects.
Sold border A
Interior pattern
Patterned border Fin
Patterned eros :
White border Aim
Patterned ileror :
When you look closely at the line width fy
Selector bars, you'll see that there are two aa G)
little black triangles above and below.
These can be moved individually to create “"4""| C)
asymmetrical lines (by clicking at the top or LT Toa}
bottom of the desired width bar.) TH @
Asymmetrical border
Pattemed interior
The circles to the right show the effect of lines that
are thicker in one or the other direction. The various
choices can all be combined to produce complex shapes and effects.
The Rectangle Tool creates boxes and squares by dragging,
| Starting at the point where you press down on the Mouse
Button and ending where you release it. The Rectangle
JURASSIC PARK POSTER KIT
Tool draws an outline box with the currently selected border pattern
and color.
Double-clicking on the
Rectangle Tool Causes it
10 draw boxes filled with
the currently selected
attern and color.
Pertect squares are
Created by ho!
down the
while dragging
iat
The Rounded Rectangle Tool draws boxes with rounded
(9 comers. Other than the rounded corners, it's identical to the
plain Rectangle Tool. Double-
clicking on the Rounded Rectangle Tool RRR
causes it to draw boxes filled with the QRARRARRARARARARARY
currently selected pattern and color.
The Oval Tool draws ovals of
@ various shapes, controlled by Stort point +
the vertical and horizontal
distance between where you start dragging
and where you release the Mouse Button.
Perfect circles are created by holding down the Shift Key while
dragging.
+ End point
The Arc Tool creates a quarter of an oval, starting where you
‘a begin dragging and ending where you release the Mouse
Button. The shape of the arc is controlled by the vertical and
horizontal distance between where you start dragging and where you
release the Mouse Button.
Stow
Stet Sin
a ray es
gas ai) yeh
If you drag to the right and down, the inside of the curve will face to
the left and down. Dragging to the right and up puts the inside of the
curve up and to the left. Dragging to the left and down puts the inside
JURASSIC PARK POSTER KIT
a Te Eee ee
of the curve down and to the right. Dragging to the left and up puts
the inside of the curve up and to the right.
Double-clicking on the Arc Tool causes it to draw arcs filled with the
currently selected pattern and color.
It's usually easier to create your arcs first, then to position them on the page. Cures
can often be rotated or flipped to create the contour you have in mind.
The Freehand Shape Tool allows you to draw enclosed
(on) shapes. If you don't close your shape, the program will
draw a straight line across the endpoints of your drawing.
If you have selected a fill pattern, it'll be contained by the straight
line.
Double-clicking on the Freehand Shape Tool causes it to draw shapes
filled with the currently selected pattern and color.
Drawn ac 0 tiled shope
= Ne border, pater
a Line dosing the shope &
f Sohal ender, ponen
ie ae ar
Shapes can be drawn with no border by selecting “O” line width in the Line Width
Dialog Box.
_ @) (G) Ww & The Triangle, Hexagon, Pentagon,
Star, and Diamond Tools let you draw these various shapes,
controlled by the vertical and horizontal distance between where you
start dragging and where you release the Mouse Button.
Double-clicking on these tools causes them to draw shapes filled with
the currently selected pattern and color.
JURASSIC PARK POSTER KIT
2) GE aaa a
The Text Tool creates a box with a flashing cursor for entering
Ale text of your choice. Double-clicking on the Text Tool pops
up the Text Selection Dialog Box.
When you select the Text Tool from the Tool Palette, your cursor
changes toa small crosshair. To begin entering text, place the crosshair
where you would like the text box to be and drag a box out to the size
you desire. You can start typing now, or you can pre-select a font,
point size, and style.
Dont worry doovt the depthofi Dont worry oui the depih of
EL he box It wll grow dover
Select the Arrow Tool to reshape your text box or to move it. Point to
the middle of the box and drag to move the entire box. To resize the
box, click on the text and drag the handles.
Reicha de Wigibeni Gertie aT |
fresize the tex box It just line wraps at
[different points, adjusting to the newline | ‘youresize the tet |
lengths. | Hoon It just line wraps |
ee ae ee [at different points, |
iedvstea to the new
line lengths
Text Attributes- Fonts, point sizes, and styles can be selected either
by choosing one attribute at a time from the menus, or by using the
Text Selection Dialog Box which can be reached by either double-
clicking on the Text Tool or by selecting Other from the Text Menu.
Color Type
Type can appear in any of the available colors. [7
After you have established a text box to type into, ~—-—--—------—
click on a color in the Color Palette located under the Color Menu.
Your text appears in the color you selected. You can also create color
type by highlighting the text with the I-Beam Cursor and clicking on
a color from the Color Palette.
SA TEI 1A SC PARK POSTER KIT
Cea a ee a eee ED
The Pattern Menu
Click on any of the boxes within the Pattern
Menu to select the pattern pictured. Double-
clicking on the Pattern Boxes has no effect.
The Pattern Menu is actually a “tear-off”
palette. If you highlight the menu and drag fepere
down past the end, the menu will tear off from
the Menu Bar and will become a more
accessible palette that floats over the surface 5. ine near ott palene
of your page.
The Pattern Palette can be moved from place to place by “grabbing”
the Title Bar (clicking and dragging). When you're ready to put away
the Pattern Palette, click on the Close Box.
The Color Menu
Shapes- When creating
shapes, you can assign colors
to them. Click on a color
from the Color Menu and
then create your shape.
Text-Type your text as you normally would. When you are finished,
highlight the text and click on a color in the Color Menu. The text
appears in the color you selected.
Color Text on Black & White Systems- On black & white systems,
the choices on the color palette refer to color printing rather than to
colors displayed on your screen. If your printer can take advantage of
the eight-color quickdraw built into black & white Macs, you can use
this palette to assign colors to text.
After you have typed text, highlight it with the Text Tool and click on
the desired output color. Because you won't see the results on your
So SRE EE JAS SIC BAK POSTER KIT
oe SOR RER
black & white screen, you may want to jot down your color assignments.
(if you choose white, you'll notice a difference; the text will seem to
vanish. If you click on the area, however, you will see the little gray
handles belonging to the invisible text.)
16 ys. 256 Colors
All of Toucan's desktop publishing/print programs include art drawn
in 16 colors. If you're not planning on importing 256 color mode art,
then we suggest you use the 16 color mode. Using the program in the
16 color mode speeds processing, especially in the slower color systems
and uses less memory.
The Transform Menu non ema
|-tpease
| Fp ertzentet cH
a
Transparent/Opaque...- Objects can either cover
whatever they’re in front of or allow objects behind them
to show through. When placing text near a piece of clip
art or another section of text, you should select
Transparent so that the white margin around your block
of text does not overlap other objects.
If you create a colored object and place a text box over
it, the actual text will show up with a white margin
around it. Select Transparent under the Transform
Menu to make the white margin disappear. The Transparent and
Opaque commands can be used in combination with the Bring
Forward and the Send Back commands to produce interesting effects.
Squere Opaque Square Transparent
Essai doze set | Flip Horizontal- Choose Flip Horizontal to make a
Tshewwelgened | mirror image of the selected object. (Shortcut: 38H)
EID JUG A SSC PARK POSTER KIT
The Flip Horizontal command is particularly useful for creating sets
of facing shapes.
a
Flip Vertical- Select Flip Vertical to turn the
# selected object upside down. Combining horizontal
and vertical flips can create interesting patterns.
@ (Shortcut: $8T)
object 90 degrees clockwise or counterclockwise.
‘ea Rotate Left/Rotate Right- Select Rotate to turn the selected
& (Shortcuts, 38L, 98R)
Custom Rotate...- Choose Custom Rotate to open
the Rotation Dialog Box. The Rotate Object section
lets you type in the number of degrees that you want
the object to rotate and in which direction. The Radio
Buttons in the Rotate around section determine the
pivot around which the object swings.
Scale Selection...- Select Scale Selection to
open a dialog box that lets you scale the
currently selected object up or down in precise
increments. Choose the same scaling
percentage in both directions to increase or
decrease the size of the object proportionately.
Remove Transforms- Select Remove Transforms to cancel any flips,
rotations, or scaling you have done on the currently selected object.
AIS 55/0 PARK POSTER KIT
Send Back/Bring Forward- Each object (shape, text box,
or piece of clip art) lies on its own layer in your document.
You can shuffle the position of an object by sending it
back in the stack (98-), or by bringing it forward ($=).
When you shuffle objects, you'll often want to adjust
whether they're transparent or opaque.
Send to Back/Bring to Front- Choose Send to Back or Bring to
Front to send the currently selected object all the way to the bottom or
all the way to the top layer.
Align Objects...- To align a set of objects, £
you must first select them. Use the ; 4p tettex oe
: sample tet box
Arrow Tool to drag a selection box : Aeon para
; ace
around them. In this example, five
Separate text boxes are being selected:
anne annette
. "ASemple text bex
When you release the Mouse Button, all 2) feared rein . a “.
‘A somple textbox .
of the handles appear at once. Gti A ape ees.
Now that your objects are selected, you
can choose Align Objects from the Transform Menu. The Alignment
Dialog Box appears.
Selecting Left Sides, left justifies clip art =>
or text. If you have adjusted your Objects | -rwsesta wigement— rere sgrmeat Al
before selecting them, Centers will center 8 nae 8 |
objects, and Right Sides will align the |LO™** ial J
cc)
objects flush right. The example below
involves left justified type.
The vertical spacing can then be sorted out one line at a time. You
must click on a spot away from the objects to unselect the group. Then
click on the individual objects and adjust their vertical position.
(Remember, pressing the Shift Key while dragging with the arrow limits
the movement to either horizontal or vertical, depending on the direction
of your first Mouse movement.)
SS ASIC AR POSTER KIT
CEE SEE es ey EE
To make your left, center, and right alignments come out properly, you should make
sure that each text box in the group is individually set for the alignment you want the
whole group to have. left for lefi, center for centered, right for right.
Align Objects can also be used to line up objects vertically.
Group- Select Group to combine all selected objects (clip art and
text) into one main selection which can be moved and transformed
simultaneously.
UnGroup- Select UnGroup to undo the Group command on a
selection of objects. This allows all objects to be moved or transformed
separately.
Text Props...- Choose this to access the Text Selection Dialog Box so
that you can set your font and point size. You can also access the Text
Selection by double-clicking on the Text Tool on the Tool Box.
Line Props...- Choose this to access the Line Selection Dialog Box
so that you can set your line size and pattern. You can also access this
by double-clicking the Line Tool on the Tool Box.
Shortcuts...- Select Shortcuts to access the list of quick-key
commands.
‘Double Click
[GB] trese document
Select Tine with
Select fot type, ote, and st2e
snany drawing toe ogg ft mode
when working with selections
Drag = Constrained movement
Click - multiple selection
patos (HE) ete) org - resize Text box
Geter) dr og - Dupticete Object
Shortcuts
‘When wor king with selected cltp art
View next ip art
shape
The Font Menu
=~ | The Font Menu lets you select a font by highlighting your
choice and releasing the Mouse Button. If you have more
fonts installed in your system than can be displayed at one
time, a small black triangle will appear at the end of the
list. Dragging past the end causes the list to scroll. High-
light a font and release the Mouse Button to select.
ih
ys
The Text Menu
The Text Menu lets you select attributes by highlighting them and
releasing the Mouse Button.
Go to the Text Menu, click on the top of the menu, hold your Mouse
Button down and drag, and your menu choices are available:
Type Styles:
Plain- The quick brown fox jumped over the lary dogs.
Bold. The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dogs.
‘alic- The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dogs.
‘Underline: i
Outline - The quick brown fox jumped. over the lazy dogs.
Shadow- The quick browa fox jumped over the lazy dogs.
Outline/Shadow. The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dogs,
‘Condense-This compresses the amount of space between letters in your text.
Extend
Align Lert ExtendThis increases the amount of space between leters in your text.
Align Mtaaie
ai
xia Text alignment:
pal ‘Align Left- This changes text so that all lines are justified on the left side
Tf ‘Align Middle- This changes text so that al lines are centered with respect to each other
vie Align Right- This changes text so that all lines are justified on the right side.
iT ‘Type point size- This allows you to change the size of the text.
a6 Other- This allows you to create any customized size not listed in the menu.
36
bes If you are choosing more than one attribute, you'll find it easier to use
Other... the Text Selection Dialog Box. Only one choice can be made from the
pull-down menu before having to pull the menu down again.
Using the Text Selection Dialog Box
Double-click on the Text Tool to bring up
the Text Selection Dialog Box. It provides
a convenient way of choosing text attributes
all at once, instead of one at a time from the
menus.
All styles, except Plain Text, can be used alone or in combination.
Choosing Plain Text deselects all other styles. Only one of the
alignment and the point size options can be selected at one time.
Choosing Other... brings up the Text Selection Dialog Box.
Choices under Style can be used singly or in combination; that’s why
they are presented as check boxes.
Choices under Justify are selected singly for aligning your text.
The Font List Box shows whatever fonts are currently listed, while
the Point Size List Box shows which point sizes are available for
display on screen. You can insert your own size in the size box. You
can see the effest of each of your choices in the preview window in
the lower right comer.
Quick Tip: While in the text editing mode, you can move the curent text box you're
editing by holding the Command and Option Key down, and then dragging the text
box with the Arrow Cursor.
Kid's Menus
The Kid's Menus are simpler versions of the Full Menus. With less
menus and options to choose from, children will find it less confusing
to create their own documents.
The @ Menu
If you select the @ Menu, there will be two items belonging to the
program: About Jurassic Park... and Help with.... Choosing About
AE EES UE SSC PARK POSTER IT
Jurassic Park... displays an opening screen showing you what version
of the program you are using. Click on the picture to close the category.
Choosing Help with... pops-up a dialog box that lists the topics for
which help is available. Click on Done when finished.
The File Menu
New &N
Open... 20
Clip Art A
Picture
Frame
Close x1
Save 8S.
New- Select New to open a blank page (Shortcut, 98N).
If there is a file open already, New will be grayed out.
Only one file can be open at one time. You'll have to
close the opened file by selecting Close from the File
Menu.
Quit
Open...- The Open command allows you to open different files, using
a standard Macintosh-style list box. Select Open from the File Menu.
Highlight the file name that you want and click on Open. Your
document appears. If you're already in the program and want to open
another file, save and close the file you're in first (Shortcut, 960).
Clip Art...- Select Clip Art from the
File Menu. (If this is the first time
you are accessing art files since
booting the program, a menu will
appear displaying the Art folder. Click
on Open). A list of clip art categories
appears. Highlight a clip art category and the first piece of art in that
category is displayed in the Preview Box. Use the scroll bar to preview
the clip art. Click on Open and the first piece of clip art from the
category appears on your design. Press the Space Bar or the Right
Arrow Key to view all the clip art within the category. (To view the
clip art in reverse order, press the Shift Key before pressing the Space
Bar or press the Left Arrow Key.) If you want to add an additional
piece of clip art from the same category, hold down the Option Key
and drag off a copy from the original. If you want to add another piece
of clip art from a different category, select Clip Art from the File
Menu.
RICE UR SSC PARK POSTER KIT
cA eNeer ae
Deleting Clip Art- Click on a piece of clip art and press the Delete
Key.
Picture- Select Picture from the File Menu to place a background
picture on your document. (If this is the first time you are
accessing art files since booting the program, a menu will appear
with the Art folder in it. Click on Open). A list of backround
pictures appears. Highlight a background and click on Open and
the Picture Preview dialog box appears. The background picture
you chose appears in a viewer box to the left. Clicking on Load
Picture allows you to choose a different picture without going back
to the Menu Bar. Clicking on Done places the background picture
on your document.
Frame- Select Frame from the File Menu to place a frame on your
document. (If this is the first time you are accessing art files since
booting the program, a menu will appear with the Art folder in it.
Click on Open). Highlight Frames and click on Open and a list of
frames appears. Highlight a frame and it appears in the preview box.
Click on Select to place the frame on your document.
Close- The Close command closes the document on your work screen
without exiting from the program. If you have made changes since
you last saved, the program gives you an opportunity to save again
before closing (Shortcut, 88 W).
Save- The Save command saves your design to disk. If you haven’t
named it yet, then you have to enter a name at the prompt. Save your
document either on your hard drive or on a floppy disk
(Shortcut, 38S).
Use the Save command early and-often, Develop the habit of saving your work
while thinking about what to do next.
(EE LS SH SA TTT REL SESS JURASSIC PARK POSTER IT
Print- Select Print to bring up the Print Size Dialog
Box (Shortcut, #8P). Select a size and click on OK.
See the "Print" section in the Full Menus section
(pages 10-12) for more information.
Quit- Select Quit to close your current document and exit from the
program. If you have made changes since the last time you saved, the.
program will ask "Save changes before quitting?" (Shortcut, $6Q).
The Edit Menu
Undo- Undo can often be used to cancel your last
action. If the choice is dimmed, then Undo is not
Undo #2
Cut 38H
available for that particular operation (Shortcut, 98Z).
Copy #C
Cut- Select Cut to cut out a selected (active) area of itd A rl
text or clip art to put onto the Macintosh Clipboard.
The object can then be pasted into another document
or the Macintosh Scrapbook (Shortcut, 8X).
Full Menu:
Copy- Select Copy to place a copy of the selected text or clip art onto
the Macintosh Clipboard without disturbing the selected object
(Shortcut, $8C).
Paste- Select Paste to place a copy of whatever is on the Macintosh
Clipboard into your document. The object stays on the clipboard
and can be pasted as many times as desired (Shortcut, 3BV).
Graphics and text can be imported into Street Fighter via the Macintosh
Clipboard or Scrapbook. Simply paste it into your document. When
the graphic is pasted in, it can be scaled, squeezed, squashed, or
stamped!
Clear- Unlike Cut, the Clear command removes the selected object
or text without placing it on the clipboard. Anything that's “cleared”
is gone forever. It's a menu version of the Delete Key.
Full Menus- Select this to switch to the full-featured menus.
The Tool Menu
Clicking on any of the boxes within the Tool Menu selects
the tool pictured there. Double-clicking on some tools
produces additional action. See "Tool Menu" in the Full
Menus section (pages 16-20) for more information.
#
HI DIO] /
Slos|o
Secu
The Pattern Menu
Click on a filled shape that you have created. Then click
on any of the boxes within the Pattern Menu to fill the
shape with the pattern selected.
The Color Menu
To make a selection from the Color Menu, select the Color Menu and
drag it off of the Menu Bar.
foo)
BLACK '
YELLOW foal
MAGNTA
RED
CYAN
GREEN 16 Color
BLUE
WHITE 256 Color
On a black & white
system
Ss RE IURASSIC PARK POSTER AIT
Sp CS
Shapes-When creating shapes, you can assign colors to them. Click
on a color from the Color Menu and then create your shape.
Text-Type your text as you normally would. When you are finished,
highlight the text and click on a color in the Color Menu. The text
appears in the color you selected.
Alenandria
Athens
BodeniLaser
vBodeniuttra
Chartotte
The Text Menu
The Text Menu lets you select attributes by
highlighting them and releasing the Mouse
Button.
Callegiote
Courier
Coventryseript
Creepy
Desporedo
Go to the Text Menu, click on the top of the
menu, hold your Mouse Button down and drag,
and your menu choices are available.
Bd
The Font Menu
The Font Menu lets you select a font by highlighting
your choice and releasing the Mouse Button. If | sstentrracansensea
you have more fonts installed in your system than | ‘smsspnueser
can be displayed at one time, a small black triangle | Eixesewx
will appear at the end of the list. Dragging past the | cosesute
end causes the list to scroll. Highlight a font and | <rentryscrt
release the Mouse Button to select.
i
4
i
ag STEERS JURASSIC PARK POSTER KIT
90 DAY LIMITED WARRANTY
Hi Tech Entertainment (formerly Hi Tech Expressions)
warrants the physical media (CD or disk(s)) furnished by Hi
Tech Entertainment to be free from defects in material and
workmanship under normal use for a period of 90 days
from the date of delivery to the original purchaser as
evidenced by a copy of the purchase receipt. Hi Tech
Entertainment will replace any such defective media which
is promptly returned to it free of charge.
The foregoing warranty is in lieu of all other warranties
expressed or implied, including but not limited to the
implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a
particular purpose. In no event will Hi Tech Entertainment
be liable for special or consequential damages even if Hi
Tech Entertainment has been advised of the possibility of
such damages.
TECHNICAL SUPPORT
If you are having difficulty installing or using the program
call Hi Tech Entertainments’ Technical Support Staff at 1-
800-216-1750 during these times:
Monday to Friday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST
No game playing hints will be given by the Hi Tech
Entertainment technical support staff.
Please do not return your software unless you receive an
authorization number from a support technician.
JURASSIC PARK TM & © 1994 Universal City Studios, Inc, & Amblin Entertainment
Ine, All Rights Reserved. Licensed by MCA/Universal Merchandising, Inc. Published by
Hi Tech Entertainment, 584 Broadway, New York, NY 10012.
LT ETM ESE JUHA SSC PARK POSTER KIT
JuRassic PARK